Conversion of a foreign driving licence to Malaysian driving licence – JPJ begins programme November 1

The road transport department (JPJ) has announced that Malaysians holding a foreign driving licence and participants of the Malaysia My Second Home (MM2H) programme can now convert their licence to a Malaysian driving licence, starting from today, November 1.

The conversion will be granted to individuals who possess a valid driving licence from their country of origin, but it must be a full licence and not a learning licence, temporary licence or probationary licence, Bernama reports. According to JPJ director-general Datuk Seri Shaharuddin Khalid, the application process can only be done at JPJ headquarters and state-level JPJ offices.

He said that the original driving licence will initially be converted to a Malaysian probationary licence (P licence), and holders of these licences must comply with the same rules and regulations observed by Malaysians with P-licences. “This is to ensure that these individuals have the competence to drive and to educate them to comply with all traffic rules in the country,“ he explained.

Those with driving licences from non-ASEAN countries as well as countries that are not signatories to any treaty or agreement with Malaysia will have to attend classes and sit for a traffic law theory test. “This is to ensure that they understand the laws and road regulations in Malaysia, which may differ from other countries,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Edwin L on Nov 01, 2019 at 9:56 am

Why would they give up their international drivers license just go local?

• Maybe on Nov 01, 2019 at 3:40 pm

Its foreign license, not international license.
      They are not giving up their license, just to change to local licence. Same goes when u go to some country to study or work which have an agreement as mentioned in the article. Our licence is valid but u still have to convert the license to local license. Why? For easier enforcement maybe.

• Angry Voters on Nov 01, 2019 at 4:34 pm

Those who intend to drive here will already have international drivers license. Those who didn’t get this license should go thru the drivers learner course. If they didn’t qualified for international license they shouldn’t be given the easy option out. This is dangerous and all for the sake of making money by Loke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • Danny on Jan 22, 2020 at 11:30 am

You obviously have no idea what you’re talking about. You don’t “qualify” for an international driving license. Anyone who has a valid driving license can get an international driving permit if their country has signed one of the conventions. However, the 1949 International driving permit required in Malaysia is only valid for 1 year and that’s one reason it’s more convenient to convert your license to a Malaysian one. Besides, it has been possible to convert your license to a Malaysian one for years! It’s nothing new.

• Li Peng on Nov 01, 2019 at 5:38 pm

International license is only valid for one year. If you stay more than one year in a foreign country (in this case Malaysia), you’ll have to apply for a national license. The “International license” is only a translation of the national licence. Malaysians staying in Australia even don’t need a international license, they could use their Malaysian license for one year.

• Juztkiller on Nov 01, 2019 at 10:17 am

habis malaysia…

• Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Nov 01, 2019 at 11:10 am

Instead f wasting time with all this donkey work, try to clean up your officers. All of them asking money from drivers.

This is why Malaysia has 4 million drivers without lesen. In a country with 10 million road users, this means 2.5 users have no lesen.

No wonder accidents are so high in Malaysia.

• habis malaysia… More n more foreign drivers..
      Wont get to see any malaysia driver doin ,
      illegal Parking in Handicap OKU spot.
      traffic Jam Cut Q
      misusing Emergency Lanes.
      using High Beams Unnecessarily
      60kmh Hogging the Fast Lane
      tailgating Ambulans on Duty Call.
      throwing Rubbish Out the Window
      using Hazard Lights during Heavy Rain.
      triple Parking…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • papajohn on Apr 06, 2023 at 1:38 pm

so much pain you have with foreigners? but you love their money and when they clean your poo. You just think you are the best drivers? LOL. that’s a joke.

• newme on Nov 01, 2019 at 10:40 am

Sibuk ngan foreigner je. Yang motor riding kat car lane Fed Hwy bila nak settle?

• tips3Ringgit on Nov 01, 2019 at 3:30 pm

So right brader.. Plz make special lane otr for foodpanda & grabFood rider too, safer for us…

• Gabriel on Nov 01, 2019 at 11:29 am

Oh gosh…what kind of policy is this?

• Not Toyota Fan on Nov 01, 2019 at 12:39 pm

Ah Loke got no more special number plates for sales ah?

• Angry Voters on Nov 01, 2019 at 4:30 pm

He ran out of alphabet permutations to sell. Next I guess is personalised number plates, which I am targeting to get Pakatan Hancing 1.

• Alibaba Chiam on Nov 01, 2019 at 2:33 pm

Boss good…becareful…oversea foreigner many also hv Lesen Terbang..also Tipu Malaysis…JPJ mest check…dont play play… u know or not?

• papajohn on Apr 06, 2023 at 1:40 pm

aww you should have been in Malaysian JPJ. Because JPJ never could think about that.

• someone on Nov 01, 2019 at 4:42 pm

Stop commenting if you dont understand english

The road transport department (JPJ) has announced that Malaysians holding a foreign driving licence and participants of the Malaysia My Second Home (MM2H) programme can now convert their licence to a Malaysian driving licence, starting from today, November 1

It’s Malaysian and MM2H only!!

• something on May 06, 2020 at 6:40 am

as a Malaysian working in Brunei, has full class motorcycle in Brunei but not in Malaysia. I assume I am eligible? :D

• May I just make a statement here as a foreigner. The real loser here is the Malaysian people as now foreign drivers like myself will be using an international permit issues by our home country to drive legally. What this means is the money collected from foreigners having to convert and renew licences no longer goes to the Malaysian government and benefit of the people of malaysia. This is a very foolish policy, they have bilateral agreements in place with out countries and now that they have terminated this means that when a Malaysian goes to work or live overseas they will need to sit a test there instead of being able to convert. Hope this makes sense. Thanks

• Setan on Nov 01, 2019 at 8:07 pm

baguslah sangat, semua benda nak bagi free kat org luar, rakyat sendiri yg terseksa, setan punya PH

• BiNasa on Nov 01, 2019 at 11:06 pm

org luar patut kene Rm5k setahun pakai lesen kita, rakyat sendiri bukan nye pon renew driving lesen… asyik2 bila ops. lesen mati tangkap rame

• Sheraz Iqbal on Nov 02, 2019 at 11:01 pm

is Pakistani international licence can be converted now ???

• ARJUN RAY on Nov 06, 2019 at 7:16 pm

I nak lessen. B2- D

• Other countries giving permission to Malaysian driving licenses to drive in there countries. why Malaysia why can’t accept Foreigners licence. should accept Foreign license because Malaysia public transportation is suck

• Will they renew for foreigners that already have Malaysian licenses that are now expiring? I already have mine for 4 years. And what if you don’t live there anymore? Still want to keep mine bc want to move back eventually and they don’t give new to foreigners anymore.

• Amit Mittal on Aug 20, 2020 at 8:43 pm

I am international license holder from India. Would like to convert the same to Malaysian one. can anyone share contact details of any service provider to get this done.

• Samantha Richards on Aug 21, 2020 at 10:32 am

So, this is only for those in MM2 programme? So foreigner with PR or Talent Corp visa but not in MM2 cannot convert?