2.7 million traffic summons dating to 2010 not settled

A total of 2.7 million traffic summons, some dating as far back as 2010, are still unsettled. With a value of approximately RM800 million if compounded, these summons cover a variety of traffic offences.

This was revealed by Datuk Seri Shaharuddin Khalid, JPJ Director-General, in a Bernama interview. Amongst the offences committed were speeding, using a mobile phone while driving and driving without a licence. “JPJ will take action against road users who do not pay their outstanding summons, including blacklisting their names if they renew their driving licence,” said Shaharuddin.

In another development, Shaharuddin said his department is in the process of standardising the national speed limit to 110 km/h for all highways. He said this limit will be applied across the nation with the exception of the North-South Highway (PLUS) for the Menora tunnel section, which is limited to 70 km/h to reduce the accident rate at that stretch.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Brian on Jul 14, 2020 at 3:21 pm

Put as a footnote but i think the news of standardising highway speed limits is more important new development. This is really groundbreaking and long overdue. Kudos to JPJ now!

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jul 14, 2020 at 4:10 pm

A sign that no money already

• Logical Deduction on Jul 14, 2020 at 7:11 pm

Err… how does standardising highway speed limits increase money collection? JPJ can’t fine them anymore for speeding if they stick to 110kmph, so what is the logic to your statement above?

• Kumpul together on Jul 14, 2020 at 7:33 pm

To reduce tak apa mentality.. If otherwise, nobody will follow rules and regulations..

Now it is time to continuous enforcement, get warrant, surprise visit to your home at night, catch and charge to magistrates court next day..

No more notice or advance update.. Bravo.. Silence movement is golden solution in long term..

• Ben Yap on Jul 14, 2020 at 4:13 pm

go and knock their doors and arrest them

• azrai on Jul 15, 2020 at 3:12 am

blacklisting their names and family member if they renew their road tax and driving licence

• Cakapbanyak on Jul 15, 2020 at 11:54 am

Haahah, blacklisted cannot renew so what? How many vehicles are on the road with expired insurance and road tax? No enforcement, relax je la.

• This shows how poor is our enforcement system..

• passion on Jul 15, 2020 at 9:34 am

waiting 50% discount!

• Chris P. Bacon on Jul 15, 2020 at 9:54 am

The authorities need to get rid of this farcical “discount” scheme immediately if they are genuine and sincere about changing driving habits in this country.

Instead of discounts, the fine should be increased if it’s not paid in full by the due date.

Yet again, another so called problem that is very easily fixed if they actually want to solve it.

• Brian on Jul 15, 2020 at 1:08 pm

50% – they pay up
        100% – they don’t pay
        150% – they don’t pay
        200% – they don’t pay
        300% – ???
        Care to guess what is the outcome if keep on increasing the harshness of penalties?

• Chris P. Bacon on Jul 15, 2020 at 5:26 pm

Brian, in response to your question.

What happens when you don’t pay your bank loan for your car?

What happens when you don’t pay your monthly morgage payments?

What happens when you don’t pay any items you have bought with a loan?

What happens when you don’t pay your credit card?

Does the answer to these questions answer your question?

If not, then unfortunately I can’t help you.

• Arnie on Jul 15, 2020 at 7:00 pm

You may be right… if there is a law for PDRM to confiscate their property if they don’t pay samans. Unfortunately in this world, the PDRM don’t have such powers so again they can’t be forced to pay up.

• vivizurianti on Jul 15, 2020 at 2:47 pm

Awaiting discount and lucky draw?