Touch n Go parking surcharge: over 93% removed now

Surcharge on top of the parking fee when using Touch n Go to pay for parking is surely one of more annoying things we have to live with as urban dwellers. TnG said earlier this year that it will remove parking fee surcharge by Q1 this year, and the good news is that there’s very good progress.

In a media Q&A session this morning following the virtual launch of Touch n Go eWallet’s new GO+ investment product, TnG Group CEO Effendy Shahul Hamid revealed that of the 662 sites in Malaysia that accept Touch n Go cards for parking payment, 620 sites already have no surcharge. That translates to over 93% of sites with no TnG card surcharge.

“I’m very happy to say that by the end of the first quarter, we’ll take away all parking surcharges. It requires innovation and some sacrifice on our side, but I think it’s the right thing to do. Basically, we’ve been able to convince our parking operator partners and ensure the surcharge is removed by the end of the first quarter,” Effendy told The Star in January.

The surcharge – usually 10% – is the result of a contractual obligation between TnG and car park operators with dual parking systems. It has been said that in all future contracts or contract renewals with car park operators, there will be no surcharge requirement.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• parker on Mar 29, 2021 at 12:12 pm

LOL,Sunway pyramid parking lot still got that surcharge.

• Paradigm mall PJ still has surcharge .

• I don’t know how difficult it is to remove the surcharge. It is not proud and not happy that you still have 7% outside there. You should instead apologize

• Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 29, 2021 at 5:18 pm

In other areas, 93% scores an A+ outstanding result but some rakyat are impossible to please no matter whats being done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Kariayam on Mar 29, 2021 at 5:52 pm

It shouldn’t even have been implemented in the first place. Daylight robbery.

• Empire Shopping Gallery, Subang Jaya still charging 10% as of 28.03.2021

• Nanashisan on Mar 29, 2021 at 3:22 pm

Can you provide the live/real time list of car park sites that are still providing surcharge in this article since the quantity has reduced to 42 sites as of this article published?
    You can update to reduce the numbers once received update from TnG or others. At the same time this list will be indirectly pressured TnG/Car park operator to quickly remove the surcharge. Tq

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 29, 2021 at 4:04 pm

Issue now is that even reload also have surcharge. Last time KK mart don’t have surcharge, now they reimplement reload surcharge

• Matchy on Mar 29, 2021 at 4:28 pm

Guys, it is 93%. Not 100%. Of coz still got places that got surcharge.

Mid Valley no surcharge.

• Parket on Mar 29, 2021 at 9:09 pm

After all even got surcharge at the main shopping mall, ppl are still willing to pay. Especially during weekend and holiday the parking is fullllllll!

• sungai wang still have the charges…

• IPC still charging 10% as well

• William on Apr 14, 2021 at 2:38 pm

I parked at Wangsa Walk Mall, Wangsa Maju on 13 April…10% surcharge still there leh

• 7% place with surcharge is 93% Touch n go income,
    93% place without surcharge is only 7% touch n go income

• chat chong on Jul 03, 2021 at 1:16 pm

Shopping mall mnanagements should absorb the surcharge. How to encourage shoppers to visit them when there are so many malls in Klang Valley? First hour should be free parking, like Starling and others. After all, most malls have same types of retailers. Empire has raised its parking charges. I will go elsewhere, thank you.

• Philip Lim on Dec 10, 2021 at 5:55 pm

Empire Shopping Gallery, Subang Jaya, as of 10 December 2021, still charges the 10% Surcharge. My goodness!

• The link2 bukit jalil still has the 10% charges, can help to get TNG people to remove it?