MIROS proposes 30km/h speed limit for built-up areas

The Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) is proposing a 30 km/h speed limit for built-up zones such as urban and residential areas, cities and villages as part of the national road safety plan for 2021 until 2030, reports Free Malaysia Today.

The proposal for a 30 km/h limit in the zones mentioned is part of a wider “Streets for Life” campaign under the 6th United Nations Global Road Safety Week (UNGRSW), which aims to empower communities across Southeast Asia to implement the 30 km/h limit in areas where pedestrians mix with motorised traffic, the road safety institute said in a statement.

The road safety institute will engage stakeholders including the public works department (JKR), the road transport department (JPJ), local councils, police and other relevant authorities, said MIROS director-general Khairil Anwar Abu Kassim.

A lower speed limit as proposed will allow people to safely mix with road traffic and enable the community to build a safe, healthy and liveable space, Khairil said.

Malaysia is among the countries which have mandated 18 resolutions on road safety at the Third Global Ministerial Conference on Road Safety – also known as the Stockholm Declaration – in February 2020, in which 80 ministers pledged to halve road deaths by 2030, and the 30 km/h speed limit was proposed as the “new norm”, according to the news site.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Mr. Sotong on May 25, 2021 at 3:18 pm

60km/h also nobody follow, want to do 30km/h. What you guys smoking? Gimme some.

• Attitude is the main reason! Try to drive 500m without any blockage in front you at 30km/hr, then you will know whether this method will be worked!

• Job opportunity on May 25, 2021 at 3:23 pm

To really enforcing this rule, How much Rakyat’s money will be used for the task force, equipment, projects. Wasting money instead of improving security?

Its better to enforce drivers to drive at current regulated speed first rather than further reducing the speed limit.

• Hantu Raya on May 26, 2021 at 12:29 pm

Is okay to spend abit Rakyat’s money for Rakyat safety sake. Money can be earned back but not our life.

All the best to the task force, and govt berjaya.

• Geng perah habis on May 25, 2021 at 3:25 pm

too slow after that Porsche Coupe huge crash in Batu Pahat.

• Influencer on May 25, 2021 at 3:26 pm

I am interested to see if MIROS can enforce YouTuber test drive car follow regulated speed on regulated roads?

There is Sepang International Circuit for them for beyond regulations.

• Benjamin Wong on May 25, 2021 at 3:31 pm

Mangkuk

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 25, 2021 at 3:35 pm

tell this to the rempits

• pyraxle on May 25, 2021 at 4:20 pm

I thought residential & villages area already have the 30km/h speed limit as it’s taught in driving school?? Since the day i got my license 12 years ago I only drove below 30 km/h in that area. Plus, common sense la to drive below 30 in that kind of areas. Aiyooo

• Common sense is an uncommon thing with most malaysians

• Malaysia deserve good Malaysian on May 27, 2021 at 7:07 am

You are absolutely right..it sad to see there people who cannot comply to this rules as it is truly a common sense to drive slow in that kind of areas. Wake up guys, when somebody try to implement something good for the community, please support it. Let’s viral dashcam videos of the offender’s because now days motorists are more afraid of being kecam then the law itself. If we don’t act now, forever we will live in carca merba life like today.

• Don’t mean to discourage implementing these speed limits, but will the authorities enforce it? People here in Malaysia will speed no matter what speed limit they enforce. Unless, mobile speed cameras are being set up at those places. Or else, this wouldn’t work given Malaysians drives above the speed limit on a daily basis. It worked in countries like Australia, because the authorities did the job in enforcing these rules/speed limits on build up areas like school zones by setting up mobile speed cameras.

• Good luck with that campaign. My housing area, people were driving like Mad Men/Women, it’s like they can’t hold their bladders… As I said to my wife, welcome to Malaysia….

• Susukotak on May 25, 2021 at 6:23 pm

Should 20 or may be 10 km/h.

• Kuat Kerja Kuat Makan on May 25, 2021 at 11:41 pm

Just a simple question.

We have 110km/hr speed limit in highway. So far, would all Malaysian adhere to the given speed limit?

You’re welcome, MIROS.

• 30kmh can still hurt/kill pedestrian

speed limit does not make some driver from speeding in residential areas etc

Have more speed bump or have special pedestrian street

• Mee Maidin Basah on May 26, 2021 at 6:04 pm

Cadangan yang (ahem) kurang cerdik from MIROS.
    Nuff said.

• pyraxle on May 29, 2021 at 11:29 am

Why is it kurang cerdik? You as a driver la kurang cerdik! If I can use my common sense to drive BELOW 30kmh (not on the dot 30kmh ye) in that areas, why can’t you do the same?

It’s already taught in driving school, you never pay attention in that class is it? It’s time open your driving school back if don’t know about that. Ke lesen terbang bang?

Then what is your proposal? Masuk taman rumah, turun kereta tolak kereta, like that ke baru cerdik?? Aiyooo so funny la u bang

• Aussie on May 26, 2021 at 6:39 pm

Geez we had this 30km/hr for school zones in Australia waaay back in the late 90s. How behind is Msia.

• Almighty Snack Bar on May 26, 2021 at 8:19 pm

Implementing new laws without enforcement is tok kok. Pls come to Jln Kampung Pandan can summon and send this par*** rempits and car bullies to jail first before implementing any new laws. Blantant idiots on the road everyday here but ntg is done to teach these rempits a lesson. Hidup Malaysia. Hidup hidup.

• Brian on May 26, 2021 at 9:34 pm

If you are serious about safety, first enforce the need for all vehicles to stop at red lights. Only then we talk.

• Songkok Baru Raya on May 27, 2021 at 10:32 am

Just another “sembang-kencang” perisa kari dahl, I guess. MIROS doing it to fullfil their KPI jer.

We have so many road/traffic rule & law……but nobody could/would/should enforce them.

Until today, what has the authorities effectively done? Zilch.

• I just want to know if bicycle also enforce by this speed limit?

• Shaddai Ehyeh on May 27, 2021 at 11:27 am

Simple solution is to follow rural ruler sop competes to build the biggest oddly size speed bumps not even motocross champion can tackle these speed bumps without felling off… LoL