2021 Suzuki Swift Sport launched in Malaysia – 1.4L turbo, 140 hp, 230 Nm, 6AT-only, no manual, RM140k

It’s hard to believe that it has been more than five years since Suzuki formally exited the Malaysian market. Well, fans of the brand can now celebrate its return – Suzuki Motor Corporation has appointed Naza as its sole distributor, and the first car to be launched under the stewardship of its subsidiary company Naza Eastern Motors is the third-generation Suzuki Swift Sport. The price? RM139,900. The factory warranty is three years or 100,000 km.

Only one variant of the SSS is available this time around, and we get the non-electrified version. That can be a good thing, depending on your personal view on electrification. Power comes from a 1.4 litre four-cylinder Boosterjet engine that serves up 140 hp at 5,500 rpm and 230 Nm of torque from 2,500 to 3,500 rpm.

All that is exclusively sent to the front wheels via a six-speed automatic transmission. Unfortunately, the Swift Sport isn’t available with a six-speed manual transmission, but at least it gets shift paddles. No tiptronic function, though, and no, Naza has no plans to introduce the stick shift model in the future as well.

Key performance figures include a zero to 100 km/h sprint time of eight seconds, a top speed of 205 km/h, and 6.1 litres per 100 km average fuel economy. Its fuel tank capacity is rather small, too, at just 37 litres. By the way, this Boosterjet mill is rated for RON 95 fuel, in case you’re wondering.

The sporty B-segment hatch rides on Suzuki’s new Heartect platform, which it says improves overall chassis rigidity and high speed stability (front and rear tracks are also 40 mm wider). There’s also a specially-designed trailing arm that minimises deformation during cornering, so you can carry more speed into the bends than before. The minimum turning radius is 5.1 metres.

Keeping the 970-kg hatch in check is a MacPherson Strut (with coil springs) suspension up front, while the rear is managed by a torsion beam system. It rides on smaller 16-inch dual-tone, twin five-spoke alloys as opposed to the larger 17-inch units, and the factory tyres are 195/50 series Yokohama Advan A13C rubbers.

For equipment, it gets automatic LED projector headlights (with manual beam levelling), LED daytime running lights, halogen fog lamps, as well as faux carbon-fibre trims on the front grille, lower lip, side skirts and rear bumper.

There’s also power folding wing mirrors with integrated turn indicators, keyless entry with push-start button, blacked out A-, B- and C-pillars (the rear door handles are integrated into the C-pillar design), a bee sting-type radio antenna, LED combination tail lights, and dual rounded exhaust tips.

Inside, you’ll find a leather-wrapped, flat-bottomed multi-function steering wheel with red stitching, as well as a nicely designed instrument cluster with a digital multi-info display in the middle. The MID offers a multitude of readouts, including temperature, gear positioning, FC reading, driving range, output meter, G-force meter, turbo gauge meter and oil temperature.

In the middle is a seven-inch touchscreen display with Suzuki’s four-tile menu layout, and it’s hooked up to a standard six-speaker setup. Apple CarPlay and Android Auto functionalities are available as well, although the latter isn’t officially declared on the spec sheet. There’s also Bluetooth and voice recognition support, plus a reverse camera.

Also on is an automatic single-zone climate control, twin cup holders up front, fabric semi-bucket seats with red stitching and Sport lettering, red/black trims on the dash, centre tunnel and door inserts, Swift Sport carpets, and metal foot pedals. Boot space is 265 litres with the seatbacks up, but fold it down (60:40 split) and you’ll get 579 litres of space.

Unfortunately, the Swift Sport does not come with any advanced driver assist systems. It only gets six airbags, ABS with EBD, ESP, hill hold assist, and dual Isofix child seat anchors for the two outer rear seats. There are four exterior colour options to choose from – Champion Yellow, Speedy Blue Metallic, Pearl Pure White, and Burning Red Metallic. So, what do you think of the new Swift Sport? Yay, or nay?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Recond units alredi rm180k , this is dem cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 31
  • 140k with no driver assistance system is a cardinal sin. If it had manual transmission I’d say maybe some fans would pony up for one, but at this state and only 3 years of warranty by Naza no less, is Dead on Arrival in my book.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
    • passion on Apr 09, 2021 at 9:43 pm

Drb should take back suzuki instead of naza.

• Jonn Dol on Apr 11, 2021 at 5:03 pm

True petrolheads would’nt really mind the absence of the nannying-advanced autonomous driver assistance systems in this car. What is more important are those systems that relate to the car’s handling/engine performance.

• To your point, “true petrolheads” won’t drive AT for what is supposedly a well-tuned chassis.

The reality is that on the road, anyone — even “true petrolheads” — would appreciate autonomous driver assistance systems. Of course when you go for track day you’d turn it all off as you’re throwing the car into corners. As consumers we need to push for manufacturers to include these assistance systems as a bare minimum, rather than keep letting them get away with short-changing us.

• Juan Mata on Apr 09, 2021 at 6:59 pm

Yay for the beauty of the car. Nay for the price.
    Triple Nays for the lack of any form of advanced driver assist system.
    Nicely wanna tipu us 140k ke abang2 NAZA?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • Ex VGM staff on Apr 09, 2021 at 7:18 pm

140k? I get the X50 + 50k extra cash. Tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • RM140K = X50 + Ativa… or Suzuki Swift Sport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Nope

• With no manual option, why would anyone bother? Might as well get a Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 09, 2021 at 7:53 pm

no manual? you just killed off any reason to even buy this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
  • Jun Wai on Apr 09, 2021 at 7:55 pm

Why Suzuki dont bring manual. Whyyyyy!!!!!!

• Sohai on Apr 10, 2021 at 4:00 pm

Why? Because Naza is run by incompetent management. Even CBU also they cant give us choices. This is so call Authorised Distributor? Pui!. Even grey imports can do better.
      Maybe we should each be given the AP and import ourselves since the after sales by NaZA Is non existence anyway…

• minnie on Apr 09, 2021 at 8:04 pm

Lmao is Naza trying to punish us with this or what??? What is this atrocity??? Sky high price, low specs, no MT, not even AEB, huh???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Dong gor on Apr 09, 2021 at 8:05 pm

At this price it will swiftly go home also Keke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Kamil Ariffin on Apr 09, 2021 at 8:13 pm

with its ridiculously sky-high price tag and NO MANUAL TRANSMISSION, its definitely a NAY !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • David on Apr 09, 2021 at 8:14 pm

Price of Civic. No tq

• YB Albert on Apr 09, 2021 at 8:46 pm

The interior dashboard looks so ancient..like ultraman era.
    At 140 grand,I think buyers are those who treat this as a rich man’s toy.
    RM140K with interest..dont you think there are better alternatives? Plus ‘ship jumper’ naza is back..what guarantee can they give,they wont do the same with Kia,Chevy,peugeot?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Bieight on Apr 09, 2021 at 9:05 pm

Thanks God no manual gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • Rm140k no leather seats???

• affan on Apr 09, 2021 at 10:11 pm

With that kind of price? Big NO
    Better get the CRV or the New Corolla Cross

• Chris on Apr 09, 2021 at 10:34 pm

Tsk tsk tsk. Naza being Naza.

• Celup King on Apr 09, 2021 at 11:28 pm

A Bsegment for the price of upper Csegment? Hahahaha

• Alive & Kicking on Apr 09, 2021 at 11:40 pm

What about the less expensive versions of the Swift?

• Kudos to suzuki for bringing this car in! very excited for it. Very tempted to get it. It’s the cheapest hot hatch in malaysia. The next hot hatch available in malaysia is 100k more(mini cooper S). So if you can’t afford a mini, get this and save 100k!

It’s amazing how light this car is. It weighs as much as a myvi but far more solid mechanically and powerful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • arthur on Apr 10, 2021 at 5:58 pm

if you are spending 140k for this, i understand you call it a hot hatch. it is not a hot hatch. haha.

• Matchy on Apr 10, 2021 at 8:45 am

Pricy for an outdated model… (2017 pre-facelift) and super bare unit!

• ThePolygon on Apr 10, 2021 at 9:40 am

What were they thinking?

• PisangGoreng on Apr 10, 2021 at 11:03 am

Sss was meant to drive by enthusiast. For sure owner will mod and bring their car to touge and track. But but but Naza as dealer want them to drive that sissy autobox with price 140k. Hello! does Naza marketting team still functioning?

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 10, 2021 at 1:15 pm

Lol recond sellers kena sapu wei. Looks like they will have to sell their existing stock for cheap.

• Uncle Jim on Apr 10, 2021 at 2:41 pm

The car is nice, but at this price, better go for the Golf tsi.

• Ben Yap on Apr 10, 2021 at 9:51 pm

Civic turbo lose in acceleration but beats it in top speed.

• Kumaresan on Apr 11, 2021 at 8:37 am

The most important is the service after sales. I had very bad personal experience with Naza when I bought Chevrolet Captiva. It was real horrible experience. The price of this suzuki is not my concern but the service after sales is. Though I am really keen to buy one after convinced by my son, however after learning the sales is handled by Naza, I have to change my mind.

• Does Naza know how to do auto business?

• Toyoda hon on Apr 11, 2021 at 8:15 pm

Silly pricing, this price got several choices of good c segment dy. If like same genre just buy yaris g.

• Proton 90's king on Apr 11, 2021 at 8:20 pm

Not say 140k, even 70k also hardly sell. Blind people also will choose ativa or x50.

• Azhar on Apr 12, 2021 at 3:03 pm

Too expensive…better honda civic..

• nobusinesshere on Apr 12, 2021 at 4:06 pm

This is hardly a luxurious hatchback .. and so far most of the comments agree it’s a ridiculous price.. and that’s rare considering the constant bickering of especially between P1 and P2 fanboys.

• Lewis on Apr 13, 2021 at 9:09 pm

Please bring in Suzuki Ignis.

• I was really looking forward to buy this car and was waiting patiently for the past 1 year since i heard about Naza’s plans to bring back suzuki. Considering it is priced at 20k usd in japan, i expected it to be priced at rm120k max for a full spec manual tranny. But it costs 20k more and we don’t get manual. Its really overpriced for what is supposed to be an affordable car.

• bringbackmanualcars on Apr 15, 2021 at 11:39 am

FAIL NO MANUAL!

• Hannibal on Apr 15, 2021 at 11:55 pm

Looks like Myvi Gen2

• OthmanY on Aug 02, 2021 at 7:29 pm

Eventhough Suzuki Swift is a good looking, low maintenance car, bear in mind that NAZA after sales service sucks..!! Its not worth it guys.