Attending to your radiator? Give it time to cool down

Slow is steady, and safer especially when attending to vehicle engine radiators, as a local TikTok video has demonstrated. Here, it appears that a car was in need of attention and presumably stranded, with its driver attempting to undo the car’s radiator cap. The ominous clue is the cloth in hand, as it would mean the radiator cap is too hot to touch.

For those unfamiliar with the situation, removing the radiator cap before the car’s engine has cooled down is a very bad idea. A car’s cooling system is pressurised when in operation, because pressurising the fluid in the radiator, be it plain water or coolant, raises the boiling point.

A higher boiling point means there is more ‘headroom’ before the fluid boils and turns to vapour, and coolant cannot transfer heat in this state as effectively as in its liquid form, thus leading to the engine overheating. When the coolant is pressurised and able to circulate at higher temperatures, this heat is transferred from other areas around the engine to the radiator where it is dissipated, which is its main purpose.

Hot fluids under pressure sounds dangerous because it is, and as the video eventually shows, both persons in the vicinity of the car have to duck for cover when the still-pressurised radiator cap is opened and gives way to a spray of hot liquid. At this point, we don’t know if any injury resulted, and can only hope for a best-case near miss.

Even if one is in a hurry – most of us are, in these situations – do not attempt to cool the engine in a hurry by dousing it in water, either, as the drastic temperature drop will cause hot components to warp, crack or break. Airflow is the best for safe cooling, and where available, fans can be used, as one might before washing.

So, the next time there is reason to undo the radiator cap on your car, give it time to ensure the engine has properly cooled down before attempting to do so.

@anissa.johan

NAIK MOTO PUN LINGKUP INI KAN PULA NAK CHECK KERETA ????????????????????????????????? ##tiktokmalaysia ##foryoupage ##fypdong

? original sound – Anissa ESW – ANISSA Meletup ????

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• izhar on Feb 04, 2021 at 5:58 pm

Why did she want to open it at the first place?

• hazri on Feb 04, 2021 at 6:30 pm

That car model is prone for engine overheating.

• Naza Citra 2.0, radiator will not be so effective after 100k-150k mileage, replace radiator, engine will work fine again. Engine itself pretty reliable can exceed 200,000-300,000km.

• This is tiktok. So obvious it is a stunt move to gain viewers. I didn’t know Paultan could fall for such cheap tricks.

As if anyone would be interested to take video of someone else opening the radiator while smiling, it feels so scripted that alarms are blaring in my head. Another clue that is faked, you cannot see any steam coming out which is typical with very hot water.

Please stop promoting such fakes. I know the intention is good but there are better educational videos for it.

• hantu raya on Feb 05, 2021 at 9:43 am

she should chech her blinker fluid too.

• Budu Botol on Feb 05, 2021 at 9:51 am

Please don’t MAIN-MAIN when repairing/maintaining ANY vehicle. Injuries can ensued if you are fooling around.

If you have no idea doing it, please send the car to workshop. Please don’t be PANDAI-PANDAI.

If not, nanti NANGIS-NANGIS.

• I can’t believe we need an article for this, the sticker on the cap LITERALLY SAYS “DO NOT OPEN WHEN HOT”.
    People who are still “smart” enough to do it deserve scalding hot water on their face.