G20 BMW 330e M Sport – Malaysian specifications emerge, CKD, RM264,613 with sales tax exemption

It’s already known that BMW Malaysia will be introducing the G20 BMW 330e in its M Sport form in the near future, what with the plug-in hybrid having been sighted out and about in Putrajaya last month. Now, specifications for the locally-assembled CKD model have emerged via a product document sighted by this publication.

The variant, revealed in November 2018 before going on sale in Europe in August last year, is powered by the same hybrid system set-up as seen on the F30 330e, in this case a B48 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder and an electric motor, which is integrated into an eight-speed ZF-based Steptronic Sport automatic transmission.

While the engine continues to put out 181 hp (184 PS) at 5,000 to 6,500 rpm, the electric motor has been updated, now offering 109 hp (80 kW) of peak output, up by 22 hp from the 87 hp (65 kW) application on the F30. Despite the uprated electric motor, the output tune for the combined system remains at 248 hp (252 PS) and 420 Nm, although there is now an XtraBoost feature that delivers an extra 41 hp (30 kW) of acceleration boost.

Accessible via the Sport driving mode, under kick-down and in the gearbox’s sport and manual mode, this increases the total power for a short moment to 289 hp (292 PS). Performance figures for the 1,740 kg offering include a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 5.9 seconds and a top speed of 230 km/h, five km/h faster than the F30 version.

As for electric performance, a new 12.0 kWh lithium-ion battery offers up to 60 km of pure electric range, nearly double that of its predecessor. The new 330e can operate up to 140 km/h in pure EV mode, 20 km/h higher than before.

Equipment on the local-specification 330e M Sport largely mirrors that of the petrol-only 330i M Sport. It’ll come with a M Sport exterior styling package, adaptive LED headlights and M Sport brakes, and will ride on the same 18-inch double-spoke 790 M bi-colour light-alloy wheels.

Also finding its way on is a M aerodynamics package. The hybrid will however feature a different suspension that the 330i – the 330e gets an Adaptive M suspension as opposed to the M Sport setup found on the 330i.

Inside, the cabin’s colours and trim mirrors that available for the M340i xDrive, which is also due to be introduced soon. Two colour schemes are available for the Vernasca leather upholstery, in black or Cognac, and aluminium tetragon interior trim finishers as well as BMW Individual headliner in an anthracite shade are also to be found.

Additionally, there’s an M leather steering wheel, a BMW Live Cockpit Professional infotainment system featuring a 10.25-inch centre screen and a 12.3-inch fully-digital instrument display, three-zone auto air-conditioning and a 10-speaker, 205 watt HiFi Loudspeaker audio system.

The 330e also comes equipped with digital key capability, which offers keyless access via a NFC-enabled smartphone (currently, Samsung), although it might not be a lifetime thing, given that the feature is listed as being offered with a three-month trial.

In terms of driving assistance systems, Driving Assistant is briefly listed in the header in the specification box, and with an update in April already adding the package to the 330i M Sport and 320i Sport, the 330e should come equipped with autonomous emergency braking, lane departure warning, lane change warning, rear cross traffic alert and rear collision prevention. Parking assistant, a rear view camera and reversing assistant is highlighted.

Five exterior colours will be available for the 330e, these being Portimao Blue, Sunset Orange, Alpine White, Black Sapphire and Mineral Grey. The first four shades are shared with the M340i xDrive, which will be the company’s first-ever locally-assembled M Performance model when it arrives on the scene.

The G20 330e will come with a five-year unlimited manufacturer warranty and five-years/100,000 km free scheduled service, and the battery will be covered under the company’s new eight-year or 160,000 km PHEV battery extended warranty programme that was introduced in June this year.

As for pricing, the first document suggested an estimated price of around RM270,000 for the car, but a new, reportedly finalised price list has emerged and is now circulating about, indicating that the 330e is priced at RM268,800 (on-the-road, without insurance). With a RM4,187 SST exemption in place, the 330e will be priced at RM264,613 until December 31, 2020, which would make it just RM5.5k more than the F30 330e M Sport when that debuted in 2018.

It remains unclear if BMW Malaysia will eventually phase out the G20 330i M Sport like it did with the F30 330i some time after the previous-gen 330e appeared. More details on the hybrid when it makes its debut.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Jia Ren on Oct 20, 2020 at 6:25 pm

Bring it on

• Dr Strange on Oct 20, 2020 at 8:22 pm

Dem lucky us..in Spore the same car priced sgd248,888 aka RM780,000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Kereta lembu on Oct 20, 2020 at 9:50 pm

Why buy this car if my x70 can pick up faster then the 330e.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 44
      • Avenger on Oct 20, 2020 at 10:37 pm

Someone once claimed Mesia had the most expensive car prices in the world. I guess Spore must not be from this world in his dreamworld.

• Contender on Oct 21, 2020 at 1:15 am

why convert from SGD to MYR ? those in Singapore earn SGD ….. cars are cheaper in SGD based on purchasing power even with COE ! Get your facts right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
      • Yeah lucky us and our income levels, education rankings

• hantu raya on Oct 21, 2020 at 8:50 am

if your metrics are limited to material wealth, yeah sure.

• Hard to think what objective, factual metrics where MY beats SG really.

• Scion on Nov 28, 2022 at 4:06 pm

It is easier to earn 248,888 singapore dollars then to earn RM280,000 here….
        And a cup of tea in singapore is 1 dollar. One plate of chicken rice is SGD3.50

• Chow Wei Zhen on Oct 20, 2020 at 6:36 pm

Well done BMW Malaysia for listening our feedbacks. Keep it up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • A lot of ppl want to save the world, but how many people will buy HYBRID? When come to maintenance of the battery everyone freakout and complain about the price. In Msia I don’t see we need a HYBRID, our petrol are not expensive and cannot justify the amount that we save and transfer into the HYBRID maintenance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 40
      • The same goes to Honda Hybrid. Reliability is also not good. But, BMW Hybrids Relaibility are slowly improving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
        • kereta_lembu on Oct 21, 2020 at 1:04 pm

At the end of the day, it all comes down to cost of maintaining a car. Until Hybrid technology or EVs become the new norm, people will not accept it because the cost of replacing the battery is just too high. So much so that whatever cost you save from fuel usage is not enough to cover the cost of replacing the battery.

Don’t forget car prices also depreciates, so when a car is worth 200-300k new, and it drops to 100k after a few years, do you think people would want to spend 50-60k upwards to get a battery replacement?

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 21, 2020 at 11:11 am

Exactly. Unless our petrol price hit at least RM3/L then hybrid will make sense to save cost of ownership.

• Monana on Oct 20, 2020 at 6:48 pm

Oyy! Honda, Toyota, Mazda, Nissan, have included Adaptive Cruise Control. Bila lg BMW Malaysia?

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 21, 2020 at 11:13 am

In fact how many times we use the adaptive cruise control. I owned a car with ACC, unless travel to outstation otherwise it is pretty useless. AEB is more important as it is safety features that can safe life.

• (Like) BMW 330e M Sport rm270k.
    (Dislike) BMW M340i rm430k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
    • Legrand on Oct 20, 2020 at 9:30 pm

Either that also got both likes for BMW 330e M Sport and BMW M340i

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Recall due to battery short circuit fire on Oct 20, 2020 at 7:17 pm

For the benefit of your readers who might not be aware, there is a battery recall for BMW PHEV including this 330e due to a fire risk that can occur from a short circuit. Somehow someway PHEVs in Malaysia aren’t affected. Go figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • No battery on Oct 20, 2020 at 11:36 pm

Because the car not launch so they can gao dim at factory first. And my mini s also got a recall for battery problem. Yes the battery just died during a mall visit i need jump start and replace under warranty and then after a year got this invitation card stating foc all mini pls come back check battery replace some circuit. Lol…but no public recall news anywhere. A non hybrid battery just died after a year without warning or symptoms. Guess what will happen to hybrid. Even my dyson v8 battery died after 3 years. Mm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
  • Bottom2 on Oct 20, 2020 at 7:18 pm

[Like] BMW 330e CKD
    [Dislike] Volvo S60 T8 CKD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
  • M & B on Oct 20, 2020 at 7:20 pm

Nice!

• Intel on Oct 20, 2020 at 7:28 pm

I don’t think that 330i will not be phased out, maybe.

• 330i is the real legend. The price in msia below around 300k is not insane. Saw increasing number lately. 320i number also rising. That day saw 320i g20 tailgating a 330i g20 wanna race him. Both young ppl. Lol, the 330i just drive slow n cool with a girl next to him, and ignore the 320i. Maybe wanna save some face for the little 320i. Same bmw ma. I think if the 330i step on the gas a bit, the 320i might regret. Test drove both, like different car. 330i so much more power than 320i. My dream car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 23
  • Hawley on Oct 20, 2020 at 7:29 pm

Significant improvement over the previous gen

• Great pricing for the amount of car offered.

• let’s see if this fails like the F30 330e
    2nd hand on mudah is dirt cheap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • seancorr (Member) on Oct 21, 2020 at 12:39 am

Typical la for any PHEV to lose its value quicker than ICE vehicles. Would I call it a failure? Nope coz they still managed to sell well.

• Bye bye 330i and 320i if history repeats itself.
    It was a bad move when they phase out the F30 330i and 320i as the 330e arrived in 2016

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • 330i man on Oct 20, 2020 at 11:42 pm

Dont think so. 330i at 295k is less than 30k more over the 270k. And the 320i performance is very good at 7.1 sec. Msian willing to buy 320i. Those richer young boss will just go for the pure breed 330i without battery hassle and no need to charge. Can drive longer. Even with 8 yrs warranty, still.boring need to go workshop this that. You know battery performance fall the minute you charge it. Maybe it will.flood the market, after 2 yrs it will dissapear into 2nd hand dealer parking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • autodriver (Member) on Oct 21, 2020 at 11:18 am

BMW just launched the 320i this year, it is IMPOSSIBLE they phase out the 320i and 330i after launch of 330e. And I believe there are not many people buying the 330e because the previous generation 330e having very bad RV.

In Msia many people concern about the replacement cost of battery and bad RV of hybrid. And people who buy BMW the fuel price will never be the factor, if people afraid 320i or 330i is thirsty of fuel they better off buy a Honda City. Save up those money to pump a hundred year petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Amran on Oct 21, 2020 at 10:11 pm

if Honda City powerful 253Nm too good to ignore.

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 22, 2020 at 11:10 am

City IMMD 0-100 takes 9.9 sec while the 320i is only 7.6 sec, that’s huge different man. And this 330e is quicker than 320i which makes City IMMD look really weak in term of sprint time.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 21, 2020 at 12:42 am

Woow nice it has adaptive dampers. The 330i passive sussy was a bit stiff…almost like the E90 for better or for worse. Now if BMW Malaysia would slowly introduce their adaptive cruise control as standard…

• Nocturnal Animals on Oct 21, 2020 at 1:18 am

That’s great

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • NiceCar on Oct 21, 2020 at 9:15 am

why no 318i luxury?? 218i feel like same Honda City car size.

• Bieight on Oct 21, 2020 at 10:16 am

Stay in condominium how to charge the car???

• Dovlet on Oct 21, 2020 at 10:32 am

3 Series G20 pretty damn good!

• Sabun on Oct 21, 2020 at 10:34 am

Definitely will sell well

• One source said got another leaked price for M340i xDrive will cost around RM423K (but cost RM403K for SST exemption)

• Ex VGM staff on Oct 21, 2020 at 1:18 pm

Mamy ppl won’t believe just how powerful the f30 316i and the facelifted LCI 318i with 1.5 3 cylinder turbo powerplant.
    .unbelievable.