SPYSHOT: Perodua D55L SUV, first sighting of Rocky!

Finally! This is our first sighting of the upcoming Perodua D55L SUV, which will be the market leader’s first compact SUV since the Kembara and the limited run CBU Nautica. The image above was captured outside JPJ/MoT in Putrajaya, and it shows a compact SUV on a car transporter that clearly belongs to Perodua – it has Aruz banners.

This has been coming – we’ve heard plenty of it, albeit in P2’s typical veiled style. Codenamed D55L, the B-segment SUV (it’s a fair bit smaller than the Proton X50, Honda HR-V though – compare specs here) is based on the Daihatsu Rocky, which is also sold in Japan as the Toyota Raize. Perodua provided Malaysian input in the development, and that’s perhaps why the Rocky’s rear end might look familiar to Malaysians.

Sitting on the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA), the Rocky is powered by a 1.0 litre turbocharged engine with 98 PS and 140 Nm of torque from 2,400 to 4,000 rpm. The boosted three-pot is paired to a CVT and sends power to the front wheels, but as with most cars in Japan, AWD is an option. The Rocky’s WLTP fuel economy is rated at 18.6 km/l for the FWD.

The DNGA platform is confirmed (a first for P2) and the turbo engine is expected to feature in the yet-to-be-named Perodua SUV, along with Level 2 autonomous driving. All are next steps up from what P2 is offering now, and Perodua’s Rocky will also be the first model shared with a JDM in a long time.

We had a chat with Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad on the sidelines of last year’s Tokyo Motor Show, where the Rocky made a surprise debut – plenty of nuggets here.

Perodua has already said that the D55L will not be launched this year, so a Q1 2021 debut perhaps? And before you compare this with the just-launched Proton X50, the Perodua is not exactly a direct rival – the sub-4m D55L/Rocky is smaller in footprint and engine, and should also undercut the X50 (RM79k to RM103k) in price and running costs.

GALLERY: Daihatsu Rocky Sporty Style

GALLERY: Daihatsu Rocky

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Haidi on Nov 11, 2020 at 11:35 am

Malaysians, please don’t hope for the 1.0L turbo engine, the feeling is all UNDERPOWER.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 14
    • Don’t worry, both X50 and D55L are more powerful than City. City are still underpower and no par quality compare with X50 and D55L. Even City hybrid also can’t even match with D55L 1.0 turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 9
    • newme on Nov 11, 2020 at 12:56 pm

Yup its under power. Same goes to 1.5 or 1.8 if it is used to move heavy vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 28
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 11, 2020 at 3:20 pm

Under power or not is not the issue. We only care if got fuel pump problem or not. This D55L uses Denso fuel pump so can foresee will suffer fuel pump malfunctions. We prefer going for X50 without fuel pump issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 42
        • Coveram on Nov 11, 2020 at 5:11 pm

D55L wont suffer for fuel pump but the rest of Perodua models like Myvi, Bezza and etc have suffer for fuel pumps

• Katil on Nov 11, 2020 at 6:03 pm

That’s why all trusted X50. We also trusted for this and didn’t hear any complain in Japan. Both have great reliable than trusting in honda that too many recalling fuel pumps that makes more suffering for honda

• Alice on Nov 11, 2020 at 11:38 pm

Fuel pump is old story.. Perodua already recall fuel pump replacement…

• Read the story again. Perodua never actually do a real recall but is calling certain owners in to replace only when they make a complaint. That is far from what the industry understands the meaning of recall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • fuzzley on Nov 11, 2020 at 4:27 pm

X50 design is 2020s. Rocky design so 1980s,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 34
    • transformer on Nov 11, 2020 at 1:05 pm

Priced 50k to 70k..this ROCKY is way too cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
      • Optimus on Nov 11, 2020 at 3:06 pm

Cheap no good. X50 all the way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 31
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 11, 2020 at 3:21 pm

Ever heard “cheap things are not good”?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
        • SmartConsumer on Nov 12, 2020 at 10:44 am

ever heard expensive things are not good too? This is not cheap. it is moderately priced. No cars is ever cheap in Malaysia. A kancil here can get you a nice car in the western world

• Afeeq on Nov 11, 2020 at 1:07 pm

Agreed, 96PS in 2020?! Are you insane

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
    • Nissan Almera at heavier weight
      1.0turbo but wheel torque by dyno, only 107nm.
      Yet, it run as fast as X50, at about 10s to 100km/h.

Congratulations to Proton and Perodua
      Producing Rakyat Favorite SUV

• X70 killer arrived on Nov 11, 2020 at 1:49 pm

Nice and reliable suv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Ol Skool on Nov 11, 2020 at 2:35 pm

After watching a few reviews of the new Almera, I could agree with you. Not really much underpowered, but just enough for what it is. There’s a feeling of pulling power from lower end of RPM, but once they hit 110-120kmh, the engine feels out of breath to accelerate even further. Well anyway, it does improve a lot, as compared to it previous gen that’s hardly budge even when you floored the pedal, from any speed.

Tho knowing P2 & Daihatsu, this D55L may be another “just-enough-to-move” no ommph whatsoever.

• Not sure can drive up Genting not? For Sarawak here can off road like Rocky kah?

• Oohaaaa on Nov 11, 2020 at 4:05 pm

Jack up the suspension, slam offroad tyre n test at miri-long seridan road.
        Hihihi

• Lololol on Nov 11, 2020 at 6:02 pm

Kancil oso can go Long Banga. No reason if this cannot.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 11, 2020 at 3:16 pm

This car is not yet proven and the engine is nothing to shout about. We trust the proven X50 with SAE award-winning 1.5 TGDI engine & 7speed wet dual clutch combo used in 1.6 million cars sold in 21 countries worldwide

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
      • Alice on Nov 11, 2020 at 11:41 pm

Award only by China.. not International Award.. if you like X50 just buy that car.. don’t kondem other car.. we don’t like fan boy here

• Hantu Raya on Nov 12, 2020 at 9:27 am

Copy n paste:-

Engineer
          “Talking like you don’t know what SAE stands for. The SAE organisation is based in USA with SAE-China being their affiliated branch there. All nominations are objectively submitted by industry peers (registered SAE members) and evaluations are done according to SAE international standards so there is no bias in their judgement. Its powertrain system was selected among 170 other industry-shaking innovations developed by top Chinese Universities, science academies, and global automotive R&D centres so the win is well deserved.”

• Onanodus on Nov 11, 2020 at 11:35 am

I think you’re forgetting that the Aruz is also an SUV.

• donno on Nov 11, 2020 at 12:54 pm

so where will this slot in peroduas range?

below or above the aruz?

logically it should be slotted between the myvi and aruz in the range and also price-wise

• Yayyy on Nov 11, 2020 at 11:39 am

Game changing d55l finally here.
    Habislah proton can tutup kedai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 53
    • Nope! Habislah honda, can tutup kedai soon. Since City is already underpowered and not match with others. City also can’t even beat X50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • MarkMyWords on Nov 11, 2020 at 1:07 pm

Mark my word now, this gamechanging p2 suv will easily kill off x50 sales. After this launch and start selling, within 1 year will easily overtake x50 sales figure. So mark my word again. U will regret for not mark my word hahahahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 22
      • Sure... on Nov 11, 2020 at 5:59 pm

Most Malaysian want an X50, but they have to settle for cheap D55L. Currently they can only afford Axia up to Myvi. If it’s a Perodua, it move. Nothing exciting.

But too early to tell since X50 is grabbing a potential buyers from competitors with similar segment and from different segment with similar pricing too.

• Easy hotcake on Nov 11, 2020 at 8:18 pm

Sound so loser to give excuse like that and avoidance. We understand u urself realize x50 cant sell well like d55l soon. We understand. LoL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
          • Sure... on Nov 11, 2020 at 9:57 pm

Hahaha what an irony. Speak for yourself man. What are you even shouting about when D55L doesn’t even have a name yet. X50 27k bookings already and counting. Please keep your comment to only yourself.

• Mark my words, the D55L can’t sell well because Iriz Active coming soon to compete D55L.

• No, both are champion

• Iriz Active coming soon. Size 3945mm Length, 1722mm Width, 2555mm Wheelbase, 108PS and 150Nm.

Rocky/Raize size 3995mm Lenth, 1695mm Width, 1620mm Height, 2525mm Wheelbase, 98PS and 140NM.

• Axxx katax bawah tempurung on Nov 11, 2020 at 1:04 pm

Active or not, still ur lousy iriz the lowest sales in all p1 model. All the time keep say p1 cars more hp, more power, more safety n bla bla bla, but still selling bad than p2. Still p2 always 10k ahead than loisy p1. P1 cars unsellable without geely help. Even lousy aruz easily overtake x70 sales now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
      • Optimus on Nov 11, 2020 at 3:08 pm

X70 is the current SUV market leader. What does market leader tells you about sales?

• Minum kopi on Nov 11, 2020 at 6:06 pm

Market leader kopi o kosong.
          See YTD aruz already in front x70.
          YTD p2 sales well 100k+++ ahead p1.
          X70 no spare part. Aruz spare part berlambak.

• Ghani on Nov 11, 2020 at 10:09 pm

YTD i see more X70 on the road than Aruz.
            Today i see more X70 on the road than Aruz.
            Today i see sore loser P2 salesman crying.

• Jon Bon Jovee on Nov 11, 2020 at 4:08 pm

Pipu buy p2 not because it is good, pipu buy p2 because it is cheap.

• HFakone on Nov 11, 2020 at 5:06 pm

Also similar to honda as well. Pipu buy honda, because it is cheap and badge but not because it is good.

• Ohwaiiii on Nov 11, 2020 at 8:22 pm

Pipu buy p2 bcuz high RV n most reliable. Even RV high still many pipu go buy. Unlike p1 no RV n not reliable, RV low even sell cheap oso nobody want.

• Ghani on Nov 11, 2020 at 10:16 pm

Ppl buy P2 becuz high RV but they did not know RV stands for Rip-off Value when they later found out P2 Rocky service cost is higher than P1 X50!

• Avenger on Nov 11, 2020 at 11:44 pm

I trust Proton X50 using award winning engine used in 1.6mil cars worldwide than a Perodua car that will suffer fuel pump reliability issues.

• iriz active,
      Car boot even smaller than Axia Cross Style RM38k with 15inch sport rims, and mini-wide bodykit.

Well, both are good for targeted consumers

• Optimus on Nov 11, 2020 at 11:49 am

Next year no more SST exemption dy, I predict car market will drop a lot thanks to good sales this year 2nd half boosted by 27,000 Proton X50 bookings. If Perodua launch next year they have missed the boat from this year boosted sales, I don’t foresee it would be as hot as X50 this year. Bad move from Perodua again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Sure... on Nov 11, 2020 at 11:51 am

For those who can’t afford an X50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Bizza on Nov 11, 2020 at 12:15 pm

(Like) D55L and X50
    (Dislike) HRV, BRV and Aruz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 6
  • Mr Mar on Nov 11, 2020 at 12:16 pm

Finally the most anticipated model from PERODUA, not sure if its gonna be OK or NG later

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 11, 2020 at 12:25 pm

Price it similar with Alza or cheaper than you have a winner here…and keep the Kembara name please….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Take my money on Nov 11, 2020 at 12:29 pm

This will sell like hotcake for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
  • Kesuma Anthlers on Nov 11, 2020 at 12:29 pm

Hope it will be priced between myvi and aruz.

• D55L 1.0 Turbo – 9.6 seconds, 170km/h (Turbo and CVT less problems)
    City RS – 9.9 seconds, 170km/h (Hybrid might under warranty)

Answer: D55L 1.0 Turbo runs faster and last longer life than City RS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
    • like that can dethrone the femes Flying Myvi or not?

• Wait for real life test, so you can see the e:Hev is much faster (below 9 sec). See test on YouTube on the Fit E:Hev.
      Just like X50 was told at 7.9 sec, but actually above 9.5 sec in real life test by PaulTan. Factory spec and real life changes based on climate and fuel type. Cars tested in Dry and cool temperatures run faster than humid and hot weather. Japan and Malaysia are good examples.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • Depends on who’s driving the car. Abg Gan managed to hit about 8.3sec which is not too far off considering our hot humid climate

• Guardian on Nov 11, 2020 at 5:41 pm

You go to YouTube video and watch on how many seconds does it reach from 0-100 km/h and top speeds for Perodua D55L. It is has already proven to reach 9.6 seconds that reaches up to 170 km/h. What he said, it is true. Based on City RS, it reaches up to 170 km/h and runs from 0-100 km/h in 10 seconds and it is not reaches less than 9 seconds for Fit E:Hev.

But based on youtube, you said why Fit e:HEV less than 9 seconds because the driver uses Econ Mode that boost Fit:eHev even more faster. Without Econ Mode, it will stay at 9.4 seconds. Even though, without using Power Mode for D55L, the acceleration will be same as City RS too.

• But people rather buy others instead of driving Honda. Because everyone will be afraid if they are buying honda, quality will be getting worst

• Guardian on Nov 11, 2020 at 5:53 pm

By the way, if you check videos about YouTube about Geely Cooray (X50) based on real life test, it reaches from 0-100 in 7.4 seconds as using Power Mode. Without Power Mode, it will stay at 7.9 seconds.

• (Dude) on Nov 11, 2020 at 12:32 pm

If Perodua can build DNGA, will CKD Toyota TNGA be built as well???

• Roti john on Nov 11, 2020 at 12:37 pm

The Real Game Changer! I hope Malaysians will buy this Japanese No.1 SUV instead. The X50 might be good, but this is a proven car, so I trust D55L SUV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
    • Optimus on Nov 11, 2020 at 3:10 pm

Car haven’t launch yet you claim is proven car. Belum lahir sudah diuji? By whom, your fairy godmother?

• PEJUANG on Nov 11, 2020 at 10:21 pm

This car is already sold in japan. its the best selling car there. it says a lot about how good the car is.

• Jeremy on Nov 12, 2020 at 11:33 am

If this car was so good and hot selling, why is it not one of the 10 finalist for COTY back in home country?
          https://paultan.org/2020/11/09/2020-2021-japan-car-of-the-year-10-finalists-named/

It only tells me this car is terrible because it does not win anything.

• Alice on Nov 11, 2020 at 11:47 pm

Its sell like hot cake in Japan……

• Poppy on Nov 11, 2020 at 1:06 pm

Other countries: 200+ hp I4 / 300+ hp / 400+ hp V8 in their crossovers/SUVS.

Malaysia: 100+ hp 1.0 turbo

Seriously? I know we are a 3rd world country but we aren’t in THAT poor condition like Myanmar, Sudan, etc. I hope Paultan takes notice on the low power figures and rightfully criticize. Malaysia a big car focused nation, not a tiny dense European nation.

Minimum should be 200 hp in 2020. I HOPE when electric cars come to Malaysia, it won’t be those cheap low horsepower ones as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Bob_B78 on Nov 11, 2020 at 4:17 pm

There is no 200hp new SUV selling equivalent to MYR100k in the whole world unless it is modded or 2nd hand. We are discussing affordable SUV here. You are in the wrong room dude

• Last i checked, still can buy 2011 mitsu Airtrek turbo 245HP… rm55k only. Gud deal

• That interior is plastic heaven, why not use better quality materials? Spend few grand extra in build costs, not like a majority of people are buying with cash.

• Silthice on Nov 11, 2020 at 1:41 pm

So both Perodua Kembara and Toyota Raize will be sold in Malaysia following Aruz/Rush pricing strategy? Kembara 60k~70k & Raize 75k~85k? Totally Undercut X50…

• shadow on Nov 11, 2020 at 3:00 pm

No. Perodua only. Toyota have not intention to bring in. maybe toyota bring in yaris cross.

• can it be the all type favorite the flying MyVi?

HRV can close shop already like dis…

• ROti Panjang John on Nov 11, 2020 at 2:49 pm

Overall i could say, D55L is smallest SUV, Equip with small engine 1.0 and soft turbo. Base on power, well D55L already gone compared to X50 EEV certified car. Technology wise, its tried to be tech gadget smallest SUV, but Toyota will not gonna give its latest tech to thsi smallest SUV. Just wasted!!!
    in overall i would say, D55L is justa mistake again to P2. Same faith with KEMBARA, ARUZ and BEZZA (the Tonggek Car – i dont know why P2 approved this car, just a shame)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Jimmy on Nov 11, 2020 at 2:50 pm

I would rather use the dinosaur 4 A/T then CVT. PLEASE NO CVT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • This CVT made from Aisin. Better than Honda CVT from Earth Dreams

• Daihatsu Rocky is super ugly….. if Toyota Raize still ok la…. Perodua D55L???? Big question mark ❓

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Sure this car can move or not. Only 140nm of torque & will struggle to hit 110kph with only 98PS

• Kelvin Kong on Nov 11, 2020 at 8:33 pm

Again…No DRL !!!!!! All Perodua cars are same !!!

• John Gagal on Nov 11, 2020 at 9:22 pm

Macai2 Proton sudah ketakutan.

Prepare to lose X50 sales to the all-new Perodua Kembara soon !!

• Well some people say that this car is underpowered but think again, this car only weights around 980kg so probably it won’t be that underpowered. Plus the engine is 1.0 turbo and the horsepower and torque are kinda same to 1.3 engine. And yes if not mistaken, the torque is higher that aruz 1.5 engine.