Haval H9 teased – 7-seat SUV finally coming soon?

If it seems like ages ago that the seven-seater Haval H9 SUV was supposed to be here, that’s because it was. The flagship model for the Chinese sport utility brand was previewed way back in April last year ahead of a projected late 2018 launch, but we haven’t heard anything since then.

Until now, that is. Haval Malaysia has released a teaser on Facebook showing the H9, and has invited the public for a preview showing of the car at its Skudai showroom on Thursday and Friday. From the looks of things, this model is newer than the one that was shown in 2018, but it’s not the second facelift introduced in China earlier this year.

This particular update brings a few changes, the most obvious being a new front bumper with larger air intakes, though there’s also a revised instrument cluster with a digital speedometer in the centre. More importantly, it adds a ZF eight-speed automatic transmission – yes, the same one you can find on most BMWs these days – to replace the old six-speed auto.

Power continues to come from a GW4C20 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine, delivering 215 hp at 5,500 rpm and 324 Nm of torque from 2,000 to 4,000 rpm. You still get a four-wheel drive system with Auto, 2H, 4H and 4L modes, as well as a ladder frame chassis.

According to the official website, the H9 will be offered in three variants, Standard, Luxury and Super Luxury. All models are said to be well-equipped, with xenon headlights, keyless entry, push-button start, triple-zone climate control, an eight-inch infotainment touchscreen and a reverse camera. Safety kit includes six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, hill start assist and hill descent control.

The Luxury adds adaptive headlights, 18-inch alloy wheels, black-and-brown leather upholstery, power-adjustable front seats (eight-way for driver, four-way for passenger) with memory, a sunroof, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, air purification, a 10-speaker sound system and an All Terrain Control System with Sand, Snow and Mud driving modes.

Haval H9 teased – 7-seat SUV finally coming soon?

The Super Luxury goes one better with Nappa leather, ventilated and massage seats, six-way passenger’s seat adjustment with shoulder switches, power-folding third-row seats and an electronic locking differential. No pricing information has been revealed just yet, but Haval Malaysia previously indicated that it aimed to price the H9 under RM200,000 for fully-imported models, with local assembly to follow later on.

It should be pointed out that while a few registered units of the H9 have made it on the road, the SUV has not officially gone on sale yet.

GALLERY: Haval H9 previewed in Malaysia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• X70 Buyer on Oct 16, 2019 at 11:58 pm

If more expensive than top spec X70, you can say bye bye.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • The looks… Not so attractive…. X50 pls

• Joker on Oct 17, 2019 at 10:14 am

hahahahahaaaaahahaaa
      X70 top spec have 7 seat?
      hahahahahaaaaaahahaaaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • How many will need to sit 7? If you need that, get any MPV, the rear of an SUV is no place to stuff anyone.

• Real LLort on Oct 18, 2019 at 5:21 pm

I have a 7 seater before and its a dilemma whenever want to balik kampung. My parents keep on calling to other relatives saying they can follow me because of my 7 seater and everytime I had to disappoint them saying that “Of course la 7 seater if I don’t bring anything.. you think I balik kampung just bring 1 or 2 clothes ka? how about those who want to follow me? they also bring 1 or 2 clothes ka?” Now I gave the 7 seater to them and buy a sedan. Probably now they realize that its not as 7 seater as it claim to be in certain situation.

• Under RM200k??? Good luck haval.. better go for Santa Fe

• Matchy on Oct 17, 2019 at 8:41 am

Looks very dated…

• newme on Oct 17, 2019 at 8:57 am

Anyone with right mind would choose Haval. It’s top seller in China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • ah chong on Oct 17, 2019 at 9:09 am

bye bye….!!!!

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 17, 2019 at 9:58 am

Too bad local distributor not bringing in H6, Haval top selling SUV (same segment as X70).

Over 500,000 sales in 2017 & over 450,000 sales in 2018. That’s one product (H6) alone.

• Li Peng on Oct 17, 2019 at 6:11 pm

“Over 500,000 sales in 2017 & over 450,000 sales in 2018”

And possibly just over 400,000 sales in 2019? Too bad for who? Haval?

• I thought I saw one today in uptown damansara near TM

• 1 of Tun M convoy is using this Haval 9 in black color…

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 17, 2019 at 10:26 am

All comes down to price.

If they follow what the Koreans used to do; sell a car one size class up at the same price of the class below, then perhaps they have a chance.

Which means they need to sell at CRV money to compete with the other ladder frame SUVs like the Fortuner, Pajero Sport, and Everest (last 2 was discontinued it seems)

• kantoi on Oct 17, 2019 at 10:45 am

I don’t know what’s wrong with the haval malaysia take “years” to bring in the outdated model of H9?! there are plenty of new SUV in CHina market and you are just about to launch the 3 years back model? bye…..

• choha on Oct 17, 2019 at 3:16 pm

a bit of this here, a bit of this there, i don’t see any originality in this car wahtsoever, failed!

• Mr Hakim on Oct 17, 2019 at 6:21 pm

Better reprice it under 150k, else most people will likely go for Korean or Jap’s counterpart.

• The car look great.. SUV with 7 seater (no space utk barang2) or 5 seater with large space. But the price so expensive (RM175k) i think for Haval (China) brand.. if below RM150k, i must own it 1 unit. hehe