ACO Tech hints at more services like in-car payments, digital radio, usage-based insurance for Proton GKUI?

It appears that ACO Tech is working with more partners to increase the number of connected services it offers in the future, according to the information found on the company’s official website. In the “digital driving experience” section of ACO Tech’s “product and solutions” page, we can see things like smart fuel pump, smart parking, emergency assistant, in-car payment and usage-based insurance listed as features that are coming soon.

Meanwhile, the list of partners that ACO Tech is working with includes Govicle, Syok, DriveMark, Katsana and Fasspay, with each having some relevance to the services that ACO Tech are working on.

Going company by company, Govicle, which was previously known as JomParkir, focuses on vehicle-to-everything (V2X) technology and operates an app providing services such as smart parking, smart servicing (live monitoring of vehicle maintenance and roadside assistance), smart security (GPS tracking and SOS function), smart agent (motor insurance and road tax renewal) and smart ticketing (e-ticketing for events and travel).

Meanwhile, Syok was introduced by Astro Radio as a multilingual entertainment and lifestyle platform that provides users with digital radio, and could be included in the next GKUI (Global Key User Interface) software update that will go into the infotainment systems found in Proton models like the X70, X50, Iriz and Persona.

ACO Tech hints at more services like in-car payments, digital radio, usage-based insurance for Proton GKUI?ACO Tech hints at more services like in-car payments, digital radio, usage-based insurance for Proton GKUI?

Moving on, DriveMark was initiated by parent company Katsana, the latter focusing on real-time GPS tracking of vehicles, be it individually or for fleet customers. DriveMark aims to rewards safe drivers with monthly car insurance rebates, which is done via a dedicated app that assigns a score based on four elements: braking, acceleration, speeding and cornering.

Lastly, Fasspay offers merchants a range of integrated financial services, including contactless payment. The company, a subsidiary of Soft Space, was appointed a third-party acquirer for MyDebit, the nation’s domestic debit card scheme, in April this year by Paynet, the national payments network and shared central infrastructure for Malaysia’s financial markets.

For now, it isn’t mention when any of the new features will be made available to users, and if they will be integrated into other systems besides Proton’s GKUI. ACO Tech has already begun counting down to a reveal that is set to take place on September 30, so we’ll hopefully get more info then.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• tatu880 on Sep 28, 2021 at 5:01 pm

Come on ACO Tech, all we need is Apple Carplay and Android Auto support. Not useless more apps that we won’t ever use.

• Tesla on Sep 28, 2021 at 5:14 pm

When u have Android Auto and Apple Carplay, u don’t need to partners with anyone. U can just use your phone.

• Functionally it seems to be more comprehensive and feature rich content than what Android Auto has here.

• What we want is android auto & apple carplay. Thats it

• Give us Apple Carplay & Android Auto lahhh

• Farid on Sep 28, 2021 at 7:29 pm

All this resource and effort outsourcing to ACO… and for what? It’s literally free to license and implement Carplay.

• Brian on Sep 29, 2021 at 1:13 am

Heck no! Since when did Apple gave out anything free, even Lightning cable makers need to pay royalty fees to Apple. Whatmore a car ecosystem.

• Afeeq Hasan on Sep 30, 2021 at 12:17 am

You should research before commenting, Apple CarPlay is free to manufacture.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 28, 2021 at 8:00 pm

what ppl want , android auto. what u give, some weird stuff nobody fathoms.

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 29, 2021 at 12:00 pm

We are too American/Western centric, hence the calls for AA/CP. I too am too dependent on Google Maps but can live without AA on the X70.

Going forward, it will be interesting to see the acceptance & adoption of this new services. Malaysian being conservative will take some time to accept new way of thinking. Bear in mind, Geely being Chinese company will prefer to build new ecosystem and move away from Western centric apps.

• John Doe on Sep 29, 2021 at 1:34 pm

Where tf is apple carplay. You ppl will do every useless thing accept Apple CarPlay or android auto. When Paultan asked why, you give a foolish reason saying it’s not needed and it’s just a ‘tool’ what nonsense la please. All these apps are just useless when compared to apple CarPlay as you can just have your phone and all the apps on the screen which is far better than any of the useless apps you create. How about waze ?? You going to create an app for that ? How you going to report construction etc when using your own app. Guna otak la pls.

• newme on Sep 30, 2021 at 10:56 am

Most important service is Xuexi Qiangguo aka Xi Thought app.