Proton X50 SUV – 2020 launch confirmed, CKD straight

At its Chinese New Year media luncheon today, Proton CEO Li Chunrong announced that the national carmaker’s second SUV is due to be launched this year. This smaller model, widely tipped to be called the X50, will be the company’s second major product introduction in 2020 after the locally-assembled X70.

Li later told us that the car, which will be based on the Geely Binyue/Coolray, will arrive in locally-assembled form immediately, rather than being imported first as with the X70. This is because the donor car is currently only built in China as a left-hand drive model, so it cannot be exported. It’s been previously reported that Proton’s Tanjung Malim plant is intended to be Geely’s right-hand drive production hub.

Prototypes of the car have been spied many times since early last year, with the most recent being at the start of this year. Unlike with previous mules, the latest one wore Proton’s new “Infinite Weave” grille, hinting at an impending launch – a correct prediction, as it turns out.

Expect much of the same toys that you’ll find on the X70, including panoramic sunroof, dual-zone climate control and a power-adjustable driver’s seat, plus a 10.25-inch infotainment touchscreen running on the Geely Key User Interface (GKUI) and incorporating “Hi Proton” voice control. The Binyue is also available in China with Level 2 semi-autonomous driving capability, though it’s unclear if we’ll get the full works.

As for engines, the Binyue is offered with either a 134 hp/205 Nm 1.0 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine with a six-speed manual gearbox or a 174 hp/255 Nm 1.5 litre mill with the CKD X70’s seven-speed dual-clutch transmission. We’re putting money on the latter coming to Malaysia. Excited?

GALLERY: Geely Binyue

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• 3 cylinder? No no…
    Dualclutch? Also no no for me..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 108
    • Jenny on Jan 20, 2020 at 5:41 pm

Why don’t just say no to Honda? Look at specs, HRV have no advanced safety features. Aftersales service for Honda Malaysia is bad, especially for product quality. That’s why people are not buying Honda anymore.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 221 Thumb down 11
      • Nasi goreng on Jan 20, 2020 at 6:14 pm

You are right bro Mario, when Perodua launch their upcoming Game-Changing D55L SUV, then we will expect Honda HRV and Proton X50 to be Game Over

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 107
        • Nasi goreng salah on Jan 20, 2020 at 6:17 pm

When Proton X50, Toyota Raize and D55L SUV which are game changer that launches here, it will more likely expected to be game over for Honda HRV and Perodua Aruz

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 10
          • alldisc on Jan 20, 2020 at 9:02 pm

Proton X50 75k vs. Perodua D55L SUV 65k,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 17
          • Why We Need Foreign Brains? on Jan 21, 2020 at 8:23 am

Geely only started in 1997. Proton started in 1985.

Yet Geely can make USD$30 billion in profit last year.

I wonder why Proton could not make it also when they also could have exported Proton cars to the China market and to the world market.

Geely only had the China market to market their cars in the past and that also they had to compete with so many local China car producers.

How come a younger company like Geely can do so well? Answer is hard work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 41
          • Engineer on Jan 21, 2020 at 12:49 pm

Proton started out in 1985 and within 20 years they could develop and produce their own cars and engines.

Yet Perodua 30 years on and still relied on Daihatsu and Toyota to rebadge their cars and use their engines.

How come in the same period Proton by themselves could come out with their own cars and engines, but Perodua with Daihatsu and Toyota support still continue to rebadge their cars and use their engines? Answer is hard work & Proton innovation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 22
          • Get woke on Jan 26, 2020 at 12:11 pm

How come Mercedes in 1901 with 0 years in the market could develop and produce their own cars and engines?

Yet Proton and Perodua came in almost a century later and still can’t do it.

Answer is profit and capitalism.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
        • Celup King on Jan 20, 2020 at 6:28 pm

So you asking us to wait for it come just like asking us to wait for gamechanger Kenari Hybrid. You keep talking about gamechanger but from 2003 until today, 17 years later, we are still waiting for your gamechanger Kenari Hybrid. Until today your gamechanger car is still missing, it looks to be your talk is all gameover now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 7
      • Honda - The Power Of Sucks on Jan 20, 2020 at 6:27 pm

Malaysians will now turn away from buying Honda Cars. But sooner, when launching new Honda City and Jazz without AEB, land departure warning, rear cross traffic alert and others. Malaysians will buy other brands instead of Honda. Even Malaysians also complaint about service and car quality

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 17
      • Foo K F on Jul 23, 2020 at 11:34 am

You are right Jenny. I really regret on buying the HR-V. After numerous complains to the service centres and the answer is VERY VERY NEGATIVE. The centre’s technicians are very very bad in attitude and inadequate with technical knowledge. Finally I give up on the 5 year unlimited mileage warranty and do the normal frequency service either by myself or known w’shop. Would like to advise potential car buyers to consider before buying.

• Engineer on Jan 20, 2020 at 5:55 pm

Volvo guided the engineering team in developing the 3 cyl-DCT config so you can be assured they had done their Swedish due diligence unlike cheatgate VW Germans. Don’t compare VW cheat tech with Volvo’s refined engineering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 14
    • Asam laksa on Jan 20, 2020 at 5:58 pm

We all have to be grateful that Geely is willing to donate us their Game-Changing Geely Binyue. Now Proton doesn’t need to do any work and just slam the Proton and X50 logo, easy life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 47
      • We all are grateful to Daihatsu & Toyota for donating their cars to us for rebadging during the past 30 years and we will continue to rebadge until we close shop. Thank you Daihatsu & Toyota. We only wish you wouldn’t throw us your old and outdated models to do the rebadging. Malu tau, when customers asking why Daihatsu have newer cars and we still rebadging old models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 62
        • chocolatdonat on Jul 13, 2020 at 5:25 pm

you think Daihatsu & Toyota didnt profit from this? Too naive using the word “Donate”?

• 7spd2c on Jan 21, 2020 at 7:56 am

DualClutch peace of mind ‘5 years warranty’ given according to the early report following its homemarket offering. Through the development process,The unit has been tried & tested thru Million miles of harsh testing in various road conditions & driving manners. Combining previous Geely homemarket transmission data’s from Post Production & years of on the roads ownership&service feedbacks with new Datas analysis gathered locally through the camourfledged Testing unit here

• Doctor Strange on Jan 21, 2020 at 12:34 pm

1 No for you,
      100000 Yes for others.
      Cheers.

• 1 powertrain to rule them all,

kinda like PSA is doing with their prince 1.6 turbo

this combo of 1.5 turbo with DCT will then power the upcoming exora replacement and the eventual replacement…..

however , market interest seems to move towards SUVs

maybe the hoyue will come instead of the preve

• It’s success depends on the price…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Apricot on Jan 20, 2020 at 4:42 pm

Finish Honda Malaysia, this SUV will steal sales from HRV with no AEB, no land departure warning and no blind spot monitor, especially for upcoming City Turbo. Salesman will start crying. So called as “Power of Nightmare Cars”

As majority in Malaysia fed up of driving honda cars because too many quality issues on newer Honda models after bought for less than 1 year. When go to aftersales service, people also complaining most of the aftersales service dealer. Cannot solve. Shows that technicians are having half past six, lying, didn’t repair at all, never repair other peoples car at all.

Yet, some of them are still buying Honda cars with brainless. Also, come here hating kimchi cars with low resale value and hating mazda. Just look at safety specs, most of Honda models are really kosong spec. Compare to Mazda, Toyota and Hyundai Ioniq comes with blind spot monitor, AEB, land departure warning and others. No wonder, many mazda CX-5 and Proton X70 everywhere than looking Honda CRV is now rare.

Malaysians rather buy mazda. This comes with 5 years warranty as Honda. Bermaz service is better and they already improved their service than honda. Even CKD Mazda CX-5 looks so so but better than most Honda models. So Honda Malaysia is dead.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 17
    • Silthice on Jan 20, 2020 at 5:41 pm

Thanks to DRB, excellent in tarnishing brand image nationwide…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Honda - The Power Of Sucks on Jan 20, 2020 at 6:12 pm

Tarnishing DRB Honda so it is yes. Except for not tarnishing DRB Proton because DRB Proton has done well and improve their management like aftersales services, car quality and safety features product. So that’s why we fully respect to DRB Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
        • Silthice on Jan 21, 2020 at 1:34 am

Proton was a total flop under DRB-HICOM until Geely take over the management and strategic planning so if Honda wants to gain traction have to remove the useless DRB management first!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • Silthice on Jan 21, 2020 at 1:39 am

What did DRB did for Proton and Poslaju just tarnish the image and blame the government & the people…

• Succeeded on Jan 21, 2020 at 7:35 am

Maybe the above lead commenter Harsh critics towards H, reflect his initial love relations to the brand , maybe P1 2years turnaround success recipes In local market could be a good reference to be emulated by H and others

• Safety First on Jan 20, 2020 at 11:45 pm

Don’t worry. Honda is doing all the tarnishing work themselves
        https://paultan.org/2020/01/20/2020-honda-city-recalled-in-thailand-deliveries-halted/

• Stupid Malaysian Cars on Jan 20, 2020 at 6:20 pm

How sure are you that Proton is faultless?
      Blowing your horns too early, mate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
      • Stupid Malaysian Comment on Jan 21, 2020 at 6:04 am

Aiyoh….
        The difference is realizing the ‘fault’ and doing something about it.

Dont ejaculate too early mate.

• I tested Binyue, the 3 cylinders engine is not refined. I think Proton better uses the 1.8L four-pot instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • tricycle on Jan 20, 2020 at 6:49 pm

i watch in on youtube, the 3 cylinder sounds so bad, and even BMW is also ditching their 3 cylinder in favor of 4. Please Geely or Proton, put the tried and tested x70 1.8L Turbo engine in the x50.

And do not forget to put the adaptive cruise control on the highest spec.

• eeeriz on Jan 21, 2020 at 8:22 am

Agreed, my wife is driving F55 Mini Cooper 1.5T with 3 cylinders, and the engine sound may not be too enticing. However i have no problem with overall engine as it is efficient too, as long as you don’t floor the pedal!

• romance on Jan 20, 2020 at 4:44 pm

(Like) Proton X50
    (Dislike) Honda HRV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 7
  • azrai on Jan 20, 2020 at 4:45 pm

Honda salesmen, please brace yourself. Your pie from HRV will be swallowed by this X50. Not to forget the upcoming P2 Rocky.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Bye bye XC40 on Jan 20, 2020 at 4:51 pm

Hrv, cx30,xc40 all sayornana now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Can the clutch handle the power? Even vw doesn’t put that much

• panjang on Jan 21, 2020 at 6:10 am

All gb have a max torque limit.
      As long as the engine output stay within the boundry then it should not be a problem.

• Aikon on Jan 21, 2020 at 8:44 am

Its wet clutch against VW’s dry clutch in the 1.4tsi.

• Ohhh, straight CKD production that shows how much confidence Geely has in P1 manufacturing knowhow. Thats great news and will straight take the fight and finish off Anuz.

P1 say they will get 100k sales in 2019 and they did it.
    If they say they will get 132k sales this year, dun bet against it like Albert Yong/Kunta did. He lost his pants and underwear big time. Such big shame after all the bollocks he told here.

Prepare for the Surge, prepare for the inevitable. P1 is inevitable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
  • Ksatria on Jan 20, 2020 at 5:10 pm

PHEV??

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 20, 2020 at 5:12 pm

This is really big news indeed. Straight off the start line and already CKDed. That is all thanks to all our abang-abang engineers, technicians, operators, all the way down to the cleaners for making Proton a great success since Day One. You all have contributed much to the national automotive sectors and made your country proud. Without you guys, we would not have reached this level today. So tahniah to you all! You have made Proton proud, you have made DRB proud, you have made Malaysia proud, you have made us rakyat proud. Now is time to impress Geely and make them proud. Majulah Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
    • Syer1n on Jan 20, 2020 at 6:55 pm

I love that you give full credit inclusive of the cleaner. Yes we need them ALL. That’s how to be human.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • Engineer on Jan 20, 2020 at 11:51 pm

In NASA, even our cleaners played an important role in sending a man to the moon and made the space program a great success, much like Proton’s continued successes are from all contributions, and yes all the way down to the cleaners. No doubt with the new management in place, these great contributors are now highly motivated to do their best.

• redpilled on Jan 21, 2020 at 12:22 am

That’s what gotong-royong means – team work. Everyone has a role.

• In a team there will be some bad hats, so while majority rakyat Malaysia supports P1 as we seen here, there are some jokers that hates it because their lives revolves around hating something.

• Jenny on Jan 20, 2020 at 5:27 pm

X50 gives full specs of safety for sure when launches in Malaysia. But HRV gives basic specs of safety without advanced safety features. It is highly confirmed that Proton X50 will takeover Honda HRV as best selling cars which HRV will plummeting sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
  • Albert Law on Jan 20, 2020 at 5:31 pm

The price tentatively around RM75k-RM90k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Confirm for sure. Plus this X50 is more safer car to drive than HRV. Because X50 comes with AEB, rear cross traffic alert, panoramic view monitor, land departure warning, forward collision warning and etc. Even this X50 is more reliable and better quality than HRV. Don’t forget, Proton service malaysia is better than Honda service malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • “Excited?”
    Hell Yeah!!! Bring it on baby!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • vivizurianti on Jan 20, 2020 at 11:24 pm

Syukur x1001 ada CEO Li Chunrong…..and saved P1 from bankruptcy.

• Talk shit about x50’s 3 cyl.. but owner drives a 2019 Merc c200. Coincidence?

• Brandon C. on Jan 21, 2020 at 6:41 am

‘174 hp/255 Nm 1.5 litre mill with the CKD X70’s seven-speed dual-clutch transmission.’ Since when X70 using DCT? It’s a 6AT isn’t it?

• Rahman on Jan 21, 2020 at 8:02 am

Is there any PHEV variant coming as well?

• Enak Chicken Chop on Jan 21, 2020 at 8:27 am

With all the fuss..I’m excited already

• Msia driver on Jan 21, 2020 at 10:12 am

Haha Honda HRV now very scare…
    If I’m Honda CEO I will add Honda Sensing , 1.8. Turbo with NO CVT gear box, tune it at 180hp
    And sell starting 70k-90k…

• Ben Yap on Jan 21, 2020 at 2:56 pm

X50 can develop almost the same power as the x70. Surely can smoke x70 and let it eat dust.

• KokMagog on Jan 21, 2020 at 3:28 pm

First Buaya now Penyu what next ah Tikus? No shame la with their sapu modify sell motto.

• aku budak kampung on Feb 11, 2020 at 5:41 pm

market malaysia kecik bro…market cina besau..thats why proton tak boleh beat geely…cina menang in volume for its domestic only…jual murah tapi volume base profits.sekali jalan production line buat yg veri malaysia punya….untong lagi….

• Zack chan Lee Jin on Apr 01, 2020 at 9:34 pm

X50 when arriving? Can booking now?

• guys, do you have any idea when x50 will be launched and the base price?

• Hasan on Jun 09, 2020 at 6:54 am

Nak tanya x50

• Selvam on Jul 29, 2020 at 9:37 pm

I m n owner of the proton preve.The cvt transmission is giving lots of issues and the company has done to rectify the issue although i have contacted their customer department several times.The resale value is atrocious.Wake up Proton n help your customers in after sales issues.

• I m a proton owner n the proton service centres render horrible service.