PLUS Malaysia to use drones in CNY traffic monitoring

NKVE_KM15

PLUS Malaysia will be using drones for the monitoring of traffic on select locations in its highways across the coming Chinese New Year festive season, Bernama reported. The use of drones is aimed at providing information on the movement and flow of traffic on the highways as well as optimising the use of social media, said PLUS chairman Datuk Mohamad Nasir Ab Latif.

“Based on research and analysis, PLUS expects the number of vehicles on the highway to be higher between January 22 and 28 and between January 31 and February 1,” the chairman said at the launch of Ops Selamat 16/2020, adding that PLUS expects about two million vehicles to use the highways during the Chinese New Year holidays, representing an 18% increase from 1.7 million on normal weekdays.

Traffic flow along the North-South Highway during the festive season will be managed by 5,000 PLUS staff on duty, said Mohamad Nasir.

“If needed, PLUS with the approval of the Royal Malaysia Police will open tidal flow lanes in certain locations. In addition, maintenance works that require lane closures will be temporarily halted to allow road users to enjoy uninterrupted travel,” he said. The highway operator also advised users to refer to the PLUS travel time advisory (TTA) for the planning of their journeys.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• vivizurianti on Jan 14, 2020 at 7:56 pm

Why use drone when we have flying car?

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 14, 2020 at 9:16 pm

Got risk of dropping right in the middle of the highway. If drone drop it’s not as damaging.

• Celup King on Jan 14, 2020 at 10:43 pm

When we have flying cars we would be on top of the monitoring drones so we would be the ones monitoring the drones and not them monitoring us. Then who would be monitoring us?

• Ministry of Drone on Jan 14, 2020 at 11:34 pm

Beware of falling drone due to low batt or turbulence cross wind!

• Would the drone really help to reduce the awful traffic congestion the Rakyat are experiencing on PLUS highways? It is quite common now that highway users are on the road for 7 or 10 hours driving from eg. Penang to Kuala Lumpur during school holidays and long weekends if Friday or Monday is a public holiday. Is Plus not aware of it? Is the government not aware of it too? Please remember the Rakyat are paying exorbitant toll rates yet having to suffer unreasonable travel time. Also, the R&R areas are also overpacked with travellers during the said times that it’s impossible to stop over for emergency toilet calls or for food. Please wake up PLUS!!!!!!!

• Put also loud speaker there to ask those who drives slowly at right lane to move to left lane or drive faster. Lane hogging is the main problem for traffic jam.

• As I said so many times, PLUS need to do something about exit from Senawang, Port Dickson and Seremban! Even on weekend that exit cause jam.

• John Doe on Jan 15, 2020 at 8:31 am

Why not use an actual helicopter atleast in emergency situations it can still help transport patients/medical personnel.

So what if you have drones flying around? Why do you need it when your major highways are already operating with CCTV?

I really feel like i’m watching Dumb and Dumber sequel each time I read the news.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 15, 2020 at 12:50 pm

Drone operating cost heck a lot lower than helicopters. Avgas not cheap and helicopters uses turbine engines, not piston engines.

Casevac can be scramble as soon as required. Not necessarily need to be on air all the time. Being on Alert 5 or Alert 10 is good enough.

CCTV only at Toll & R&R junctions. Entire stretch not on CCTV monitoring.

• Ghani on Jan 15, 2020 at 5:28 pm

You would be surprised there are CCTVs at overhead direction signboards.

• azrai on Jan 15, 2020 at 8:46 am

Drone procurement from Iran after last year’s KL Summit. Wow!!

• vivizurianti on Jan 15, 2020 at 10:07 am

Just mobilize enforcement for traffic law breakers. Issue instant saman on the spot, and this serve as example and warning to the rest. And please, no “saya-mau-minum kopi” type enforcers.

Sadly, Malaysian need constant “dicipline” to keep things inline.

So, no need “toys” like drones.

• Ksatria on Jan 15, 2020 at 12:50 pm

Not enough data to monitor what usually happens during holidays? Please stop wasting money & improve the necessity to cope with traffic congestion!
    Solve the root cause instead of adding side shows.

• Dear Paultan, Kindly refresh your photo above as the advertisement for Samsung S6 was back in 2016.

• Loh-mo on Jan 15, 2020 at 10:01 pm

You all never heard of Waze ah? Donkeys