Police now actively tracking down traffic offenders caught on video clips, says such action will continue

It’s a fact that dashcam videos record a great number of traffic infringements, but while many end up being uploaded on social media or being shared around, most of these offences go unpunished. That’s set to change, as police have begun taking action against errant motorists based on video clips recording their offences.

A number of posts on the official Facebook account of the traffic investigation and enforcement department (JSPT) show that the cops are now more aggressive in detecting and taking action against traffic offenders based on videos uploaded to social media.

Since last week, no less than five traffic offenders have been prosecuted after videos of the offenses they committed went viral on social media sites. All the videos were re-uploaded to JSPT’s Facebook page in posts titled Segment # Video Tular, which stated that all the offenders have been issued with fines for the offences.

Videos of traffic infringements reposted by the police included that of a Toyota Vios cutting dangerously from the left in Melaka, a video of a parked Toyota Prius C in the middle of an intersection in Ipoh, a video of a Perodua Bezza cutting dangerously from the left side of the road near the Lebuh Puncak Jelapang junction, Perak, and a video of a Toyota Alphard overtaking dangerously near Simpang Tiga Batu Puteh, Kulim, Kedah.

Police said they tracked down offenders to their homes and issued them a warning as well as a summons. So, take note – if you drive recklessly and your action is caught on a dashcam and becomes viral through social media, you could be in for a friendly visit – and a love letter – from the cops.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• So police are sub their task to netizen. That’s why they can give 80% discount. Low overhead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • Avenger on Jan 04, 2022 at 10:54 am

Like Marvel Universe, crime fighting cannot only depends on the fighter no matter how superpower they are, but the whole community & society as well. PDRM is doing the right thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
      • Dr Strange on Jan 04, 2022 at 12:23 pm

Yes, they should familiarise themselves with MU’s films & printed publications to help improve their skills in enforcement.

• Why So Serious on Jan 05, 2022 at 10:43 am

Movies teaches viewers to be civic minded and help others, once come out all become selfish minded and chose not to help.

• PlainBS on Jan 05, 2022 at 8:08 pm

MU’s movies are works of fiction meant to entertain.

• Safety First on Jan 04, 2022 at 6:01 pm

Catching traffic offenders on video isn’t at the same level as fighting crimes like robbery & murder. Even the police & other law enforcement agencies tell members of the public “Don’t take the law in your hands” & let those who are trained in law enforcement to handle the job. Yes, it’s for the sake of public safety… SAFETY FIRST!

• Dredd on Jan 05, 2022 at 9:29 am

If the public cannot be bothered to help the law enforcers uphold the law then it is time the public give all power to enforcers and allow ME to step in. JUSTICE FIRST, DREDD AGREES

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 03, 2022 at 5:18 pm

Hope this continues and not just one season of enforcement.

• Long overdue actually. Malaysia’s biggest traffic problem is the lack of ethics. No signal, dangerous maneuver, last minutes turn and lane hogging.

• Thumb up!

• The Boys in Blue on Jan 03, 2022 at 6:06 pm

I have not had the chance to go through most of these videos but reading about what happened to the blue Prius driver after watching that one particular clip brings great joy to my heart.

Dear Malaysian drivers, quit being so tak apa about everything. Have some basic human decency.

• How about.. on Jan 03, 2022 at 8:32 pm

How about overtaking lane hoggers?

Noticing more and more drivers lately cruising on the overtaking lane, even when the left lanes are clear and empty.

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 03, 2022 at 8:42 pm

……and yet, NFA on motobodo running reds.

• Avenger on Jan 04, 2022 at 10:55 am

Have you tried catching them on dashcam and upload vids to Segment # Video Tular?

• Dude80 on Jan 03, 2022 at 9:11 pm

Good Job !!!

• Getting the Power of Dream in future on Jan 04, 2022 at 10:03 am

By this, perhaps many Hondas will kena, I like Honda cars, but personally I do notice many just leave their love ones not very close to the road shoulder, or the drivers just not making much sense while moving them…not sure why, maybe I will understand better once I own one in future.

• Ahmad on Jan 04, 2022 at 10:29 am

And yet government needs dash cam from rakyat shows no adequate installation of CCTV. Waiting for tender to be open perhaps.

• If the law wasn’t watching, there would not have over 10 million samans paid last year.

• Spin Too Much on Jan 04, 2022 at 2:22 pm

Were all of them issued last year? When they were interviewed by journalists, there were traffic offenders who admitted that they were taking advantage of the discounts to pay for summons that were issued from a few years to almost a decade ago.

• Dredd on Jan 05, 2022 at 9:31 am

Regardless when they were issued, what matters is they WERE issued. The LAW watches.

• Avenger on Jan 05, 2022 at 11:36 am

The law watches at certain times. For other times, now use civilian dashcams.

• Ah Mad on Jan 04, 2022 at 12:23 pm

Ahmad…ahmad….
      Sy sarankan Ahmad belajar tinggi2 terutamanya bab undang2 sebelum membuat komen level otak udang.

• If you can’t afford security CCTV system for your home but you can afford a dashcam for your car, you can leave your car at home.

• Khairul izma on Jan 05, 2022 at 10:09 pm

PDRM should pay comission for those who take the pic.