Misuse of rear fog lamps, illegal tail lights – 9,835 fined

The misuse of rear fog lamps and installation and the use of ‘ice blue’ light bulb for tail lamps can dazzle and distract nearby road users, and cause accidents as a result, said Bukit Aman traffic investigation and enforcement department chief Datuk Azisman Alias, Bernama reported.

The aforementioned ‘ice blue’ tail lamp bulbs and misuse of rear fog lamps are therefore illegal, Azisman said. From January until June of this year, 9,385 summonses were issued for offences relating to the use of the aforementioned lights. Of these, 6,566 have been paid for, with the remaining summonses outstanding. Meanwhile, 16,092 summonses were issued for these offences last year, and of these, 9,323 are unpaid.

These offences are prosecutable under Section 119 of the Road Transport Act 1987, and may incur fines of no more than RM2,000 or a jail term of not more than six months, the department chief said, adding that stern action will be taken against motorists who are found to flout the law by continuing to use these accessories that pose a danger to other road users.

From an enforcement perspective, the police are prepared and will cooperate with other enforcement agencies from the standpoint of sales, installation and permissions from the relevant parties. It is the responsibility of vehicle owners to not modify their vehicles with these lights which contravene the vehicle type approval (VTA) regulations that have been applied to their respective vehicles, Azisman said.

Vehicles found to be repeat offenders can also be impounded under the provision of Section 64 of the Road Transport Act 1987 in order to prevent repetitions of illegal lamp offences, said the department chief.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Very good job police! on Jul 07, 2020 at 5:02 pm

yes! great news! turning on rear foglights without heavy rain or fog is very distracting for other drivers. the ice blue lightbulbs are too. very good job police. now please also enforce and summons those who don’t use turn signals and intentionally run red lights. it’s time for some law and order on the roads if we want to be a developed country.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
    • Akoolm on Jul 07, 2020 at 7:38 pm

Those speeding with police Blue strobe lites on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jul 07, 2020 at 8:13 pm

Always see Toyota Vios light that up without purpose. Giler punya

• Dredd on Jul 07, 2020 at 10:06 pm

Please don’t block polis from rushing to discharge the law

• What I want enforced is to penalize drivers who are NOT overtaking but are not keeping left.

The rules are there. Keep all the way to the left most lane always unless passing slower traffic.

• And those driving in the rain with the hazard lights turned on . And worst still, driving WITHOUT the lights turn on at night. As if expecting anyone else to see them when they wants to be invisible…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Gan Jarell on Jul 08, 2020 at 11:33 am

And those driving in the rain with the hazard lights turned on
        DID I CARE??I WILL STILL TURN ON DOUBLE SIGNAL IF THE RAINS REALLY HEAVY SAME THAT I DRIVE IN CHINA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
        • Jackie on Oct 07, 2022 at 2:40 pm

Do not misused hazard lights as it signifis the car brokedown or emergency stopping only

• after how long have we been waiting, finally some action taken

like it was necessary to use those dem things. it was designed for extreme conditions where visibility is very poor la not simply it is dark.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Everything is illegal, come on now!!! on Jul 07, 2020 at 5:46 pm

Typical Malaysian authorities. Asyik kacau kehidupan rakyat saja! Fed up of this bull crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 95
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 07, 2020 at 6:09 pm

Laws are there for a reason, and we shouldn’t be blaming the authorities for enforcing them.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 5
      • No eye see on Jul 07, 2020 at 6:50 pm

Law are there for a reason, however there’s some people already proven that with money you can buy everything! Even law!! No wonder some country call ours shopping heaven!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
        • Rayhan Khabir Begum on Jul 08, 2020 at 12:27 am

Malaysia Boleh abang. Syukurr kita datang..

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 08, 2020 at 12:59 pm

When you chose to give, that is your choice but don’t la complain when they take it.

• Eyesore on Oct 07, 2022 at 8:16 am

You think that only happened in Malaysia ke brader? It’s a whole world issue, the riches can afford great lawyers who can get them acquitted… All they need are “reasonable doubts”….. It’s not just Malaysia la brader

• Dredd on Jul 07, 2020 at 7:14 pm

When polis enforce the law, you idiots complain.
      When polis lack of enforcing, you idiots complain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
      • Gerald on Jul 07, 2020 at 9:47 pm

How about when police are the culprits? With their blue strobe lights on while patrolling..have u ever been stuck behind them?

• Lets See on Jul 08, 2020 at 5:00 pm

They are police on duty heading to an emergency. You aren’t supposed to be blocking them or ‘chasing’ them just so you can speed your way thru traffic.

• typical malaysian on Jul 08, 2020 at 8:43 am

typical malaysian

• Ahmad on Jul 07, 2020 at 10:33 pm

Toyota Vios driver spotted

• Annoynimouse on Jul 08, 2020 at 10:06 am

In this case, it is the rakyat who “kacau” other rakyats out of utter ignorance and being selfish, thinking that turning on foglights when they are not supposed to are cool. Same goes with other annoying accessories (ice bulbs, red front headlamps, clear rear lights, fake M badges etc.). It’s about time authorities do something about this and this should be given higher priority over tint checks.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jul 07, 2020 at 5:51 pm

Fine is one thing. Education is another.

The people who are getting fine may continue to be uneducated on what they have done wrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • No eye see on Jul 07, 2020 at 6:44 pm

That’s their point! Cause citizen need to pay in order to receive better education~ Go college also need to pay right? (U pay me, I educate you, ok?) Lol welcome to 2020

• MeiLi on Jul 07, 2020 at 5:51 pm

Front fog lamps?

I have rotary type switch as in any continental cars, to switch on front fog lamps, i have to turn to manual illumination AND pull the switch. Compared to non-continental cars, the operation is much easier, by a simple flick of switch. Everytime I see cars from opposite with their front fog lamps on, i will turn on mine. Let them see the real fog lamp bulbs.

• Especially Vios rear fog lamps?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
  • transformer on Jul 07, 2020 at 6:50 pm

One quick way to solve this without need to wasting time to fine is to allow enforcer use hammer to break them(illegal light) on the spot!!

illegal headlight(HID, Blue or whatever) and Vios rear(red) fog lamp

solved!

• Crasher7 on Jul 07, 2020 at 7:02 pm

How many of them are Vios drivers?

• 25yrsOld on Jul 07, 2020 at 8:02 pm

https://paultan.org/2016/09/28/2016-proton-saga-launched/protonsaga_premium_ext-4/

before proton cut cost, earlier Saga has rear fog lamp.

• Please do more checking. Very irritating light!

• Did you guys notice BMW intelligent lights actually are very dumb. So many times it failed to adjust and caused strong led lights shooting at you.

• Gerald on Jul 07, 2020 at 9:43 pm

How about all those patrol cars with their strobe lights on “patrolling” the streets?? I got stuck behind one in traffic n it dazzled me so much I had to put my sunglasses on!!!

• DarthZoom on Jul 08, 2020 at 9:32 am

About Time

• What about those driving WITHOUT the lights turn on at night ? And those using the Hazards lights driving in the rain ??? And the WORST ones, modifying the Headlamps to the BLINDING HID’s and LED’s ??? One is “invisible”, the other two damn blinding‍♂️‍♂️‍♂️

• Gan Jarell on Jul 08, 2020 at 11:35 am

DID I CARE??
      DOUBLE SIGNAL IS A MUST FOR ME IF DRIVE IN SUPER HEAVY RAIN
      TOTALLY CANNOT SEE THE ROAD THEN HOW!!
      OF COURSE DOUBLE SIGNAL,SAME AS IN CHINA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
      • hyin21 on Jul 09, 2020 at 8:41 am

Hazard lights are meant to tell others that you are stationery…let’s just use it for that, OK?

• Shepherd on Jul 09, 2020 at 8:46 am

Just make sure your car rear tail lamp & brake lights are in good and working conditions. It may like it is a norm in China, but here in Malaysia, we would have have to guess what are you going to do next (either going to left or right). For what i know, hazard lights are for emergency purpose only.

• Yes. Please educate and enforce the dirvers. Fog lights front or back are being switched on for no apparent reasons and it’s damn irritating and distracting. Drivers need to know when to use them. Fine is one good way to enforce.

• xoxox on Jul 08, 2020 at 10:14 am

Actually Fog lamp is still ok…the worst is White LED on reflector headlamp!! I think should ask them look at their own car headlamp for 30sec when been caught!

• 25or6to4 on Jul 08, 2020 at 12:23 pm

Disagree. Both are just as annoying. Fog lamps are blinding at night!

• hyin21 on Jul 08, 2020 at 2:04 pm

Good job. But let’s enforce all laws at all time and by all enforcers. Not just special operation at specific time by specific police unit only. Eg. in my area, very obvious underage children riding motorbikes without helmets (obviously without licence too). Normal police patrol car sees but not catch.

• NoNamE on Jul 09, 2020 at 1:15 pm

Same goes to those blinking braking light, really annoying especially when you are behind them stopping at the traffic light. I will suggest the authority to penalise them by changing blinking light to the front lamp.

• Jackie on Oct 07, 2022 at 2:42 pm

Rear fog lamps are meant for reversing at a dark area without street lamps only. Please do not misused while driving on trunk roads and expressways