Geely asks Proton to expand into Southeast Asia – initial focus on Thailand, Indonesia and Singapore

Proton has been asked by Chinese automaker Geely to expand its presence across the region, initially focusing on ASEAN markets such as Thailand, Indonesia, Singapore and Brunei.

According to Proton CEO Li Chunrong, the automaker is also aiming to make its way into the Middle East and increase sales to Egypt. He revealed these expansion plans in an interview with Reuters, but did not provide specific timeframes for entry into individual markets.

He said that Proton wanted to increase its export numbers, which stood at about 1,000 cars last year, by at least four-fold this year, and is looking to have 40% of its sales coming from foreign markets by 2027.

Li told the newswire that Thailand and Indonesia have been identified as key markets, but declined to reveal the strategy to crack them. “We have a good foundation. We commit that, every year, we will launch a new model,” he said.

He added that Proton, which returned to profitability last year, could beat market leader Perodua by 2022, five years ahead of the target announced after Geely’s investment. In December last year, Li had said that the national carmaker was now aiming to go head-to-head with the likes of Toyota and Honda, and that Perodua was no longer its immediate competitor.

“Perodua is not even our competitor (anymore). Why? Because of different product position. Our Saga is much better than their Bezza,” he said last month.

Proton has implemented a series of cost-cutting measures that have bolstered its fortunes, but as the report indicates, some of the rapid changes have jarred local sensitivities, something that it could also encounter in other countries.

The company has increasingly switched to sourcing cheaper components from China, and let go of many small local distributors, bringing about some resentment. It has also been trying to get more Malaysian vendors to partner with Chinese suppliers in a bid to get them to cut costs by 30%.

The automaker has also cut its warehouses to four from 16 and sold 1,000 of its 1,500 company cars, and the austerity has even extended to stopping newspaper subscriptions for all executives, apart from Li’s deputy, the report adds.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• More like, Geely wants to expand into SEA region. This is the sole reason they bought Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • Yee sang on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:03 pm

Proton is nothing but a Game Over carmaker in SEA region but thanks to Geely’s Game-Changing guidance and marketing strategy, I believe Proton can step up and do well in international market. Syabas Geely, China and Li Chunrong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 38
      • Abdul Malek on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:40 pm

you are right, everything also need bantuan from Geely. Simple Business 101 also don’t know. Jaguh kampung tak pandai perniagaan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 16
        • Kemaluan John Amat Besar on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:57 pm

I am glad Proton is on the right track now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
          • Dillon Chng on Jan 30, 2020 at 6:06 pm

DRB stalwarts Datuk Abdul Harith and Datuk Ahmad Fuaad got the foundation right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
          • Frozen on Jan 30, 2020 at 6:45 pm

So now it is time to get Perodua on the right track by closing it down. Such kemaluan besar that 30 years on and still they don’t have a car they can call their own. Still doing rebadges after rebadges. They don’t earn the status and privileges as National Car maker so either they pay back all the tax deductions and incentives for 30 years or close them down for good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
          • Roti john Sdn Bhd on Jan 30, 2020 at 7:12 pm

Without China, Geely and Li Chunrong Game-Changing leadership and guidance, what will Proton be today?

• Badrul on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:02 am

Just like schoolboy, need to be told what to do. No initiative

• Munirah on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:24 am

At least Geely is realistic, they say 4000 cars for export. Last time Proton announce they want to sell 30,000 cars overseas.

This is CRAZY.

This alone shows Geely knows how to do business and Proton is fantasy Island. Mana boleh 30,000 cars overseas?

• Munirah on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:27 am

Under DRB, Proton lost its name and lost so much of money. Under Geely, Proton is making money.

This alone shows the foundation is collapsing

• Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Jan 31, 2020 at 11:34 am

Government should withdraw the National Car status from Proton as we can clearly see, Geely is using this as a backdoor entry to sell their own China made cars in Msia and Asia

As predicted, actual Proton car sales will diminish to zero

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • As reported by PaulTan – “In terms of model-specific performance, the Saga was the company’s top seller. Sales in December amounted to 3,892 units, and total sales for 2019 closed at 38,144 units. The X70 was the second best performer for the brand, ending 2019 with a total of 26,331 units sold. As for the Persona, it contributed to the final tally with a total of 21,876 units.”

• Jeghung on Jan 30, 2020 at 6:18 pm

we should bear in mind even big names like Volvo, Jaguar, Land Rover, Bentley, Lotus etc were also taken over by foreign companies. Some simply went bust like Rover.
          Truth is, the car industry is very competitive. If even the big names couldn’t survive, what more a company like Proton. The arrangement with Geely seems like the best option…just as it was for Volvo. Let’s hope Proton will continue to thrive.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 2
          • Avenger on Jan 30, 2020 at 6:55 pm

Msia petrol and car are cheapest in region …only except the X70 in Brunei sell B$30K, we Msians hvin it real good life.

• ohtman on Jan 30, 2020 at 7:18 pm

Affirmative policy and NEP only bred complacency & expensip car components produced by local Malaysian vendors. 30% diskaun or Ship them out

• Jeremy on Jan 30, 2020 at 7:32 pm

Kudos to Najib for making such arrangements that maximises the benefits to Proton and leverages Proton’s capabilities. I hope our other national carmaker learns from Proton how to have such relationship and make themselves proud to make their own cars not just continuously rebadging.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • Badrul on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:04 am

From now on, all success from Proton is due to the intelligence of Geely. Nothing else. As we can see, 2 yrs later, Geely is still directing PRoton what to do

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • Jeremy on Jan 30, 2020 at 6:56 pm

You’re right. Jaguh kampung Swede don’t know business 101. Tak pandai perniagaan, so if whitemen like Swedes don’t know business, okaylar for our guys not to be successful.

• Badrul on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:03 am

Proton should stand on their feet by now, not be told what to do

• Aikon on Jan 31, 2020 at 11:41 am

No, not yet. Far from that level at the moment.

• Mustafa Habib on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:42 pm

Prootn need to get more graduates from overseas universities who got bright ideas for a company. Our local Universities do not teach how to think out of the box

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 29
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 30, 2020 at 6:25 pm

Well done to Proton but more importantly, thanks to all our abang-abang engineers, technicians, operators, all the way down to the cleaners for making Proton a great success since Day One. You all have contributed much to the national automotive sectors and made your country proud. Without you guys, we would not have reached this level today. So tahniah to you all! You have made Proton proud, you have made DRB proud, you have made Malaysia proud, you have made us rakyat proud. Now is time to impress Geely and make them proud. Majulah Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 12
          • Jeremy on Jan 30, 2020 at 7:34 pm

Yep. Well done to Proton. Geely is fully aware and acknowledging your capabilities unlike some idiots.

• iammud on Jan 30, 2020 at 7:47 pm

Our fellow Malaysians swept by harapan & patriotisme pushed Proton sales to 100k!

Abang-abang, keluarga & sahabat2 Now is time to impress and make proud. BBNUs plz dun buy Yaris, jazz & cerato. Exec 30tahun plz dun buy Civic, cx5 & crv. Bossku2 plz dun buy Velfaiya alphard bmw benz. Kemon la sapot P1… ape salahan P1

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 30, 2020 at 8:40 pm

Not so fast. The after sales side still has the old Proton mentality. Got customer waiting still can play phone and not following Proton SOP. Walk also walk damn slow and always disappear for a while then suddenly magically appear again but again walk slower than tortoise. Sales may be good but when customers start complaining about crap service, it won’t be long before their sales start slowing down.

• Badrul on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:11 am

I think the keyword here is Geely has made Proton proud. Proton has no products on their own. X70 and X50 are fully Geely cars.

So, it is Geely that made Proton proud.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Badrul. Go look at the bottomline and see which is the best sellers. If Geely didn’t think Saga was up to snuff, they wouldn’t invest into the raft of changes for the Facelift. Geely is proud of Proton’s legacy achievements but at same time is pushing Proton to move higher up.

• Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Jan 31, 2020 at 11:45 am

geely will soon phase out the Saga with one of their own cars. This is how China does things

• Hafiz Hisham on Jan 31, 2020 at 5:09 pm

Saga just got facelifted so it will soldier on for another 2-3 years. Meantime there is plenty of time for Proton R&D team to work with Geely other research divisions in developing the new Saga. All in good hands of our local boys.

• 25Yrsold on Jan 30, 2020 at 6:37 pm

So right brah. Proton need to get more graduates from overseas universities. Esp those sponsored by JPA and Mara to serve bond

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
          • Badrul on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:05 am

We pay Proton employees so high in gaji but even this, they must be directed.

• Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Jan 31, 2020 at 11:48 am

So shy and malu that Proton does not have their own products and they are now using the Boyue and X50 as their bread and butter

• Someone obvious have reading disability – “In terms of model-specific performance, the Saga was the company’s top seller. Sales in December amounted to 3,892 units, and total sales for 2019 closed at 38,144 units. The X70 was the second best performer for the brand, ending 2019 with a total of 26,331 units sold. As for the Persona, it contributed to the final tally with a total of 21,876 units.”

• Rakyat Biasa on Jan 30, 2020 at 7:07 pm

An attitude of Malaysia management, always blaming the orang bawah when they are fail, but now claim say they are part to laid the good foundation for Proton success.

• Rakyat Biasa on Jan 30, 2020 at 7:17 pm

An attitude of Malaysia management, always blaming the orang bawah when they fail, but now claim they are part of people to laid the good foundation for Proton today success.

Proton fanboy, don’t celebrate too early. you just got the magic stick from China.

• Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Jan 31, 2020 at 11:43 am

again, so well said….Proton syiok sendiri when Geely give all their own products

• In Harry Potter movies, it was Harry that was the star not the magic stick. just like here, the Harry is Proton so all the praise and glamour belongs to Proton not the magic stick.

• Ghani on Jan 30, 2020 at 7:38 pm

Its so weird that some certain segments condemn our local uni education but they complaint about not getting places in local unis. So weird these people.

• LCR said on Jan 30, 2020 at 10:17 pm

“Now we have talents from 13 countries, compared to only one (Msia) previously”
          “On the board of directors (BOD), there are experts from China, the United States, Malaysia and Germany. In the seven-member top management team, we have local talents as well as those from China, Japan and Canada”

• Ajibkor on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:47 pm

All my advice and gud vision LOL. Syabas Geely!

• Bossku Pun Adanya Boss Sendiri on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:55 pm

A leader needs to wear the pants. If you let your wife make decisions for your country or company, sure lah the company or country will go down the longkang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
          • Avenger on Jan 31, 2020 at 9:34 am

So sexist telling women leaders to wear pants. Such sexism is just like telling women must cover up when go gomen offices.

• Kemaluan John Amat Besar on Jan 30, 2020 at 6:00 pm

Now our country will progress very fast to become Developed Nation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • Badrul on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:07 am

When will Proton stand on its feet? Already 2 yrs Geely injected money. Would it be another 20 yrs time?

• Munirah on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:28 am

You mean all the advice and gud vision of Li Chunrong…..

• Mustafa Habib on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:47 pm

What is our Proton staff doing all this while? 20 years tidur, now also tidur. tak malu ke? China and Geely must tell you what to do

How long do you want to be babu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 17
        • Kemaluan John Amat Besar on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:59 pm

This is like following orders from Rajah Brooke and East India Company during the British rule

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
        • Badrul on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:08 am

Do the employees of Proton actually work? That is the main question now. Otherwise, you don’t have to be told to venture into other markets by now

• You see P1Geely being a global citizen by contributing to fight humanitarian crisis
        https://paultan.org/2020/01/28/geely-establishes-rm117-million-coronavirus-fund-free-ride-hailing-and-50-mpvs-contributed-to-wuhan/

Why cant P2 do the same to helps fight our haze problem by giving hybrid & ev cars like they say they would? Toyota & Diehatsure has the tech but these Jepunis overlords so stingy dunwan gip becoz they continue to reap max profits from 240k bodohs who overpay over for dinosar polluting cars.

If P2 were more responsible, they shud gip hybrid & ev cars so that 240k owners cud have helps reduce haze problem, not just to maximise profits and send back to Jepun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
        • Badrul on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:10 am

Yes you are right, China has taken this initiative. What has Proton on its own done? Other than losing money, what CSR have they done?

Proton does not even have RM117 million.

• Safety First on Jan 31, 2020 at 11:08 am

Proton has done plenty charity by giving safer cars compared to Perodua. That is enough for me.

• Munirah on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:30 am

Haze problem? All Proton cars rejected overseas because they failed emission controls.

Only Geely cars can pass emission controls. This is why so many years Proton cannot sell in UK

• Jeremy on Jan 31, 2020 at 11:41 am

At least Proton sold well in UK to earn its respect from Jeremy. P2 otoh, just get blown up.

• Munirah on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:31 am

When others do the charity and good work, you now know how to claim fame and prominence.

Learn to do it yourself first. Then blow your trumpet.

• Your right, the problem was Proton had being doing lotsa charity work but they didn’t blow their trumpet. High time they come out and blow as hard on the trumpet.

• Yee sang on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:04 pm

Proton is nothing but a Game Over carmaker in SEA region but thanks to Geely’s Game-Changing guidance and marketing strategy, I believe Proton can step up and do well in international market. Syabas Geely, China and Li Chunrong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
      • Kemaluan John Amat Besar on Jan 30, 2020 at 6:04 pm

Where is our hero who always laugh at Japanese now?

Today he is hiding

• Miyamoto Musashi on Jan 30, 2020 at 8:18 pm

The Japanese still have to rescue their second biggest car manufacturer (Nissan) from bankrupcy

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 30, 2020 at 6:25 pm

Fully agree with your analysis. While Proton can still survive on its own, it is time to close down Perodua.

They had been a drag on the rakyat for decades and providing outdated, unsafe cars, leading to the high accident and mortality rates over the past few years.

Perodua had done nothing to justify their status and privileges as National Car for the fact they are only assembling outdated Daihatsu cars. Their status as National Car should be revoked immediately and they must be made to pay back all the tax deductions and incentives they were given since Day One.

Perodua had been given time and yet they still refused to develop their cars, instead continue to rely on Daihatsu and in return Daihatsu continue to give us old and unsafe cars which are no longer sold elsewhere. It is time we close our humiliating chapter in national automotive history by closing down Perodua for good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
        • Badrul on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:13 am

“Fully agree with your analysis. While Proton can still survive on its own, it is time to close down Perodua”

How can it survive on its own when Geely is still telling Proton what to do AND Geely is giving their Boyue and Binyue s the X70 and X50 to Proton

• perotiga on Jan 31, 2020 at 10:25 am

How can Perodua survive when Daihatsu is still telling them what to do AND Daihatsu is giving them previous generation cars, obsolete in developed countries?

• Without Daihatsu, Perodua would have close shop since day one.

• Sambung Bayar John on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:15 pm

So shameful Geely must teach Proton this. Don’t know what local marketing department is doing. Maybe goyang kaki and sleeping

Everything also Geely must do for Proton. From money to showing them how to run a business

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 30, 2020 at 6:04 pm

Look at this French Renault company. Diaorg tak malu pun to get an Italian or even a Lebanese to run their operations and manage the company as long they can perform. Its not like Italians know how to make good everyday cars, and neither does Lebanon has any car manufacturing yet CEOs from these 2 countries have step up and performed.

I don’t know why some are claiming a local company should be malu to get a foreign CEO when even a giant like Renault does it. All it matters are results and we can see the results of hiring based on merits, not connections to some Advisor or others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • Badrul on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:14 am

Renault still makes their own cars. They have their own product.

Proton does not have their own product. Even the Saga is half Hyundai now.

That is the beza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • Toyota don’t have their own cars, their Supra is 100% BMW?

• Damon Lee on Jan 31, 2020 at 11:21 am

Half Hyundai? OK so which part does half of Saga looks like a Hyundai? The front or the rear? Even the blind can tell they are not the same look.

• Damon Lee on Jan 31, 2020 at 11:23 am

Half a Hyundai? OK so which part does half of Saga looks like a Hyundai? The front or the rear? Even the blind can tell they are not the same look.

• Muahaha on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:16 pm

If geely never ask?
      Proton still sleeping.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
      • Hari Ini Dalam Sejarah on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:45 pm

This reminds me of Zaman Melaka. Hang Li Po and Hang Tuah (from China) do all the work but and make EMpayar Melaka successful but Hang Jebat syiok sendiri and claim glamour and say he is behind the success of empayar Melaka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 14
        • Historian on Jan 30, 2020 at 6:09 pm

Hang Tuah is a fairy tale like aladdin gosok teko flying carpet.

• Shukor bin Azman on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:17 am

So is the affirmative policy as well. Not in the Constitution and a fairy tale

• History Bender on Jan 31, 2020 at 9:42 am

Sure dude, next you will come here telling us Hang Tuah, Jebat, Li Po, Kepala Hotak Ko are Kamen Riders from Jepang. Nice story.

• Kemaluan John Amat Besar on Jan 30, 2020 at 6:01 pm

I don’t know how come Proton failed but Perodua can do so well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
        • Got money to double investment why not double our bonus? So ciku this year. We know our cars are not developed by ourselves so why bother doing investment? We all are grateful to Daihatsu & Toyota for donating their cars to us for rebadging during the past 30 years and we will continue to rebadge until we close shop. Thank you Daihatsu & Toyota. We only wish you wouldn’t throw us your old and outdated models to do the rebadging. Malu tau, when customers asking why Daihatsu have newer cars and we still rebadging old models.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 30, 2020 at 7:05 pm

Too many foreign workers in Perodua now. I don’t know how they can maintain National Car status when the are run by Japanese bosses, using foreign labourers to assemble a rebadged foreign car.

MACC should investigate their business operation and revoke their status as National Car maker, then make them pay back all the incentives and tax deductions they had cheated from the gomen in the past 30 years. Do this better than snooping onto private conversations.

• Miyamoto Musashi on Jan 30, 2020 at 8:22 pm

Only in Malaysia they can sell the leftovers from Japan. This article is about exports.

• Becos p2 got brain.
          P1 no brain.

• Ghani on Jan 31, 2020 at 11:09 am

They only got brain to cheat people of their money and send back all profits to Japan leaving none for Malaysia.

• Troll Hunter on Jan 31, 2020 at 9:36 am

Perodua only did well because of Japan. If someone sat an exam for me and got an A for me, i will be shy to tell the world I got an A for that paper because it is someone else who did all the hard work.

• Engineer on Jan 31, 2020 at 12:13 pm

Proton started out in 1985 and within 20 years they could develop and produce their own cars and engines.

Yet Perodua 30 years on and still relied on Daihatsu and Toyota to rebadge their cars and use their engines.

How come in the same period Proton by themselves could come out with their own cars and engines, but Perodua with Daihatsu and Toyota support still continue to rebadge their cars and use their engines? Answer is hard work & Proton innovation.

And I will keep repeating that as long I see misguided idiocy.

• Hail to Li Chunrong! on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:28 pm

We are so grateful China, Geely and Li Chunrong is teaching us how to work efficiently.

Lucky China came and helped Proton. Li Chunrong and Geely, within 6 months could identify all the leakages Proton had, what local CEOs could not identify in 30 years.

This is why we need more foreign CEOs from Mainland to come into Malaysia to help run our GLCs and even Putrajaya. We will see a 10 fold increase in productivity and we will become FIRST World soon.

Already 2020, our vision to be FIRST world tak jadi, nevermind, never too late to get brains and intelligence from Mainland to help us achieve this goal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 10
      • Malu Malu Proton on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:48 pm

Looks like Geely controls Proton fully despite owning just 49.9%.

Looks like DRB tak ada bola

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Kemaluan John Amat Besar on Jan 30, 2020 at 6:08 pm

We need more Mainland people into Malaysia to help us run the country. Then we can beat Singapore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • Badrul on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:18 am

better sell the remaining shares of DRB to Geely and make Proton 100% Geely owned if local directors cannot make decisions to expand

• Advice to Proton staff on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:37 pm

Proton staff should have done this long ago. Their bizness skills are not good. Better stick to frying goreng pisang if you don’t know how to run a MNC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Kemaluan John Amat Besar on Jan 30, 2020 at 6:09 pm

Singapore and Malaysia Merdeka same time. But Singapore is light years ahead of us. Because they have the same thinking as China and Geely. Hard Work

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
        • finecity on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:38 am

No life in sinjaork, paid in dollar but expensip cars, flats etc

• John Lingkup on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:50 pm

Nope, they just wanna get Lotus n got it.

Anything with Proton just bonus items, if can make money then just continue milk it. If failed then just lelong it back to govt khazanah or highest bidder pak sanggup. Geely can still use own brand name to sell its cars elsewhere anyway.

• Zaman Khan on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:53 pm

Many like to laugh at Japanese but Japanese at least can hold their face high.

Not like abang2 got no malu and accept anything our Masters tell us

• EDITOR on Jan 30, 2020 at 6:06 pm

You sure love to come here with 13 in counting, dupes to stir up trouble when nobody talks to you ain’t it?

• Haji Babjee Sanusi on Jan 30, 2020 at 7:01 pm

yes Rakyat Malaysia aka john, we bilip you

• Jepunis cannot hold face high, even toyota uses bmw engine

SO what they do in 100 years? Tido lepak drink

• rolls rose on Jan 30, 2020 at 8:24 pm

Tell that the bankrupt Nissan guys.

• Tahiah P1! Now to expand ur power. Dun be like the local jaguh kampung only know how to crow at all

• Faisal Harun on Jan 30, 2020 at 7:02 pm

You are right, local jaguh kampung will soon sell the whole of Malaysia to China for better prosperity

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 31, 2020 at 11:18 am

I prefer that, at least we get better cars not like that jaguh kampung that sells us overpriced, underspecced, unsafe, outdated cars and sends all the profits they made back to their Jap overlords. Anything as long good for the rakyat.

• Geely - Defined/Committed on Jan 30, 2020 at 10:54 pm

24 May 2017 GerardLye:
      Geely to acquire 49.9% stake in Proton, 51% in Lotus – definitive agreement to be signed before end of July.
      Geely notes the agreement will allow it and Proton (along with its Lotus subsidiary) to “explore joint synergies in areas such as R&D, manufacturing and market presence.”
      The Chinese carmaker says it is “committed to supporting the transformation of Proton and Lotus” with its expertise, and aims to “build Proton into the most competitive brand in Malaysia and a leading brand in Southeast Asia.”
      Meanwhile, Geely group executive vice president and CFO Daniel Donghui Li commented:
      “Geely Holding is full of confidence for the future of Proton, we will fully respect the brands history and culture to restore Proton to its former glory with the support of Geely’s innovative technology and management resources. We also aim to unleash the full potential of Lotus Cars and bring it into a new phase of development, thanks to our experience accumulated through Volvo Car’s revitalization,”
      https://paultan.org/2017/05/24/geely-to-acquire-49-9-percent-stake-in-proton-51-percent-in-lotus/

• tonny on Jan 31, 2020 at 10:20 am

That is exactly the case.
      Proton joint venture as an Aseania Member
      is their distributor in the region.

• Dr Strange on Jan 30, 2020 at 4:32 pm

Gogo Geely chinas! The impossibilities are endless

• Habislah proton!
      Geely up!

• Ya, Proton habislah sales compare to Perodua a lot cars in junkyard then after gear up sell to SH as new car.

• Long Live China!!! on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:38 pm

We should make Malaysia a protectorate of China. Then, even Malaysia will do so well.

Bravo China!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • His Friend on Jan 30, 2020 at 6:34 pm

Correct friend. Previously there was some idiot that told us we should not follow China and instead follow his Japan overlord. Now his Japan overlord has fallen and their sales are going down the drain, we have another that told us we should follow China. In that case I propose we follow Martians. At least they have flying cars. Agreed?

• James on Jan 30, 2020 at 10:47 pm

Malaysia SAR??? u want malaysia to be like HK and macau?

• Sembang Kencang on Jan 30, 2020 at 4:46 pm

Proton now truly a global brand and doesn’t need protection anymore, so let’s remove the car excise duties import taxes okay ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Sambung Bayar John on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:21 pm

China is so clever. Managed to get local car status for their Geely cars.

This is how clever China is.

Somemore for just Rm170 million, they bought whole of Proton, got Lotus free (worth billions) and got Proton Shah Alam land worth RM5 billion (RM12 billion GDV) for free.

All three for RM170 million and now got local car status for ALL Geely cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
    • Ghani on Jan 31, 2020 at 9:38 am

Tak boleh! Nanti P2 & P3 marah dan autatok murka.

• Raymond on Jan 30, 2020 at 4:47 pm

To sell in Singapore, make sure you equip your cars with a 1.6l (or below) engine with 130hp or less. If not, the COE price will be much higher and you can forget about selling your vehicles.

• Isobel Chin on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:19 pm

Proton Saga 1.3FL & Proton X70 Ckd 1.5T, Proton konfem conquer Singapore & SEA region.

• Sambung Bayar John on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:23 pm

Geely cars now can sell in Singapore. But Proton cars for past 20 years only could sell maximum 1 a year.

Proton is so clever. Kept expensive showroom and spend millions per year just on rental and keep their staff in Singapore and finally in 2018, just sold 1 car.

OMG OMG OMG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • China brands in Singapore got zero sales in Dec.2109

• Badrul on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:22 am

If China brands fail in Singapore, why is Proton going into Singapore?

Singaporeans have money, they don’t need to buy cheapo brands.

This is why all China cars failed in first world countries.

• SG Driver on Jan 31, 2020 at 3:04 pm

The China cars failed in Singapore because they were lousy cars, 3 gear autos and no safety features at all. Practically a Kancil trying to compete with Toyotas and Hondas, of course it would fail.

Todays Peroduas and Protons are miles ahead of that quality.

Perodua Bezzas and Misubishi Attrages are selling in Singapore as they’re the cheapest cars while still offering quite decent levels of safety and quality.

If the Saga can be launched in Singapore while undercutting the Bezza at SGD5k, it would be cheaper than the Attrage by SGD10k, it would definitely sell a decent amount to people that just need a basic car.

• Ghani on Jan 31, 2020 at 10:02 pm

Bezza was never on sales in S’pore. Don’t lie here.

• Ghani on Jan 31, 2020 at 9:39 am

Volvo is selling quite well in S’pore.

• Sverige on Jan 31, 2020 at 2:35 pm

Volvo is not a chinese brand. The swedes still do all the work, they only got chinese money now.

• Edwin L on Jan 31, 2020 at 10:01 pm

Someone did point out; Volvo milik siapa?

• Kelab Pencinta dan Penyokong Kunta (KPPK) on Jan 30, 2020 at 7:09 pm

China pun gagal di Singapura, macam mana orang nak beli Proton aka China car?

• donno on Jan 30, 2020 at 4:48 pm

Actually Geely has benefited tremendously from the brand goodwill it got from the Proton brand right now in malaysia. If they entered malaysia as their own brand and as a chinese car manufacturer, they wont be able to get to the 2nd spot overall in malaysia like where Proton is right now. Geely has been very lucky, with Volvo and Proton. Unlike say Bogward while technically a german brand or MG which is a british brand but still consumers think that now they are chinese cars; for Volvo and Proton, consumers still see them as Swedish and Malaysian cars respectively.

IMO Geely can sell more cars in south east asia by using Proton brand and harnessing its brand goodwill rather than using Geely brand or other of its newly created brands like Geometry, or Lync & Co.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • very good point and im agree
      no one will consider x70 at all if it wasnt under proton
      it will be like any other china suv haval, bogwards etc that die in obscurity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Bossku Pun Adanya Boss Sendiri on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:33 pm

Nasib baik China tolong Proton, ECRL, HSR etc etc etc.

Must sell TH to China also. Now TH need RM10.3 bil bailout, if we give to China, they will run it efficently

MAS also need RM25 bil bailout to run until 2025. If we sell to China, it will run efficiently

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 55
    • Anak Malaysia on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:42 pm

RESPONSE TO DONNO’s COMMENT ABOVE

Armchair analysts are a dime a dozen.
      When Proton bounced back from the dumps, Geely succeed because of the goodwill of the Proton brand. Yeah right, when all the government support with billions pumped in and contract with government for official vehicles couldn’t save it.
      When Geely did well with Volvo and Proton, it is called lucky. If luck is all we need, we should have just kept the shares and hire fengshui masters and local bomohs. We can keep all the profit. Whatever happens to the strategy and leadership of Geely in handling Volvo and Proton well?
      Let us celebrate the success of Proton. Under Geely and Li Chunrong, Proton cut cost by RM250m or thereabout. Proton improved internal quality control by a big margin. Proton rationalised and raised the bar for its channels with some concession for bumiputera channels. These are hard fought battles by Proton, led by Li Chunrong, and supported by Geely as an organisation and the government of Malaysia as a stakeholder. They are winning. They are making gains. 
      Don’t take the glory away from them.
      – X70 did not become a runaway success because of your sympathy.- Iriz and Person did not win new fans because of X70’s success, it was real engineering and design input from Geely and our local boys that fix all the problems, esp the CVT transmission.- Saga came from the back to become a “better product than Bezza”. Is that true Dr Li? You betcha. So good that I am buying one for my daughter. Go do a comparo between the Saga Premium and the similarly priced Bezza… Saga blows the competition away.
      I would say that if Geely entered the market on its own, while it may take a couple of years longer, it will do well. 

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 33
      • benard on Jan 30, 2020 at 6:15 pm

If Geely entered the market on its own, it will do not much better than any current chinese brands in malaysia. Do you even know that some banks (like Hong Leong) do not even want to give out loans for Bogward due to its chinese car origin? So much for its supposed German brand origins! Geely will certainly be met with the same fate if it did try to enter malaysian market with their own name.

• Donno on Jan 30, 2020 at 6:22 pm

Never did I say Geely did not do good to turn Proton around. The best thing that they brought to Proton is actually a marketable car to be sold under the Proton Brand, and also engine and transmission transfers.

But frankly Geely cannot be in a strong position it is right now in South East Asia without the Proton Brand, something that we need to acknowledge. The same reason why it wants to use the Proton brand (and not its own Geely brand) to take the fight to Honda and Toyota in south east asia.

• Badrul on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:20 am

It took Geely to cut cost for Proton, otherwise, now Proton will still be losing money plus they don’t have a product of their own

• Your view of the automotive industry is grossly misled.
      You need to do more research about Geely’s development internationally as compared to Proton’s many failed marketing campaigns abroad.
      To put Proton as a more superior Brand as compared to Geely and Volvo is dumb to say the least and I am glad your kind of opinion is no longer within the equation of Proton.

• thepolygon on Jan 30, 2020 at 4:59 pm

After Geely transfer the tech and teach Proton how to make their cars, they aspect Proton to make full use of the tech and expand. Jangan jaguh kampung sahaja, expand to other countries… if not they will come in as Geely and wallop the market and leave Proton to be Malaysia only. No free lunch. They do their part in reviving Proton, now it’s up to Proton to stand tall and move forward! You can do it Proton…

• tengku johan on Jan 30, 2020 at 5:19 pm

Geely wants Msian partner to cough out
    the money after revamping Proton.
    With 51% equity, you cannot expect Geely
    to do the dirty job as well as to fork out the $$.
    So is DRB game to venture overseas or prefers
    to retain “juara kampung ” status.
    Li already up the ante and say that Saga is
    better than Bezza – not even a competitor.
    Is he so damn sure confident or
    being arrogant ? Reality check ,
    Proton is a nobody, they can’t even source
    an engine for it’s current fleet.

• lenny on Jan 31, 2020 at 2:42 am

our engine are homegrown there not the best and aging atleast they tried to make something instead of just relying on daihatsu shit
      p2 fan are hypocrite smh

• Badrul on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:19 am

Proton got no product of their own plus their only Saga is 50% Hyundai as it uses Hyundai gearbox

• And Toyota Supra is 100% German as absolutely nothing is from Toyota? :)

• normal_user on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:24 am

Agree with you. Dr Li has to do some reality checks. He’s starting to sound much like Tengku Mahaleel, who boasted so much when the brand couldn’t do well in its own turf. These are Dr Li’s two ambitions that I can dispute:

1.Market leader by 2022: Perodua is Proton’s direct competitor when it comes to money & sense. The D55 and Alza replacement models could hamper’s Proton ambition, considering that DNGA technology allows P2 to produce enjoyable driving cars. In Japan, Rocky & Raize (D55) were often compared to the Bezel (HRV), hence its interior size is competitive to the upcoming X50.

2.40% Asen market share by 2027: Don’t expect Thais and Indonesians to stopping worship their Toyota & Honda brands so soon. Plus the tax factor that can cause CBU imported Protons to costs nearly as much as T & H brands, Proton would not have the price advantage.

• Hafiz Hisham on Jan 31, 2020 at 5:24 pm

1. He is aiming to be market leader in 5 of 7 segments. If he achieves that, arbitrarily Proton would be the market leaders. His aim so far is spot on and while its not perfect, he has shown the meins to achieve those goals. Many doubted Proton could break 100k target last year but they did it. I wouldn’t bet against them if I were you.

2. Proton will have to find price reductions from their own ongoing cost reduction efforts and with Geely resources, there is no doubt they can still produce parts cheaper than ASEAN countries can make them. ASEAN people are only looking at one thing: PRICE. The same reason why Perodua sold well: PRICE. Make it cheap enough and the many will flock to it.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jan 30, 2020 at 6:50 pm

To compete in Indonesia, just roll out a couple of MPVs and you’re good to go. Just look at Wuling.

• Truth on Jan 30, 2020 at 8:07 pm

Thailand dont bother about proton/Malaysian cars, Indonesia hates it…Singapore might buy a few if the price is cheap…so dont dream to compete against Toyota and Honda la

• In Europe, the market share of japanese motorbikes was >93% in the 1980s. Now it’s down to 47%. Don’t take for granted that people will love to buy Toyota and Honda automatically in the future too…

• Since Proton is so competitive now, no more protection needed at the expense of the rakyat anymore. Pleases drop the ridiculous excise duty for foreign car manufacturers to level the playing field. More choices are always good for the consumer market.

• The partnership between Geely and Proton is the single best contribution made by Najib Razak. One can’t deny that.

• With proton not needing anymore tongkat, what’s stopping current gov from removing excessive import duty, thereby reducing overall car prices?

I have to say this, thanks Najib for allowing the correct decision to be made.

Here is me expecting backlash from machais.

• Leafable on Jan 31, 2020 at 6:31 am

Thailand and Singapore are moving into electric vehicles. You don’t have a single electric car to offer.

• Gen 2 on Jan 31, 2020 at 8:22 am

“Perodua is no longer our competitor….” totally agreed with this. proton build quality nowadays more superior and even better than Japanese make. Perodua quality is average.

• msia driver on Jan 31, 2020 at 9:02 am

told you all, proton and geely < all

• Philip Y on Jan 31, 2020 at 1:10 pm

Pls pls bring in the X50 hybrid powertrain too…

• Still waiting Proton to introduce electric cars

• They can introduce it but you peeps still can’t afford it. So why bother.

• Thailand is locally assembling a lot of Japanese brand cars so I dont see a reason for them to buy the imported Proton, and Singaporeans are too proud to own a Proton car even though they can’t afford to buy cars.