Touch n’ Go to end 10% parking surcharge in stages

There’s no doubting the ease of going cashless for parking with a Touch n’ Go (TnG) card, but not when you have to fork out for the convenience, in this case the 10% surcharge on top of the fee for the parking rate, a gripe we wrote about a couple of months ago.

There’s good news on this front, because TnG is set to end the surcharge imposed at parking facilities with dual payment systems, The Star reports.

Speaking in Parliament, deputy domestic trade and consumer affairs minister Chong Chieng Jen said that TnG has begun an initiative to omit the surcharge – which is a contractual obligation between the company and car park operators with dual parking systems – in all its future, or renewal of, contracts with operators.

“For existing contracts, the surcharge rate will end in stages,” he said in reply to a question raised by Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong on the matter. Chong added that there was no surcharge imposed at car parks that utilise TnG as the sole payment system – it was previously reported that there are over 200 parking locations with TnG payment and no surcharge.

As for the 50 sen surcharge that was imposed for card top-ups, Chong said there were 2,880 top-up locations out of 11,168 nationwide that did not impose the top-up surcharge. He said that consumers could carry out surcharge-free top-ups at Touch n’ Go service counters and outlets such as Watsons, Tesco, Guardian, KK Mart and Caring Pharmacy.

Previously, TnG explained that it did not impose this surcharge, but this was done by operators, with the money collected going into the operation and maintenance of the TnG infrastructure. It said the charges cater for the maintenance cost and system upgrades, which are important aspects in maintaining an efficient and hassle-free parking system to customers.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Transport Minister No1 Man on Nov 06, 2019 at 2:14 pm

No 3 times delay after talking, we hope lah.

• Angry Voters on Nov 06, 2019 at 2:16 pm

wow. You all voted for this right? You alls made the right choice! Kudos no surcharge.. thx minister

• Sick & Tired on Nov 07, 2019 at 5:05 pm

But taxpaying rakyat will be paying for the hidden charges. Really sick & tired of all these backroom dealings. PH, you are going to lose in Tg Piai badly.

• USD1 = RM1 on Nov 06, 2019 at 2:56 pm

how about also waiving fifty cents surcharge for every reload?

• Ajibkor on Nov 06, 2019 at 6:18 pm

Car and fuel prices, roadtax, parking and toll charges must go UP. use public transportations,

• Fedupwithpublictransport.my on Nov 08, 2019 at 3:25 am

Which is almost non existent in some areas,btw. If you want to encourage people to use public transport, it has to first be efficient and reliable. Which it isn’t. Not to mention that it’s not really an option in most places that are not kl.

• LRT User on Nov 08, 2019 at 2:08 pm

If the previous PM had managed to stayed on, you would have gotten your efficiency, reliability & connectivity you wanted. Alas….

• rip_off on Nov 06, 2019 at 3:20 pm

Like in 10 years??

Like we’re waiting for someone to abolish the AP system…

• azlano on Nov 06, 2019 at 6:33 pm

Why the rush to abolished the AP system… we just got back our momentum. more support pls.

• LOK CHYI YEU on Nov 06, 2019 at 3:33 pm

Finally…. one thing holding me back from using it in Parking is the ridiculous surcharge…. for those 1 – 2 ringgit not much of an issue but for those KL parking with 2- 3 hrs already over RM10 one…. 10% is kinda ridiculous.

• Calvin on Nov 06, 2019 at 3:52 pm

Surcharge are for TnG to pay the operators, since the operators has the dual option not to continue using TnG.
    So by ‘abolishing’ surcharge doesn’t it mean that TnG are going to pay the operators the surcharge instead? More taxpayer money flowing out?

• T n g should be under PLUS do that excess deposit can be used to reduce debt. Right now excess deposit sits there doing nothing.

• Celup King on Nov 06, 2019 at 5:36 pm

How can it be under PLUS when both are not owned by the same owner? Can your house come under my control and I charge you rental for use?

• vivizurianti on Nov 06, 2019 at 6:54 pm

When it comes to implementation….it was done lightning fast.

When it comes to cancellation, it would be done in stages, drag until donkey years….

• john doe on Nov 06, 2019 at 9:09 pm

never gona use tng for car park.

• Alamak on Nov 06, 2019 at 9:13 pm

Scared leh….That’s why want to waive. Competition is good for the public.

No way I will use TnG. Everyone should boycott as much as they can, no matter what TnG do. Let them go bankrupt. Bloodsucking good for nothing parasites.

• Not Toyota Fan on Nov 06, 2019 at 9:15 pm

Why is a Deputy Minister answering questions pertaining to the operational costs of a private company owned by a public listed bank?

• Still a hassle to reload the card

• Imran Naim on Nov 06, 2019 at 11:51 pm

Cons of having a very very very greedy monopoly player in our country, 10% parking charges, 50 sen charge per topup, money burn if card is inactive but still got balance, have to pay charges to deactivate TnG e wallet acc. What else? Always trying to sedut money till we got literally cents left in our pockets. Its time to to leave, TnG.

• haha…

stop the 0.50 when topup as well…. the card is now links to tolls and deduct from ewallet… why not make it to others??

• No eye see on Nov 07, 2019 at 1:54 pm

How about top up TNG card through ewallet? Why not make more highway participate in TNG pay-direct? Especially plus highway.

Do some easy and workable matter first.

• Touch n Go tak guna on Nov 08, 2019 at 4:05 am

#MansuhTouchnGo