Smartlane at NKVE – emergency lane opened up during peak hours, Setia Alam to Shah Alam, 60 km/h

Before you get on your high horse and try to viral cars using the emergency lane on the NKVE, make sure exactly where on the highway did it happen. Because it may be legal, and here’s why.

PLUS, operator of the NKVE, has received permission from the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM), in partnership with the police, to test out the effectiveness of a “Smartlane”, which aims to ease congestion during peak hours. Basically, the so-called Smartlane is the emergency lane opened up to traffic.

The Smartlane trial is on the NKVE from Setia Alam to Shah Alam, a stretch that is notorious for bad rush hour traffic. Specifically, it’s from KM 3.2 to KM 9.2 northbound, and the window is from 6.30 to 9.30 am on weekday mornings except public holidays. The speed limit is 60 km/h. The trial will be in place till January 23.

PDRM’s traffic investigation and enforcement department (JSPT) explains that the Smartlane trial actually started in October 2019, but was delayed to March 2020. Since then, traffic has been light due to the nationwide movement control order (MCO) and there was no need for an extra lane. Until now, as the school session has started and traffic is heavy again.

JSPT came out to explain the Smartlane because there was a viral video from earlier this week showing cars using the emergency lane at the said stretch. “Signs with Smartlane info have been erected on that stretch so that there will not be misunderstanding among highway users,” JSPT said, adding that it hopes that motorists will be more attentive to road signs and make sure of the facts before uploading content to social media.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Dong Gor on Jan 14, 2022 at 5:43 pm

When it has become a habit during peak hours, can we use that as a reason to plead not guilty if caught using it during non peak hours?
    This is very much similar to JPJ can’t really bring us to court for the unpaid summons as it’s not that we don’t want to pay, we are just waiting for 70% discount ya.

• Avenger on Jan 15, 2022 at 1:28 am

This is when we got more cars than roads to fit them in, some wonders if we’re really poor as some claim when we keep buying more cars that overfills the roads.

• Dr. Strange on Jan 16, 2022 at 7:09 am

There’s nothing to stop a lot of low income folks from driving around in old 2nd hand or hand-me-down vehicles that can still move on own power.

• Aura89 on Jan 17, 2022 at 9:51 am

Even in bad economy times, some brands have improved sales figures y-o-y. That is not a sign of a desperate citizenry.

• Avenger on Jan 17, 2022 at 2:47 pm

That’s the sign of citizens being drawn to the attractiveness of the false perception of affordability with the promotion of buy now, pay later consumerism.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jan 17, 2022 at 7:11 pm

The exclusive bus/taxi lane on Federal Highway preventing motorists from using BEFORE 8PM is very STUPID. Why is not just being exclusive during 2hrs MORNING and 2hrs EVENING?

• SayNoToEmergencyLane on Jan 14, 2022 at 6:18 pm

As usual, there will be lot of stupid drivers vs smartlane combo. These moron species will always speed & abuse other emergency lanes as well- hoping highway operator will make it legal later. Kena saman? No problem, wait for next Keluarga Malaysia 80% discount campaign. What’s next? Legal to drive contra-way to minimise jam? We can never be advanced nation when we always have backdated mentality.

• What’s new? Whenever there’s jam, 3 lanes become 4, 4 becomes 5 because Malaysian drivers kiasu. If this is allowed, this will only become a norm. What’s gonna happen when really there’s emergency where ambulances need to use? So this is the quick fix to solve congestion?

• Safety First on Jan 15, 2022 at 7:54 am

https://paultan.org/2021/12/27/prime-ministers-convoy-halts-ambulance-police-clarify-it-was-done-on-grounds-of-safety/

If VVIP convoys can do this because they want to stay safe (and not necessarily for the health & safety of the patient in the ambulance whose life hangs in the balance), no surprise that even the emergency lane can become a ‘casualty’.

• Even 10 lanes also same. on Jan 14, 2022 at 7:20 pm

If you can see, the congestion are because of the ‘susur keluar/masuk’ at bukit jelutong (bottleneck). Why not just build another flyover from the said intersection (Someone will said cost, feasibility study etc). If you are from bukit jelutong or guthrie corridor and wanna go to seafield, you must enter 100m nkve and exit to the elite expressway (jambatan panjang). Same goes for some fella if from setia alam.

For me, the above-mentioned facilities are not relevant for this day as hundred of thousands of car ‘enter’ (dibeli pengguna) the road each year…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • dogecoin on Jan 15, 2022 at 5:35 am

You notice bro the jam is always because our abang polis stop lorries in peak traffic hours right after the Bukit Jelutong tol? I drive from Bukit Raja to Subang daily at the same time. On the days no polis, no congestion at the intersection

• KL Commuter on Jan 15, 2022 at 12:30 pm

Not only that. There’s also traffic police stopping lorries coming in from the ELITE every morning, forcing people to criss-cross between lanes around that portion of the NKVE. All the canggih tech and surveillance we have today, yet brainless PDRM still choose to interrupt highway traffic.

• Ruslan Bahari on Jan 14, 2022 at 8:41 pm

Meanwhile, in the UK

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/jan/12/smart-motorway-rollout-suspended-amid-safety-concerns

• Celup King on Jan 15, 2022 at 10:49 am

Tally ho, old chap!

• Sam loo on Sep 17, 2022 at 2:41 pm

“particularly relatives of people who have died in crashes after being left unable to find safe refuge when their vehicles broke down.”

Drive conti car some more la, people ask you to buy Toyota you dont want.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 14, 2022 at 8:46 pm

what about real emergencies?

• Kapcai to work B40 on Jan 15, 2022 at 1:15 am

Kapcai to work B40

• Kapcai to work because we are B40 on Jan 15, 2022 at 1:19 am

This lane almost causing close calls & near missed unnecessary accident everyday for us the motorcyclist due to clever-rushing-racing-zigzagging-car. #STOPNKVESMARTLANE

• Safety First on Jan 17, 2022 at 1:46 pm

Zigzagging vehicles come in almost all types & sizes. Road safety is everybody’s responsibility regardless of how many wheels their vehicles have. SAFETY FIRST!

• SK9927 on Jan 17, 2022 at 7:50 am

A not so SMART move to the traffic issues. there is a lot debate on similar use in the UK too. and many fatal accidents resulting from those that really had to stop in the emergency lane.

• SmartLaneNotSoSmart on Sep 07, 2022 at 9:23 am

The writer just said “Before you get on your high horse”? The Smart Lane is basically giving permission to doucebags use the emergency lanes for them to cut queue right before the exit to Bukit Jelutong. It just creates another bottle neck there and then there’s another bottle neck 100 meters ahead with people going to ELITE highway and people entering NKVE.