Stricter monitoring for emergency lane abusers – Loke

Remember the emergency lane fiasco some two years ago? Well, the issue is being raised once again by Transport Minister Anthony Loke. According to a Bernama report, a stricter monitoring process will be carried out along the North South Expressway (PLUS highway) during this Hari Raya Aidilfitri period to identify errant motorists, especially those who abuse the emergency lane.

To facilitate this process, PLUS Malaysia had installed approximately 150 closed-circuit television (CCTV) cameras at every 10 km interval along the PLUS highway. “PLUS will monitor all the CCTVs through its control centre and it will zoom in on motorists abusing the emergency lane to get information on the vehicles, and then report the matter to the Road Transport Department (JPJ) which will issue the summons,” Loke told the media at a press conference yesterday.

He said when Ops Bersepadu was conducted in conjunction with Hari Raya Aidilfitri last year, a total of 83 summonses had been issued to motorists for abusing the emergency lane. Just like before, Loke urged the public with information on abusers of the emergency lane, such as having a video recording, to lodge a report with JPJ for further action to be taken.

As before, the summonses will be issued under Rule 53 of the Road Traffic Rules 1959 – each summon carries a maximum fine of RM2,000 or jail time not less than a year. For those who will be riding their motorcycles on the highway for the balik kampung journey, read this.

For the rest of you who are about the make the long trip home, we at paultan.org wish you a pleasant and safe journey. Remember, obey traffic rules and keep you and your loved ones safe. Selamat Hari Raya, folks!

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Bernard on Jun 14, 2018 at 10:11 am

There should be a weeks jail term. A fine is not going to stop people from breaking the law.

Please understand that for most malaysian drivers and especially riders, the law is their enemy and they have no respect for it.

Jail the parasites!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • Dompok on Jun 14, 2018 at 1:32 pm

LOL Probably they can only understand their own rule of the jungle book. Upbringing with ineffective and non-relevant emphasizing afterlife education in their society.

• lolpanda on Jun 14, 2018 at 1:33 pm

Yes i admit wrong. in our local slang, this we call “cilok”.

• Rightwinger on Jun 17, 2018 at 6:37 am

Spot on. I agree with the jail term. Would love to see cells packed with stupid Penang drivers.

• wahahaha on Jun 14, 2018 at 10:14 am

Why censor that audi’s plate number?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Ben Yap on Jun 14, 2018 at 10:38 am

if you drive a BMW, kena saman pun tak rasa…. unless that BMW is rented.

• hassan on Jun 14, 2018 at 10:40 am

Kindly upload JPJ link to report
    emergency lane abusers.
    Thank you.

• Throw the book at those who choose to abuse the emergency lane.

Do they think they are VIP’s and don’t need to follow the road rules like other road users? I’d lock them up for a couple of weeks, that would be a reasonable deterrent!

Absolute idiots who don’t deserve a driving license

!!

• Hypocrite on Jun 14, 2018 at 10:45 am

Now they realised jpj and traffic police are cash cows they doing it now in the name of public order. Last time these same people were the ones making noise about AES, saman ekor, selling plate no and calling it cari duit lebih. Sheer hypocrisy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 13
    • Musang King on Jun 14, 2018 at 11:56 am

Deswai previous Transport minister kene cari duit lebih. Mr Brylcreem paid rm808K for pipu to do his school assigment, to write his newspaper columns & buy hair gel. Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Mr Brylcreem? U mean the current FM now? The same one whose mouth frightened off RM3 Billion per week?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • Pakatan Hypocrisy, is their name u know…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
  • Digidigi on Jun 14, 2018 at 11:03 am

yes, impose heavy fine ( more than 1k) and license ban (one year ban), Malaysian driver is quiet uneducated compare to others developed country in this regards

• drMpower on Jun 14, 2018 at 11:16 am

Ah Loke. Get a cabinet paper ready to empower public to snap pics of these road rowdies. So that these pictures are eligible to atleast to be allow/initiate law review. At the same time get the AG to amend some laws to give power to these pictures
    In the meantime Ah Loke, call me. I can help you to prep an image monitoring system that are 99% fool proof so that your newly amended laws stand water. It just I need some grants for this. 5 million usd would be just enough

• Hahaha good one

• Bus Passenger on Jun 14, 2018 at 12:14 pm

https://paultan.org/2017/01/27/snapping-photos-or-videos-of-traffic-offenders-while-driving-to-channel-info-still-an-offence-says-jpj/

• Talk only.

• Smokey on Jun 14, 2018 at 11:19 am

Any info on the actual link to report? Can i report queue cutter and also anonymously?

• hondaman on Jun 14, 2018 at 12:00 pm

Don’t be lazy, go & check at JPJ website or twit to them…..if they reply laa…hahaha

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 14, 2018 at 11:20 am

time to bring all those supercar tax dodgers to task…..

• Good this time with new govt I hope police and jpj dont give anymore discounts for settling tickets. One guy who used the emergency lane even got angry and hooked at with me when I high beamed him for swerving into my lane. Unbelievable! Rules need to be established whether people like it or not. Selamat Hari Raya and Drive responsibly.

• Good, time for strict enforcement on transportation law. Not only using emergency lane during hariraya, it should be all the time and all road offences.

• Macai PH on Jun 14, 2018 at 11:45 am

Aiyo, saya potong setiap 10 km, bila sampai cc camara, I potong dalam. Mana boleh tangkap?

• HooHa on Jun 14, 2018 at 12:07 pm

Ah Loke, Pls la, go to China study how they can actually effectively adhere the rules. What do you think of China drivers? I tell you they are 10 times worst than here, but then the policy works today! 4 over speed a year, you not only pay heavy summons, but your license will be ban. Bite the bullet, implement it, I am very sure this will tremendously reduce accident!

• subway on Jun 14, 2018 at 12:24 pm

let them do the charity work for 1 week..ask them to clean public toilets or school toilets..

• The fine is too little.. I think 2 months license revoke and daily report to IPD will be better… This will let them know the troublesome of not able to drive a car…

• Rodney on Jun 15, 2018 at 3:11 pm

What about those playing with handphone while driving. They are the main reason the jam started nowadays besides slowing down to see accident. I always see drivers holding their hp.

• RodaEmpat on Jun 18, 2018 at 1:10 pm

Keep motorist from emergency lanes. Keep motorcyclist away from highways lane when there are lane for them. please la. Don’t just monitor monitor n monitor only. Do swift enforcements , as usual is very incompetent. The authorities lopsided focus on speeding have inadvertently allowed other violations to be rampant. Holding mobiles while driving. Motorcyclist with helmet. Jus to name a few. Enough of talking n talking. Actions with consistent enforcements please la……