Gov’t plans to regulate goods/parcel delivery using private vehicles, but no ban during pandemic – Wee

The transport ministry is the process of developing regulations for delivery services using private vehicles, much like the model used by companies like Lalamove. However, while the MoT is coming up with the framework, there will be no ban on individual private vehicles – cars or motorcycles – delivering goods or parcels during the Covid-19 pandemic.

“I have instructed the MoT and its agencies to study this matter and develop appropriate regulations so that their business activities can thrive in a regulated environment. However, it will take time for this process to be finalised,” said transport minister Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong, adding that the decision to allow such activities is so that gig economy workers can continue to generate income during the pandemic.

As for delivery of goods under the categories of Lori Pembawa A and Lori Pembawa C, one is required to have an operator licence. Those who already have the operator licence, intermediary business licence, or commercial vehicle licence can apply for the special temporary licence (LPS) or temporary conversion of public service vehicles to allow them to use their vehicles as goods delivery vehicles.

Wee said that the third-party food and goods delivery industry has a huge potential to develop further and bring socio-economic benefits to Malaysians, especially those in the B40 category. “This service industry has become a new normal throughout the movement control order period and is expected to grow rapidly in the future,” he added.

The plan to regulate goods delivery services and its drivers/riders follows the regulation of the e-hailing industry.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• need gdl & extra insurance premium. bad news for part timers

• Truckers on Jan 21, 2021 at 9:34 am

GDL lesen is only Rm20 per YEAR. That is just RM 1.67 per month or RM 0.05 per day. Daily 5sen lesen pun tak mampu? That means you’re lazy to work even part time.

• Is better to jaga rumah sendri dulu, all agency under MOT… JPJ, APAD, MIROS, MARii, MAA.. bloated & incompetence, kerja dari rumah. Tiap2 tahun bayar roadtax mahal2 jalan berlobang2 mcm lepas gempabumi…

Lesen terbang, cloned car, sindiket no. plet … kereta2 Langkawi xbayar cukai bermaharajalela kat kolumpor…. targetting lalamove la plak.

• Calvin on Jan 21, 2021 at 1:21 pm

This is due to incompetence of previous minister that did not eradicate corruption but prefer to rake in money from lucrative selling fancy plates and legalising super black tinting.

• Amran on Jan 21, 2021 at 7:15 pm

2015 sudah angkut, Malaysia sejahtera ….

https://paultan.org/2015/05/07/jpj-officers-nabbed-for-smuggling-out-road-tax-stickers-and-issuing-forged-grants-for-cloned-cars/

• Amran on Jan 21, 2021 at 7:17 pm

2015 dah angkut, Malaysia sejahtera ….

https://paultan.org/2015/05/07/jpj-officers-nabbed-for-smuggling-out-road-tax-stickers-and-issuing-forged-grants-for-cloned-cars/

• Thank you Liow Tiong Lai! Meanwhile no one got caught during Loke’s time in charge..

• jugkom jayser worst nightmares on Jan 21, 2021 at 10:34 pm

Neanderthal thought road transport department working corruption and fancy number plates trade only started from ex-minister?

majority motorists glad they can apply darker tinting onto their vehicle to safeguard against skin cancer from sun-burn.

• This is not regulate, is making more income with license.

• Truckers on Jan 21, 2021 at 9:36 am

Better to regulate this than legalising black tint like the previous TM. By regulating goods transportation, the ministry is protecting the interest of the transport company, the drivers, other public road users and the government.

• Bro Macau on Jan 20, 2021 at 6:25 pm

Regulate lesen terbang & kereta cloned dulu la,

• Kapit Kuih on Jan 20, 2021 at 6:50 pm

Every time see government has plan to implement something the first thing pops up in my mind was for the sake to deeper their pocket. Can’t help it but corruption in this country has reached to certain level beyond imagination.

• Truckers on Jan 21, 2021 at 9:38 am

Good that we have a TM that shows concern on the safety and interest of everyone. The previous TM was more concerned on deepening his pockets by legalising black tints, not caring for the safety of other road users.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Dong gor on Jan 20, 2021 at 7:00 pm

During this period just don’t do anything new =good news for the nation. Put focus on battling covid is what all the tax payers want.

• azrai on Jan 20, 2021 at 8:18 pm

This move is targetting lalamove.

• YB Albert on Jan 20, 2021 at 9:33 pm

Can Datuk Wee explain what happens if there is a serious accident where the private vehicle was overloaded with delivery items ?
    Will the insurance company pay for the damages?What if people died or are seriously hurt?
    Can we encourage such activities until there are concrete laws allowing them to occur?
    We are not inhuman to deny people in making some income during this pandemic times.
    However,the ministry must come out with the “kelulusan” before condoning such activities.
    Dont jump the gun.Let there be proper gazzetting of the relevant laws.
    Do we need a PHD in “LOGISTICS” to grasp this matter?

• The point of regulating is so that everyone is protected and all interests are covered by insurance. The same reason given why Grab/Uber services were regulated earlier. Dr Wee is heading to the right direction on this case.

• Avenger on Jan 21, 2021 at 7:19 pm

Yess goin to the right direction. You, we and I know that the govt will u-turn, pull-handbrake, and the u-turn will go round-about. Malaysia goin to nowhere,

• Vanguard on Jan 21, 2021 at 9:10 am

I take this news (from the govt) with a grain of salt. You, we and I know that the govt will u-turn, pull-handbrake, etc…..all because of their incompetency and “tak apa” attitude.

• winners on Jan 21, 2021 at 9:23 am

This move will spell the end of Free Delivery from Shopee, Lazada, etc.

• AJibkor on Jan 21, 2021 at 9:40 am

My good friend Tony of Air asia..sulking now.Kurang delivery business in his new venture.
      Aiyah yah..Wee Ka Siong..you must consider that the market is oversaturated now with so many delivery companies.

• Aduyai on Jan 21, 2021 at 12:39 pm

Should venture 1MDB delivery express back in 2015..aiyah yah now will be bigger then lalamove, alibaba & amazon. But wasted rm55B raykat money for nothing…. but some birkins

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • newme on Jan 21, 2021 at 9:30 am

Read- We want a cut from the money you are making. Be prepared to pay special license, insurance and puspakom.

• No difference than paying for license to do business. Or are you encouraging illegal businesses?

• newme on Jan 21, 2021 at 6:00 pm

It’s called gig economy for a reason.