Honda Malaysia factory, dealerships closed till Mar 31

Following the government’s announcement of a movement control order last night to curb the spread of the coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19), Honda Malaysia has confirmed it will be ceasing all business operations from tomorrow, March 18 to 31.

This means that its assembly plant in Pegoh, Melaka, its sales office in Petaling Jaya as well as all dealerships (including service centres) nationwide will be closed during this period. However, its roadside assistance service will still be operational and can be contacted by calling 1-800-18-1177.

The company says it will tentatively resume operations on April 1 – the day the order lifts – and that it will continue to monitor the situation closely and update accordingly. As usual, we will report on any changes in the situation as it happens.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Kobis 19 on Mar 17, 2020 at 4:05 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1244 Thumb down 1645
    • Gabriel on Mar 17, 2020 at 5:08 pm

Kudos to Honda for heeding the government call for business closure as part of the movement control to fight against Covid-19.
      Fellow Malaysian, let’s observe this movement control diligently to prevent prolong Covid-19 issue.
      God help us all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Dude. This COVID lockdown is serious matter and affects ALL industries and businesses. Such insensitive comments is seriously out of place in any time, moreso right now.

Can PT mod please remove these kind of comments at least for now. This is not the time for such bigotism to be displayed.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 30
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 17, 2020 at 5:24 pm

Kurang ajar punya komen…no manners whatsoever…no culture people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
      • Apa nak buat, UEC ed memang tak ajar culture except cash is king culture.

• His Friend on Mar 17, 2020 at 5:26 pm

Like seriously. This virus is no laughing matter and you still come here to do your usual shitpost. Have some sense and compassion friend! You are just reflecting how PH supporters truly are arseholes for such comments in this time of trouble.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
    • EDITOR on Mar 17, 2020 at 5:34 pm

There’s being funny, there’s being insensitive, and then there’s being a total jerk.
      You sir, are a hard third. Congrats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 14
    • Ruslan Bahari on Mar 17, 2020 at 5:56 pm

If only you had some sense. Have you checked the sales records lately? Honda is their cash cow? LoL. And you make it sound that there is only ONE car brand affected. Grow some balls lah, and while you’re at it, brains too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • DRB Honda Mampus on Mar 17, 2020 at 8:33 pm

Close Honda Shop will be good thing for all of us. Anyway, no one cares about honda. When quality is getting bad to worst

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Engineer on Mar 17, 2020 at 10:26 pm

At such a time you can still be a heartless arsehole. Now I see why many readers here hates you so much. You’ve just thrown your humanity to godknows where.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 37
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 171 Thumb down 321
      • P.Alyanna on Mar 18, 2020 at 2:01 am

Come now it isn’t just about Honda but the insensitivity from him making fun of a serious matter as COVID-19. Personally it just sicken me

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 11
      • Unknown on Mar 18, 2020 at 2:54 am

No I don’t think so. I am giving him my downvote due to the lack of human compassion in what he said. This isn’t the time and place when so many across the globe is suffering.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 9
      • Troll Hunter on Mar 18, 2020 at 8:19 am

still trying to defend your own self.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 24
      • A troll with holiday makes no difference, he still spends his time unproductively upliking himself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 14
    • Copy Paste on Mar 18, 2020 at 2:44 am

Copy paste: “And it is You Again, just enough of your rants of copy paste argument, obviously all is fake and blatantly backed with no fact plus based on an outdated old issue. You’re just a lonely guy live in a sad, small and dark corner of this world. You’re just waiting impatiently – Keeps refreshing the article that you’re commenting before, scroll down straightaway to the space below your comment, really Hoping for the opposing argument from someone else, more than one person or a group of resident here to counter your argument asap. Finally when they come and reply to your comment, you screams “oh thank you God”, you’re jumping with joy, you read it with a lively big smile on your face, as if your lonely, dark and twisted world turns into a fire and meaningfull again. You just told yourself it is normal to go on keep doing this as those reply and argument keeps you going. What a sad and lonely person masquerading through multiple of usernames in PT here”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 42
    • Troll Hunter on Mar 18, 2020 at 2:48 am

Copy paste: “I guess most people who condemned in the comments are totally dick heads , Come on la idiots its not about Honda , not about GLCs or about other car makers ..It totally about the effect to us where the covid19 is effecting globally and effected all the industries..but you idiots making fun and I saw a comment from one moron who name ”Kobis 19” telling Honda staff has big family to feed and without bonus they are not able to food the family , My advise is why not you go and feed them.
      Think wisely people..”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 33
    • Troll Hunter on Mar 18, 2020 at 8:42 am

looks like you got mental problems. Too many commitments – you cannot take the stress.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 17
    • Scotty on Mar 18, 2020 at 10:02 am

That’s why honda is the most dangerous auto brand in the world

• Aura89 on Mar 18, 2020 at 3:07 pm

You really got no idea what your talking about, do you?
      Maybe time to look into how the coronavirus is affecting the world and it does not have preference for the type of ethnic or skin colour, it might change your view, or maybe not.
      But at least do some freaking research instead of comming with the same old rant every single time, thank you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 10
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 18, 2020 at 3:48 pm

Your type are the reason why COVID19 spread rate suddenly skyrocketed. Well done haters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 13
  • AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 17, 2020 at 5:26 pm

Pity ah beng…cannot show off his new honda to ah lian in jinjang new village…showroom close maa…cannot buy lor…

• Hit hard by the wave, hopefully recover soon on Mar 21, 2020 at 2:34 pm

Ah my fren, don’t be so sour to some of the readers here, all the brands sales person – uncle, auntie, pakcik, abang, akak, fresh junior adik, ahlian, ahboy also can’t showoff their selling skills during this hard time, bulk of their income coming from the sale’s commission, not basic, they may try the alternative – online sale

• Sian la on Mar 18, 2020 at 4:19 am

So how? My car warranty void if it exceed the service mileage ?

• Ravpower on Mar 18, 2020 at 9:12 am

Thank you honda for tutup kedai forever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4