Tree falls on Perodua Myvi in Wangsa Maju – another reason Special Perils insurance add-on is a must

A rather horrific dash cam clip of a large tree falling on an unsuspecting Perodua Myvi has been shared on Twitter by @rudyakhbar_. Said to have happened in Wangsa Maju, the video shows the sizable tree landing on the hatchback, while it was stopped at a traffic light intersection.

As the doors appear to have popped out by the impact, suggesting that the pillars have failed (or just about to), it’s looking likely that we’re looking at a total loss here. While it’s quite a shocking scene, the next question that pops up would be along the lines of “that’s terrible, I wonder if the insurance would cover the damage?”

The simple answer is yes, but only if the owner had opted for the Special Perils add on. This is yet another reason (the other being flood, obviously) that the optional add-on coverage package really should be made mandatory here in Malaysia.

If you’re unaware, the Special Perils add-on to your regular auto insurance includes cover for natural disasters and acts of God, including such an accident like this. Tick the optional box and you’ll be reimbursed by the insurance provider should your car suffer damage from natural disasters (a falling tree counts as one, as confirmed by Etiqa).

We have recently tabled the various costs of adding on Special Perils coverage from most auto insurance companies here in Malaysia, including AIA, AIG, Allianz, AXA, Etiqa, Kurnia, MPI Generali, MSIG, RHB, Takaful and Tokio Marine. The rates vary between 0.15% to 0.50% from company to company.

Click to enlarge.

For example, if you’re insuring a car for RM50,000, you’re paying as little as RM75 with MPI Generali, while other insurance providers like Allianz, AXA, MSIG and Tokio Marine offer the coverage for RM100. With higher rates like those provided by AIA, AIG, Etiqa, Kurnia, RHB and Takaful, the payable amount is between RM125 to RM250.

While certainly not negligible amounts, it sure sounds worth it if you ever need the coverage, right? Click here for more details on Special Perils add-on.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 04, 2022 at 9:04 pm

just goes to show how useless your basic motor insurance coverage in malaysia is. lets not forget the difficulty in claiming in accident involving motorcycles and lorries, or other cars who dont have insurance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Brian on Jan 05, 2022 at 9:19 am

Drive a tank then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
      • M’sian govt doesn’t allow civilians to do so.

• Sabrikorkor on Jan 05, 2022 at 12:26 pm

If JPJ wont lulus due to pillars failure,the Myvi dude has to repair at his own cost,double soldering at the “siew hon” areas of the pillars.
        If car broken into 2,of course too dangerous to sambong keta like those days.

• Alamak on Jan 05, 2022 at 1:27 am

Thunderstorm: 1

Pokok: 0

Myvi: Lu cari pasal sama saya kah?

• Truckers on Jan 05, 2022 at 8:03 am

Wangsa Maju still ok, can claim repair from DBKL. If in Selangor, makan sendiri wor.

• Habibu on Jan 05, 2022 at 9:49 am

I claimed MPSJ once, exactly same incident happen as this post. The processing time is about 6 months for me to get the compensation. Well, at least I got back my repair fee

• Special perils in this context can be tricky. Some insurance give you cheap rate for this but in the fine print, it only covers flood and water damage. It does not cover fallen tree, landslide etc. So, must read in details what it covers.

• Yada yada on Jan 09, 2022 at 6:57 pm

Haha, both right n left cars moved forward and kena. if only it dont go forward, or it speed up as the light turn green then maybe can avoid it but still will hit the car behind. This is luck. Bad luck.