Cheap vs expensive car wash – what’s the difference?

We hate to break it to you, but not all car washes are created equal. Some of you obviously know the differences between the quality of car wash you get from your fellow bawah pokok entrepreneur, versus a professional automotive detailer with a proper brick and mortar establishment.

But the majority of people think they both produce the same outcome – clean, sparkly cars, only at different price points. While true, that’s all but a gross oversimplification.

Over the past few decades, the car care sector has grown exponentially larger, now teeming with cutting-edge products and solutions to restore, protect and maintain your prized rides. Plus, the fact that the well heeled are sparing no expense in keeping their cars shiny all year round has made the business far more lucrative than ever.

So, this begs the question: why bother with an RM30 car wash when you can get exactly the same results for RM10? We’re glad you asked.

What’s a cheap car wash like?

We’re pretty much all guilty of having gone to a cheap car wash. They’re everywhere, sometimes sprouting in the middle of an abandoned carpark, playground and even petrol stations. It’s convenient, easily accessible, and a full wash plus vacuum can be done on the cheap in under 30 minutes. Great when you’re in a pinch.

It’s fun, too, sitting in your air-conditioned car with a phone in your hand as you feel the thrill of having your vehicle smothered in thick soapy foam slowly build. That’s your favourite part of the whole process, isn’t it?

The thing is, no one really knows just what sort of chemical is being used. It can be diluted dish washing liquid, or some questionable mixture of degreasing agent with other synthetic solution. Not only may the shampoo harm the clear coat (also known as lacquer), its potency can sometimes strip away waxes and sealants, resulting in a clean, albeit completely unprotected and hydrophilic finish.

Poor washing technique will abrade the clear coat

Using a sponge to wash a car is also no longer advisable, because the pores aren’t large enough to hold dirt. The material is also not designed to pick up debris and contaminants quite as effectively as a microfibre wash mitt, for example. Sponges are great for spreading shampoo, but with fine sands and debris trapped within the pores, it becomes a lot like a sandpaper, ruining your paint with every stroke, even if you don’t feel it.

Cheap car washes entail the use of cheap products. There’s nothing wrong with that, because there is clearly a market for such businesses to thrive. The car wash attendants are also taught no more than the basic techniques and to chase volume, and let’s not forget the occasional “water wax” hard sell.

Again, nothing wrong there. Most people who frequent these establishments either have little to no knowledge about car care, or simply don’t care at all. Improper care and apathy will cause the paint to dull, because most of the clear coat (the actual layer that makes paint look glossy) would have eroded or oxidised.

“Cheap thing no good, good thing no cheap”

Now, the number one thing you’re paying for when getting your car washed by a professional detailer is the years of experience that come with it. These guys typically employ a strict, methodical approach even for something as basic as a car wash, using high quality wash mitts with clear coat-safe shampoo (usually branded, too), along with an invariable form of washing technique.

This means they wash a Kancil and a Ferrari in exactly the same fashion, but not because they’re a pretentious bunch. They do it in a deliberate manner that preserves the quality and integrity of the paint, taking into account things like lubricity of the car shampoo and making sure not to apply too much pressure when washing, so as to not inflict microscratches that mar the finish.

This highly systematic approach is part of their mantra, honed and passed down from gurus with decades of experience detailing just about all sorts of vehicles. You’re paying more to have your darling car attended to by enthusiasts who actually care enough not to take any shortcuts or make compromises.

But as with any industry, you’ll have to separate the wheat from the chaff. There are those in the business just to make a quick buck (it can be a very lucrative business), but there are also true detailers who can’t care less about franchising their esteemed enterprises.

Naturally, the best ones – even a franchise – command a pretty penny, so if you truly love your car and don’t want to risk anything at the hands of the inexperienced, pony up and pay that RM30 (can be more, depends). Otherwise, if you’re up for it, maybe try your hands at some basic car care. It’s the furthest thing from intimidating, and you’ll end up saving a lot of money in the long run.

In the highly complex and technical world of automotive detailing, a car wash is only at the very tip of the iceberg. There’s things like paint correction, car coating, trim rejuvenation, upholstery care, interior coating, including more specialised areas like removing the orange peel effect, paint protection film, and undercarriage cleaning.

With the right car wash technique and a little bit of UV protection, your factory paint job will last for decades, easy. Oh, if we may so much as ask, please avoid the automatic car wash like the plague. Have some respect for your car, will you?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Bananaman on Oct 01, 2021 at 11:57 am

A car is generally a car. Its a thing not a living creature. Dont be a slave to a car or thing.
    Always remember human first. Nowadays humans worship things more than human/living creature thus promoting the arrogant & selfish society

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 92
    • thefact on Oct 01, 2021 at 12:15 pm

Nope, i disagree. Proud of what you have achieved and what you owne and taking care of them is ones self satisfaction. can be a car, a house, or even your mobile phone. but of course you do the same with a living creature or other humans. respect and care.

whats worse is, putting religion above humanity. thats when society crumbles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 71
      • Bananaman on Oct 01, 2021 at 1:07 pm

Religion above humanity is one thing. I have seen people become slave to their precious car etc. Their vehicle must be tip top condition but sadly neglected their own family. For them their vehicle always come first. Sure you can be proud with what you have but not until you become obsessed with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 25
        • Richfag on Oct 01, 2021 at 8:13 pm

I feel sad for you that your pride lies only in what you can afford to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
      • David on Sep 13, 2023 at 5:24 pm

I am proud enough of what I have that I don’t have to pay too much attention to it. It’s just “another thing” amidst all the other nice things I own.

• mangoman on Oct 01, 2021 at 12:26 pm

Enough about cars & humans.. What about us fruits?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
    • Johnnny dough on Oct 01, 2021 at 2:43 pm

Why are you on a car site specifically if that’s your view. Use your brains if able, to understand that some people love cars and don’t just view them as means of transport, just cause you don’t have the passion for them doesn’t mean you have to peddle your believes to others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 22
    • Charles on Jun 10, 2023 at 7:55 pm

The basic thing is u plant rambutans u get rambutans. Dont expect to get durians. If u take care of your car, your car will take care of u. Same thing goes if your car’s paint is dull and worn out and you plan to sell your car, your car’s value will depreciate a lot. We are not worshipping things, we are just taking care of them to last longer hence get more resale value. I guess u certainly treat your car like a rubbish dump.

• Is it so wrong that I want to take proper care of an item I paid a fairly large sum of money for? So that it looks good for years to come. I like driving around in a well kept vehicle that’s in good condition. Same as with your body and health, you can’t just broadly write it off as vanity.

Of course, everything has to be done in moderation. That I agree with you on.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 01, 2021 at 12:18 pm

While I agree with the statement above, there will never be a good car wash conveniently located near your neighborhood. I’m not the kind that will drive 30 mins away just to get my car washed properly and then spend another 30 mins back to my house. Even if I do make the move, the queue to wash at their shop is most often long unless you come directly at 9am. I used to sign up for these yearly membership packages….but that was when I do not have kids yet and had more free time. So unless you have a driver to bring your vehicles to these said places, be prepared to waste your precious time.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
    • Johnny sainz on Oct 01, 2021 at 2:45 pm

You must have a relatively mundane car or perhaps you don’t have the passion for your car. Can always find excuses, you could wash on your own and do a better job, it’s all a matter of how much you like/care your car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 52
    • I understand your points and concern. What if you give mobile detailers a chance to prove their work. If you don’t mind, we can come over and try out one of your cars :)

• I hardly wash my cars. I usually let God do that for me. Yet the last two cars I’ve owned were traded off only well after 17 and 12 years. The two cars I owned currently are 8 and 13 years old. I continue to let God wash them for me. No, I don’t have any passion for cars. I bought all my cars brand new but they are just the basic cheapest models in the market. After so many years, they have depreciated much in value but they continue to serve my transport needs whenever public transport is not available.

• ALT3118 on Oct 01, 2021 at 12:24 pm

Ha!Now we know your car plate number…

• Celup King on Oct 01, 2021 at 1:14 pm

Err Hafriz X50 no plate was already revealed during his last Driven review video.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Oct 01, 2021 at 2:20 pm

Yeah, we don’t see it necessary to hide the plates of our own cars. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • (Dude) on Oct 01, 2021 at 2:15 pm

Err Hafriz already has his car plate no revealed since its first appearance on the Paultan article.

• how about charging you expensive and also it can be diluted dish washing liquid, or some questionable mixture of degreasing agent with other synthetic solution

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Price is not the factor. People can charge you high price with bad service too. So far, I unable to find any car detailers that able to follow my requirements. First, 2 buckets system, one for dirty cloth, one for clean. Second, wipe top part first before bottom part. I do not dare to hope thst they will clean the gap, front grill, rim, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Group on Oct 01, 2021 at 3:50 pm

Usually they are ppl stay @ high rise, have to find a car wash.
      Very big market.

• hamboldt on Oct 01, 2021 at 5:32 pm

Luckily my place here have a contactless car wash which the just spray foam + water spray to wash off the foam + final a water wax. Quite nice which my car hardly have any swivel scratches like my wife car which she send to those cheap washing shop.

• Car enthusiast on Sep 11, 2023 at 10:13 pm

Try Sri Petaling Liberty Autospa. RM50 but well worth it

• Magshine Detailworks on Sep 13, 2023 at 8:33 pm

Hmmmmmmm. I guess that will be us?

• RC237 on Oct 01, 2021 at 2:35 pm

Is that a real C63S?

• Such condescending statements about people who opt for economical car washes.

• noname on Oct 01, 2021 at 3:52 pm

i hardly send my car to car wash. always find an excuses to do it by myself because the level of satisfaction is very different.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Adrian on Oct 01, 2021 at 4:35 pm

regarding ur statement that we dont know what sort of liquid soap cheap car washes use, will my car get cancer in a long run?

• Cheap car wash is doing it myself every weekend, Matt. You must be quite well off to pay someone RM10 every time it gets a wash.

• Whats about bikini car wash? I feel they wash very good

• i agree with the article. I dont mind to pay 50 and above for carwash. Its really satisfiying, i have just average car about 10 years now but the paint still look very new and fresh. I think because i only use this kind of services to wash and polish my car..

• Raymond Yeong on Oct 02, 2021 at 9:18 am

The worryis not about money, what if they collected 30 bucks but giving 10 bucks quality wash? lol

• 3M Autocare Desa Sri Hartamas. they are good and professional.

• Walker on Oct 03, 2021 at 12:54 pm

Why there is no automatic vacuum inside the car, like outside automatic machine car wash, Can be drive truth also..

• newme on Oct 03, 2021 at 1:11 pm

Cheap car wash uses laundry detergent to wash.

• Ben Yap on Oct 04, 2021 at 11:36 am

the best car wash is to wash your own car with a proper car shampoo, micro fiber cloth and give it a good wax.

• Mark Wahlberg on Oct 07, 2021 at 7:57 pm

Lol chill guys, it’s basically a technical summary on car wash price difference and service disparity. Funny it became a thread for self-righteous rambles. People nowadays.. ha ha ha.

• LembutGenie on Sep 13, 2022 at 9:33 pm

Wow! Hey look.. it’s Mark Wahlberg of the New Kids On The road Block! Wah lao.. such amazings!

• Allen on Sep 12, 2022 at 9:51 pm

Come! I use water to wash for you. RM2.10 only.

• Melvyn on Sep 16, 2022 at 3:58 pm

How sure are we that a RM30.00 car wash dealers uses quality products and do they really clean every corner of your car. If you want a basic wash I believe a RM10.00 can do the same job. If my car is new I rather wash it myself. After one year I sent it to a car wash, after all it’s just a car. That goes with polishing & waxing also.

• Spiderman on Jan 11, 2023 at 1:29 pm

The last time i went to the car wash, not only the car started to have so much more power. Ever since that car wash i dont even need to refuel. The petrol just don’t go down anymore. Oh another thing, the engine also didn’t need anymore maintenance as the car wash was so blessed the engine is self servicing after every drive. Choose your car wash wisely.

• skyhafeez on Jan 11, 2023 at 3:06 pm

Agreed with the article. I dont satisfied wash my car at bawah pokok then decide self learn car detailing frm youtube and now its become my side hustle.

• William on Sep 11, 2023 at 9:15 pm

So which car wash center are good?

• Darth Evillus on Sep 11, 2023 at 10:19 pm

Klang valley the best car washes
    1) Sri Petaling Liberty Autospa
    2) Uptown Car Detailing Pearl Point
    3) Ara Damansara Pecman

I place my trust in Liberty Autospa. Man does the best job. RM50 well spent each week. I take the RM80 package though.

If frequent raining or depend on where I am when my car is too dirty,
    I do consider
    Klang Shiners Autospa
    7autospa Manjarala
    Glosswerkz Puchong

I did plan to try AutoDetailer Studio SS2 one day.