2020 BMW Motorrad R18 First Edition arrives in Malaysia this October, RM156,500 excluding insurance

For those awaiting BMW Motorrad’s retro-styled cruiser, good news is the 2020 BMW Motorrad R18 First edition will arrive in Malaysia this October, and priced at RM156,500 on the road, excluding insurance. The R18 First Edition is limited to only 18 units for the Malaysia market and takes styling cues from the classic 1936 BMW R5.

The R18 carries BMW Motorrad’s largest opposed-twin to date, an air-/oil-cooled boxer displacing 1,802 cc. For those interested in knowing, the R18 puts out 91 hp at 4,750 rpm but the torque figure is 158 Nm at 3,000 rpm, good enough for pulling tree stumps out of the ground, shall we say.

Fed by EFI and twin spark plugs per cylinder, all the R18’s torque is available from 2,000 to 4,000 rpm, making the torque curve about as flat as a tabletop. A minimalist design language permeates through the R18, with the engine prominently displayed in the old school twin-loop steel cradle frame.

In a nod to the R5, the R18’s shaft drive is exposed and viewers can be entertained by the sight of the steel prop shaft spinning. However, modern riding necessities are not neglected with the R18, coming as it does with three standard riding modes – “Rain”, “Roll” and “Rock” – along with switchable automatic stability control (ASC).

Other riding aids include hill start control, reverse assist and engine drag torque control (MSR). Suspension uses conventional telescopic forks, hidden monoshock and the R18 rolls on spoked wheels for that authentic retro look.

The R18 First Edition in a classic black finish with white pinstriped paintwork along with chrome accents, a seat badge and “First Edition” chrome badge on the side covers. Bookings are being taken by BMW Motorrad Malaysia authorised dealers for the 2020 BMW Motorrad R18 First Edition.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• vivizurianti on Jul 01, 2020 at 6:29 pm

Abang abang leather jacket should ride this bike….feeling wind in the face, during long haul……110% bad boy image!

• BMWs are traditionally driven by the police all over the world (not in Malaysia), so no “bad boy image”… ;)

• Harley-Davidson’s market share is declining in their home market and now BMW comes out with a cruiser?

• Hantu Raya on Jul 09, 2020 at 9:45 pm

Not the first one mind you. If u could recall, BMW did produce a chopper-esque model R1200c back in the late 90’s.

• Ben Yap on Jul 02, 2020 at 9:40 am

nice design but for a cruiser, i prefer a harley. anyway at RM156K, u can get a civic turbo with aircon and way more materials for less than that.

• Ah Chong on Jul 02, 2020 at 2:33 pm

No comment on the Harley, but compared to a civic, you don’t get: freedom on the open road, exposure to elements, rumbling engine between your legs, adrenaline rush for knowing if you screw up you’re done, and all the sweet sweet motorcycle gears.

If you don’t like all those, bikes probably not for you? Not saying civic’s a bad car, just to be clear.

• Hantu Raya on Jul 09, 2020 at 9:47 pm

You could also get to burn you shins on the cylinders after you’ve burnt money on that beauty.

• Philip Marc Lee on Sep 21, 2020 at 2:26 am

Is the Customized Bobber Style being brought in?

• Philip Marc Lee on Sep 21, 2020 at 2:27 am

Is the customized Bobber Style coming to Malaysia?