Malaysian police to block 88 KL main roads on Aug 21

Major roads leading to the Kuala Lumpur city centre will be diverted at 88 main intersections today, August 21, beginning at 9 a.m. This follows a court order banning any procession or gathering – known as Op Aman – within a one kilometre radius of Sogo Complex and Masjid Jamek issued on August 20.

A statement dated the same day from ACP Saifduin Mohd Salleh, head of police Traffic Investigation and Enforcement Department (Jabatah Siasatan dan Penguatkuasaan Trafik, JSPT) advised road users to avoid using city roads that have been diverted and follow instructions of traffic police and other officers.

The 88 roads under diversion are closed to prevent any illegal assemblies, according to information received by police. The Star reports a two-metre tall fence has been erected around Dataran Merdeka while fire engines and water tankers have been sighted along Jalan Parliament, the usual staging area for police riot control.

Among roads mentioned in the police press statement are key roads and roundabouts leading into both the historical heart of Kuala Lumpur such as Dataran Merdeka, Parliament, Jalan Istana, Masjid Negara, Carcosa Sri Negara and Leboh Ampang as well as the business district, including Jalan Tun Razak, Jalan Ampang, Jalan Loke Yew, Sungai Best, Jalan Bukit Bintang and Jalan Sultan Ismail.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• The planned assembly has been cancelled since last week. So what’s the point in doing this at the expense of all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 38
    • Ghani on Aug 21, 2021 at 11:22 am

Exactly. wasting all our YDPA time n attention

• tiadaid (Member) on Aug 21, 2021 at 2:32 pm

They say cancelled, but given how the new PM is not someone they wanted, who’s to say they won’t uncancel it?

Just take a look at how suddenly last Thursday night they had an assembly at Dataran Merdeka. They call it a “vigil” but people aren’t dumb to see that this was an assembly.

Cannot trust those people at all.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 26
      • Amran on Aug 21, 2021 at 5:12 pm

Betui bro. Walaun asyik2 berarak kempen Ruu355 kat Padang merbok tue tak abes2^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • Lain bro.
          Ruu355 kat Padang merbok sblm wabak covid is ok.
          Lawan kat Padang merdeka smsa wabak covid tu memang jahanam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • Manifesto Dicapati on Aug 22, 2021 at 12:18 am

Cannot trust since May 2018
        #ManifestoDicapati

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
      • Izhar on Aug 22, 2021 at 7:49 am

The organiser went to Dang Wangi and met with the police with letter last 5 days to inform them it is cancelled.

• Sick & Tired on Aug 22, 2021 at 6:31 pm

They never had approval, so how did they ‘cancel’ something that would be illegal? It is like a gambling den informing the police today they are not opened for business due to unforeseen circumstances. Is that even logical?

• Copy Paste on Aug 22, 2021 at 10:40 pm

Copy paste: “Talk like another gagal person”

• tumin on Aug 24, 2021 at 7:45 am

Yes, 17 months of failure and another more coming months.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 21, 2021 at 6:31 pm

#JagaPenjarakanSosial
      #DudukRumah
      #KitaJagaKita

• Izhar on Aug 22, 2021 at 3:34 pm

#Lindungdirilindungsemua = lindung jawatan sendiri dan rakan2

#kitajagakita = mari jaga-jaga supaya jawatan kekal

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 21, 2021 at 11:22 am

might as well close it everyday. this “new gov” know they are incapable and the rakyat hate them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 55
    • Sick&Tired on Aug 21, 2021 at 2:14 pm

I am confident the ‘new gov’ will make a huge difference!! We are saved! Mark my words, the cases will drop to 0!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 30
      • Celup King on Aug 21, 2021 at 6:56 pm

Thank you #Lawan and black flag protesters and politicians pressuring to reopen the economy b4 covid cases reduce.

• Copy Paste on Aug 22, 2021 at 10:40 pm

Copy paste: “Idiots demand and pressure gomen to reopen or else they will protest. Hadam je lah the idiocy of some Malaysians.”

• Troll Hunter on Aug 21, 2021 at 2:40 pm

new record high case… still want to demand jalanjalan everywhere?

• Sick & Tired on Aug 21, 2021 at 3:06 pm

What new gov? PM just been sworn today, his cabinet not even form yet so where you get the idea this is from new gov? Sick & tired of ppl making assumptions and spreading misinformation without checking facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 36
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 22, 2021 at 1:13 pm

you are right, there’s no new gov. still the same nonsense. this wouldnt happen in BN days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 37
        • Sick & Tired on Aug 22, 2021 at 6:44 pm

Indeed, but who was it that wanted Change & Ubah and now we got constant revolving governments?

• Sick&Tired on Aug 22, 2021 at 2:40 pm

Dei be creative and come up with your own name la! Btw it’s safe to assume that nothing will change when the ‘new PM’ which was the spokesperson for covid and also the DPM for the ‘old government’ will make any changes. He was part of the failed administration so what do you expect him to do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
        • Sick & Tired on Aug 22, 2021 at 6:55 pm

Cheeky for an impostor to be accusing me. Anyone with half a brain can use search function and find out who came first but I guess plagiarism is the sincerest form of compliment so I thank you for that.
          To your comment, you ‘assume’ so means you don’t know, and simply comment without facts. You also ‘assumed’ the previous administration had failed without giving proof, so once more, like you plagiarising my name, this comment as well cannot be trusted.

• Wylee17 on Aug 22, 2021 at 6:45 am

Same group, just different clowns

• Pablo escargot on Aug 22, 2021 at 11:32 am

This was totally overkill. I stay nearby one RB and observed them for 30 min. They asked delivery drivers i.e grab,panda, lala to make a huge round. What about essential workers i.e doc & nurses. There was ambulances stuck behind the massive jam. All this for? Protest already cancelled. This is becoming a police state. Totally unnecessary and waste of resources!!!!

• Zahid on Aug 23, 2021 at 6:10 pm

Overkill or be killed by Covid. Your choice.

• Copy Paste on Aug 23, 2021 at 6:12 pm

When they make it easy to cross, ppl complain.
      When they make it difficult to cross, ppl complain.
      Typical malaysians, only know to complain.

• Jamalluddin Saon on Aug 22, 2021 at 12:19 pm

People…..please sabar and bertenang. Cool minds prevail. Have “Bersangka baik” in mind, please.

• Malaysia on the road to become afghanistan..good luck to all..

• Western Star on Aug 25, 2021 at 12:09 am

Those who put their faith on Western supremacy & promises have now suffered the ultimate betrayal from being abandoned and left behind. Many are scrambling to get out but they cannot. Money and material wealth can only be propped up by superior weapons, once the weapons are gone, money and wealth falls very quickly in the face of stronger faith and unshakable belief.

Be wary of those offering promises of better things without actually believing it can be achieved without huge sacrifices. One nation has suffered greatly, let us not repeat their mistake.