Mercedes-Benz A-Class Sedan, GLA CKD walk-around

The 2021 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Sedan and GLA are now locally assembled in Malaysia, bringing prices down and tantalisingly close to the magic RM200k mark. For the A-Class Sedan, prices are down between RM11,000 and RM19,000 over the previous fully-imported models, sitting at RM210,903 for the A 200 Progressive Line and RM239,858 for the A 250 AMG Line.

The GLA 200, on the other hand, is currently priced at RM232,379 (on-the-road without insurance), while the GLA 250 AMG Line goes for RM266,164. That’s also roughly RM12k to RM19k cheaper than their CBU counterparts. Keep in mind, these are on-the-road prices without insurance, but are inclusive of the sales and service tax (SST) exemption that has just been extended to June 30, 2022.

In terms of equipment, all four models are pretty similarly kitted from before, with slight changes made to the list. As usual, you win some, you lose some. No changes have been made in the powertrain department, so the 200 models rock a Renault-sourced M282 1.33 litre turbo-four that produces 163 PS and 250 Nm of torque, while the 250 models get the 2.0 litre M260 four-pot with 224 PS and 350 Nm.

Check out our walk-around video to see exactly what changes have been made. You can also browse CarBase.my for a more detailed look at their equipment and specifications, or compare them against any of the cars that you may have shortlisted for purchase.

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz A 200 Progressive Line

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz A 250 AMG Line

GALLERY: 2021 Mercedes-Benz GLA A 200 Progressive Line CKD

GALLERY: 2021 Mercedes-Benz GLA A 250 AMG Line CKD

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• No blind spot monitor for GLA200 and A200

• Sohai on Nov 07, 2021 at 12:24 am

Why GLA & A-Class? We don’t border that have this & that or don’t have this & that… We need CKD of CLA instead.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 03, 2021 at 6:04 pm

They should have just kept selling the CBU models instead. On the A250 the only 2 features you gain is the dual zone AC with rear AC vents and blind spot system BUT you lose out on 2 features too which are the cross drilled front brakes and auto high beam and let’s not get started on the additional kit that the A200 lost in the process.

Better luck with the CKD facelift models, MBM. This CKD spec sheet is garbage.

• Veloz on Nov 03, 2021 at 6:15 pm

Very nice compact Sedan.

• I’m sorry but the new GLA looks like a Teletubby or something. The older one especially in AMG guise looked so much more aggressive and sporty, like a muscular big hatchback; the newer one looks rounder and a lot more like an SUV now. Not a fan.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 04, 2021 at 1:51 pm

absolute overpriced garbage. im more worried what the new c class is gonna cost if these are the prices for the a class.

• Cmon man on Nov 04, 2021 at 4:08 pm

Honestly the 200s should be kept sub RM200k. Built quality are just as good as some Japanese cars.. reason why we pay more than RM200k is because of the engine. Now we’re paying premium for the badge.