REVIEW: 2019 Nissan Leaf EV in Malaysia – RM188k

The slow trickle of fully-electric vehicles in Malaysia continued with the launch of the second-generation Nissan Leaf in July. The original model was introduced here back in 2013, and this latest model gets a much more dynamic design, more power and a far longer range – all while being just slightly more expensive than before at RM188,888 on-the-road without insurance.

Despite looking radically different, the Leaf is still a conventional five-door, front-wheel drive hatchback. However, it now makes 150 PS and 320 Nm of torque, 41 PS and 66 Nm more than before – allowing it to slash nearly four seconds off its zero-to-100 km/h time, down to 7.9 seconds.

It also has a much larger 40 kWh lithium-ion battery that bumps range up from 195 km to 270 km – and that’s on the more stringent WLTP cycle. Every Leaf comes with a 6.6 kW wallbox that will provide a full charge in around seven hours, while a CHAdeMO port allows the use of 50 kW DC fast charging, topping up the battery in less than an hour. The car also gets a number of new features, including autonomous emergency braking and an e-Pedal function for single-pedal driving.

But there are many questions to answer here. What’s the new Leaf like to drive? Are the quoted numbers actually believable? And, most importantly, is the Leaf actually usable as everyday transport, especially with our limited charging infrastructure? We answer these questions and more in this in-depth video review, which you can watch above. As usual, leave your comments after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• VDW 7714 on Oct 18, 2019 at 8:55 pm

Hyundai Ioniq EV Rm90k more better.

• Nicholas Lee on Oct 21, 2019 at 5:15 pm

That’s a hybrid not a fully electric vehicle, the full ev will definitely not start at 90k

• frankC on Oct 18, 2019 at 10:13 pm

it took 7 hrs to charge up at home. I live in apartment surely no hope lor…
    nice looking. the range is just a bit short. look under the front hood, kinda odd to see a motor drive in the middle and lots of empty spaces.. wasted opportunity. clearly this car chasis was designed right. not making full use of the car space. if electric car indeed don’t need such large hood, then don’t make it so big. or make use of it to fit battery… more juice please

• Electric car is the way to go but the government is not encouraging them due to some reasons … too short minded

• MyNewToys on Oct 19, 2019 at 8:15 am

Awaiting longtime for AFFORDABLE EV Car launch in Malaysia. Oh yeah below 40K? PERODUA? PROTON/GEELY? NAZA?

• Great review Jonathan. Comprehensive and a conclusive recommendation at the end.

• The Truth About EV in Malaysia on Oct 19, 2019 at 10:17 am

5 years ago, our MAI and the previous Government said we are all moving towards EV and Hybrids. They told people to invest in EV and Hybrid cars. But the shocking part is, the only EV car then was the Nissan Leaf at RM250k.

Who really can afford that kind of pricing to go green?

Today, history still repeats. You price the car at RM190k, who really can afford? That is why….the same bodohs running the show before 5 years ago, are the same bodohs still running the show now. Only the Cabinet, which consist of 100 people has changed.

The same people who are the think tanks, academics, policy advisors, thinkers, educationist – are the SAME.

Look at how UK does it. The Nissan Leaf there is given 50% rebate by the Government. This works out to be finally less than 20,000 pounds for the car. If you don’t convert, it is the same as a Malaysian paying RM20k for a car.

There is no political will to go green. The policy makers are just too lembap and just have nothing in their brains to make green happen. MAI has a budget of RM250 million per year to run, but….but….but….I don’t know what they really do.

By 2035, which is 15 years more, the whole of Europe will be fully EV. There will not be anymore petrol cars being sold.

The same applies to the rest of the world.

Those countries with no EV cars are and no EV plans in their pipeline, time for you to wake up. Don’t cry later saying nobody in the world wants to buy your cars when the whole world has moved to EV and here you are still producing combustion engines in 2035.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Dennis on Oct 19, 2019 at 11:37 am

This EV is nothing special and verpriced

• Hasni on Oct 19, 2019 at 12:49 pm

No aircond outlet for the back seat ? It is 188k car!!!!!

• vVivi Zurianti on Oct 19, 2019 at 1:26 pm

I love to protect Mother Nature, but I cant afford this Rm188K EV to do so. I guess I’ll let the rich ppl do the protection…..

• Waste of time

• Recko on Oct 20, 2019 at 6:15 am

They should have painted the whole car the same color as the roof.

• Wow, so much information to not buy this car. Great job hating this car. Even the positive sounds so negative. I managed to view the whole video though, great job i guess.

• Ivon Sim Soon Qi on Oct 20, 2019 at 11:16 pm

I prefer your long hair…

Nearly can’t recognize you until hear your accent and voice.

• johnnas on Oct 21, 2019 at 8:59 am

188k?!

so only the rich can go green.

middle incomers and below can still play with large exhaust mufflers.

• Daddykasi on Oct 21, 2019 at 9:15 am

For 188k, i can buy 4 units proton Saga full spec, then the balance money can use for petrol and maintainance.. Do i genius or what?

• msia driver on Oct 21, 2019 at 9:32 pm

bezel of the head up display lolzzz
    like 80s century
    come on, now is 2019, going to 2020

• After a year, do they really get it sold? Even 1 unit? I never see any of it on the road…