Zapp i300 e-scooter – Made in Thailand, 587 Nm torque and priced at the equivalent of RM28k in UK

A new scooter brand named Zapp has entered the UK market with its first model, the Zapp i300. Priced at 5,250 pounds sterling (RM28,000), first deliveries will be made to UK customers by the end of this of the Thailand made electric scooter (e-scooter), reports Motorcycle News.

The Zapp i300 is powered by an interior permanent magnet electric motor rated at 14 kW, or the equivalent of 19 hp, and is capable of producing 587 Nm of torque, housed in a lightweight chassis made from aerospace grade aluminium. Range in ECO mode is claimed to be between 60 to 90 kilometres from twin 1.25 kWh lithium-ion battery packs that weight 5 kg each and power goes to the rear wheel via a carbon-fibre belt.

With regards to performance, the i300 gets from 0 to 50 km/h in 2.35 seconds and to 70 km/h in 4.1 seconds. According to Zapp, the i300 performs at the same level as a 300 cc scooter but its maximum speed is capped to 96 km/h and weight is 90 kg.

Despite being a small e-scooter, the i300 comes with a fairly impressive lost of standard equipment. This includes floating front disc brake with four-piston brake calliper and rear disc brake with two-channel ABS. Other items are upside-down front forks with preload adjustment, preload-adjustable rear monoshock with pushrod actuation, single-sided swingarm and high-resolution LCD instrument display.

Zapp also claims the i300 has been aerodynamically tested and is designed to be energy efficient in urban use. The frame and seat is designed in-house by Zapp and eschews the normal underseat storage space commonly found in scooters.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• panjang on Nov 11, 2019 at 5:07 pm

U r joking right?
    Which 300cc scooter produce 587Nm of torque?

• potato on Nov 12, 2019 at 12:45 pm

Electric scooters don’t go by cc…

• Vincent on Nov 12, 2019 at 2:32 pm

300i does not mean 300cc. Electric go by KW. This case, it is impossible to get 500+ Nm. Volvo 64 KW produce 240 NM. I believe this e-scooter should be 58.7 Nm!

• Mohammad Hafiz Abdul Rahim on Nov 12, 2019 at 3:34 pm

probably missing a decimal point

• Brian on Nov 11, 2019 at 5:36 pm

Once kena electric shock…. ZAPPP!!!!

• 587 Nm of torque?

• 14 kW, 2.5kWh lithium-ion battery and 60 to 90 kilometres range sounds *very* optimistic.

Electric bicycles have 0.25kW, a 0.4kWh battery and about the same range.

• nice looking scooter

• Jeremy on Nov 11, 2019 at 9:54 pm

Helmets will be the most commonly stolen item on this ebike, 2nd is UBER Eats carrier bags.

• Dogbert on Nov 12, 2019 at 12:59 am

587Nm? More torque than any Pickup Trucks sold in Malaysia :D

• Sgt Scoop on Nov 12, 2019 at 2:42 am

You can buy a banger for £200 in the UK. Who is going to spend 5 grand on a toy?

• 4545er on Nov 12, 2019 at 3:32 am

587Nm torque ?? Holy cow !!!!!

• A rider on Nov 12, 2019 at 8:43 am

0-70kmh in 4.1s..really?! What’s the point of having 587NM for?

• 587Nm ?

• LOK CHYI YEU on Nov 12, 2019 at 10:17 am

Such a skinny scooter giving them so much torque…. will see ppl flying went them turn the acceleration .

• Lanhb on Nov 12, 2019 at 10:52 am

impressive lost?

• 587nm ?? you sure thats not a typo? even ford mustang doesnt have that kind of torque.

• i think thats a typo, no way a scooter can make 587nm of torque, thats more than a Mustang.

• potato on Nov 12, 2019 at 12:46 pm

what is the average price & power output of a normal China E-Scooter?

rm28k seems high for something non-premium.

• John Doe on Nov 13, 2019 at 8:29 am

At least Thai making logical investment and reality product to challenge the market…Than those in the air..