So, you want to ride an electric bike in Malaysia?

Love them or loathe them, electric motorcycles (e-bikes) are coming, sooner rather than later. Some have asked, “what about riding e-bikes in Malaysia? Is it expensive? Can I use my normal motorcycle license?”

First off, JPJ Malaysia does have a classification for e-bikes for road use. Do take note, these are proper electric motorcycles and scooters, having been submitted and passed JPJ Vehicle Type Approval (VTA), not the cheap electric bicycle type things you get on online shopping networks.

E-bikes can be taxed and insured like any other motorcycle in Malaysia. From a round-up article on electric vehicle road tax structure in Malaysia by paultan.org, the road tax structure for e-bikes is based on the power capacity of the motor.

JPJ classification for e-bikes in Malaysia starts with code AA, for electric-powered motorcycles rated at 7.5 kW and below which attracts a road tax annual payment of RM2 and you can ride e-bikes using the standard motorcycle license. Road tax for e-bikes then goes up a scale, as listed below:

• Above 7.5 kW to 10 kW – RM9
  • Above 10 kW to 12.5 kW – RM12
  • Above 12.5 kW to 25 kW – RM30
  • Above 25 kW to 40 kW – RM40
  • For e-motorbikes with an output of above 40 kW – RM42

As can been seen, road tax for e-bikes is not onerous, compared to the rates applied to combustion engined motorcycles which ranges from RM2 for motorcycles and scooter up to 150 cc all the way to RM350 from those with engines displacing 801 cc and above. As for insurance, the rider’s premium is based on sum insured, as per local practice, without taking into account criteria such as age of rider, riding record or years of riding experience.

Those are the costs for taxing and insuring an e-bike in Malaysia for a year, but what about maintenance? Since there is no requirement to put fuel in the tank, there is an immediate reduction in daily running costs. However, the price of replacing battery packs at end-of-life has to be considered, with battery packs in high-powered e-bikes such as the Harley-Davidson Livewire and Energica Evo costing much more than the battery pack for an urban scooter like the Niu.

Other running costs would be typical for consumables such as tyres and brakes, and, where applicable, final drive chain. This is without considering factors such as cost of electricity for charging and, for those considering making the transition to electric vehicles, range anxiety.

Electric vehicle charging infrastructure in Malaysia is heavily biased towards four-wheeled vehicles, there being no provision for fast charging for e-bikes that have that capability. For a urban commuter e-bike like the Niu, charging is done using domestic current which typically takes between four to eight hours.

For some e-bikes, difficulty of accessing a charging location is addressed by using removable battery packs, which major manufacturers taking to initiative to standardise battery specifications across the industry. In countries like Taiwan, replacement battery packs are available, charged and ready to go, at vending machines and convenience stores with the rider just having the bring in the depleted battery and swap it for a charged unit.

In any case, e-bikes also pay a weight penalty due to the battery pack and riding in some of the more isolated areas of Malaysia would mean having to be aware of the location of electrical supply. On the flip side, e-bikes are entertaining to ride, the biggest thrill coming from all the motor torque available from zero rpm, making for very… entertaining acceleration.

The quiet of an e-bike is a plus in urban environments which many will attest is possibly the biggest nuisance associated with modified motorcycles and the exhaust noise. So, what do you think? Is riding a e-bike in Malaysia something you might consider? Leave a comment with your thoughts and opinions below.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Bieight on Aug 27, 2021 at 10:24 am

All bike’s should have 50kmh speed limiter install

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 91
    • Juz because you drive 50kmh at right lane doesn’t mean we cannot ride faster. Pls stay at left lane for your own safety.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
    • Gobinath on Aug 27, 2021 at 5:17 pm

Aren’t you a fool for saying that?

• So y’all F1 drivers can have an excuse to cry about them being unsafe on the highway due to being limited by speed?

• Bicyclerider on Aug 29, 2021 at 6:15 pm

Please ride bicycle and stay in the park. Road is too dangerous for you and you alway whine about norm.

• https://paultan.org/2021/08/17/ola-electric-of-india-to-deliver-ola-s1-s1-pro-electric-scooter-in-october-2021-pricing-starts-from-rm4562/

Ola Scooter, 8kW if come to Malaysia- RM9 road tax
    115km/h Top speed, 0-40 3s, 181km Mileage,

It also very techy:
    1. Cruise Control
    2. Large Colour Touchscreen, GPS,
    3. Phone connectivity, Bluetooth, WiFi
    4. Remote Start and Push Start
    5. Geofencing

Tesla level EV Scoot, no need noisy and air polluting Kapchai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • I wouldnt mind getting an e-bike to travel around 10km-15km from my house to tapau food or run light errands.

• simon on Aug 27, 2021 at 1:16 pm

e bikes dont make sense because by their nature, motorcycles aren’t as big of a pollutor as cars are.

Bikes on their own are not very heavy, and moving a battery to the chassis penalises on that advantage.

Makes more sense to drive an e car and ride a kapchai for nearby errands rather than the other way round.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
    • Ah Chong on Aug 30, 2021 at 2:01 pm

Excuse me, but even as a motorcyclist I have to disagree. Firstly, motorcycle emission is different from car, its not that simple. Secondly, pollution isn’t just about the gas that came out from the exhaust. It spans all the way from raw material processing to noise pollution.

I don’t have the data to proof anything, but I’m very sure saying e-bikes doesn’t make sense feels a bit off.

• Booker on Aug 27, 2021 at 1:57 pm

Definitely waiting for more ev bikes to come in Malaysia. Been waiting for a couple of years now. Wonder if its too much hassle to import myself. Super soco promised nov2020 but no turn up. Even contacted them myself just to be ignored after the first call. Niu only carry their lowest end bike, not fast enough for malaysian roads. Treeletrik have boring design for their high end, too slow for the low end model. And worst of all, eclimo bike has no design update since early 2000s and the price is insane for local assembled more than 10year old design. Anyone out there know where else to look?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Maybe the follow up article could focus on who sells electric bikes and some reviews on them

• Malaysia always far behind..

• Avenger on Aug 27, 2021 at 3:20 pm

China complaining that ebikes are a danger becoz they are just too silent. In Sinkieland, these bikes have killed many pedestrians. We should be thankful being far behind such mortality.

• Rider on Aug 29, 2021 at 6:18 pm

Have you seen the statistics of how many noisy motorcycle kill a day compare to silent e bike.
        Once a fellow told me hotpot is too hot, coffee is too bitter, KFC is too crispy.the problem is not the thing, is the man.

• Hanns on Sep 01, 2021 at 11:04 pm

even with engine sound now we have a lot malaysian driver are so Idiot that they didn’t see a motorcycle coming their way even when we are in Their mirror making them know our presence ,they love coming in without signal ,I don’t think u need to imagine to ride a bike without sound ,I experience tons of this idiots while riding that think they are right when they are not

• Steven on Aug 27, 2021 at 3:57 pm

Correction, Taiwan is not a country. Get your history and geography right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 52
    • CeeKay on Sep 10, 2021 at 8:57 am

What’s your point in going all technical? Depending on who you talk to, Taiwan is recognized as a country by many countries

• Abdullah Harith Fakhri bin Basiron on Aug 28, 2021 at 2:02 pm

Kasi nuclear reactor for dirt cheap electricity bills and more public charging area baru Aku consider.

• Dennis Chuah on Aug 28, 2021 at 3:11 pm

if you are interested on e-motorcycle approved by JPJ Malaysia, please refer to Eclimo’s website www.eclimo.com

• James on Aug 28, 2021 at 6:24 pm

Noise is a nuisance especially middle of night in the residential neighborhood with a modified exhaust.

• Aljohari bin Ahmad Hashim Hawari on Aug 29, 2021 at 12:19 am

Will wagner’s monotrace ebike version be allowed on Malaysian roads? Of course the question comes with the helmetless issue.

• Mathews George on Dec 11, 2021 at 1:57 am

How will the Eclimo sell at RM14000 with the current specs?

• 雅迪 bike is cheap in malaysia… but i wonder if i need license to ride it

• Leonard Schutte on Nov 09, 2022 at 5:45 pm

So I was wondering if anyone can assist me. I built a electric bike that I would like to make road legal in malaysia. Any advice?