Dashboard accessories are potentially injurious: MKJR

We’ve all seen this time and again – car dashboards decorated with figurines, soft toys and various other kinds of memorabilia. While it may seem like an innocent, casual exhibit, these objects could turn into projectiles in the event of an accident, causing serious injuries that are potentially fatal.

In a bid to ensure the continued safety of motorists, Road Safety Council (MKJR) took to Facebook to remind the public not to line their car dashboards with accessories.

“This is because the objects are fragile and are usually made with a combination of glass and plastics. They have sharp edges and don’t stick permanently to the dashboard. Besides, the accessories could obstruct the airbag deployment process, preventing it from functioning as intended,” the post reads.

What’s worse is the high likelihood of the accessories being turned into projectiles. This happens either in a high velocity crash, or when the object is caught right in the trajectory of the deploying airbag. Just so you know, frontal airbags inflate at an explosive rate of between 160 to over 350 km/h, achieving full inflation in under half a second.

So, before you start decorating your dashboard with some of your favourite toys, just remember that the dashboard is not a display rack. Make sure there’s nothing resting on it, because the last thing you want is for that object to be the cause of your disability, or worse, death.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Ruslan Bahari on Aug 09, 2021 at 3:10 pm

Do you know how many laws Malaysian vehicle owners flout on a daily basis? Size of plate number digits (supercars usually get “exemption” and bikes too even if they place their digits under the wheel cowl), printing words on the plate numbers (not the frames itself), decals on the rear screen, larger than allowed sun shield on top of front screen, size of wheels and tires, seat belts use at the rear, capacity of a vehicle, enlarged exhaust systems, non-factory HID lights, use of strobe lights.

This all require education. When did that happen last? I remember road safety PSAs in the 70s and 80s, but they’re a thing of the past these days….

• Bieight on Aug 09, 2021 at 5:12 pm

Because accessories shops sell those…

• Lennon Lee on Aug 09, 2021 at 9:53 pm

vehicle dark window tint and fancy number plates problems haven’t been solved in decades…..despite Malaysia having the highest number of civil servant/population ratio among countries in the world.

And now, this “dashboard asessories” hazard pulak?

hahaha!

• Brian on Aug 11, 2021 at 3:45 pm

What does number of civil servants got to do with dark window tints and fancy plates? FYI dark window tints got legalised no thanks to the inept and money hungry previous TM.

• Ramli S on Aug 11, 2021 at 7:14 pm

Come back to main problem la .. jalan sana sini lobang when they want to upgrade??talk bout itu ini but the main prob still like shit everywhere