2020 Aveta motorcycles in Malaysia, from RM2,880 – three new models coming by end of this year

Entering the Malaysia market quietly under the radar in November last year ahead of an official product launch is the 2020 Aveta motorcycle brand. As a wholly Malaysian-owned brand, Aveta is owned by Aveta Global Marketing and targeted at the cost conscious side of the bike market with two models in the Aveta range – the DY90 at RM2,888 and the RX110 at RM4,039.

A source inside the industry informed paultan.org sales began in March of 2020 and thus far some 2,000 units of both models have been sold. If the design for the DY90 and RX110 look familiar to Malaysian riders, these two bikes are basically a rebadge of the models offered by now defunct Malaysian brand Demak.

Looking for all the world like a clone of the Honda EX5 Dream, the DY90 follows the traditional kapchai design closely. Power comes from a 90 cc, four-stroke, single-cylinder, air-cooled mill that produces 6.14 hp at 8,000 rpm and 5.7 Nm of torque at between 5,500 to 6,000 rpm.

Power gets to the ground via a four-speed gearbox and chain final drive. Fuel is carried in a 3.5-litre tank and weight is claimed to be 103 kg, with the DY90 rolling on 17-inch wheels

As a slightly sportier model for the younger rider, the RX110 comes with a single-cylinder, air-cooled engine displacing 110 cc, with power at 7.8 hp at 7,800 rpm and torque at 7.8 Nm at 6,500 rpm. Weighing in at 123 kg, the RX110 carries fuel inside a 4.2-litre tank.

Aveta currently has plans to sell three new models in Malaysia, scheduled to be within a four to five month time frame. Our source tells us Aveta Global prefers to take a low key approach to market penetration.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 17, 2020 at 5:06 pm

Congrats to motor mampu milik. In current era, kapcais cost RM 2,880. In previous era, kapcai cost RM 9,000. Well done!
    #KitaJagaKita

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • Geng Bang Nuar on Aug 17, 2020 at 7:45 pm

Syukur nasib baik dah tukar…. motor dah murah semula. Tenkiu so much!

• Anana on Aug 17, 2020 at 5:40 pm

Affordable wheels for people made in Malaysia..Hope it sells well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • AliAhKauRamasamy on Aug 17, 2020 at 7:22 pm

I thought after Demak, it’s renamed Dayang because I saw a DY90 kapcai with a DAYANG badge at the front end of it.

• DY90 at RM2,888 – just like kancil perodua, think that it will become the best selling motorbike model very soon…. let’s see

• clone kapcai? on Aug 18, 2020 at 9:37 am

this one is another cina mali moto kah?

i am more worried about after sales service and durability, nothing beats the boon siew honla kapcai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • macampondan on Aug 18, 2020 at 10:09 am

amazing price… back in my days late 80s, a Honda C70 kapchai is already closed to RM2.9k.

• Ah Chong on Aug 18, 2020 at 10:20 am

On one hand, I love it that there’s affordable choices for people who doesn’t want to spend a lot; but on the other hand, I worry when I see cheap machines that may pollute more than we like to see.

The worst thing that could happen is the street might get choked full of these polluting machines.

Best way is to have proper and fair road tax. Assuming Myvi is rm90 road tax, say rm50 come from weight and rm40 come from emission. These motorcycle is 10x lighter, maybe just charge rm5 for the weight, but if its just as polluting as the myvi due to old carburettor design, then they should be charge rm40 for the emission as well. So that’s rm45 per year.

That said, old 2 stroke bikes is said to have 30-50x more emission than normal cars, so please tax them rm1200 to rm2000 per year please. Time to tax the 2 stroke rempit out of the system. Confiscate their bikes if they can’t pay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
    • filsuf on Aug 18, 2020 at 3:52 pm

Ok you’re completely wrong. Its probably the most energy efficient vehicle on malaysian roads. It deserves free exclusive parking spots at the malls. It also takes up virtually no space on the roads and public parking spots, hence deserves roadtax exemption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Ah Chong on Aug 20, 2020 at 10:14 am

That’s why you should split roadtax into 2 part. One part for size, and one part for gas coming out from the exhaust.

Bikes should pay little to nothing for the “size” part, which is what you mention, and I agree 100%.

But the exhaust is a different matter. Those who pollute more, should pay more. This way, people will choose clean vehicle because lower tax, and up to the people to find balance.

If you say car stuck in traffic, burn more fuel. Easy. TAX PETROL!

The only difference I can see is probably I care about fresh air, you probably don’t. It’s okay, we all have our views.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • Sub_zero on Aug 20, 2020 at 2:06 pm

An extremely well tuned carb motorcycle can perform lower emission, due to fact our emission is only up to euro3. And to make it even better they are below 150cc, they make the lowest emission compare to their 2 stroke brethren. Not to mention emission are based not just on carbs, but the whole internal combustion to it’s exhaust system

Why compare to myvi when myvi itself like what a full blown 4 cylinder 1.3/1.5 litre? This is absurb as myvi will pump more emission than meagre 110cc single cylinder, and not mention since myvi it’s a car it has more complex component which add up to your so called *pollution*. What a completely bullshit comparison

And also, our government has ban sales of 2 stroke years ago and now all motorcycle manufacturers are selling fuel injection kapcai heck even the Honda ex5 comes with fuel injection

Now all my current motorcycle is fuel injection i don’t have to worry about pollution since i polluted lesser than motocars

• Ah Chong on Aug 22, 2020 at 1:10 pm

Sometime I wonder if I lack ye ability to express myself, or people just read what they wanted to read. Thus hater directly go to hate mode.

All I said is to tax everything fairly, no abuse, no loopholes. Now to address your post:

I agree modern FI bikes have lower emission, thus they should get taxed less than carbs;
        Emission should be calculated based on everything that came out from the tailpipe, with a standard method;
        Nothing wrong compare to a Myvi, I needed a benchmark and an example so I pick myvi. All I am saying is, if myvi is rm50, and a bike with ??cc engine is just as polluting, then charge it 50, if its a superbike that pollutes 3x more than myvi, charge it rm150, if its an ex5 and only pollutes 10% of myvi, charge it rm5;
        For components that pollute, tax the material, it will be reflected in the car price.

I think a co2 emission tiered based tax like the UK is fine too. Tax free for super low emission vehicle, including hybrid car and small motorcycle, and those pollutes a lot get tax over 2k pound a year, doesn’t matter if you have 2 or 4 or 6 wheels.

Simple right? Or do you support Malaysia’s archaic cc-based tax structure? I just want clean air.

I wish Paultan crew wrote an article about this and ends it with “so what do you think? Please leave a comment below” and hell may break lose…. Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • vivizurianti on Aug 18, 2020 at 10:56 am

Good move.

Affordability (mampu milik) is important no doubt. Aveta needs to make sure the bike is durable, frugal in fuel consumption while replacement parts are available and cheap. No compromise in safety.

Afterall, these are bread and butter bikes.

• Ben Yap on Aug 22, 2020 at 4:31 am

only 6hp is akin to running a bicycle with a lawn mover engine.

• TheRealTesla on Dec 10, 2020 at 6:46 pm

Why dont the govt subsidise electric bike and push down the retail value for this bike to around RM2K.

• origin666 on Jan 03, 2021 at 11:08 pm

I heard the govt will be banning e-bikes from the streets soon. So asking for the govt to subsidize e-bikes is not going to happen.

I wonder what damage has e-bikes done to the govt that they are planning to ban them on the streets? Where are we going to use them then? In our homes I guess ha ha ha.

• Electric bikes are dangerous as people have the same kind of accidents they do on motorcycles, but usually without crash helmets, jackets or boots.

I’m interested in this kapchai, but if Demak died why think this rebranded company won’t die too? The biggest problem with Demak and MLE bikes was finding spare parts. Half the price of a Honda is not so great if the bike is disposable once something breaks and cannot be replaced.