2021 Perodua D55L SUV – everything we know so far

Perodua D55L render

It’s no secret that Perodua has a new compact SUV on the way, which will take its place above the Myvi in the local line-up. Currently without a name and commonly referred to as the D55L, this will be the national carmaker’s next product that will look to draw in massive sales figures, given the popularity of SUVs these days.

Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad stated in August 2020 that due to the movement control order (MCO), the launch schedule for the D55L had to be adjusted, so we’ll have to wait for it to surface sometime in 2021.

Recent sightings of a camouflaged D55L is a good sign that the company is on track to deliver, and is bound to generate plenty of buzz in our local automotive sphere. So, to bring you up to speed, here’s what we know about the D55L so far.

Perodua D55L render

Why is everyone calling it the Perodua D55L?

Well, that’s because it doesn’t have an official name yet, and it is internally known as the D55L. This alphanumeric style of naming projects has been the case with Perodua models for some time, as the Aruz was known as the D38L, the current Myvi was referred to as the D20N, the Axia as the D87A, and the Bezza as the D63D.

I keep hearing about the Daihatsu Rocky when the Perodua D55L is mentioned. What’s up with that?

During Perodua’s full year review last year, the company revealed that it plans to develop models based on the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA), which is what underpins the latest Rocky as well as the rebadged Toyota Raize.

So, yes, the D55L is expected use the same platform as the Rocky, but it is likely not a straight rebadge, as was the case with Perodua’s previous SUV efforts like the Kembara and Nautica – both were based on the Terios at the time.

Daihatsu Rocky (left), Perodua D55L prototype (right)

As we’ve seen with the Myvi, which has an upper body and interior that was fully designed by Perodua, as well as the Aruz that differs (inside and out) from the current Terios and Toyota Rush, the fruitful partnership has allowed Daihatsu to entrust the national carmaker to perform its own development work and change the design of vehicles as they see fit.

Based on recent spyshots of the D55L, we can see that the overall profile doesn’t differ much from the Rocky, but there are changes to its front and rear, as suggested by the heavy camouflage the prototype is wearing. As a result, expect the D55L to have a noticeably different exterior design compared to its Daihatsu sibling, and this should extend to its interior, which should receive Malaysian touches – cue the tapau and teh tarik hooks.

When you say “compact SUV,” how small will the Perodua D55L be?

If we look at the Rocky, it measures 3,995 mm long, 1,695 mm wide and 1,620 mm tall, and has a wheelbase that spans 2,525 mm. These figures should also apply to the D55L, given its association to the Rocky, and shouldn’t differ significantly.

Compared to Perodua’s previous compact SUVs, the Rocky occupies a larger footprint compared to the Kembara, which was 3,890 mm long, 1,555 mm wide, 1715 mm tall, and with a 2,420 mm wheelbase. However, it’s dwarfed by the Nautica that was 4,115 mm long, 1,695 mm wide, 1,740 mm tall, and had a 2,580 mm wheelbase.

Ok, so what’s going to be under the bonnet?

A good question, but one that doesn’t have an outright answer for now. As the D55L will have Rocky underpinnings, it can be assumed that the engine used will be the same too. In Japan, the Rocky is offered with a sole powertrain, consisting of a 1KR-VET 1.0 litre (996 cc) turbocharged three-cylinder petrol engine that makes 98 PS (97 hp) at 6,000 rpm and 140 Nm of torque from 2,400 to 4,000 rpm.

If the engine code sounds familiar, it is essentially the turbocharged version of the 1KR-VE currently used in the Axia and Bezza. The 1KR-VET features variable valve timing, DOHC, 12 valves and an idling stop system, with a CVT being its only transmission pairing over there. Front- and all-wheel drive are available, although the former is more likely for our part of the world.

It would certainly be big news if we do get the D55L with the 1KR-VET and a CVT, as it would mark the first time a Perodua model gets turbocharging as well as a transmission that isn’t a conventional torque converter automatic.

There is some evidence that points towards this powertrain package being used, as back in December 2019, two units of the Daihatsu Thor were spotted in Melaka with an attached transmission cooler. The Thor has the same setup as the Rocky, and it was assumed that Perodua is testing this package to ensure it can cope with our demanding climate.

Daihatsu Rocky interior

When will the Perodua D55L be launched? How much?

2021. An exact date hasn’t been announced for now, and the pricing is also another mystery. Perodua’s current line-up is priced from RM23,367 for a base Axia 1.0 E, and goes all the way up to RM73,226 for the range-topping Aruz 1.5 AV.

Seeing how the D55L will take its place below the larger Aruz, which starts from RM68,526, a price range that is from around the RM50,000 mark is possible, although this will overlap with the Myvi range. That shouldn’t be a big concern, because if you want a hatchback, you’d go with the Myvi, and if you wanted an SUV, there’s the D55L.

Will it compete directly against the Proton X50?

On paper, no. The D55L is more of a really, really small B-segment model – it’s actually closer to being an A-segment and is known as such in Japan – given its purported dimensions, while the X50 is a properly-sized B-segment SUV. Bringing out the figures, X50 is larger than the Rocky, as it is 4,330 mm long, 1,800 mm wide, 1,609 mm tall, and has 2,600 mm wheelbase.

As such, it’s not an apples-to-apples comparison, but those in the market for a compact SUV from a local brand will likely have both models under consideration before making a purchase. It isn’t far-fetched to assume that the D55L will be priced even lower than Aruz, as we just talked about, so it should be considerably cheaper than the X50 that starts well above the entire Perodua range, from RM79,200

Perodua D55L prototype

What equipment can we expect?

Once again, we have to look to the Rocky for a rough idea. The SUV in Japan, in its highest grade, comes with LED headlights, fog lights, daytime running lights and taillights, along with 17-inch wheels, a seven-inch TFT instrument cluster display, automatic air-conditioning, and a nine-inch touchscreen head unit. By right, it shouldn’t be worse than the Myvi, as the hatchback already has keyless entry and engine start, as well as LED headlamps across the board.

On the safety front, the Rocky has the usual passive systems like Vehicle Stability Control, traction control, ABS, EBD, brake assist, six airbags and Isofix child seat anchors. As for active safety systems, the list includes autonomous emergency braking (AEB), lane keep warning and assist, a blind spot monitor, auto high beam, adaptive headlights, adaptive cruise control, lane keep control, rear cross-traffic alert, and parking assist.

Perodua has said in the past that it intends to keep up with global trends, so Level 2 autonomous driving systems, like some mentioned above, are likely to be fitted to the D55L, at least on higher variants. Given that many of its models like the Axia, Aruz, Myvi and Bezza have Perodua’s Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) suite, which includes AEB, we reckon the D55L will also follow suit.

Anything else?

We’ve already written a few articles in the past related to the D55L, so here’s a list of them for further reading:

We will continuously update this post with more information as and when they become available, so keep an eye on this space to know more about the upcoming Perodua D55L.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• kaizen on Nov 11, 2020 at 4:32 pm

Masok rim 18 inci, gloss hitam. Pergghh amekaw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
    • John Gelabah on Nov 11, 2020 at 5:24 pm

Don’t worry its smaller SUV than Proton X50.

Whether rakyat trust Japanese or Chinese tech its up to them, this is free country anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • Roti john on Nov 11, 2020 at 8:35 pm

The Toyota Raize achieved no 1 sales in Japan. This fact shows that Toyota Raize is trully a proven Game-Changing SUV. We are so lucky that our Perodua will sell the D55L SUV soon using the same platform as Raize and Rocky. The D55L will for sure achieve no 1 sales in Malaysia just like in Japan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 13
        • Jeremy on Nov 11, 2020 at 11:27 pm

Oh hi Kunta. Since your here please clarify what your Perodua CEO claimed (and I quote); “In this instance, the issue with the fuel pump only happens when the vehicle is stationary, not when it is moving.”

But in the related recall at USA, the US NHTSA (via static.nhtsa.gov) have this warning about “This evaluation suggested that this issue occurs at lower speeds… but vehicle stall could occur while driving at higher speeds, increasing the risk of a crash. Toyota could not rule out the possibility of loss of motive power at higher speeds in the subject vehicles.”

So was your CEO lying to us in order to cover his arses? Sila Kunta beri pencerahan. I hope Perodua clarifies this serious issue before even dare to launch another car with potential failures that can lead to accidents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 31
          • Celup King on Nov 12, 2020 at 1:49 pm

Kunta sila beri pencerahan to your boss fake non-recall.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Nov 11, 2020 at 11:58 pm

Short Answer to D55L:
          I’m not sure of anything… LMAO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • Jeremy on Nov 12, 2020 at 11:45 am

Game-Changer indeed. No other car would need you on taking delivery and having to go straight into service center for replacing the faulty fuel pump. Not even China car is this bad reliability.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 12, 2020 at 4:12 pm

We cannot trust a brand that tells us a lie. Their big brother Toyota have done massive recalls for fuel pump issues worldwide but Perodua is silent about doing the same. All they did is recall certain customers back, really showing their insincerity about caring for us Malaysians. We supported them all these decades buying a lot of their cars but this is how they treated us, they don’t give a dayum about us only care to get our money.

• Kokey on Nov 11, 2020 at 5:58 pm

17″ cukup la bro. Sudah nampak besar.

• Amran on Nov 11, 2020 at 11:09 pm

Enjin 1.0l semputla panjat Genting… lagik selamat halfway, naik cable car je. Enjin pon tak bising meraung..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 11, 2020 at 6:50 pm

Just imagine if the price starts at 45k….in between Myvi and Alza I’m sure the waiting list would be one year…

• autobahn on Nov 11, 2020 at 10:34 pm

Proton x50 is like hvin Familymart Belgian Dark Chocolate Sofuto …but P2 rocky mcm layan Mekdi aiskrim sundaecone Singgit. Mana lagi best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
      • turutnu on Jan 11, 2021 at 8:46 am

Start 45k dont say Myvi or Aruz, even Axia and Bezza cannot sell lol

Between Alza and Aruz can la

• Roti john on Nov 11, 2020 at 7:59 pm

This is such a Game-Changing news! I can’t wait to see what the D55L looks like, Im also going to book 1 when Perodua release it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 18
      • Ghani on Nov 11, 2020 at 10:15 pm

Someone once proudly shouting P2 sold 4X more than P1 so if P2 did not get 4X 27,000 = 108,000 bookings in 2 weeks of launch, that tells us P2 dah gagal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
      • Axia was driven against the lane cause of the accident of 3 vehicles at Kilometer 355.4 of the North – South Expressway (PLUS) to the north, yesterday.

Stupid Perodua diver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • normal_user on Nov 11, 2020 at 8:55 pm

Bigger rims equal to more bumpy ride, worse fuel consumption & higher maintenence costs. 17inch are far expensive than 15 inch ones, let alone those 18s or 19s.Those who upgrade from myvi, are they prepared to pay nearly 2k for set of good quality tyres (Michelin etc)?

• Celup King on Nov 12, 2020 at 1:53 pm

That tells us this is a fake SUV. Nearly all proper SUV cars in the market have larger than sedan type car tyres. Equipping with 15 inch wheels would not give it the high ground clearance of an SUV. So Perodua is marketing us a fake SUV. What else had they faked?!

• Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 11, 2020 at 10:12 pm

This car is not yet proven and the engine is nothing to shout about. We trust the proven X50 with SAE award-winning 1.5 TGDI engine & 7speed wet dual clutch combo used in 1.6 million cars sold in 21 countries worldwide

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • Ethan on Nov 12, 2020 at 8:07 am

Just watched a video from Hong Kong doing a Toyota Raize review. One of the reviewers said that 17 inch wheels ride comfort isn’t that great and it should feel a lot better if it was 16 inches instead because of the increased Tyre sidewall. Putting 18 inch wheels on it would reduce the ride comfort dramatically.

• Truckers on Nov 11, 2020 at 4:33 pm

Crazy small! Either it only fits midgets or you will need to amputate both legs to get inside! OMG!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 32
    • Sure... on Nov 11, 2020 at 5:43 pm

You’re quite the drama. Though it is small, it’s about the size of Myvi. Slightly longer, a bit narrower.

Still X50 is a bargain for it price, especially the 1.5TGDI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • DonkeyKong on Nov 11, 2020 at 5:47 pm

It’s longer and wider overall than the previous Myvi, and the wheelbase is significantly longer than the previous Myvi too. The Myvi is compact, but it’s definitely not meant only for amputees as it can seat 4 adults just fine. I think the D55L would be ideal as a Myvi alternative with a bit more room and a bit more boot space, and a peppier powertrain.

• Lalala on Nov 11, 2020 at 5:57 pm

Compare to previous model toyota rush/perodua nautica, this d55l only 120mm shorter. Or 12cm, so how huge diff it is?
      U want big u get a truck la dude. They called it compact suv for reason.

• Unknown on Nov 11, 2020 at 6:11 pm

This is not a human car. It is for Hobbits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 29
      • But one time, at last can see D55L looks more beautifully than the rest of p2 lineup

• newme on Nov 12, 2020 at 12:42 pm

Hope Proton can have at least 1 beautiful model too.

• Copy Paste on Nov 12, 2020 at 2:57 pm

Copy paste: “Since the past 5 years, Chinese automaker has really stepped up their game from what I’ve observe in Shanghai streets. Looks, interior quality and gadgets wise they have out beaten the Japanese. Japanese cars are getting squarer with outdated plastic interiors while the Chinese are moving forward fast. Just look at X50-x70 compared to toyota or perodua. What you see in x50 is actually the outdated version of chinese car in china but considered a big step up in Malaysia. Chinese car manufacturer understand that to capture the car sales market, they have to make the car looks good and to flood the market with affordable/cheap spare parts. That will kill their European competitors as well.”

• taknakjepunis on Nov 12, 2020 at 3:48 pm

Example civic turbo 4 cyl even x50 3 cyl engine can have such power.

Jepunis where to put face?

• newme on Nov 12, 2020 at 4:36 pm

Copy paste
            Top car brand in China
            1. Volkswagen
            2. Toyota
            3. Changan

• Kantoi But Still Wanna Defend on Nov 12, 2020 at 5:00 pm

There are over 20 chinese car brands there. Combined them and their figures dwarves vw and toyota sales. Oh and did you include changan by mistake since that is a chinese brand. hahaha.

• Newme on Nov 13, 2020 at 8:28 am

“did you include changan by mistake since that is a chinese brand. hahaha.”

But its not Geely. Proton should go for changan.

Btw. Japanese brand worldwide sale drawf all chinese brands combined too.

• TopsyBoxyTurvy on Nov 11, 2020 at 6:32 pm

All that vibrations & noisy from the tiny 3cyl enjin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
    • Ethan on Nov 12, 2020 at 8:09 am

Check out some of the Toyota Raize reviews on YouTube. It’s apparently quite spacious. Who knows, maybe they studied whatever magic those Honda engineers used on the Jazz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Clther on Nov 12, 2020 at 9:58 am

But honda engineers didn’t even check the quality, may not know that people will get shocked by mostly from fuel pump and cvt. That’s why we all trusted X50 and Reliable Trusted Japanese that has already won the awards

• Jeremy on Nov 12, 2020 at 11:41 am

SUV especially those crossover types are well known to be cramp inside compared to the huge appearance outside. For a car with similar size to a Myvi, expect interior cabin space smaller than a Viva. That is freaking tiny for a car this big.

• Daihatsu Rocky is classified as A segment crossover in Japan.

• Ghani on Nov 11, 2020 at 10:18 pm

Is there even such a thing? SUV cars are supposed to be bigger than similar sedan/hatchbacks. An A segment SUV would be really impractical car for daily use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • LIKE: X50 and D55L
    DISLIKE: City, HRV and Aruz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Ugly cramp underpower for sure it will be like its step brother Axia Aruz stiff kind of ride :))

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
    • City also very underpower and cannot even beat with D55L and X50

• donno on Nov 11, 2020 at 5:42 pm

if it is smaller than the nautica, then it is really2 small…

• Iriz Active coming soon. Size 3945mm Length, 1722mm Width, 2555mm Wheelbase, 108PS and 150Nm.

Rocky/Raize size 3995mm Lenth, 1695mm Width, 1620mm Height, 2525mm Wheelbase, 98PS and 140Nm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Christina on Nov 11, 2020 at 10:01 pm

Iriz 1.6 Campro, figure ada but no oomph
      Car boot is flat, smaller than Axia malu²

• Iriz 1.6 lagi oomph than Myvi 1.5
        Ya, boot space is small but interior just need redesign will have enough leg room and boot space.

https://paultan.org/2014/09/28/proton-iriz-active-concept/

• Some more Proton has confirmed that the new 1.5T MPI turbocharged port injection engine will be rolled out to more models. 150PS and 226Nm much more better than 98PS and 140Nm.

• M & B on Nov 11, 2020 at 6:04 pm

Looks gorgeous. I really like this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • I hope they dont copy over the same ugly rear design from the myvi, but it looks like they did unfortunately..

• Mr Loba Loba on Nov 11, 2020 at 6:12 pm

Honestly, this is borderline ugly. X50 wins hands down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Amran on Nov 11, 2020 at 6:15 pm

With X50 came earlier and with tremendous 27,000+ bookings to date, D55 Rocky better doa it won’t DoA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • theFaisals on Nov 11, 2020 at 6:21 pm

please hear me out now.. change the design of the side mirror.. please perodua . everything else okay, just change the side mirror.. use myvi side mirror also can, aruz one also can, just dont use the one the picture

• Another thing we should know. Whether will it suffer fuel pump failures down the road later on. I suspect this is highly likely to happen but Perodua will keep it hush-hush and not do a recall like big bro Toyota. Buy this car at your own risk of massive failures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • And buy honda at their own risk too. Fuel pump, steering rack, Honda CVT from Earth Dreams, aircond and etc also rosak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 11, 2020 at 8:38 pm

that interior is the same as the GR YARIS’

• Amat Kazuma on Nov 11, 2020 at 9:40 pm

Hopefully there will be AWD variant !

• Ben Yap on Nov 11, 2020 at 10:21 pm

1.0 turbocharge but deliver less power than Honda city turbo. not up to honda’s technology yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • But in here, City 1.5 and hybrid are still underpowered than this

• 1KR-VET 1.0 litre (996 cc) turbocharged three-cylinder petrol engine typically have more vibration problems.

• Amat Kazuma on Nov 11, 2020 at 11:02 pm

Will there be AWD variant ?

• crazily underpowered. Even the campro performs better than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • goforwardperodua on Nov 12, 2020 at 8:37 am

WOW…LOOK LIKE BABY VOLVO XC40….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Jeremy on Nov 12, 2020 at 11:42 am

You need to see an optician.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
      • goforwardperodua on Nov 12, 2020 at 12:42 pm

the body silhouette is same bro…haha..a decent design…this is real game changer…affordable price, good design, high spec and good quality..and most important good RV…more reliable..awesome perodua…people first..

• Copy Paste on Nov 12, 2020 at 2:58 pm

Copy paste: “Game-Changer indeed. No other car would need you on taking delivery and having to go straight into service center for replacing the faulty fuel pump. Not even China car is this bad reliability.”

• goforwardperodua on Nov 12, 2020 at 5:44 pm

haha..pity to you proton keyboard warrior..did you receive special salary like JASA gomen(80 million sumthing)???accept the fact dude…

• Troll Hunter on Nov 12, 2020 at 7:13 pm

I pity our Perodua fanboy. Got nothing to fight with X50. Kesian….

• gogoforwardperodua on Nov 12, 2020 at 10:25 pm

Accept the fact that your sales still left behind dude..publics proved it with sales figure..no points shouting about x50….it wont’t shake perodua sales figure to top notch..2 months highest sales ever..breaking the record somemore..hahaha..hope proton will pay for your keyboard warrior job..pity you..please study back the market,malaysian want affordable car with high spec equipment not pricey car dude..

• sam123 on Nov 12, 2020 at 8:39 am

kei car! kereta pergi balik kerja, please offer manual transmission

• Celup King on Nov 12, 2020 at 1:57 pm

Only suitable for use to drive Bangla workers to construction site and back.

• Ludwig on Nov 12, 2020 at 9:50 am

I hope it will come with a 4-wheel drive

• SmartConsumer on Nov 12, 2020 at 10:38 am

Since the past 5 years, Chinese automaker has really stepped up their game from what I’ve observe in Shanghai streets. Looks, interior quality and gadgets wise they have out beaten the Japanese. Japanese cars are getting squarer with outdated plastic interiors while the Chinese are moving forward fast. Just look at X50-x70 compared to toyota or perodua. What you see in x50 is actually the outdated version of chinese car in china but considered a big step up in Malaysia. Chinese car manufacturer understand that to capture the car sales market, they have to make the car looks good and to flood the market with affordable/cheap spare parts. That will kill their European competitors as well.

• Pearjai on Nov 13, 2020 at 12:35 pm

Actually this suv use suzuki brezza patern with toyota tnga chasis that use daihatsu 2003 “topaz” engine….kr/kj-vet debut in passo x4 2004…if the price below 60k than this should better buy than proton x50…..timing chain,cvt,fuel efiency 22km/l (even they have upgrade thermal efiency more than 30 percent that just consume 30km/litre for na n 27km/l for turbo version….after 16 year engine debut the part so many….n cheap….no need sc lor ! Fuel pump,coil, injector,turbo, radiator n fan whatsoever (halfcut)kr/kj-vet share some part with kf-vet….proper upgrade can tune 200hp to 300hp easily ….don’forget use manual gearbox yo ! Cvt not sure stand for 300nm to 400nm tork !… Proton x50 still use timing belt…maintanance not so cheap…rv sure drop like joylong commuter vs toyota commuter/hiace…china still need improvement for their realibility product ! No need so “canggih” when engine pecah/part owner so “koyak” budged…n sometimes need berbulan-bulan tunggu part ! Buy a car not like buy a hanphone for montly or anually change ! Not all people afford fo cash buy…majority gor fo 5 to 9 year loan….i think proton x70 still better buy than x50…4 piston (balance),timing chain…fuel consumption not so far with x50….3 piston vibration engine alway eat engine mounting….so after warranty period end owner should aware this…the cost for engine mounting ,timing belt,labour =sure for thousand rm koyak ! Good news for x50 pricing that level so “greedy” perodua aware this so they loer pricing use better part supply not denso fuel pump made in philiphine n denso radiator fan than made in indonesia (after 100k many kong)…for rm60k should better buy for perodua but for rm70k better buy proton x50…

• pojie on Nov 13, 2020 at 10:47 pm

gua sokong lu bruh.. proton x70 still better buy than x50…4 piston (balance)…peace

• Anonymous on Nov 14, 2020 at 8:27 pm

People who overhyping the X50 is the reason that I’m more likely gonna buy d55l.. also.. i driven this specific car and it’s bumpy as hell.. though i can tell you this.. idk.. probably.. 16 inches wheel is available.. most malaysian are just barking nonsense like they knew everything about this car without driving it.. don’t litsen to them.. just buy what you like the most.. though if if you expecting luxurious comfortable ride, then I will direct you to X5 or Panamera.. because if you want leather interior and luxury driving comfort and powerful engine(I’m talking about 300hp+), and cheap.. you looking at the wrong company.. neither p1 or p2 can help you with that.. perhaps people forgot about what p2 supposed to be as a car manufacturer..

• Amat Kazuma on Nov 18, 2020 at 1:13 pm

If there is no 4WD variant, it is just upsized Myvi..

• King Kunta on Dec 10, 2020 at 8:20 am

‘national carmaker’s next product‘, its like buying bigmac from mcdonals and claiming to invent it… but still the rakyats will buy P2 because of the competitive prices compared to what P1 is selling

• Jack L on Jan 28, 2021 at 12:30 am

Myvi is already good (king of the road), but D55L could be better

• May C. on Feb 18, 2021 at 11:03 pm

Such much being talked about, launching of this D55L has been delayed a few times due to the MCO. When is this every going to be launched?

• Navagar on Feb 23, 2021 at 6:19 pm

Thus far, perdua models are only good for the front two occupants. The back compartment are so hollow, (particularly in the MYvi) that you can feel every crack on the road..like a tin can; so filmsy and hollow.. So what can we expect in the D55L “if the national carmaker perform its own development work and change the design of vehicles as they see fit”.