Sedan vs SUV – pros, cons, which should you go for?

Sedan or SUV? This is a question we get often, and it’s a rather surprising one – to me at least, because it seems like apples and oranges. Usually, the sedan and SUV blanks are filled with a model name that’s popular or trending.

Unlike many in this line, this writer doesn’t really like to talk about cars outside of work, but that doesn’t stop the questions from coming. Sometimes, it’s even a new acquaintance, immediately after finding out what I do for a living. Bah!

So, what’s a boy to do? Well, I’ll try to learn more about the person’s needs, lifestyle and usage. One thing I’ve learned since Day 1 is that this isn’t about me or what I like personally, but a car has to fulfil its mission for its intended audience.

SUVs were once called 4x4s, and they were Dakar Rally-ready, like the Mitsubishi Pajero

The fact that I’ve never owned an automatic car in my life, or that my view of almost every other car at the traffic lights (literally) is upskirt, does not matter an ounce. Also irrelevant are most of the things car enthusiasts treasure – fine, take that hot hatch to the hills, but remember that most cars lead normal lives.

That said, let’s try. The SUV trend is recent. SUVs used to be called 4x4s and only those who needed rugged four-wheel-drive machines bought those crude boxes. Soft roaders surfaced in the 90s, but it was only recently that they became so ubiquitous. A scene where every other car is an SUV is common in the Klang Valley. I’ve even seen the same SUV model in an assortment of colours, all in a mall carpark row.

Most of these urban-dwelling SUVs are front-wheel-drive, just like a regular car. They’re more car-like to drive than ever too. Many like SUVs for their higher ground clearance and loftier driving position, which affords a further view ahead. Having driven an SUV over the past two festive periods, I fully comprehend.

However, if you don’t need the extra space, there are many benefits of living with the good old sedan, and much of it is down to weight. A saloon will always be lighter than an SUV of an equivalent class and footprint, and this translates to better acceleration and fuel economy.

Simple really, a lighter car means the engine works less hard, and the benefits of a lighter load – with all else being equal – should show when you need “pick-up” and when you’re at the pumps. Similarly, SUVs with larger front sections are also less aerodynamic, adding further resistance to the engine.

On the topic of driving, the flip-side of the higher ground clearance that people like about SUVs is a higher centre of gravity. This inevitable higher CoG point would mean that – once again, with all things being equal – SUVs move around more.

Through experience, this can be a subtle but still noticeable side-to-side rocking on a highway cruise, and/or a more dramatic roll in the corners. Generally, this will be felt more by the passengers than the driver. Of course, there are performance SUVs with size-defying body control, but we aren’t discussing Porsches.

The difference in driving enjoyment between the typical SUV and sedan isn’t as dramatic as a Porsche these days, but it’s there, and the lower car is generally a nicer and more nimble steer.

We move to the more practical side of the debate – living and costs. Fuel economy aside, we’ve heard of many cases where first time SUV owners were shocked by tyre replacement costs. A good example was when the Mazda CX-5 first debut in Malaysia – the 19-inch alloys of the high-spec car looked perfect, but many first-time SUV owners were taken aback when it was time to replace the tyres. The Proton X70 in its most handsome state also wears 19-inch shoes.

One 19-inch tyre can cost as much as, or more than, a full set of passenger car tyres, and we’re not comparing with Myvi-size eco tyres either. This isn’t a negative point per se, but you have to know what you’re getting into. The same goes for brake pads for the larger discs.

However, as most SUVs these days are either FWD or on-demand AWD (with not much additional off-road hardware), general maintenance costs in the mechanical department shouldn’t be significantly higher than an equivalent sedan’s.

Lastly, there are more glass panels on an SUV (before taking into account the panoramic glass roof that some high-spec SUVs have), so tinting one will be costlier than a three-box sedan. That may be a one-time hit, but higher car wash costs are recurring. Once again, these aren’t issues if you can afford it.

There are some who prefer the security of a separate cargo area that the sedan’s boot provides, versus the SUV’s load space, which is covered by glass and a tonneau cover. The final point is the flip-side of the SUV’s nice high perch for the driver – those who have less mobile and/or elderly passengers might want to consider the ease of their entry/exit.

As for design, looks are subjective and there are desirable options on both sides of the pond, but personally, I’m into sleek over imposing. Recent three-box cars I’ve drooled over include the B9 Audi A4 and new Volvo S60, but the prettiest of all-time has to be the Alfa Romeo 159. SUVs? Well, they’re nice family wagons and the Range Rover Evoque is kinda cool…

That’s all we can think of – do you have any points to add? Note that not all of the notes above are applicable to everyone, and there’s some inevitable generalisation going on, but the idea is sedans vs SUVs in the same price ballpark.

In any case, variety is always good, and whether you lean more towards the SUV’s “trendy” appeal and size benefits, or a sedan’s better efficiency and drive, is down to personal preference. Just like apples and oranges, there’s no wrong fruit, just different fruits. Which is yours?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Borneo of sarawak on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:00 am

Still pikaps here bah, hliux raja gunung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • Semenanjung Himalaya on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:25 am

Land Rover champion of steephilly Cameron H.

• Tanah Ratana on Sep 21, 2020 at 12:15 am

Undisputed king is British Leyland Land Rover not Tata Land Rover

• Mee Hailam on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:23 pm

Actually the trend globally the past 15 years was SUV. Everybody went SUV crazy. This is why the Koreans were smart to come out with loads of SUVs.

In Malaysia, we were not so smart to see this trend. Otherwise, 15 years ago, we could have exported SUVs all over the world.

I hope we can learn from the Koreans how to identify market trends and market demands

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Nope again on Sep 17, 2020 at 12:00 pm

Im not sure. I like suv before but after test driving them even the bmw x series lose handling and comfort to their sedan. so for so many years i end up buying merc and bmw sedan. All my sexy colleague and girl friend when i asked this year when i choose between bmw X3 or Bmw 330i g20 because price almost no different, both plus minus 10k of 300k. they straight away say 330i because look more class and more sexy and young. Weird i always thought they will think bugger size mean class..turn out not at all. They said suv for old a pek..and if they wear sexy dont want to be seen climbing out of bulky clumsy suv. wtf! Straight away minus 70 percent interest for me because my gfs like to wear sexy like kpop. Then after test driving mm..straight away go for sedan again..haih…i want a suv to go ikea buy things..but on second thought, I just go buy those thing once every ..many years? so..nvm..lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
  • alldisc on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:06 am

Why ppl buy SUVs but never once go off road is because of one thing – EGO. No way you can have a relaxing sitting posture in a SUV – even in Range Rover you sit upright.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 34
    • Flipped over bridge barrier into sea on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:32 am

False perception of safety once seating Inside taller car than other vehicles on the road

• Maverk on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:38 am

Nope. People buy SUVs because people can see scenery and mountains easily. Even it is also more easier to drive on terrain roads when driving SUV

• IGP mom on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:56 am

Preference dude. You have a terribly negative bias towards something that you can’t appreciate. To summarize into one single point, ego, reflects badly on you personally. EGO of what by driving SUV? That’s a first, and smells a lot of envy because you aren’t driving one??

“No way you can have a relaxing sitting posture in a SUV” … that’s a bad assumption you made there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Azgarffield on Sep 16, 2020 at 9:05 am

I agree with you bro. I own both, and I sit more comfortably and relaxed in my SUV. I found that I can drive for 8 hours in my SUV, unlike sedans that kill my back after 3 hours. I do adjust my seat at the lowest position, with slight recline. Drive like a boss bro (and bosses don’t drive)

• Medic on Sep 15, 2020 at 12:02 pm

You are wrong. My mother bought it because she is short.

• P2 Rocky & 2020 Honda Hrv the Game-changer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Bruh... on Sep 15, 2020 at 1:02 pm

I don’t see any correlation between ego & upright sitting position. That sitting position is necessary in high ground clearance vehicles, so the driver could see the ground past it front hood as close as possible to it front bumper. Most modern SUV are never intended for off-road use anyway.

• panjang on Sep 15, 2020 at 4:54 pm

Nowadays there should be 2 category for such vehicle. SUV is categorise as those wannabe off roader, they are FWD or AWD. Then the ‘4×4’ category..this is proper and capable offroader with part time 4WD plus high and low range gear. CVT or DCT or any fancy gb is a no-no for PROPER offroading.
      If geli-geli level of offroading, a P2 kancil can do it.

CX5, X70, CRV…all these are SUV. Are they really necessary? Not really as they provide almost the same luggage capacity like a sedan. U can only carry odd shape object or carry more by sacrificing people carrying ability.When balik kampung is the business, a sedan will function just fine with lower fc.

Pajero, Pajero Sport, Fortuner, Land Cruiser, etc(depending on spec)…to me if we call them SUV, its like an insult to their capability.Are this type of vehicle necessary? To me its a yes for those whom can only have 1 vehicle to daily drive and do the weekend trip away from smooth tarmac. Plus point, modern diesel fc is much2 better than almost all petrol engine.

• 25yrsOld on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:08 am

For the joy of couple/family ownership

1 5 to 7 seater MPV/SUV
    1 sedan/hatchback

If choose only 1 car, are you single?

• newme on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:16 am

Ahead of launching of an SUV of foreign brand with national car status, expect more positive posts about SUV, especially China brand while not so good posts about others here.

• CHONG PO HEE on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:24 am

Wagon is a much neglected option in Malaysia. It has the ride and handling of sedan and at the same time have the boot space of a SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • I am amazed with tonnes of people driving alone in a big fat SUV every morning just to commute to work.
    So much industrial waste, so many polar bears been killed.

That is why i am still sticking faithfully to my B-segment hatchback. it still does all the things that are required.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Bruh... on Sep 15, 2020 at 6:54 pm

If you so care about polar bear, you should’ve use grab instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • blackbox on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:36 am

Unless flooding, else I don’t see if any point to drive a SUV.
    For ladies, maybe SUV is harder for motorcyclist to brick your window and grab your handbag.

• ESTATE/WAGON is best of both world
    suv space+utility with sedan ride+handling

drool over subaru levorg, volvo v60, audi avant,
    too bad all prices ridiculous high n rare in msia

• SUV also favourite for idiots to road bully other roadusers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Johnweak on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:52 am

Ex5 de best

• Ray Kwong Tai Wong on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:53 am

One SUV and Sedan for me. Suv for travelling within Sarawak (poor “highway” road) and Sedan for daily drive. Used my Sedan to travel to other town and end up damaged the gearbox ~.~” and wheel bearing . Target a SUV to travel between towns/Cities.

• Drive for family on Sep 15, 2020 at 12:10 pm

Preferred sedan’s ride and ample luggage space; choose the SUV / MPV because of needing more flexible seating vs luggage space change when needed.

• Then choose cross-over which can be enjoyed both

• Having repeatedly switched between sedans and SUVs including two forays into pocket-rocket & sports car territory over the last 46 years or so, I must say my choices in the past were variously dictated by mood, family size, traveling distance, terrain and price.

It is rather pointless to compare one with the other because what is best is what suits the period we are in including one’s prevailing state of mind and health. Cost and affordability of course are factors.

But having “been there… done that”, I lean towards SUVs for a couple of reasons now – the deteriorating state of our roads, the frequency of flash floods and the personal need to have a formidable presence on roads littered with irresponsible, aggressive motorists and riders.

That and my age-related inability to sit in low-slung sports coupes makes SUVs the only choice for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • madmoz on Oct 14, 2020 at 10:17 pm

May I suggest the GLC Coupe or any of her more atas siblings good sir?
      I shall forever call them old man’s coupe from now forth :)

• 4X4notPondan on Sep 15, 2020 at 12:56 pm

i still prefer SUV and 4X4 as different thing because not all SUV are 4 wheel drive. somemore SUV is designed more towards city driving, not ready for offroad, 4X4 sure ok for offroad. SUV = pondan, 4X4 = not pondan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • jibby on Sep 15, 2020 at 12:59 pm

no need mpv, we have myvi supercar. can fly somemore, nak apa lagi.

• Manual Stick Shift on Sep 15, 2020 at 1:32 pm

Once upon a time, we used to see ordinary family MPV everywhere on the road, Estima, Serena, Odyssey, Innova, Avanza, Exora, Alza, etc.

Today they’re being replaced with X-70, CR-V, X-Trail, CX-5, Rush, Aruz, BR-V, etc.

5 – 7 seater with big cargo & higher ground clearance for light off-road balik kampung route. SUV is an all rounder for mainstream families. They’re part of the mainstream consumers.

Me a car guy never understand until a friend ask for an opinion for his needs.

• Ben Yap on Sep 15, 2020 at 1:32 pm

Dunno which one to get, just get a crossover like the HRV.

• There are advantageous of SUVs as well. For example SUVs can go over bumps without having to slow down to a crawl to avoid scratching the bottom when loaded with 4 or 5ppl.
    Another thing is that SUVs are more spacious and have larger boot space to carry more and bulkier items for the same dimensions (mainly length) when compared to sedans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • nik botak on Sep 15, 2020 at 3:08 pm

If u need a 7 seaters, get the SUV instead of those kotak shaped & hideous looking vans….

• simon on Sep 15, 2020 at 3:56 pm

i drive an almera previously, now moved to an x-trail.

While I enjoy the solid feel of the x trail (c-segment vs almera’s B segment)

i can tell you i’m a sedan guy because the SUV rolls around more in corners and feels wobblier.

I didn’t know this before i got my xtrail so sometimes you really need to own 1 before you can decide what kind of car you like.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Sep 15, 2020 at 4:22 pm

I chose a 7-seater SUV as it is an all rounder vehicle, for:
    1. Can carry more people when needed.
    2. Can carry more luggage, bicycles etc., no problem. Fits the name as a “Sports Utility Vehicle”.
    3. Comfort for driver & passengers, especially for long journey.
    4. 4WD can be switched on when needed & off for fuel economy. Still can go off-road a bit to kebun. Not for hardcore jalan balak, off course. Can drive up Cameron Highlands steadily.
    5. Higher ground clearance. KL always flooded.
    6. Doesn’t look too “uncle car”, even if you’re an uncle already..lol.

• Nice editorial piece Danny. In the end, it comes down to personal preference.

Also, if SUV takda AWD, I don’t buy.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 16, 2020 at 12:40 am

malaysia flood so often. drive suv higher ground clearance can wade through flash floods better.

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 18, 2020 at 10:41 am

Be interesting if Danny can share (in an a write up) his experiences, his trials and tribulations, the ownership experience of solely owning a MT (having never owned an AT) & the low slung sports car as his daily drive in our urban jungle. Am assuming he is still footloose and carefree bachelor, not having the need for a family sedan nor SUV.

• autodriver (Member) on Sep 21, 2020 at 4:44 pm

SUV is getting more popular globally and even in Msia the sales of SUV is keeping climbing over the years. But as car enthusiast after test drive so called good handling SUV like X1 and CX5, the handling is still noticeably lower than sedan car. The good thing about SUV is better eyesight due to higher center of gravity and easy to access into car compare to Sedan. But in term of riding comfort and handling obviously sedan win hands down.

To my ideal I would want a sport sedan car which I had now and added 1 more 7 seater SUV for family outing purpose.

• Bill Hesford on Sep 28, 2021 at 4:56 am

I have been looking at anything from Range Rover to Landrover and they have the worst record of any car company worldwide. Just terrible breakdown macines. Don’t do it.