Scan MySejahtera at fuel pumps or risk RM1,000 fine

Did you know that you have to scan a MySejahtera QR code at a petrol station before pumping fuel? Neither did we, but the Malay Mail is reporting that registering using the contact tracing service is mandatory even if you do not enter the station’s convenience store, where the QR code is usually placed.

According to the publication, which quoted China Press, the police’s deputy director of the criminal investigation department, DCP Datuk Mior Faridalathrash Wahid, said, “If the people do not register or scan, how will the police trace them if there are Covid-19 cases in the area?”

Mior told the Chinese-language daily that petrol stations were public spaces with heavy human traffic. As such, visitors are required to wear face masks, register for contact tracing, have their temperature scanned and use hand sanitisers, he said.

The director’s comments came after a voice clip, in which a man claimed that his father was fined RM1,000 for failing to register with the MySejahtera app before filling up, went viral. So now you know.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Nov 09, 2020 at 9:11 pm

The fact that even PT staffers don’t know such SOP existed speaks volume about how our Menteri Telor Penyu is running his ministry like a bloody govt amateur. SOPs and guidelines are all confusing as hell. And who pays the price of such incompetence..? The RAKYAT…!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 10
    • Avenger on Nov 09, 2020 at 9:44 pm

BTW when people are nonchalant about SOP, social distancing, sanitising & proper contact tracing, the past couple of weeks are the result; triple & quadruple digits infection on a daily basis. And who pays the price of such incompetence..? The RAKYAT…!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 52
    • Aura89 on Nov 10, 2020 at 10:15 am

So many Trumpians here. While USA had rejected this ideology, some folks here adopted their thinking! Covid is nothing serious eh? Don’t care to contact trace? Blame the govt for trying to keep you safe? Brainless!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • YB Albert on Nov 10, 2020 at 10:30 am

Let logic prevail.The pumps are well spaced 6 feet apart.People wear masks.We spent 2-3 mins pump petroleum.Some more open air.What r the chances of transmission?Most of the infections r due to high concentrations of the virus in enclosed settings ,n exceeds 15mins according to CDC.Can Tan Sri highlight anyone with the virus traced to petroleum kiosks?Do u need rocket science to understand virus transmission?

• Sick & Tired on Nov 10, 2020 at 12:55 pm

Really? If virus only needs 15 minutes or more to infect via touch, why do CDC and MKN make mandatory to wear mask whenever you are outside your home? Nobody can say for certain how COVID19 will spread or the ways it can infect a person. All precautions and preventions must be taken to ensure any possible chances of transmissions are low. The US President thought he was immune to infection with his highly secured surroundings but even he is not spared, what more the common folks like you and me and the many others? The US President thought he knew more than doctors, and he failed. You think you knew more than the doctors?

• Steven D. on Nov 10, 2020 at 7:18 pm

CDC never said masks are mandatory but recommended when you CANNOT social distance or you are indoors with no proper ventilation. If masks work, then why lockdown? Let’s get back to normal life but wear masks?

• Sick & Tired on Nov 09, 2020 at 9:29 pm

Really stupid. The QR code is usually placed on the door entrance of the petrol station. If they expect us to scan, why not put it on the petrol pump itself (unless it’s dangerous)? I really hate to bring up politics, but this government has no idea what they are doing. It’s been almost 7 months for them to figure things out, but the way things are going, it seems like they are coming up with rules and regulations as they go along with no proper planning done.

They also need to do away with all the confusing acronyms (ecmco, cmco, mco, etc) and use a more simpler system like colour or number based system.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 9
    • Avenger on Nov 09, 2020 at 9:39 pm

You can’t blame the government for the incompetence of the petrol station operators. The rules set by the government is very clear. If there is person to person contact, it needs the person to scan My Sejahtera. Just because you are confused doesn’t mean the government has no idea. From DCP’s explanation they have clear answers to this matter. Even Grab/Food Panda collectors have to scan when picking up food deliveries, so the same applies to all persons who had contact.

Or would you rather be nonchalant like the state of Texas with 1 million infections just because you don’t care? Think about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 118
      • Motorist on Nov 09, 2020 at 9:53 pm

These ‘New Requirements” are NOT the NORMAL Procedures that MOST of NOT 99.99999 % of motorist do. If there is such a DRASTIC change to the procedure of FILLING up……. THE FIRST / IMPORTANT thing to do is to EDUCATE the Petrol Stations to IMPLEMENT such “DRASTIC Procedure”.
        We are JUST USERS of their PRODUCT. Who make the PROFITS. Petrol Stations ….. AS such it is their RESPONSIBILITY to EDUCATE the MOTORIST. Most MOTORIST WILL comply and follow the Procedure if “INFORMED and TOLD” to do so. Issue RM1000 summons to these “un-Informed” motorist is tantamount to ” Legalise Blackmail”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
        • good grief, caring govt in office decided against contesting in Batu Sapi to curb the spread of COVID.

• Jeremy on Nov 10, 2020 at 1:27 am

Isn’t that what Avenger meant? The PETROL STATIONS have the RESPONSIBILITY to EDUCATE PUMP USERS TO REGISTER THEIR DETAILS FOR CONTACT TRACING PURPOSE WHETHER IT BY MYSEJAHTERA OR WRITE INTO THE LOG BOOK.

You can complain about the inconvenience but there must be no compromise in the fight against COVID. STOP BEING SELFISH PEOPLE!!!

• Hooooooo on Nov 10, 2020 at 8:07 am

They say dont use phone at petrol station now ask us use phone to scan ? idiot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • panjang on Nov 09, 2020 at 9:56 pm

So now i can use my mobile phone at petrol station?
    Or i will not get fine as i scan the qr code but got another fine as i am using my mobile phone at petrol station……i am more confused now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 1
    • Jeremy on Nov 10, 2020 at 1:21 am

Write in the book mate. There is no excuse for not contact tracing you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • panjang on Nov 10, 2020 at 10:53 am

Its about using mobile phone at petrol station…we can use it or not?

• Ahmad on Nov 10, 2020 at 11:52 am

The book is contagious. Haven’t you notice it?

• Sick & Tired on Nov 10, 2020 at 12:57 pm

So you didn’t notice the hand santiser dispenser beside it? Your problem if you don’t notice you know?

• pendek on Nov 10, 2020 at 11:07 am

Use your brain bro.

• newme on Nov 09, 2020 at 9:59 pm

Can we use phone at petrol station?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Jeremy on Nov 10, 2020 at 1:22 am

Write in the book mate. There is no excuse not to contact tracing you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Limborock on Nov 09, 2020 at 9:59 pm

Using HP at stations is illegal ! Purposely walk over to the station’s convenience store just to scan the app might increase my chances of getting COVID-19. Who are you police to set another new SOP ? If everyone to follow your instructions there will be explosions at the pump very soon !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
  • MySejahtera apps hasn’t been gazetted into law yet right?

• Call me by your name on Nov 09, 2020 at 11:10 pm

It’s a form of contact tracing. If u want to write your name at the book, knock yourself out. But if didn’t do any then 1k compound

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Huey Miin on Nov 09, 2020 at 10:48 pm

“Visitors are required to use hand sanitizer” and to take out hp in petrol station to scan. Let’s wait and watch how many explosion cases going to happen soon.

• Just improve the app on Nov 09, 2020 at 11:04 pm

Just create a new feature in the MySejahtera app to allow users to check in to the location they’re at by the GPS location just like Facebook app. How hard can that be for government app developers in this digital era?

This way users can safely do it in the safety of being inside their car just like how they use the Setel app to pay for fuel, and not risking explosion by using their phone outside near the pump.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Sam “Hailat” Loo on Nov 09, 2020 at 11:33 pm

That’s even scarier…? Now the govt can monitor your movement in REAL TIME…!!!

• I though we should not use phone when pumping petol?then how to scan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Unker Sam on Nov 09, 2020 at 11:41 pm

How can unkers and aunties remember to scan? Use cc at pump also forget pin sometimes. Ask them to park car at one corner in pump then walk to the cashier’s window or shop entrance to scan, walk back then pump? How safe if you scan with hphone and the fumes from neighboring pump is ignited?? Actually MOH crisis center already said only those entering shop need to scan not at the pump. Polis trying to cover ass with this reply.

• Lee Cheng San on Nov 10, 2020 at 12:00 am

Who actually decides on the SOP? surely not any police or personnel can interpret as he likes? Can the NSC clarify the situation? If people are required to scan because they are” in the area” the must i scan of i just walked down a street, looking for a particular shop etc? i hope for a clear and intelligent answer

• azrai on Nov 10, 2020 at 7:08 am

Impose first, think later. So behind 3 sen reduftion in fuel price, there’s hidden RM1k surcharge actually. Syukur.

• i think the POLICE are trying to be too smart nowadays. Look at warongs that are so crowded nothing happen, a old man pumping petrol without scanning got a summonse. Every department are setting their own brainless rules for the SOP

• Scan also kena. No scna also kena :confused:

• vivizurianti on Nov 10, 2020 at 9:31 am

Govt announces pusing-pusing SOP, making rakyat’s head lagi pusing-pusing.

Malaysia Lagi Boleh Lagi.

• Fariz on Nov 10, 2020 at 9:31 am

Use setel la

• Ahmad Fadhil on Nov 10, 2020 at 9:42 am

Put the bar code at each pump island so that it will be easier to scan and not just put it at the entrance door to the mart. It will be so troublesome.

• azrai on Nov 10, 2020 at 11:03 am

It is QR code, not bar code. Meanwhile CPRC has clarified there’s no need to scan MySejahtera when refuelling. It is only mandatory if one entering a premise. Full stop. So PDRM please up to date.

• Daniel T on Nov 10, 2020 at 10:28 am

Now the Crisis Preparedness and Response Centre responded saying no need to scan. Who to believe? How do you expect the Rakyat to follow the law when the enforcement agencies themselves not clear. I do not think these people intentionally want to break the law.

• Captain Fast on Nov 10, 2020 at 10:35 am

I actually didn’t know that was a requirement. Of the many times I’ve pumped petrol at the stations from first MCO till now, not even once the pump attendant/staff informed me that I needed to scan the MySejahtera code. If I did enter the shop then yeah, I’ll do the scan.

So I guess now have to walk to the counter and scan first before pumping petrol since I don’t think they can put the QR code at the pumps for fear of explosions.

• people just want to pump and go. try keep minimum time as possible. now still want people to ke sini ke sana. no logic

• pendek on Nov 10, 2020 at 11:10 am

So many commenters here seems like uneducated or acting like one just to fulfill their agenda.

• I wonder if they know about safety at petrol stations. Phones are not intrinsically safe to use at petrol stations. You want fire and explosions at petrol stations?

• benard on Nov 11, 2020 at 8:30 am

please update this article too with the latest directive to avoid public confusion

• Rider 1 on Nov 11, 2020 at 12:16 pm

So u have to use your phone at the fuel pump next to someone who’s filling petrol which already has a sign do not use your phone all this will end up in someone blowing up the gas station