Motorcyclist blocks a Proton Saga driving on NKVE emergency lane – driver was just using the Smartlane

Emergency lane abuse is a big no-no and can get you in trouble with the authorities. In some cases, there are even motorists that attempt to enact their own “justice” on culprits by purposely positioning their vehicle in a manner that blocks and prevents emergency lane abusers from gaining an advantage.

Such an incident was recently caught in a viral video posted on social media, which showed a motorcyclist blocking a Proton Saga driving on the emergency lane. Before you applaud the motorcyclist’s actions for “dishing out punishment,” you should know that the Saga driver has done nothing wrong.

Why? Well, the Saga driver is using the Smartlane that is currently put in place on the NKVE from Setia Alam to Shah Alam, a stretch that is notorious for bad rush hour traffic. To be more specific, the Smartlane is active from KM 3.2 to KM 9.2 northbound, from 6.30 to 9.30am on weekday mornings except public holidays – drivers must not exceed 60 km/h.

Based on the timestamp on the video, the incident took place on May 18, 2022, a Wednesday, at around 9.14am. As such, the Saga driver had every right to use the Smartlane, which PLUS Malaysia obtained permission from the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) to set up way back in January this year.

So, if you find yourself on this particular stretch of the NKVE and spot someone abusing the emergency lane, check the date and time before attempting to make that person famous on the internet for the wrong reasons.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• dong gor on May 23, 2022 at 10:01 am

This is that kinda of rubbish rules that will cause chaos.
    Emergency lane is emergency lane. just like traffic light, you can’t put red as trial for “GO”. it’s what it is man. if that is a bottleneck, then increase the lane for that stretch!!! where does all the tax money go?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 50
    • meladam on May 23, 2022 at 10:12 am

go travel more and see the world dude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 27
    • Autobahn on May 23, 2022 at 10:33 am

That is what the highway authority is doing, increase the lane during peak. The only problem is they didnt put signs every 500m to notify users

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
  • Kapchai on May 23, 2022 at 10:01 am

This is consider a type of reckless driving, road hogging, driving/riding with mental problem.
    Any rider or driver doesn’t have right to do this.
    More practically, you can horn, flash light, for a short period of time.

But on the fair side, more bikers are annoyed missing a safe biker Lane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
    • Don’t be a road bully..
      It’s a type of road rage.

• cilimerah on May 23, 2022 at 3:48 pm

if you talk about safety for bikers.. bikers always cheat while using hiway with motocyclist lane provided.

• Virus everywhere on May 23, 2022 at 10:12 am

Motorcyclist always think they are king on the road

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
  • digidigi on May 23, 2022 at 10:16 am

Those motorcyclist is the one abuse emergency lane, they thought emergency lane equal motor lane

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 2
    • they are also the main reason changing lane is difficult as they love to lane split at high speed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • newme on May 23, 2022 at 10:22 am

What do you expect of mat rempit? Breaking rules all the time and think they have the opportunity to uphold the law this time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
  • Waja Timur on May 23, 2022 at 11:33 am

Never see the signboard before. I am using it everyday. When they put the signboard???

• BeFaire on May 23, 2022 at 12:12 pm

Way back before MCO this is already implemented

• Brader on May 23, 2022 at 12:20 pm

You can see the signboard in the video. The signboard is on the left. Maybe u always use the fast Lane that’s why u missed them.

• You don’t deserve to drive on the road. Never aware of the signboard and surrounding after going through the highway so many times..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • Shamshul bin Nordin on May 23, 2022 at 11:35 am

Just standardized all the lane and rules and regulations.
    And please do a lane for motorcycle at the highway.
    And don’t forget signboard….
    Thank you

• Ashok Chhabra on May 23, 2022 at 11:40 am

Motor cyclist are the most indesciplined and traffic rile breakers on the roads these days. They beat red lights and swerve in and out in between cars and mostly ride on the right fast lane. Some idiots even ride in the Federal highways roads when thee is a special lane provided for motor bikes. They are risking their lives and endangering other roads users as well. Our JPJ and Traffic Polis are not taking any serious actions against such riders. Very shamfull lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
  • Please take action against motorcyclists beating traffic light, reckless riding , going against traffic, speeding etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Simon Wong on May 23, 2022 at 1:21 pm

At least PLUS should put bigger sign boards, much more signages & notices, electronic message boards, painting “SMART LANE” onto the emergency lane, etc
    On top of that, motorcyclists were always a manace for motorists especially in Klang Valley. They use emergency lane plus all the lanes they can access, especially the high speed lane on the right. Difficult to switch lanes.

• heartdoc on May 23, 2022 at 2:37 pm

i agree with the comment that the emergency lane is there for emergencies. i am stuck in this stupid stretch every morning
    the authorities should do something rather than come up with this stupid stop gap measure as it is not helping at all!!please paultan team, do something to highlight this matter!
    we the rakyat jelata have no where else to voice this out to..only media and social media can help us

• Stupid motorcylist! He has no right to use emergency lane too. Really rubbish!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Andrew Wong on May 23, 2022 at 4:43 pm

Paint some markers on the road surface on that stretch of road so no mistake is done

• bieight8 on May 23, 2022 at 5:39 pm

This so called smart lane is not that smart…

• Motorcycle also cannot use emergency lane…

• Ahmad on May 23, 2022 at 7:16 pm

Should put the biker to jail for road hogging

• mokingjay on May 23, 2022 at 11:31 pm

Not everybody can read the sign board while driving. This type of rule should not be implemented.

• User Motobike on May 24, 2022 at 11:28 am

For user motorcycle n cars . Perhaps u said that do you obey first regulation on when you do driver license ? Signal for changing lane ? . Did you do that ?? . And motorcyclist take all blame ?? .. yow dont said other people lah remind your self before said other people false .