If you’ve noticed clearer skies in this time of restricted movement, it isn’t just what your eyes are seeing; Think City Analytics has found via satellite spectrometry that the air over Peninsular Malaysia, especially over Johor Bahru and Kuala Lumpur, has shown significantly lower levels of nitrogen dioxide (NO2) for the period of March 18 to April 13, 2020, compared to the period of March 18 to April 13, 2019.
The spectrometry data was obtained from the Copernicus Sentinel-5P European Space Agency satellite, said Think City. Nitrogen dioxide is produced by the burning of fossil fuels such as coal, oil and gas, and 80% of this comes from motor vehicle exhaust emissions, according to the Think City report.
The reduced NO2 levels can be directly attributed to people being less mobile, due to the the Movement Control Order imposed across the country, and the use of motorised vehicles drops significantly as a result. Similar patterns can be found in Europe, China and the United States as governments put measures in place to contain the Covid-19 pandemic.
“The mapping of changes in nitrogen dioxide between now and this time last year shows that as Malaysians move about less due to the MCO there are reduced vehicle emissions. This is particularly evident along the west coast of Peninsular Malaysia, which is where 20 million people reside,” said Think City programme director Matt Benson, who said that cleaner air was an ‘unintended consequence’ of the MCO.
Additionally, Think City Analytics has just launched a Covid-19 Community Resilience mapping tool, which looks at a number of social, economic and even environmental variables to offer insights into which areas may need additional public health, economic or social welfare assistance, said Think City Analytics lead Ceelia Leong.
It only show West Malaysia. How about East Malaysia? Thank you.
That’s why development all in West Malaysia. Because in their eyes East Itu apa?
Game Over Covid-19 can be very harmful to humanity but on the other side it can also be a Game-Changing hero for the Earth.
Then I wish MCO forever
Sinkie activities are little diminished indicating they didn’t take their own lockdown seriously, now I see why they could still rack up 400+ cases in just a day. Me thinks once MCO is lifted, we should still keep the border to Sinkie closed to prevent external 3rd wave from coming in.
You trust Malaysia data? Close border? Those are your bro and sis uncle auntie holding same type IC as you. Idiot
This is by 3rd party analytics company, why not? If you are so sure my bro, sis, uncle, auntie Sinkies are holding Malaysian IC, you must be an even bigger idiot and less reasons to trust you instead of ThinkCity.
Lmao! Singaporeans holding Malaysian ICs?! Must be a first in any country.
Syukur x10000….udara semakin segar bugar di Malaysia. Roadside plants also becoming healthy and beautiful.
Now, if only I could go out to enjoy the fresh air with my families and friends.
It’s high time for Govt to revise its NAP.. And give consumers the benefit to buy hybrids, EVs & cleaner energy vehicles at cheaper prices.
The NAP 2020 was a major letdown for consumers. Focus was too much on vendors whole Rakyat’s wishes were neglected.
Look again at the photo and you can clearly see the sea routes are also polluting a lot the entire stretch of Straits of Malacca and at the 3 major ports along with it. Port klang, Johor bahru and Singapore.
And I must say the Melaka state is enjoying this moment very well.
It is still warm anyway. Especially between 12-5pm. No difference in anyway whatsoever.
Singapore air so dirty.. red for the whole country..
Sohai talking
Yes, cleaner air is always a good thing, but there is another problem now, too many used mask, sanitizer bottle, used medical things being dump into the river.