Ora Punk Cat is China’s electric 4-door Beetle clone

You’ve seen the Ora Good Cat in Malaysia (spied) and Thailand (officially previewed), now here’s the cute electric hatchback’s punk sister – say hello to the Ora Punk Cat.

But wait a minute, isn’t that a Volkswagen Beetle? The Punk Cat is very clearly “inspired” by VW’s original Bug, one of the most famous and lovable cars ever made. The shape, the two-tone paint, the chrome bumpers, they’re all very Beetle. However, Great Wall Motors’ youthful EV brand inserted two more doors into that cocoon of a cabin. There’s no official front shot yet.

The two-tone interior (green-beige with red and gold trim) and is even more retro, and ends up very kitschy, but perhaps that’s the kind of cute they were looking for. All very retro except for the giant central screen, which is rather at odds with the thin-rimmed, big-diameter steering wheel.

Good Cat was a direct translation of the car’s original Chinese name of haomao (sisters include black and white cats), but we have no idea what Punk Cat is supposed to mean. Apparently, the Punk Cat name was voted the most popular online, beating five other candidates.

The 4,235 mm Good Cat has 145 PS and 210 Nm of instant EV torque, sent to the front wheels. It has two battery options of of 47.8 kWh and 59.1 kWh, offering 401 km and 501 km of range respectively. Standard AC charging takes eight hours to a full charge, while DC fast charging from 30% to 80% can be done in 30 minutes, GWM says. We’re not sure what’s under the Punk Cat’s bug shell, but it probably won’t be too different mechanically.

So, which of these cats do you prefer?

GALLERY: Ora Good Cat

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jom Global on Apr 19, 2021 at 6:44 pm

Shanghai Beetle, EV

But, no pricing

• LolololoL on Apr 19, 2021 at 7:09 pm

Well china king of cloning, copycat n ciplak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Wong Kiong Kheng on Apr 19, 2021 at 7:45 pm

Quick, Malaysia should have Ora Punk Cat as soon as possible, i’m gonna have one!

• 4 door “inspired” bettle is wow. The interior is just wow wow wow. Slap in a small petrol powered turbo and I think it will sell like hot cakes. Do bring it into malaysia….

• Alive & kicking on Apr 20, 2021 at 6:53 am

The VW legal team is likely to be watching this closely.

• Henry on Apr 20, 2021 at 9:44 am

I hope it come to Malaysia. It will make a nice intra-city commute.

• Sgt Scoop on Apr 20, 2021 at 10:56 am

I’m not usually a fan of Chinese cars but I think this one is quite cool.

• ToonArmy on Apr 20, 2021 at 11:39 am

Take my money if price below RM100k.

• Henry on Apr 20, 2021 at 2:08 pm

But first they will have to build a right hand drive version :)

• can outsource the LHD -> RHD conversion service to Protong since have whole kampung there in Tanjung Malim

• Affandi on Apr 20, 2021 at 12:39 pm

Punk cat for sure

• JOACHIM on Apr 20, 2021 at 2:01 pm

Like a Mitsuoka

• Hoang on Apr 24, 2021 at 10:03 pm

As long as it’s value for money…after all…punkcat …is just an unusual name…