Nissan integrates Japan and ASEAN operations – global management streamlined to four regions

Nissan has announced that it has restructured its regional operations as part of its Nissan Next four-year transformation plan. Aimed at creating a leaner, more agile organisation, the move sees the streamlining of its regions from seven to four.

The biggest news is that the Asia & Oceania group will be split up, with the Southeast Asian region now being integrated with Japan. Executive vice president Asako Hoshino will be the chairwoman of Japan-ASEAN, while current Asia & Oceania boss Yutaka Sanada will oversee the transition.

Meanwhile, Oceania (which includes Australia and New Zealand) will join forces with Europe and Africa, Middle East & India to form AMIEO. Gianluca De Ficchy, currently Europe’s senior vice president and management committee chairman, will chair the group and report to vice-chief performance officer and chief quality officer Christian Vandenhende.

Elsewhere, a single Americas region will cover both North and South America. Jérémie Papin will continue as North America’s management committee vice president, while Latin America chairman Guy Rodriguez will become South America’s senior vice president of marketing, sales and operations; both will report to Vandenhende. China continues unaffected with president Shohei Yamazaki remaining in charge.

The restructuring brings with it lots of questions, especially how it will affect the ASEAN region. No, this won’t mean we’ll be getting Japan-specific models like kei cars – Japan and ASEAN are still two distinctly different markets with different needs. In any case, Hoshino previously chaired the management committees of both Japan and Asia & Oceania, so don’t expect any big changes in product strategy or sales.

However, we could see some synergies in product development as well as shorter lead times for launches. Nissan did say the restructuring will make it more competitive by helping it improve its operational speed and deploy its latest technologies consistently and quickly across the world. It will also put greater focus on core markets, give more power to regional management and increase global and regional integration, it added.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• lilytan on Oct 02, 2020 at 4:21 pm

Good. Perhaps Nissan should take over malaysia operation from tan chong motor, like honda did from kah motor. Nissan surely can be equally successful in malaysia like honda have if u give the extra attention.

• Avenger on Oct 02, 2020 at 7:00 pm

Honda’s osem, not for Drb qc quality in pagoh.

• Sorry to burst your bubble but another local media outlet spilt the beans that ETCM outperformed Nissan Japan in this region. Hard to believe, but it’s true. Just look at the faff Nissan did in Indonesia with the Datsun fiasco.

• Brian on Oct 03, 2020 at 9:52 am

Sorry to burst your bubble but this news meant Nissan Japan essentially gave up on Tan Chong to run with their brandname, eventually TCM will be relegated to just Malaysian market or the franchisee gets pulled back altogether.

• Haha this is interesting to read. Because that isn’t what the article implies. Or you have insider info?

I don’t like lembab ETCM either but seems they are better than Nissan Japan for some reason.

• Venza on Oct 02, 2020 at 4:27 pm

Bravo ETCM! with Japan integrated into TanChong Nissan, kenot wait to see more ckd models here. Nissan Kicks, GTR, Qashqai, Altima, Silvia, Maxima, 400Z, Ariya & Juke…just to name a few

• Calvin on Oct 02, 2020 at 5:03 pm

Habisah Tan Chong! Japan no longer trust you! This is what becomes when you tidur and blame others for your failings.

• Meanwhile, Nissan owners in Malaysia be like; “ so how does this address our cars’ lack of RV that is quite Korean? Malu woi”.

• vivizurianti on Oct 03, 2020 at 9:29 am

Tan Chong staffs will be slashed very soon. Tak sempat terima bonus….sudah kena buang kerja. insider told me, I didnt create story, ok?

• normal_user on Oct 03, 2020 at 10:07 am

Nissan Japan, please takeover Nissan ops here in Malaysia. My experience owning Almera have been terrible (poor QC, breakdowns, spare parts availability), due to reliability issues. Just look at Honda Malaysia’s track record.

Can someone start an online petition? I had enough with Tan Chong motors.

• Honda Malaysia’s track record? What about it? Sama je in my experience; DISSAPOINTING.

• Unknown on Oct 04, 2020 at 5:29 pm

HM track record only mirrors those of Honda globally which is DISSAPOINTING.

• I don’t understand why Australia and NZ is not under asia but clumped together with India and Europe.