DreamEdge teases new national car prototype – full Malaysian effort, sedan promises to be “fun to drive”

DreamEdge, a Cyberjaya-based digital engineering services and consultancy company behind the New National Car Project (NNCP), has set up a teaser box with what appears to be a prototype of the “third national car.” This was showcased at the new Ministry of International Trade and Industry tower, an event which coincides with the NAP 2020 announcement.

The boxed car itself is draped in black cloth, revealing just one side of each headlight and tail lamp, and what clearly appears to be matte black paint. Much of the design seems generic at this point, but do let us know what you think of it.

The headlight itself features a long strip of LED daytime running light, a single projector lens, a separate high beam reflector panel, and what appears to be a bulb-type turn indicator. Judging by the outline of the chrome grille surrounds, we’d argue that the grille design will be rather sizeable.

Other notable design cues include subtle bumper contours, an integrated lower lip, plus another LED strip to replace the conventional fog lamps. The lower intake surrounds appear to be finished in gloss black, but there’s really not much we can go about with what’s shown here.

At the back, we can’t help but find the tail light design remarkably similar to the first-generation Audi A5, albeit featuring a distinct C-shaped LED graphics and several vertical strips. Lower down, there’s more black highlights, as well as an integrated reflector strip.’

One thing to note is that the car will be produced as a plus-sized B-segment sedan. Besides that, DreamEdge promises that it will be an all-rounded performer with emphasis on being “fun to drive,” family friendly, highly fuel efficient, and value for money. It will also get a “modern and futuristic styling, complete with up-to-date in-car connectivity functions, and Advanced Driver Assistance Systems.

As for the powertrain, previous reports suggest that the sedan will get either a regular internal combustion petrol engine or a hybrid powertrain. The design concept and development will be led by DreamEdge, with technology partner being Daihatsu – which confirmed its involvement in the project in October, with no equity involved – handling the development of the powertrain and providing the platform. It won’t be another Daihatsu rebadge, though.

We were told recently that a prototype of the first model will be shown in March this year, and a working prototype is due by mid this year. The final product is said to make its market debut a year later in March 2021, whereas production is set to take place in the first half of 2022. After that, the company plans to sell at least 3,000 units of the car a month in the first year of sales, which is rather ambitious.

Lastly, DreamEdge’s mission statement is to spur innovation and boost Malaysian participation in science, engineering and technology adoption. It will take on a tech-oriented approach in sales and after sales, and promises to transfer tech knowhow through the process of localisation, as well as enhance local R&D capabilities.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• It seems like quite nice looking car leh honestly…
    hopefully lar, don’t disappoint us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Feb 21, 2020 at 12:55 pm

Fun must then have TURBO!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • taknakhonda on Feb 21, 2020 at 2:23 pm

Fun to drive must have high tech safety features and more features too.

• Mr Visionary on Feb 21, 2020 at 3:37 pm

TURBO is just for cheapskate ah bengs like civic drivers who never cared about fun driving and only know how to high beam people and go fast on highways that’s it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
        • karam singh on Feb 22, 2020 at 3:26 am

Well you ah beng stay off speed lane, STOP LANE HOGGING. why don’t u move when u see car coming through your rearview? U lane hogging, u blame other people beaming. We not gonna beam if u not lane hogging

• Visionary on Feb 24, 2020 at 3:31 pm

Even when there’s no lane hogging because of massive amounts of cars in front going at slow speed, honda owners with low life mentality still wants to high beam ppl despite so many cars in front in the lane, that’s honda owner attitude problem not the lane hogger

• Murtabak kampung on Feb 21, 2020 at 1:00 pm

Such a clean and futuristic design! DreamEdge together with Perodua will be the only Game-Changing national carmaker that we can be proud of since Proton is now 1/2 China carmaker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 30
      • tadika on Feb 21, 2020 at 1:56 pm

ur underwear even chine made

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • His Friend on Feb 21, 2020 at 2:22 pm

Someone say if Saga is 40% a Hyundai, that makes X70 a 90% Volvo. Well done Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • Carfan on Feb 21, 2020 at 3:38 pm

Oh no, it means it’s a failure because volvo has been failing all the time with the unreliable tech

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
          • History Bender on Feb 21, 2020 at 4:05 pm

Volvo have been voted COTY 2018 in Europe and Japan. Where were you all these years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
          • Stupidity at its finest lmao

• stewp1d on Feb 21, 2020 at 4:29 pm

i only see korean designing team again

• Perodua 100% owned by Malaysian?

• Melvin on Feb 23, 2020 at 4:55 am

Check it out “Geely Emgrand”

• hondaman on Feb 21, 2020 at 10:15 am

The rear looks like Audi A4

• Imaduddin on Feb 22, 2020 at 8:02 am

To me, both the front and rear looks somewhat like the 1st gen Kia Forte.

• Proton oh Proton on Feb 21, 2020 at 10:26 am

I thought is fly car…

• Sanjen on Feb 21, 2020 at 10:27 am

looks promising..

• newme on Feb 21, 2020 at 10:30 am

The marketing person that is doing this teasing must be the same person that does the ads for Proton Savvy “Wah, lucky I didn’t book the other car”. And it loses badly to Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Arnie on Feb 21, 2020 at 1:03 pm

Dunno. His style is more similar to that Bezza box teasing here and there but ultimately the car failed badly vs Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • wawasan2030 on Feb 21, 2020 at 10:33 am

Seriously no idea what Atok is thinking there.tough time like this still creating Pro3 for don’t know what reason.

• Crony on Feb 21, 2020 at 2:23 pm

It’s to feed us obviously. Remember who paid for PH campaign in GE14 and next GE15. he he he he he he…

• Mind your Lane on Feb 22, 2020 at 5:35 pm

Indeed it is a tough time. But this will create thousand of jobs in the long run. Local will have business to provide parts, and that creates more jobs. In return, they pay tax and so on. We have to create an industry to create more jobs.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 21, 2020 at 10:33 am

How is it full Malaysian effort when it is based on a Daihatsu? That’s like telling us Perodua is a full Malaysian effort but clearly it was never that since the beginning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Proton salesman on Feb 21, 2020 at 3:44 pm

It’s called Malaysian ‘effort’ for a reason, Not Malaysian ‘made’, effort here means they can source the tech from whoever they can to make the car usable and reliable, at least still better than the failed malaysian made campro tech that drinks fuel like water

• Khairul Izam on Feb 21, 2020 at 4:12 pm

If that is your definition, we can simply put in M’sian money but sourcing tech and workers from other countries also qualifies as “M’sian effort” lorr. How is this beneficial for M’sia? When talk about campro, we can still rpoudly call it a real M’sian effort and M’sian made. I can be proud of that, I don’t feel any pride in Dream edge thou.

• Does look like a copy cat car but in this case, not bad at well. More competition, the better it is

• Fordist on Feb 21, 2020 at 4:51 pm

This kind of ‘competition’ drives up prices, not reduce it like in free and open capitalist markets.

• Ksatria on Feb 21, 2020 at 10:39 am

Not interested if it’s not a BEV or PHEV

• The Panel Gap car.

• DarthZoom on Feb 21, 2020 at 10:49 am

“fun to drive” – what kind of lame tag line, is it twin turbo 300hp, 4wd, mid engine….. I dont thnk so.

• Ol Skool on Feb 21, 2020 at 2:34 pm

300hp? ‘Fun’ here doesn’t mean fast or powerful

• Lotus Elise dont have 300hp. No mid engine , no 4WD.. but yeah. Its fun to drive. Great in Sepang Circuit corners. So …

• Wasting time and money. Thailand, Indonesia and even Vietnam are so far ahead with their industry friendly incentives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Malaysia Boleh on Feb 21, 2020 at 11:03 am

walan eh! belakang macam audi A4 lama loh :)

• taknakhonda on Feb 21, 2020 at 11:07 am

Fun to drive than honda

• MHK I on Feb 21, 2020 at 11:13 am

This plus sized B-segment, better come with turbo if not hybrid for more torque, since it’s highly likely will come with small engine for better efficiency. Let see what this ‘P3’ could offer to us.

• MeToo on Feb 21, 2020 at 11:16 am

Its going to be another re-badge, what else.

I’m more concern with how much tax payer money is going into subsidising this “National Pride”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Tunerz on Feb 21, 2020 at 11:32 am

The brand DreamEdge sounds more appropriate for Gaming industry. Wonder how far this dream will stretch.

• 25yrsOld on Feb 21, 2020 at 11:42 am

Go, I support National Car.
    Pro2 and Pro3.

• Proton need to learn from them.

• Amran on Feb 21, 2020 at 1:52 pm

You mean learn how to dream with our taxpayers money? Obviously Proton has more sense than dreams.

• Dream for cloning Geely car.

• Engineer on Feb 21, 2020 at 4:06 pm

Too bad Proton didn’t follow the script again and outshined the principal by making the car better. Yup, they never learned.

• Truth on Feb 21, 2020 at 11:50 am

no need anymore national car la, enough with proton and perodua already, people are tired of all this nonsense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Dreamflyfly on Feb 21, 2020 at 11:55 am

But can it fly? Or the least give us a car that float above water

• Proton X70 headlights, Kia Forte front bumper, Audi A5 taillights.

• They buy and use the obsoleted moulds to save costs…haaaa

• Edwin L on Feb 21, 2020 at 4:34 pm

Just like predecessor Perodua. Wait! We still have this dinosaur maker. Orz!

• MagnaPT on Feb 21, 2020 at 12:02 pm

From the looks – Head/Tail Lights/Lower Apron Bumpers – Clean Horizontal designed more to mimic European rather than Japs – Good Job!! – Designer team from #DE

• drMpower on Feb 21, 2020 at 12:07 pm

Anything less that Turkey version of their new national car, this is a waste or church
    And please, this must have come up from some patch up copy here paste there here there here there nut job
    Why i said so, because there wasnt any design language or even protoconcept from DreamEdge

Good thing this isnt going to cost us money and tax
    Because i am due to change my car. I do this every two year

• Haidi on Feb 21, 2020 at 12:23 pm

Finally, a sedan is on the way to save Malaysian.

• Patriot123 on Feb 21, 2020 at 12:29 pm

Thank you Tun for realizing this, proud to be Malaysian!

• kenot on Feb 21, 2020 at 12:55 pm

buy a car is not simply buy and drive. you need to service and maintain the car. so, it is important to have a good after sales service and service centre network nationwide.

• Read Beween the Lines on Feb 21, 2020 at 1:25 pm

?Fun to Drive? == ?Sampan Ride and Handling?

• Personaian on Feb 21, 2020 at 1:30 pm

Engine bay length like so long, looks like kete kia jer. Have been waiting for a proper b segment sedan at a right price. Something practical for daily drive like vios/city please. Fancy stuff like drl can be optional to reduce the price.

• Sifatguai on Feb 21, 2020 at 2:19 pm

Just know copy paste audi

The design can cheat old mamak but not the younger gen

• waitingApproval on Feb 21, 2020 at 2:52 pm

putihkan bahagian lampu depan tu , “mirror”kan kiri kanan , serupa civic lama je.

lampu blakang tu Tarik lebih kearah keluar sikit , dan kurang kemek2 , mcm lampu saga je.

• What is this? VW Arteon front and Audi A4 rear?

• StingerKia on Feb 21, 2020 at 3:26 pm

To me, it’s headlamp a bit Toyota Fortuner, front bumper a bit previous Honda HRV and taillight a bit Audi A5…

• vivizurianti on Feb 21, 2020 at 3:47 pm

DreamEdge car is fun to drive?

I just tickle-tickle myself while driving.
    So, my car is also fun to drive.

• Candice Tang on Feb 21, 2020 at 5:15 pm

‘ticklish’ feeling thru the steering, coming from the road surfaces.
      Who knows, Silently hired 3rdparty to tune the driving dynamic – ehm ehm P…….

• No investor Yet on Feb 21, 2020 at 4:26 pm

Who willing to put his head on the chopping block?
    No one willing to put money to built the World class Modern car, No investor dare,

maybe LGE can invest some EPF money

• sompua on Feb 21, 2020 at 4:29 pm

i tot it would be fully EV.
    i am disappointed

• what is the engine? Is it CanBro?

• Justice on Feb 21, 2020 at 4:53 pm

comedy car is it ? all Malaysians should boycott perodua, proton and this new dream-age pro3 car

• Matchy on Feb 21, 2020 at 5:20 pm

Why suddenly so many ppl like this after looking at the design? I thought everyone hate P3? Haha… Malaysian really mudah lupa.

• Ben Yap on Feb 21, 2020 at 5:29 pm

Please make it as a Hybrid supercharge. it can go on fully electric mode and if need additional power, the hybrid and battery kicks in together. that’s technologically advance.

• Stupid PH on Feb 21, 2020 at 11:42 pm

Sohai, another national crap, forever fkin jaguh kampung, only know how to build crap, look at our neighbors, no sohai has national car but doing better than us, sohai PH sohai policy brain dead forever

• DAP cepat MaTi on Feb 21, 2020 at 11:47 pm

Thought DAP got alot of smart asses, Tony Ptui and what Dr Ong No Brain, can support another national car building, wtf more like building your bloody ego, vote you jokers up there to come out with rubbish policies

• Fred Durst on Feb 22, 2020 at 9:50 am

Its no easy peasy job to build this car from ground up. There must be a based model this company refered to during the design phase. And they need at least rm2bil or maybe more to build this car including sales n promotion later. Where will this money comes from? Bank loans? Will the bank need penjamin?Since it is national car project, the best guess maybe will be a gov guarantor. And later if the loan cannot be paid how? With a sales volume targeted at 3000u per month, i wonder at what price range will this car be at? It must not exceed either the civic, corolla,the conti brand n the koreans. And where will they source its engine and drivetrain? And will local vendors brave enough to engage business with them to develop and supply Parts to their cars? Not to mention the setting up of new plant with capable skill to run the production n keep quality top notch. There so much questions to be ask since maybe it will involve future tax payers money. Anyway, best of luck to dreamedge!

• previous gen honda civic headlight?
    rear is m-benz lights?

hmm copy copy