Biker knocks side mirror of PLUS Smartlane user in Rawang – police urging both parties to make report

Here’s another incident where a car on the PLUS Smartlane – where emergency lanes on certain stretches of the highway can be legally used to ease congestion – angered a motorcyclist. Bikers must feel like they ‘own’ the emergency lane, not knowing that the lanes are fair game. By the way, Smartlane is not new for CNY 2024, and it has been used for some time now to ease rush hour traffic on the NKVE.

We’ve already seen one angry biker stopping his tourer and confronting a Smartlane user; now here’s another incident on the PLUS at KM 437.2 near Rawang. According to the car’s dashcam timestamp, it happened on February 10. It is said that an approaching motorcycle knocked the side mirror of the car, and as we can see from the video, the rider sped off.

According to Gombak district police, this case is being investigated under Rule 10 LN 166/59 and both parties involved are being urged to make a police report. The public and those who have information can contact officer Mazlan Bin Mohd Arifin at 012-4551413 or IPD Gombak at 03-61262222.

The cops say that the motorcycle type and number plate cannot be ascertained, but from the video above, it looks like DEV 9620. This got me wondering: why are motorcycles exempt from highway toll? If the idea is to not burden the working class, good, but surely you’ve got to be T20 to own some of these big bikes, which take up the space of a car and are often found going faster than most cars? And we’re not even talking about the convoys.

Here’s the full list of Smartlane stretches for CNY 2024.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• There are only two bikes that have that tail design (excluding some modifications). It’s either Yamaha R1 2018-present or Yamaha R15 (V4/R15M). But seeing the exhaust on the right side, my guess is Yamaha R15. Hardly a big bike. More like small bike, big self entitlement, and a fragile ego.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 2
    • Plate D negeri mana. Abeslaa moto DEV 9620

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Pejuang 3R & halalkan rasuah on Feb 13, 2024 at 2:56 pm

Negeri yg penduduknya tak kisah minom air paip karat/berlumpur itu pun kalau paip ada air la

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 6
        • With comments like this, no wonder the green wave is inevitable. Instead of complaining about Bangsa Majority, better you work hard and migrate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 30
          • Bossku, corrupt! on Feb 13, 2024 at 6:34 pm

If you can afford to migrate, you won’t be commenting on what he/she just wrote (even though you know what was written is correct!)

• The worst can finally claim to be the best when everyone else have left. Your inferiority complex is showing again

• Dah Memang Semua on Feb 13, 2024 at 11:32 pm

Rempit pon pakai “smart lane”
            Ingat sendiri Justice League

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 14, 2024 at 12:30 pm

Why does the D kelantan plate motobiker needs to riot. When Smartlane is there

• Karen kelate on Feb 13, 2024 at 2:56 pm

Looks like one of our no. plates, no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • Rest, Relax & Recreation on Feb 13, 2024 at 7:17 pm

Negeri yg byk penunggang
        Ada penunggang moto & penunggang (baik jgn cakap)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Emotional damage on Feb 13, 2024 at 2:29 pm

Shhh….jgn cakap kuat2…hurt my feelings….kita pretend bawak moto cc besau sebab tak mampu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Bunyi pergi dulu on Feb 13, 2024 at 7:43 pm

To reinflate that ego they fix loud exhaust pipes to announce their arrival but still 2km away lol

• Bossku, bodoh on Feb 14, 2024 at 5:04 pm

They are green supporters!! Don’t chin chai say anything about them. Otherwise their abang adik will come for your head!

• A rider… on Feb 13, 2024 at 1:42 pm

That’s not even a big bike.. that’s just another snob on 155cc tryna be a big bike.. and that last paragraph, i think its a good debate between the you (the writer ofc) and another paultan motorcycle writer.

• Himpunan selamatkan rider karen on Feb 13, 2024 at 2:32 pm

Jgn cabar hak rempit kita. We’ll take to the streets to protest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Org mesia mesra on Feb 14, 2024 at 6:08 am

Red car driver should give chase and reciprocate with a friendly tap on Karen rider’s shoulder. Bonus if Karen gets under the wheels

• a rider also on Feb 14, 2024 at 2:19 pm

Paultan writers mana kenal motorcycle types.

Most are 4-wheel snobs.

it is a 155cc bike lah

• “This got me wondering: why are motorcycles exempt from highway toll?”

Do you know how hard it is to use card while riding? You need to find your wallet, take card out of wallet, tap the card, put card back in wallet, put wallet back in pants. If it’s raining, even worse.

For car it’s easy, the card is already on your door or somewhere within reach.

Then there’s only 1 lane for motorcycle vs 10 for cars. Are you willing to give up some of your car lanes for motorcycles?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 99
    • You know why they’re exempt?

In the 80s/early 90s, when bikes were paying toll, they’re toll booth was located on the far left of any toll plaza. A lorry that was on the lane next to the bike lane rammed into some bikes that were queueing up to pay toll. Since then, it was deemed too dangerous and toll for bikes was abolished.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
      • Bossku, corrupt!!! on Feb 13, 2024 at 6:37 pm

No lah…majority of them are from a specific R. Any party which wants to govern the country must win their approval! So, they need to be “saved”!

• Chinko de mayo on Feb 14, 2024 at 2:00 pm

Your specific R is involved in money laundering ,brothels , tax evasion , cheating , scams ,corruption etc you are traitors from your motherland and came here as bangla worker and side with communists .you think you’re superior but ur god punish u with a small pecker ..living here for generations and only speak Cina

• Bodoh on Feb 13, 2024 at 5:51 pm

Don’t be an idiot . How Singapore can still charge motor bike for ERP ?

• Bossku, no brain! on Feb 14, 2024 at 4:47 pm

Sinkapore are mostly chinese people. They got brains! Enough said!

• Message to PT Team on Feb 14, 2024 at 7:25 pm

Can PT please filter out these racist comments. Keep your car blog clean

btw, no Sinkies of any race likes ERP 2.0

• About singapoor people on Feb 15, 2024 at 10:54 am

Brains without balls, only loans ;-)

So poor that they need to cross the bridge to sneaky-sneaky fill-in their tanks at Malaysian’s petrol station ah ah ah… Not so bright SingaBengs lol

Singapore is own by foreigners investors, locals are just housekeeping the Casino to collect a little bit of cash to eat food court…

Technically, beside money laundering for Ahmo, Singaporeans produce nothing. Nuts, zero ressources lol

• Juz pay toll if want to use! on Feb 14, 2024 at 2:15 am

As i know,in indonesia, bikes r not allow to use toll road, except some place like Bali, bike need to pay toll to use. If a country with higher bikers population can do, i cant see why here cant. Ask urself,
      1.did bike benefit from using toll road interms of time & comfort?
      2. did bikers use the facilities at r&r like toilet, etc, provided by the highway concessionaires?
      3. did bikes take up space while using the road or parking?

so to be fair, if bikes benefit from it, then shld pay the toll lah..how can enjoy for free..

• Bossku, corrupt! on Feb 14, 2024 at 4:50 pm

Ask yourself, how is Madani garmen gonna win next GE if they don’t feed the B40? Of course cannot charge them toll lah! Cannot even give them enough charity oledi…how can they force them to pay toll leh?

• Bob Vettel on Feb 14, 2024 at 8:57 am

RFID, no big deal.

• Motorcycles above 500cc pay higher road tax than cars or similar cc. Bikes pay in advance so they are not subject to tolls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Kek Wat on Feb 13, 2024 at 1:44 pm

“This got me wondering: why are motorcycles exempt from highway toll?”

Do you know how hard it is to use card while riding? You need to find your wallet, take card out of wallet, tap the card, put card back in wallet, put wallet back in pants. If it’s raining, even worse.

For car it’s easy, the card is already on your door or somewhere within reach.

Then there’s only 1 lane for motorcycle vs 10 for cars. Are you willing to give up some of your car lanes for motorcycles?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 80
  • hazri on Feb 13, 2024 at 1:45 pm

as expected, mesti ada mamat jakun yang tak tahu pasal smart lane ni. malas membaca, malas ambil tahu, tapi rasa dialah terpaling tahu. plate “D”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
    • gyitre on Feb 13, 2024 at 2:08 pm

Aound like a walaun

• Negeri D plate banyak penunggang on Feb 13, 2024 at 8:16 pm

Ada yg suka main unta, ada yg macam dalam video ni & ada yg suka main isu sensitif

• Bryant on Feb 13, 2024 at 1:50 pm

Don’t be disingenuous Danny, no bike is taking up the space of a damn car and warranting a toll payment on those grounds.

As for the rider caught hitting the car, let’s make one thing absolutely clear – there is no justification for vandalising another vehicle on the road. He should be charged and brought to justice simple as that. No self respecting rider will condone such behaviour.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
  • cager on Feb 13, 2024 at 1:55 pm

oh no, what have you done danny, now all the smelly BO bikers from perap in their sweat and day old food in their beards gonna come whack you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • “This got me wondering: why are motorcycles exempt from highway toll?”

Toll rates are typically based off vehicle weight. Road damage increases exponentially the heavier your vehicle is (fourth power law). Motorcycles compared to a car deal negligible wear damage to the road. If you’re wondering why taxis and buses pay less, it’s because they transport people. More people in taxis/buses means less congestion and wear on roads from privately owned vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
  • Emotional damage on Feb 13, 2024 at 2:23 pm

Don’t so mention the obvious la…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Pelik on Feb 13, 2024 at 3:08 pm

I have a semi related question, if this was a normal emergency lane, is it legal for bikes to use the emergency lane? From my understanding the emergency lane is only for emergency use. I really don’t understand why the bikers are angry at cars if the bikers are also at fault.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • joakim on Feb 13, 2024 at 3:57 pm

it’s the same reason they beat the red light (i bet everyone’s dashcam has at least 1 footage of a biker beating the red light)

it’s the same reason why they ride between lanes and start violently revving and honking the very second a car signals trying to switch lanes properly.

it’s the same reason they ride against traffic at their convenience.

it’s the same reason they ride onto pedestrian pathways and sometimes even park there at their convenience.

and the reason is called: self-entitlement. further aggravated by lack of enforcement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
      • Mesia boleh on Feb 13, 2024 at 5:46 pm

Or Mesia truly ass-ia better?

• Kea Was on Feb 13, 2024 at 11:53 pm

Well as posted by our traffic enforcement months ago.

Abang, yes, I know, we see this and it is against the law, but how strict should we be? If we do 100% enforcement the public will say police are heartless and without compassion, if we let it go then people will say we are not doing our jobs.”

• Bossku, corrupt! on Feb 14, 2024 at 5:09 pm

Looks like a lot of drivers feel the same about these pain in the a** bikers. But, what to do? This country is called MALAYsia for a reason!

• Common sense on Feb 14, 2024 at 10:37 am

Why?

Because it has been for decades à road customary for motorcycles to use emergency lanes. Everybody is already used to it and it NEVER created any problem.

Bikers can easily give way to ambulances or police, moreover emergency lanes provide a safe lane to smaller cc motorcycles who may disturb even the left lane because of limited speed.

In fact, car drivers should be happy that smaller (faster or slower) vehicles are allowed to use a specific lane.

Instead of pointing at the left, people should ask for an unlimited speed lane on the right! Just like in some highways section in Germany!

Speed does not kill, but confusion, hesitation and careless road manners do!

Let’s be honest about that topic:

Everybody agreed with that customary included cars drivers and police departments.

Now, with “occasional” authorization for cars to use those lanes, it will not only create confusion for bikers but also for car drivers! Confusion during driving or riding means factor of accidents!

Why CNY should be an emergency? Why emergency should become “Smart”?

In fact, whenever the word “smart” is added to something that already exist, it only reduce the user’s cognitives capacity. Everything become smart-tagged but people become dumber (assisted, monitored and restricted from any initiative, let’s put aside critical thinking…)

Smart doesn’t mean intelligent.

Motorcyclists are at higher risk compare to car drivers. The slightest contact with another vehicle can cause direct crash (death), not just some paint scratches and insurance procedure burden on the side of the road.

If cars drivers want that extra privilege, they should buy a motorcycle, so they will understand the difference between driving and riding. They will be thankful to have that “little privilege” and would understand WHY motorcyclists get upset when cars suddenly appear on the emergency lane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • I am with you on this. But, WE are the ‘minor’ oddballs. If two out of a hundred ain’t oddballs, who else is? Where common sense to us oddballs can be abbreviated to “com sense” & then paradoxically, non-oddballs can be attributed to having “cow sense”.

I like your com sense statement:- “Speed does not kill, but confusion, hesitation and careless road manners do!”. Add that with “super uber slow speed” on a Speedway. Unfortunately, cow sense prevails. Ask our one & only F1 derebar; Alex Yoong. He was LEGENDARY in *2 out of ~*16 races in which he qualified to allow faster drivers to pass. (His Petronas F1 Car is NOT slow!)

On the subject matter, although I do not know how to ride a bike, I am with the biker on this issue. It’s NOT that I like Rempits nor Big Bikers. This looks to me like a Vigilante 101 gone wrong. He hopes to correct and “educate” bad behaviors on the emergency lane. Little does he know he needs to be educated himself. If he had used a scratchable object instead of his gloved hand to “educate” the emergency lane driver’s car window, I would have thrown the book at him. For this case, I’ll let him off the hook & book.

• Oran Ganu on Feb 13, 2024 at 6:35 pm

Hahaha… oran demo mana tahu law jalanraya

• Biker kecik on Feb 13, 2024 at 6:40 pm

Personally i dont see this smart lane are easing any traffic congestion at all, its just make the traffic even worse with cars changing lane here and there.

Normally small cc bikers will use emergency lane on the highway…why, because we dont have the speed to ride along fast moving cars and lorry. If we are there, then drivers will be complaining about slow moving bikes. Also its safer for small cc bikes because we are away from big lorries and fast moving cars.

In heavy traffic situation, you may see we are having good times passing it on the emergency lane, but do you think it is safe if we are filtering the traffic between the cars? There is always some lazy guy and ladies who dont check on their side mirror and suddenly changing lanes. So its safer for motorcycle to use the emergency lane.

By the way, the person driving in the video, i would say he is selfish and not considerate. Even with smooth running traffic, he still want to use the emergency lane.

• Bossku, corrupt bodoh on Feb 14, 2024 at 5:01 pm

Aiya…you want to use emergency lane, just say so! No need to come up with lame excuse. What is the excuse of damaging a kancil’s side mirror if a biker can get through? If you don’t feel safe riding a lawn mower, work hard! Save enough money, stop having a large family when you can’t even get a car!

• Bossku, corrupt!!! on Feb 13, 2024 at 6:44 pm

Can you all imagine how this person would drive on the road if he can afford something decent like a Benz? Thank God he will forever ride a bike! Otherwise insurance premium for all vehicle drivers would skyrocket higher than Bossku’s nose hair can grow up!

• Buying votes by killing people! on Feb 13, 2024 at 8:43 pm

There is clearly no jam at all! What the hell this car is doing on emergency lane?? For years and years those lanes have been exclusively used by ambulance and bikes! That’s right! Why messing with already established rules?

Government has to stop that nonsense “part-time guessing” Smartlane game. There will be some serious hazard if cars drivers get used to do that.

• Emergency Lanes for Bikes?! on Feb 20, 2024 at 6:39 am

Wow! For years and years those lanes have been exclusively used by bikes!
      Since when the law has this published lol

• This got me wondering: why are motorcycles exempt from highway toll? If the idea is to not burden the working class, good, but surely you’ve got to be T20 to own some of these big bikes, which take up the space of a car and are often found going faster than most cars? And we’re not even talking about the convoys.

+1

• PLUS can easily erect gantries to show when emergency lanes can be used. From the video, even most drivers dunno it can be used and many still avoid it. I blame highway management.

• its very common for ‘super bike’ to think they rule the road…once i was on LDP, seeing not much car on my right lane so i gave signal to change lane, out of blue heard some honking…so i was confused when i looked behind there’s no car and i decided not to change lane…suddenly a ‘super bike’ passes by and smash my driver side wing mirror.

malaysia should change the law where currently i heard bikers crash into u, u still salah…rite?

• Borak land on Feb 14, 2024 at 1:09 pm

To be honest, we should ban motorbikes from using the higways as they pose danger to themselves and other road users. They ride exceeding the speed limit. They are not paying a cent but using R&R for free at our expenses. Blood suckers at worst.

• Bossku, bodoh on Feb 14, 2024 at 4:53 pm

Cannot! We know who rides motorbikes the most! The country is still 70% their gang! Any political party who wants to govern must win their votes!

• LogicLogic on Feb 15, 2024 at 10:45 am

Frustrated poor driver who think that on his ID it is written Chinaysia LOL

If not happy, return to your original gang’s motherland ;-)

• Lala Land on Feb 14, 2024 at 3:44 pm

I wonder also if toll roads are meant for motorbikes as they seem to conquer it. DASH is a good example where motorbikes seem to take over the highway.

• Car no brain on Feb 14, 2024 at 9:46 pm

The car deserves it! Use moto lane on broad day light. I would have smash his glass if I’m the moto

• Dunno what 7 u say on Feb 15, 2024 at 10:26 am

I drive n also ride. My bike is exempted paying toll bcoz I paid rm350 for roadtax

• Unless stated otherwise, a highway shoulder or emergency lane is specifically for emergency purposes. Generally, the emergency lane is reserved for the use of ambulances, fire and rescue, police, and enforcement agencies.

So this means it is also not a motorcycle lane….if you don’t know this, then you’ll need a refresher driving course.