Police begin movement control order roadblock operations in KL and Selangor – just stay at home

The police has begun operations to ensure the public take the movement control order (MCO) seriously. The action includes roadblocks, which were set up in various areas in Selangor and Kuala Lumpur yesterday evening to monitor traffic.

In Selangor, operations involved both roadblocks and checks on business premises as well as public areas around Shah Alam and Petaling Jaya, The Star reports. The police advised members of the public to avoid unnecessary movement, and to only go out when necessary or for emergencies.

“We hope people here will take the MCO seriously as this is the best way to curb the spread of Covid-19. During our roadblocks we found instances of three to four people going out together to get food and such. We advised them not to go out in a big group and to remain home as much as possible,” said Selangor CID chief SAC Datuk Fadzil Ahmatd.

“During the ops, we also found several businesses, including a car wash, restaurant and vape shop, open for business. We advised them to close immediately or face stern action,” he said.

Meanwhile, in Kuala Lumpur, the police said that most of the road users encountered at roadblocks in the city centre said they were driving in from elsewhere because they wanted to purchase goods and food, Berita Harian reports.

“Inspections that were carried out during roadblocks at Jalan Bukit Bintang and Jalan Loke Yew revealed that most of them were coming from outside the capital. For example, some came from Kajang, Pandan Indah, Ampang, with the intention of eating and buying goods,” said Dang Wangi district police chief ACP Mohd Fahmi Visuvanathan Abdullah.

“When asked about the instructions as defined by the government-issued MCO, they seemed to be aware of the rules, but did not seem to care about following the instructions,” he said. He added that motorists were let off with a warning and to comply with instructions issued by the government to stay at home.

Fahmi said that sterner action is a possibility if people continue to violate that outlined by the order.
“We must understand that the main purpose of the government is to reduce the spread and spread of the pandemic, not to inconvenience the public, so we should take this opportunity to cooperate,” he said.

In other parts of the city, police also took measures to spread awareness of the MCO by using the loudhailers on patrol cars to ask people to go home. Elsewhere, roadblocks were also set up in Penang to monitor the movement of the public.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• vivizurianti on Mar 19, 2020 at 12:43 pm

Syukur x1000. Our dedicated abang abang polis are doing their best to help the situation. Please adhere to these abang2.

• I hope our abang polis are empowered to shoot to kill idiots that break curfew like those stubborn idiots crowding and still eating at kopitiams. To these idiots: your char kuey teow cravings does not allow you to harm the society’s wellbeing.

• Amran on Mar 19, 2020 at 5:04 pm

Festive kat kampung, meriah smue dh balik…

• Hafiz Hisham on Mar 19, 2020 at 10:17 pm

Festive kampung semua dah kansel woi!!! Mana ada festive lagi. Dalam rumah u kah???

• Homeless people just stay at home? Are you kidding me!?!? on Mar 19, 2020 at 2:09 pm

What about the homeless people living on the streets? They don’t have anywhere to go to… Greedy gomen never provide homes for these innocent lives :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • nine dragons conference on Mar 19, 2020 at 8:55 pm

Do your social responsibility as a good citizen. Call social welfare if you see vagrants loitering on streets.

• potato on Mar 20, 2020 at 1:48 pm

one day say don’t panic no need panic buying supermarket & wet market & food stalls are still open, next day say stay at home don’t come out.

sometimes really cannot trust these politicians.

• Dickhead on Apr 28, 2020 at 6:37 pm

Mesyusahkan orang la polis ni. Aku dah lama xjumpa bini ni woi. Dia di KL duk rumah sewa kongsi dengan kawan. Xlan la kami nak duk hotel sampai 12hb kot.