Tesla is not impressive, we are better – Geely EV head

Zhejiang Geely Holding Group’s (Geely Holding) Sustainable Experience Architecture (SEA) is an important part of the company’s plans to introduce more electric vehicles, which are high in demand in China. The modular platform can not only cater to a variety of vehicle types, but is also open source, meaning other automakers and third-party manufacturers have access to it if they want.

Of course, while Geely is a big name, its presence in the EV space is currently overshadowed by Tesla, which already sells a few models in China. However, Geely isn’t too worried by this and believes that its upcoming SEA-based vehicles will be better than what Tesla offers.

Kent Bovellan, who is the chief engineer for the SEA architecture at Geely Auto Group, told paultan.org in a recent group interview that he is not impressed with Tesla and believes that Geely’s dedicated EV platform is mechanically superior to what the California-based company has developed.

“We are better than Tesla when it comes to the mechanical architecture. They are very skilled in the software part, but in terms of mechanical architecture, we are better. We have a more cost-efficient solution and beat them in more or less everything, except for performance,” said Bovellan.

According to Bovellan, Tesla may have the upper hand when it comes to software development, but its EV platform loses out in a lot of other aspects like interior space, NVH, cost of ownership and cost of production compared to the SEA.

Bovellan concedes that the performance capabilities of Tesla’s vehicles are pretty impressive, although SEA-based vehicles aren’t necessarily too far away. For instance, the Zeekr 001, the first model to use the SEA, has a 0-100 km/h time of under four seconds and a range of more than 700 km.

“We are not impressed by Tesla. I like that they are going the right way with an electric architecture, we’re going the same way as well. They are one of the first to introduce core systems, but mechanically, nope, never. That, we do better,” Bovellan said. He added that despite the aluminium-intensive body used for Tesla vehicles, the SEA is actually lighter with a combination of aluminium and steel. Weight saving is, of course, crucial to offset the heavy batteries used in EVs.

The open-source nature of the SEA also makes it easy for companies looking to develop their own EVs to engage Geely for support and supply. Not many carmakers are willing to share their technologies so readily, so the SEA breaks new ground in that regard. Tesla is no stranger to sharing knowledge either, previously announcing its open source patent philosophy back in 2014.

So, what do you think of this, folks? Interested to see Geely, Zeekr, Geometry or Proton electric vehicles that live up to these claims?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• TalkBig on Jun 17, 2021 at 8:27 pm

Geely EV is at least 20 years behind Tesla. X70 is also at least 5 years behind HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 99
    • May I know what is your position in automotive industry to comment so? Or just based on your feeling about the brands?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 8
    • Lawrence Lor on Jun 18, 2021 at 6:59 pm

You must be joking

• Brandon Woo on Jun 19, 2021 at 12:38 am

Like your name talk big…but know nothing.

• Glines on Jun 19, 2021 at 3:01 am

I rather trust the expert (they did the research & technical comparison) from the global group than a big talk’s anonymous like you

• Jim CY Sia on Jun 26, 2021 at 12:56 pm

Not true, i used a geely, its proton x50
      Technology not much inferior to hrv. Price 25k rm cheaper. Can have hrv features if price up

• Raja Celup on Jun 17, 2021 at 8:29 pm

From where Geely learn that kind of delusional attitude?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 28
    • Calvin on Jun 18, 2021 at 5:21 pm

Geely saw the world car industry floundering with chips shortage everywhere and understand those with more mechanicals are lesser affected. Hence why solid mechanics will triumph over software prowess.

• Brandon Woo on Jun 19, 2021 at 12:43 am

Delusional? Look at where they are today. Its the matter of tiime China EV tech outpace Tesla. Look at NIO…

• The Apple iPhone is also not the best phone in the market, in fact its technically inferior to even the middle range Chinese phones from Vivo and Xiaomi. However desirability is not measured by technical prowess, its measured by how on the surface the product looks superior and how owning it gives the owner the perceived stature.

That is what Tesla is at and why Tesla as a brand will always be superior to Geely as an EV. In fact if the Chinese need some inspiration, they better look at Nio, that is far more desirable than Tesla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 25
  • Ahmadjr on Jun 17, 2021 at 8:53 pm

Long live geely Chinas !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 17, 2021 at 9:20 pm

mabuk ini

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
  • Pak Karruddin on Jun 17, 2021 at 9:28 pm

Do a shootout. Compare performance, price, maintenance, etc.

Prove it. No need to claim this, claim that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Exactly! want to claim best EV, claim ocean, claim mars, all also wanna claim. my coworker X70 got problem Geely u wanna fix it and how come no spare part? claim this claim that.. weird country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
      • Contradiction on Jun 18, 2021 at 5:24 pm

ehh i thought it was ur uncle X70 story why suddenly become ur co worker story wan? Ur story too many stories bruhh

• mechanic on Jun 20, 2021 at 12:28 pm

Same happened to the third wife of a friend of my aunties uncle!

• Jimmy7795 on Jun 17, 2021 at 11:02 pm

Everyone is just ‘talk’ unless they prove it like Tesla does.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • seancorr (Member) on Jun 17, 2021 at 11:06 pm

Pfft I actually laughed when I read this article. Do you know software alone makes a world of a difference? Ever wonder why the world is dominated by big tech companies like Apple and Google? Yep, software. Heck before Geely go preaching about their superiority in EV, why don’t they address the technical issues that Proton owners are currently facing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 22
  • Why gotta brag like that? on Jun 17, 2021 at 11:20 pm

Why all these fledging EV maker always like to boast they can beat Tesla even before it’s even widely sold? Beat it in sales then talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Dogbert on Jun 17, 2021 at 11:22 pm

Just bring in the Wuling Hongguang Mini EV below Axia E pricing !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Aura89 on Jun 18, 2021 at 12:25 am

Ford thinks Tesla is not impressive and they came out with EV pickup truck beating the Cybertruck to market.

Geely thinks Tesla is not impressive and they will come out with a proper EV sedan to beat Tesla nonstarters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Be Fair on Jun 19, 2021 at 8:46 am

Do you know that Ford F-series pickup trucks is already the US’s best selling “vehicle” for the past 39 years? It’s already an established market.

It’s like saying if Malaysia’s best selling vehicle MyVi suddenly offers an all electric option, beating Tesla’s CyberMyVi to the market.

Or saying Geely thinks MyVi is not that impressive, and they will come out with a proper version of their own MyVi to beat PeroDua non-starters.

• Vinod on Jun 18, 2021 at 6:30 am

All other EV manufacturers’ sensational claims are with some merit, but they always fail to credit Tesla for letting its battery tech to be open sourced for this competition to exist. To say that they’re “not impressed” is hugely sensational albeit questionable; marketing speak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • Engineer on Jun 18, 2021 at 5:15 pm

None of the EV makers are using Tesla battery tech thou. Goes to show how disingenuous of Tesla to release battery tech but still demand royalties for the charging system.

• He’s right. That’s why Elon Musk now shifting his focus to Bitcoin instead. Waiting for our own Proton made Zaakr 001.

• Contradiction on Jun 18, 2021 at 5:30 pm

Proton EV will be a Titan so lets name it Proton Zeke Yeager!

• Value4Money on Jun 18, 2021 at 7:36 am

Tesla vs ICE Competitor:

1. Cheaper.
    2. More Powerful.
    3. More Advanced Tech. e.g more camera, earlier adoption of AEB and L2 ‘full self driving’ autonomous

if Tesla is more expensive, they will not sell well.
    If Geely EV is better than Tesla, then do the same to sell more:

1. Cheaper
    2. More Powerful.
    3. More advanced Tech.

• funky on Jun 18, 2021 at 9:03 am

LOLOLOLOLOLOL! Tesla will soon be casting their parts with the gigapress, how about you?

• James on Jun 18, 2021 at 9:08 am

is this a Joke??? Geely just dug its EV grave. copied technology and try to make it look modern.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Bob Mal on Jun 18, 2021 at 10:25 am

“We are better than Tesla when it comes to the mechanical architecture. They are very skilled in the software part, but in terms of mechanical architecture, we are better. We have a more cost-efficient solution and beat them in more or less everything, except for performance,” said Bovellan.

1) This quote does not make any sense, as Geely mentioned they are better in the Mechanical Architecture every way but why are you achieving less performance than Tesla???
    – Software can only get you so far it is like saying a PS4 with Firmware 10.0 can beat the performance of a PS5 (It does not make any sense since PS5 was mechanically, electrically created to perform better physically)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • David on Jun 18, 2021 at 10:39 am

Another shiok sendiri statement. Like how proton will say ‘game changer’. That’s joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Ah Chong on Jun 18, 2021 at 11:13 am

Talk is cheap. Let the end-product speak. Am I interested? Maybe, but it all depends on the product they made.

If they build something that’s impressive on paper but nobody can afford it or not suitable for our use case, then there’s no point right?

• @snakebabu on Jun 18, 2021 at 11:20 am

Big shoes to fill #walkthetalk

• Jay Jay on Jun 18, 2021 at 11:22 am

Talking big are we? #walkthetalk

• Those can laugh at Geely must be still stay at 30 yrs ago mindsets. Go and study the demand of EV cars in China and China government’s determination and support in EV cars.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WCLhUMHXLeA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • Zuhril on Jun 18, 2021 at 12:54 pm

What a load of crap!!! LOL … Just another click bait headlines by desperate Geely! Geely wouldn’t dare to sell their EV in Malaysia, what you get from Geely here are obsolete ICE technology like Proton X70 & X50. Have balls lah Geely. Where is your Zeekr 001 or your better than Tesla EV?

• Here is another guy who don’t own a tesla but talk as if he owns one, wannabe. BTW, can you come out with one lousy car to beat X50 or X70,…. I doubt it. Show me your balls. Anyhow, what car do you drive? I’m very very curious

• Suren on Jun 19, 2021 at 11:35 am

Lousy car to beat X50 or X70? Audi Q3 and Q5, BMW X3 and X5. Audi, BMW are all CKD with high price tag due to taxes. X50 and X70 are CKD as well disguised as national cars. If all thesecars are given an equal treatment in terms of taxation, Audi and BMW will give Geely a run for it’s money.

• Dong gor on Jun 18, 2021 at 1:03 pm

I like that! Now everyone can drive an EV

• apamau on Jun 18, 2021 at 1:45 pm

Come out with something in production 1st then let’s talk who’s better, and cheaper.

Concept / talk is cheap. Production and End Product is the key. Show us something with pricing, then we can decide who’s better.

• Jackalope on Jun 18, 2021 at 4:54 pm

Closest is Hyundai Ioniq5 and Kia EV6, gogo Korean oppa

• TrueFacts on Jun 19, 2021 at 8:44 am

It is not just based on his feeling about the brands and it does not need to have a high level of positiin in automotive industry…
    One just need to open their eyes a to see that CHINA PRODUCTS HAVE ZERO QUALITY.

• TrueFacts on Jun 19, 2021 at 8:51 am

CCP products have ZERO quality. Even Chinese in Malaysia bought Japanese, Korean and Western vehicle. They wouldn’t dare buy CCP products.
    :)

• I have a simple question, do any of you own tesla, I guess not. So, the comments given that how good tesla is, is just based on what you read and not hands on. Didn’t anyone taught you people not to spread rumors? Own one then share your true experience. If not, all your good things about tesla is just here say. Nonetheless, Geely has a vision, let see how it turns out. They talk big coz they might already done their research. Based on all the EV sold in China, don’t you think China will beat any other country in EV very soon.

Yes, someone said it’s like iPhone. Previously, iPhone WAS the best all rounder but not anymore today. But why do some people still pay the high price for an iPhone? Personal preference.

And to Talk Big, do you own a tesla to say that they’re 20 years ahead of Geely? But if you do, share it, everyone here want to to why you say that.

• Newme on Jun 19, 2021 at 11:08 am

“Tesla is not impressive, we are better – Geely EV head”

Statement comes from a company that designs GEELY GE and GEELY MERRIE 300. Hahahaha

• Sharlene H Smith on Jun 20, 2021 at 6:19 am

No Chinese car, no thanks

• KZBFF ELF on Jun 20, 2021 at 6:52 pm

But isn’t performance the hardest thing? Performance directly affected by the efficiency of everything.

• Mohan Nair on Jun 21, 2021 at 7:43 am

I want the phone number of the guy where this guy from Geely got his stuff to smoke!!

• Agent B on Jun 21, 2021 at 6:35 pm

First time comment here. Some of your comments are really funny (thanks!) and I do agree with many of you too. I am living in China since 1990 and they actually had “electric buses” (Trolley buses like those in New Zealand/Australia). My 2 sens for Tesla vs Chinese EVs : 1).Nio – I am very impressed with this design models and their SUVs are selling very well but Tesla outsells them anytime. 2).Tesla – All their models…S, SUV and 3 are doing ridiculously well. 3).Geely EVs – they have at least 10+ EV designs and more coming. They have alot of bells & whistles. 4). Other CN EVs. I must say the popular Roewe (former Rover brand) is popular because it’s cheap and used for the “Didi” (same as Grab) service as the EV plate allows movement on all elevated highways and city centers, nothing else. The top selling EV “IN THE WORLD”

• Agent B on Jun 21, 2021 at 6:41 pm

First time comment here. Some of your comments are really funny (thanks!) and I do agree with many of you too. I am living in China since 1990 and they actually had “electric buses” (Trolley buses like those in New Zealand/Australia). My 2 sens for Tesla vs Chinese EVs : 1).Nio – I am very impressed with this design models and their SUVs are selling very well but Tesla outsells them anytime. 2).Tesla – All their models…S, SUV and 3 are doing ridiculously well. 3).Geely EVs – they have at least 10+ EV designs and more coming. They have alot of bells & whistles. 4). Other CN EVs. I must say the popular Roewe (former Rover brand) is popular because it’s cheap and used for the “Didi” (same as Grab) service as the EV plate allows movement on all elevated highways and city centers, nothing else. The top selling EV “IN THE WORLD” is the JV GM-Wuling “HongGuang” mini car (only RMB 30,000 or RM 18,000) and there are dozens more there with brands and names unheard of. LOL. Ok. for EVs it boils down to “two basic” needs…A). Distance per charge and how quick a re-charge and B). Charging Stations. Tesla’s performance is anytime better than the Chinese EVs and recharge is also the fastest time. Tesla also sposors charging stations infrastructures all over China (it’s an investment in their brand and support). Now think of your smartphone about the battery and you will have an idea of EVs and it’s basic needs. (it’s not like you can carry a jerry can to the nearest gas station and fill up and pour into your tank no?). Again…just my 2 sens….Thanks everyone.

• Copy here n there now claim yours better. Sigh

• SIMON on Oct 23, 2021 at 5:51 am

Mega cast?

• James on Nov 23, 2021 at 12:19 pm

another failed attempt by Geely the stock manipulators. their Biography EV failed so bad in Singapore. they have no chance. better stop the big talk and do a proper work