Haval H8 and H9 SUVs previewed in Malaysia – Q4 2018 launch for H9, two variants, below RM200k

Havel H9

Haval Malaysia is previewing the seven-seat H9 SUV ahead of an official introduction scheduled towards Q4 2018. Initially, fully imported (CBU) units of the model will be offered with indicative pricing below the RM200,000 mark. Later on, locally-assembled (CKD) units are estimated to be introduced during Q2 2019.

Also on preview here is the five-seat H8 SUV, although the company hasn’t confirmed if it plans to bring in the model, and is merely displaying it to gauge the public’s interest.

Focusing on the H9 first, the SUV will be available in two variants – Luxury and Ultra – along with a choice of five exterior colours – Alaskan White, Ebony, Sleek Silver, Kakadu and Bronze.

Havel H9

Motivations is provided by a GW4C20 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine that serves up 215 hp at 5,500 rpm and 324 Nm of torque at 2,000 to 4,000 rpm. The mill is paired with an eight-speed automatic transmission as well as a four-wheel drive system with various modes (Auto, 2H, 4H and 4L).

In terms of dimensions, the H9 measures 4,856 mm long, 1,926 mm wide and 1,900 tall – the wheelbase spans 2,800 mm. As a comparison, the Fortuner (also a seven-seater) is 4,795 mm long, 1,855 mm wide and 1,835 mm tall with a 2,745 mm wheelbase.

On this particular unit, the equipment list includes automatic xenon projector headlamps, 18-inch six-spoke alloy wheels with 265/60 series tyres, a reverse camera, leather upholstery, electronic parking brake, eight-inch touchscreen infotainment system, a sunroof and automatic air-conditioning.

Havel H8

As for safety gear, there’s six airbags, Electronic Stability Program (ESP) system by Bosch, Hill Descent and Ascent Control, anti-lock braking system (ABS), electronic brake force distribution (EBD), tyre pressure monitor system and Adaptive Front-lighting System (AFS).

Turning our attention to the H8, the five-seat SUV is smaller in size compared to the H9, measuring 4,806 mm long, 1,975 mm wide and 1,794 mm tall and has a 2,915 mm wheelbase. In Australia, the model is available with a 2.0 litre turbo four-pot that makes 215 hp and 324 Nm, paired with a six-speed automatic and all-wheel drive.

This example comes with 19-inch wheels (255/50 series tyres), automatic xenon headlamps, a reverse camera, leather upholstery, faux wood trim, touchscreen infotainment unit and front fog lamps.

GALLERY: Haval H9

GALLERY: Haval H8

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• results of a forester gang raped by nissan xtrail and honda crv..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
    • applies to p1 suv oso haha..

• Tengku Halim on Apr 26, 2018 at 3:25 pm

This is a good indication how Boyue is going to be priced. China is very proud of themselves. They view their products with great pride.

To make matters worse, Proton also thinks they are makers of Rolls Royce. Full of ego and syiok sendiri.

They will definitely price the Boyue at RM100k and above.

So the question now….who in Malaysia can afford a Proton for RM100k and above? We can see, the Perdana….hardly anyone in the public has bought the RM113k Perdana despite the car being 100% Honda.
        99% of all Perdanas are Government ordered.

So, who will buy at over RM100k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 21
        • This is peanuts compared to Royce Royce. Pipu who have no monies should take motorcycle or use ride sharing service like Uber Grab

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
        • Nabil Dev on Oct 18, 2019 at 3:58 pm

I belive you must be inside the jungle for many years.
          please come out of jungle and see how many X70 in the road and most of them are Premium which is above 100K,
          Years back when perdana was introduce on 1995,many supported the car till Perdana V6 until the gearbox issue was raised and the latest Perdana was a failed because like you said 99% Honda and people knew it was using the old Accord tech for example Proton was not even allowed to change the key to keyless entry because it was part of agreement that Honda never allows to modify.

Learn more boy .. do some research and talk

• it came we saw we ran away! on Apr 26, 2018 at 2:33 pm

Dont tnk thres going to be much motivation since its 200Gs..and its made in China…must be nutts thiz ppl..bye!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • rchoo on Apr 26, 2018 at 2:33 pm

Below 200K (say near 200k lah), way too high compared to China’s price, one word RIP OFF.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • China things are not cheap anymore, time to change our mentality or we get changed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
      • But the quality cheap leh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
        • Quality is depends on how much you willing to pay. If you pay peanuts, you get monkeys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
          • You sure? Proton cars never has quality no matter how much the price is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • avantgarde on Apr 27, 2018 at 12:19 pm

No quality? You mean like those takata airbags, axlegate, dieselgate, DSGgate, steelgate, etc????

• samer on Apr 26, 2018 at 5:23 pm

Ipongs assembled in China super laku.

• rchoo on Apr 26, 2018 at 4:47 pm

If you can read Chinese and visit their web site, you will know its price. And its price is definitely not even near RM200k

• Phudda singh on Apr 26, 2018 at 2:37 pm

200k price tag WTF

• 12yrsold john on Apr 26, 2018 at 5:05 pm

Agree about the RM200k price tag. Wait for the New P1 Boy-U under RM100k.

• Petoron Sagu on Apr 26, 2018 at 2:41 pm

Errrrrrr……good luck…

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 26, 2018 at 2:49 pm

H8 for 130k and H9 for 160k is what I would be willing to pay. They don’t particularly look nice at all especially the H8 wood panels. In fact the upcoming Borgward SUVs looks so much better and that’s what I will be looking out for together with the Boyue. Haval Malaysia you would do well to bring in the H2S as the replacement for the H2. The H2 you are selling now is getting long in the tooth.

• Holofanboi on Apr 26, 2018 at 3:50 pm

H8ters gonna H8!

(Sorry i just couldnt resist with that kind of name)

• DonkeyKong on Apr 26, 2018 at 3:00 pm

Illogical price for a China-made product. Kia Sorento and Hyundai Santa Fe would be a better buy in that segment, with better interiors too.

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 26, 2018 at 3:15 pm

Interesting that the Top Selling Chinese SUV, Haval H6, isn’t brought in. Perhaps Haval doesn’t want to clash with Geely/Proton for now.

Top 3 SUV sales in China for Dec2017 are Haval H6 (55,000+), Baojun 510 (54,000+), Geely Boyue (31,000+)

Looks like Msia being flooded by Chinese car manufacturers. This will not affect T/H/N too much in the short term but will definately affect in the longer term (> 10 yrs). Younger generation more acceptable to it by the time they grow up.

• Henry on Apr 26, 2018 at 5:27 pm

Yes, this is the beginning of the China car industry invasion.

But why not? The Europeans came followed by the Japanese and Korean. China is now the world’s second largest economy. It is only natural that they are the next to come. They reciprocate by buying plenty of our goods.

• thepolygonal on Apr 26, 2018 at 3:40 pm

I wonder if it’s China’s products getting less cheap or our money getting smaller or both :(…

• Fadli on Apr 26, 2018 at 5:32 pm

OMG OMG OMG

Whose Volvo 242 Bertone at the back there!! so awesome..!

• wow so expensive la. make it below RM130,000 to capture market in Malaysia. Or below 100,000 better

• Car Fan on Jul 01, 2018 at 7:55 am

Are u crazy, this is a luxury car/mid size suv like Prado, Fortuner, Mu-X, Everest etc….. Price always above 200k or under 200k, the possible lowest price of this car is 150k….. Look the interior, if the interior cheap of course u can get this under 130k….. Or even under 100k….. Tax not even that high, but our car dealers here very2 money brain!! Dealer tamak duit….. Our proton expensive because of Tamak duit by proton too…..

• Interceptor on Apr 26, 2018 at 6:47 pm

Might sound as expensive but this H9 is equal to Land Cruiser.. Land Cruiser is 400k price range, Infiniti QX80 is around 800k and this H9 even though seems abit expensive around 200k, it gives you something bigger and cheaper..

• Car Fan on Jul 01, 2018 at 7:59 am

Land Cruiser is standard luxury SUV like Nissan Patrol(not available in Malaysia) always offered with big engine above 4000cc (V8s), but infiniti was not made to be cheap, but was made to be expensive because of its luxurious interiors…..

• This thing is huge. But SA at autoshow told me H9 is going around RM160K++. Maybe this price is for CKD version.

Same SA also told me the H8 is not going to launch in Malaysia. H6 coupe will be launched on 2019. Price around RM140K++.

• contender on Apr 26, 2018 at 8:15 pm

Haval H9 selling below RM200k ?? Haha …..is this April Fool’s joke ? wonder who are the buyers ….. ROFL

• A lot of people laughing at China in 1980s, not many in 2018 except the ignorant one.

• wonder how they gona sell these when they also selling borgward under same group of co ^^

• Below 200k ridiculous pricing

• Raja Siang on Jul 06, 2018 at 1:13 am

Those who plan to buy Haval pls check their website if you have accident it take months to claim not even repair yet.
    My experience with Proton it take TWO WEEKS I have my car back on the road.

• G K H on Oct 16, 2019 at 1:07 am

Haval Malaysia need to learn from their H2 price mistake. Thought no competitor and priced it high, suddenly X70 came in and crush H2 sales. People rather pay 10k more for X70 instead of H2. Not to mention the horrible after sales service been hearing about in the Internet.