Malaysia seriously considering EV incentives – MAA

In recent times, there has been no shortage of movement regarding electric vehicle-related developments in countries around the region, notably in Thailand and Indonesia, and the increasing scope and frequency of announcements regarding planned investments in these countries is enough to make it clear that a static Malaysia is falling well behind in this aspect.

However, the country believes there is still time to catch up. Last month, The Edge reported that the government was aware of this growing chasm and was set to address the issue by formulating a specific policy for EVs as part of its planned revision of the National Automotive Policy (NAP 2020).

According to Malaysia Automotive, Robotics and IoT Institute (MARii) CEO Datuk Madani Sahari, the government understood the importance of electrification and would be tweaking the policy, specifically for the EV segment, in a bid to attract EV investment into the country. He had said that Putrajaya planned to launch the specific policy on EVs in the first quarter of the year, but that’s coming to an end in a few days.

At its 22nd AGM earlier today, we asked the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) on the progress made on that front, and whether details would be revealed soon. MAA president Datuk Aishah Ahmad was unable to provide a timeline on when the announcement would be made, but said that there is real intent to make up the lost ground.

“The government is seriously considering what kind of incentives should be implemented to increase the growth of electric vehicles in Malaysia. They are looking into it, but the matter is not finalised. It is still being discussed and I do not know when it will be announced. What I can say is that they are looking into it because they do not want to be left out,” she explained, adding that the discussions are looking not just at policies but infrastructure aspects as well.

The report last month indicated that the upcoming scoping revision has involved discussions with industry players, who have asked the government to be more flexible when it comes to EVs, allowing them to be brought in with measures that do not require so much calculation of ROIs (returns on investment) and customising. There is also purported talk about the possibility of excise and import duties on EVs being abolished, but how would the government make up the tax shortfall?

Customised incentives and the lack of transparency concerning them has been a sticking point with many, so it will be interesting to see what changes. Madani said the new policy would address issues and be broad-based, aimed at ensuring electrification eventually comes about on a significant level. “If we do not go into EV, there will be many aspects of the technology that will not be deployed in our country. So, that will be a loss to Malaysia,” he said.

What do you think? Is the country going to be able to catch up with our neighbours and attract EV-related investment, or have we left it a bit too late? We’d love to hear your views on this.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• ThePolygon on Mar 26, 2021 at 8:58 pm

Unfortunately investments has already gone elsewhere. Good luck.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 1
    • donno on Mar 26, 2021 at 9:51 pm

yeah too little too late. Investments already confirmed in Indonesia (to the tune of billions USD) and thailand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
    • Stevenson on Mar 26, 2021 at 9:52 pm

Bagusla.. EV ini sejajar Rancangan Malaysia ke-12 yang akan dibentangkan nanti… Syabas MAA & MARii , gohmen dipastikan tiada siapa pun tertinggal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 42
    • Lets See on Mar 27, 2021 at 12:07 am

There won’t be any incentives for EV when we still have Msians going gaga over an ICE car that was just launched recently. When such an outdated tech can wow Msians, why should our Govt care to incentivise us to move on?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
      • Dredd on Mar 27, 2021 at 11:09 am

Insentif EV “Masih di bawah pertimbangan” dan “Akan dibentangkan”. Kini dan selamanya. Dredd agrees.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Shamshir Hassan on Mar 27, 2021 at 12:42 pm

Until EVs could go beyond 150 km per charge, and charging takes 5 minutes or less at stations. As of now, I can’t see EVs being of any practical use on the road outside suburban areas for the next ten years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
        • Aren’t you aware that most EVs now have a minimum 300km range?

• George on Mar 28, 2021 at 2:45 pm

Have you heard of the current generation of EVs from Nio and Xpeng? They can rival ICE range!

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 27, 2021 at 1:38 pm

Ever wonder why that happens? Coz of the age old policies we’re always left with scraps to play with in Malaysia. Nothing good ever comes here as we’re a dumping ground.

• Ben Yap on Mar 26, 2021 at 9:15 pm

Indonesia is aggressively promoting EV and a lot of car manufacturers have entered the indonesian market. Malaysia is too slow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • History Bender on Mar 27, 2021 at 11:49 am

Indon is not promoting anything except their untapped rare earths mineral mining potential (used for EV batteries).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
      • Ben Yap on Mar 28, 2021 at 12:46 am

Indonesia is not only promoting the manufacturing of EV batteries but also the usage of EV.

You can read them here. https://techwireasia.com/2021/03/the-future-of-ev-in-asia-is-in-indonesia-heres-why/

• His Friend on Mar 28, 2021 at 10:14 am

https://paultan.org/2021/03/17/indonesia-looking-to-push-assembly-and-adoption-of-pure-evs-by-raising-taxes-on-phevs-and-hybrids/
          They are promoting EV by raising taxes on EV and hybrid? Flipped thinking there if they serious on EV adoption. More like they want the makers to come but EV batteries are meant for export rather than local usage.

• firmansyah on Mar 28, 2021 at 7:52 pm

Iya bapak, indonesia bisa lg maju dari malasia

• Aaron on Mar 28, 2021 at 11:42 pm

I cannot agree more. Those who dispute this is living in comfort zone n the past. Can’t believe there are those who thought government did a good job

• Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 29, 2021 at 12:46 pm

Was this the good job they thought? https://paultan.org/2020/02/21/nap-2020-launched-policy-an-enhancement-of-nap-2014-aims-to-make-malaysia-regional-auto-leader/

• Leftbehind on Mar 26, 2021 at 9:27 pm

I think they have been talking about ev policies and infrastructures here and there and what not for years but until today still nothing. We already left way behind with our neighboring countries. So sad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • Carvision on Mar 27, 2021 at 9:52 am

industry-wise it is not too late. but EV policies and infrastructures should be managed and led by the car AP holders, since they got the best knowhow and expertise abt the car market here.

with govt grant to start up and continuous grant supports, the EV plan possess great potential to succeed. on top of the FDI from foreign EV carmakers and vendors can be assisted by the car AP holders. so practically they become a one-stop centre for EV, doing service for the country and local economy. Do it now, it is not too late … untukmu Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 37
  • The Hexagon on Mar 26, 2021 at 9:59 pm

As a consumer, won’t buying an EV if there’s no enough charging infrastructure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Geniusbrain pls on Mar 27, 2021 at 11:39 am

Why everybody harping on charging infrastructure?

The Ni-Mh battery in the EV car can be made inter-exchangeable with another Ni-Mh battery. Just like how we change our smartphone battery when it konked…

Drive in to any existing petrol stations along the road or PLUS highway. Get the bateri changed in 3 Minit … exactly how long we normally spent to pam minyak there. No EV range anxiety, xpayah pening, xpayah risau. Hassle free.

How come nobody here thought of this epic Genius idea. Be smart, innovatif & Thinking out of box. Why izzit alwiz gotta be me doin the hard brainstorming?? i preferred to stay low profile space rocket scientist,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • seancorr (Member) on Mar 27, 2021 at 1:41 pm

Bruh u wouldn’t be commenting here if you are that smart. Go on Twitter and tweet like Elon. Every tweet he does moves the global markets.

• Akira on Mar 27, 2021 at 2:38 pm

This is where people think they are so smart. Your idea is nothing new. There have been such proposal many times but it has never been implemented because it does not work. Just like you don’t change your smartphone battery everyday, it is not safe or practical to change the EV batteries. Until the battery tech matures and stabilized, each EV have different types of battery and they system is tightly integrated to the power management and drive system. EV batteries is not like fuel. They have complex power and cooling management systems integrated into it. It is not just plug and go.

Besides, charging is usually not a big problem for most real life EV owners. They just charge them at home every night.

• 3 minutes per car. Assuming 5 cars in parallel. A very busy station may serve (60 / 3 * 5 = 100) cars, that is, changing 100 batteries, in 1 hour.

Where is it going to store the 100 batteries? How long does it take to re-charge those 100 batteries? How many hours does it have to be closed before it can serve another 100 cars? Does it robotic arms everywhere in order to move the 100 batteries around? Who pays for the robotic arms? Apparently the EV users. :)

• maslanfriendrice on Mar 27, 2021 at 5:20 pm

Wait la. G want award the battery changing/charging station contract to cronies, and buy the land first.
        Once announce can earn more ma

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Its cumbersome n quite a hassle to swap batteries during recharge. Need robots to help with the job n hence expensive infrastructure.

• Akira on Mar 28, 2021 at 8:22 am

Oh, so you think you are so smart? Your brilliant idea has been proposed many times but it has not been implemented because EV batteries are much more complicated that your imagine.
        The EV battery pack is not like your phone or tamiya car battery. It has built-in complex electronics for power management and cooling system. Some even have liquid cooling that requires piping to the pumps and radiator. It weights up to 200kg. Also, do you dare to put in a potentially volatile explosive battery in to your car if you don’t know the history of the battery. If the previous person using the battery had an accident that might have damage the battery?
        Besides, most private cars spend most of the time park at home or office. It doesn’t really need dedicated stations for charging like petrol station. You just need a slow charger at home or office car park. High speed charger are mainly useful on highway routes.

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 29, 2021 at 10:42 am

Look up Chinese EV brand NIO

YouTube has videos on how they can do battery swap in 3 mins.

On 27/03/2021, they announced have done 2 Million battery swap.

• neural on Mar 29, 2021 at 12:50 pm

Yes exactly bro.

Am the humble Chief Consultant Engineer of that NIO battery swap projek.

Tesla catching up real fast too..

• EV.FTW on Mar 26, 2021 at 10:04 pm

Typical Malasia mentality.
    Everyday telling the media “we are seriously on something else” but end up nothing. Resign la you guys…Only know to create GLC companies to eat money.

We Malasian seriously want to reduce the Malaysian motor vehicle import duties and create a fair competition against import motor vehicle. By doing this, our sleepy GLC companies will then bangun and become rajin la, jgn buat bodoh la.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 3
    • Crony on Mar 27, 2021 at 8:54 am

If can makan now, why should we wait for future.

• Wkaka on Mar 28, 2021 at 5:23 am

Those GLCs will just roll over and collapse if they actually had to compete and work hard.

• Ratz6120 on Mar 26, 2021 at 10:47 pm

Why wasnt the NAP address that earlier???? That Madani dude has duped the nation but still standing strong?? Is this talk-c..ck dude worth the nation loss??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Too little, too late. Our excise duty policy that is so unfriendly towards non national car manufacturers is an archaic joke.

• Lets See on Mar 27, 2021 at 12:16 am

Is it the policy or just their slow response to compete?
      https://paultan.org/2021/03/26/level-playing-field-maa-proton-perodua/

• Mnaim on Mar 28, 2021 at 1:44 pm

We are also seriously and busy considering who can use the word … so better late then nvr.

• C.P. MOHAN on Mar 26, 2021 at 10:54 pm

What is needed is action-plan not serious consideration.

• apamau on Mar 26, 2021 at 11:02 pm

don’t see the need to catch up, we are too far a way, the marathon already started with indonesia and thailand reaching 10km, we hv not even start to run.. how to catch up ?
    better dont do anything. just use petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • pengayuhbasikal on Mar 28, 2021 at 10:21 am

correct man , malaysia is a petroleum producing nation. all this EV hot airs, much ado about nothing. just stick back to petrol. i love my caring gomen, negara aman rakyat sejahtera.

• Thailand already setting up to be EV hub in SEA, Indonesia have a plan for EV expansion, heck even Singapore have EV investment coming from Dyson and Tesla, what is left for Malaysia? Don’t just said you are seriously considering EV incentives, if you have no plan on having the EV charger installed nationwide and fixing the broken AP system, forget about it.

• Lets See on Mar 27, 2021 at 12:12 am

EV is still BS for what it is today, this is patently known and admitted by the largest carmaker in the world
    https://paultan.org/2021/03/23/mass-ev-adoption-involves-major-challenges-toyota/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • Hasan on Mar 27, 2021 at 1:07 am

Best inventive is 0% excise duty and import duty. You can keep SST (or GST if they ever change again).

• Fully 100% agreed bruh Hasan … if both Proton X50 and Corolla Cross selling at 103k rege sama. Locals will surely 100% still pick X50 over the toyota suv..Gais , pls gimme a thumbs up if you too agree.

• Jokowi on Mar 27, 2021 at 1:59 am

Because jemin busy engaging reverse gear then said selective on FDI. What BS!

• Hahaha what a joke. Our govt is in autopilot. Don’t waste time of coming all sort of policy. It doesn’t works. At the end still whose pocket going filled up and gained benefit of it.

• Truckers on Mar 27, 2021 at 7:55 am

The joke in on our NAP 2020. Guess who made it back in 2019?

• azrai on Mar 27, 2021 at 7:50 am

Seriously?

• common sensor on Mar 27, 2021 at 8:36 am

What EV? Where are the 3rd national car and the flying car??

• The only people who benefit from this is the venue owner and organisers.

• Tipu Tertipah on Mar 27, 2021 at 9:20 am

year in year out, these goons love to blow hot air saying”…we are interested, we will consider, we will study,” etc. Annual syoik-sendiri thingy for them.

Year end comes, habuk pun tarak.

• Zainal Abidin Othman on Mar 27, 2021 at 10:26 am

No initiatives only reacting…so how to compete?

• I’m waiting for the official regulation for my electric scooter. Come on Malaysia. Catch up! Go electric already.

• Susukotak on Mar 27, 2021 at 12:13 pm

Should lead by environment Ministry. That will lead to better environment. Not by automotive industry that keep business in their favour.

• pokemon on Mar 27, 2021 at 12:14 pm

got incentive but still very less people will buy electric car because how expensive the road tax is. its even more expensive then normal 2.0 petrol car

• Albus on Mar 27, 2021 at 1:13 pm

All talk and no results. What’s new?

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 27, 2021 at 1:42 pm

I feel like slapping those two whenever I see their faces…just dunno y.

• Ongtk on Mar 27, 2021 at 2:26 pm

The birds has flown the coop so to speak. Btw, the government is currently subsiding for petrol and I opined this subsidy could well be re-directed at hybrid and EV vehicles. Free float the price of petrol. I have been reading about the revised NAP and it seemed like forever under review. Both our immediate neighbours, Thailand and Singapore are way ahead of us. Indonesia is too.

• Rennie Khoo on Mar 27, 2021 at 8:42 pm

Almost all d surrounding countries r now aggressively promoting full BEVs n planning to ban ICE vehicles in near future. Malaysia is still taking forever to decide. In a situation that can be described as “Paralysis By Analysis.” Much too disheartening!

• Jay Jay on Mar 28, 2021 at 11:38 am

Masih dlm koma ‍♂️

• Better late than never. What were you guys doing when the whole world paraded their plans to ban fossil fuels vehicles by 2030?

• Joke of the day on Mar 28, 2021 at 12:53 pm

Hahahaahhaha

• Ahmad on Mar 28, 2021 at 12:57 pm

Go back to bed and sleep tight

• seriously considering….!!!!!!!?????
    That proof that our country leaders have no vision and no plan. All of them like to talk “syiok sendiri”.

• Roland on Mar 28, 2021 at 3:08 pm

I am the owner of BMW X5 plug-in hybrid. This SUV is very good if without electric / hybrid. After owning for 2 years I felt so tired to charge plug in and plug of everyday, between 6 to 8 hours for full 30km only. I have to pay extra RM150.00 per month electric bill, but save only RM80.00 fuel per month. Just to save the planet I loss about RM70/ month. I was planning to sell this car but the price has dropped about 50% because of electric hybrid model.

My opinion, car maker will always promote their latest technology product but Malaysia is not ready yet with this type of vehicle if : 1) dont have fast charging version and charging facilities nationwide, 2) hybrid battery industries to support & battery replacement with low price, 3) good re- sell price controlled by govt or industry. 4) electric bill rebate. 5) Renewal energy resources to power electric instead of using electric from coal or diesel fired, like in Europe.

• Gibran on Mar 28, 2021 at 5:45 pm

Malaysia apparently is only good for producing/releasing roadmaps and blueprints. The Big 5 consulting firms just love us. Beyond that, we are good for nothing.

• Dr. Farook ADAM on Mar 28, 2021 at 8:45 pm

Malaysia has been dragging it’s feet on this issue. It has certainly lost out to our neighbors. However, if decisions are made fast, i believe Malaysia can still catch up. Malaysia should also be looking into improving the hybrid technology, which i feel will have much more impact as it will not limit milage. But EV technology should be pursued with as much vigor to succure Malaysia’s future in the automobile market.

• Kent Yee on Mar 29, 2021 at 5:35 am

It is certainly never be too late than never. The ice evolution will continue to their extremely high technology where we have benefited right now. Where the EV have just the beginning to see light into their battery evolution. Maybe or wish that Malaysia could continue to committed to built those ev facilities and more charging stations before even thought about EV manufacturers of parts. Without well planning, it is surely be another proton generation and perdua transformation of their likes and willy-nilly into argument that the horse before the cart or behind the cart. SMILE.

• use bisikal la on Mar 29, 2021 at 8:43 am

A real funny phase –>What I can say is that they are looking into it because they do not want to be left out,”
    means what ..? ? it was n’t left out.. it is totally OUT.IN THE GAME.

• Rennie Bin Abdul Ghani on Mar 29, 2021 at 9:15 am

We have NAP2.0 and everyone is FAST ASLEEP including those in MITI that have the power. We have lost significant headway on the EV adoption in Malaysia because someone is not pulling his weight to ensure Malaysia remain competitive. If the plan is to be unveiled by End of 1st Quater then it shall be unveiled , why is there a delay , historically we have never ever meet any target dates, is it really not obvious that NAP is call NAP because people who make the decision is really sleeping?

• STILL at considering phase? Dunno to laugh or cry

• talkforfun on Mar 29, 2021 at 9:52 am

Syiok Sendiri Bolehland can keep on syiok-ing all the way until ‘someone’ came up with the idea Skim EV Cepat Kaya only you’ll see something happening.

Else just keep syiok-ing.

• Alan Chung on Mar 30, 2021 at 3:59 pm

N.A.T.O.

• It’s never too late to invest in the future and the future is electric. EV cars will also increase the opportunities for our car technicians and car assembly industries to learn new technologies. For example Tesla owners have to ship their cars to HongKong, why not a Tesla service hub (or any other brand) in Malaysia? No excuse for our Government to invest in the future. Better late than never.