Can motorcycles use the highway emergency lane?

AppleMark

A recent Facebook posting showed a photo of a motorcyclist using the emergency lane on a toll highway, along with a rant from the poster taking the rider to task getting angry at a car occupying the lane. Other users then chimed in on post, saying that while cars and other four-wheeled vehicles are banned from using the lane, motorcyclists are given a certain leeway to do so.

This is somewhat allowed by the authorities since bikers do not occupy the entire lane, do not cause traffic congestion on the highway and are able to move out of the way if necessary when an emergency vehicle needs to use the lane, as well as increasing the margin of safety for both riders and drivers during traffic jams. However, Datuk Wan Ahmad Uzir Wan Sulaiman, JPJ deputy director-general, has gone on record in an mStar Online report saying that the emergency lane is for the exclusive use of authorised vehicles in case of emergency.

“Any vehicle, including motorcycles, are not allowed to use the emergency lane,” Wan Ahmad was reported as saying. According to Wan Ahmad, road users caught using the emergency lane can be charged under the JPJ Act, 1987. “Offenders can be fined up to RM2,000 or up to six months jail, or both,” he said.

In an earlier paultan.org report, traffic police chief Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP) Mohd Nadzri Hussain said that no vehicle is allowed to use the emergency lane, even motorcycles. He said this in response to another Facebook post showing some riders kicking off the wing mirrors of cars using the highway emergency lane during a traffic jam, pointing out the bikers were not supposed to be there.

So, there you have it, the law is the law, and states unequivocally that no vehicles are allowed to use the emergency lane unless authorised. But, with traffic conditions the way they are on Malaysian highways, especially during festive season and long holidays, and during rush hour, the police and JPJ do not enforce this law on motorcyclists in the interests of keeping traffic moving and the safety of all road users.

What do you think? Does being pragmatic and allowing motorcyclists to use the emergency lane a good thing, especially during heavy traffic? Leave a comment with your thoughts and opinions, below.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• thank you Sir
    well written
    well done

i will print and keep and if people argue, will show what jpj and polis big shot said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
    • Sinister on Sep 07, 2017 at 3:25 pm

I have seen fatal accidents of bikers crashing into vehicles stopped at the emergency lanes. Even crashing into police cars helping people on the emergency lanes. Lets keep emergency lane as it is and not a biker lane for our pampered and spoilt motorcycle riders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 36
      • Redidiot on Sep 07, 2017 at 7:05 pm

Pampered and spoilt????…by right each motorcyclist is allowed to take the same space as a car in the lanes, as per practice in Europe and US. But us car drivers are more valuable here right? We are bigger and faster so we deserve the right to push them pesky motorcyclist to sides no???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 18
        • Amirul on Sep 07, 2017 at 10:03 pm

On normal roads i will agree on the right of lane argument, but on highways..i disagree since motobikes do not pay toll.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 31
          • I’m a car driver and also a motorcyclist. I vote for motorcyclists CAN use emergency Lane wether it’s on normal Road or not. Because it’s A LOT SAFER for them and they won’t bother the ambulance. They can quickly give way to ambulance if there’s emergency not like a car that will takes time to get back in the right Lane and anger everybody.

Its just the motorcyclist please don’t be an a.hole honking to any vehicle on your way. Sedar la diri jugak sikit. Nowadays many motorcyclist are like that. Stressed when involved in traffic jam even though u are already way faster than a car at that time.

About the issue of many motorcyclist crashed onto vehicle parked on emergency Lane, I think that it’s their own fault for not paying attention to the road.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 15
          • Ceh.. substandard thinking. Just becoz they do not pay toll, they deserve to be push to the side? So where do they want to ride on highway? On emergency lane is wrong, on legal way push by the side by people like you. Just because you pay, did not make you own the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
          • Pak menteri nvr ride motorbikes deswai they discriminate

• PotatoJames on Sep 07, 2017 at 10:52 pm

Motorcyclists SHOULD take the same space as a car, not cut queue at traffic light until there are 30-40 motorbikes in front of the first car which causes traffic lights to move very slowly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 25
          • PotatoJames on Sep 07, 2017 at 10:53 pm

*cars at traffic lights

• yeah, let 30-40 bikes to que like normal cars in front of you. and instead of 2 times green light for you to pass, take 5 times.. how about that?

• Horizon Sailor on Sep 07, 2017 at 5:00 pm

Thank You Mohan. What a great article.

it is clear right now that bikers too not allowed using the emergency lane.

However, on your last second paragraph telling us that enforcement (JPJ/Police) didnt take action to bikers who violates e-lane just because to ease the traffic congestion during festive/heavy traffic.

but dont forget, the exception using emergency lane for motorcylce (when there is no proper motorcycle lane) is upon the “budi bicara” roadblock guys there. If the roadblock officer have a rough day earlier, for sure getting fined/compound.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • So if bikes/cars also can’t use emergency lane, what’s the use of the lane?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • donno on Sep 08, 2017 at 3:46 pm

How about the Penang Bridge? On the bridge there is multiple signs that explicitly tell motorcyclists to use the emergency lane.

• penangite on Jan 15, 2018 at 8:11 pm

its because there is no motorcycle lane made on the bridge, so the emergency lane acts as a make shift lane for motorcyclists’ safety, or would you prefer them to occupy and congest the bridge?
        P.S. there is a motorcycle lane on the second bridge in case u didn’t notice

• Periasamy on Sep 07, 2017 at 12:15 pm

Past few weeks, motorbikes are not just using the emergency lanes, they are using ALL lanes on Federal Highway

Polis all tidur. Infact, motorbike see PDRM officer on fast lane, I saw him lambai at the PDRM officer.

PDRM office scared to chase him or call for back up cause it is lunch time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 40
    • I also the one amongs the riders who jump into federal hiway. This is because of motorcycle’s lane has been closed for renovation or upgrading at Jalan Templer (KL – Shah Alam) and at Sunway/Subang (Shah Alam – KL). We also dont want to do that but poor rerouting or temporary lane prepared by the authoroties cause the act. But in term of safety… YES it is dangerous.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 8
      • People who not ride will not know the problem face by riders. He think riders are happy to ride on Federal Highway without using motorcycle lane.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 09, 2017 at 8:02 pm

jump lane is ok…but mostly are just rempiting on every single lane zig zag here and there…

• ahmad ab hamid on Sep 07, 2017 at 10:44 pm

I strongly believe that small capacity motorcycles should be allowed to use the emergency lanes. If they use the motorcar lanes it will cause congestion as small capacity bikes are slow moving vehicles. I ride one but seldom exceed 90 kph. Even if I wish to go faster the engine will not go. If it go it is very unstable and pose danger to the rider.

Imagine a car behind you at 90 kph trying to overtake you. You will be sucked towards the car causing crashed that scratch the car but kill the rider

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • Ruslan Bahari on Sep 07, 2017 at 12:16 pm

Motorcycles Boleh! JPJ director orso using emergency lane kan…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
    • Betui, betui… We should follow by example

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • bikers are mad at car drivers using emergency lanes because in the event of ambulance coming from behind, they know the inconsiderate drivers will kelam kabut to return to the slow lane. compare this to motorbike which can stop fast by the side and allow the ambulance to proceed. one car can give 5 seconds delay to ambulance, 30 cars delays the ambulance by 150 seconds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 17
      • Yes it’s true. But i never see any ambulance using that e-lane. Always blow the siren while in the right lane and make ppl panic. Can i suggest that e-lane should be use by the emergency vehicle and not go to the middle of the road, honking and siren-ing. Also, those pak menteri to use that e-lane if they want be fast. Not ask the police to escort them and make the traffic even more congested. When the elane is not use as it meant to be, then, ppl will take lightly and use them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • v-tec fan on Sep 07, 2017 at 12:17 pm

in my opinion, motorbike should use only emergency line as they have a lot of blind spot and so as car driver.few time i saw car almost hit the biker as the biker too close and at the car blind spot area. than sometimes the biker at so call” fast not fast, slow not slow” where we car driver don’t know should over take or not. but this is my opinion

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 2
    • RicoT on Sep 07, 2017 at 5:51 pm

Motorcycles are actually not allowed on gazzeted highways without proper bike lanes, until one minister approved the bike to be allowed on highway, on ground that fuel price skyrocketed high. Note fuel price low, yet not reimposing the ban anymore. Therefore, many innocent motorcyclists had died by his hands since then.

• TheSaint on Sep 07, 2017 at 12:18 pm

I think motorcycle should be allowed to use the emergency lane on the highway for the safety of all.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 11
  • Ethan on Sep 07, 2017 at 12:19 pm

So….. my DVR has records of such motorcyclists. What should I do with it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
    • What do you want to do with it brother? I am one of the motorcyclist that WILL use the emergency lane whenever i must. I feel safer since my kapcai is slow. Well,whatever it is,you still can’t drive at the emergency lane because the law says so brother. Please dont be angry with me brother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
  • Whether its 2 wheels or 4 wheels, as long as it has emergency, then it can use emergency lane

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • Yang Bijak on Sep 07, 2017 at 3:04 pm

Malam jumaat emergency lettew..

• Define your “emergency” brother when the police stops you or people send your car photos using the emergency lane to the police.

• brother, your slow kapchai is an emergency? better send videos of your slow kapchai using the emergency lane to the police

• Brother,my slow kapcai is not emergency. And i will still use the emergency lane when required to. I feel much safer there. While cars still cant use emergency lanes. If u feel better send videos of slow kapcais using the emergency lane to the police,feel free to do it brother john. The videos wont help the cars getting into the emergency lane still.

• Brother,my kapcai is not emergency and i will still use the emergency lane when required to. U can send videos of slow kapcai using the emergency lane but cars still cant use the emergency lanes. When i drive and i see one or two cars using the emergency lane,i see a selfish act of drivers who potong que.

• And what about marshalls in bike convoys waving other drivers to move aside? Perhaps PT can have a separate subcolumn addressing FAQs about road regulations and ethics.

• I was one of the bikers before. My opinion,drivers don’t have to follow what the marshall bikers ask u to do. They don’t have the authority to do so. Nowadays,big bike convoys “agak melampau” as if they own the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Ariff on Sep 07, 2017 at 8:53 pm

For your safety reasons, if you ever meet thst kind of situation better stay away for safety reasons unless your situation does not permit to stay away in time. Just stay on that lane. Son’t have to explicitly folloe the Marshalls’ instruction.

• Has everyone gone mad? the emergency lane is for vehicles to stop if they have problems with their vehicles which otherwise cannot move normally. authorities like police, bomba and ambulance have sirens to go on the main road and have other vehicles move out of the way. even JPJ vehicles with sirens cannot enjoy the same benefits as police, bomba and ambulance in this regard. JPJ ada emergency apa to attend to? Road tax expired?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • Fahmy Sabudin on Sep 07, 2017 at 12:55 pm

I ride to work everyday on my EX5 using the federal highway and I seriously dislike riding outside of the motorcycle lane, however, where motorcycle lanes are not available, I feel that the emergency lane is the safest for a small and slower motorcycle such as mine to be in. If motorcycles are not allowed to be in the emergency lane, where would the best place to be? The left most lane where busses and trailers and other heavy vehicles occupy? Such a predicament in a country where motorcycles have been a part of the traffic scene since pre-independence. Normal cruising speed for kapchai on the highway would be 80 – 90 kmh where cars will be doing about 90 – 110 kmh, so where does that put us? That does not take into account uncles who do a leisurely 50 – 60 km/h.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 189 Thumb down 1
    • Sasquatch on Sep 07, 2017 at 3:24 pm

You got it all spot on right there. True/ genuine fact is a lovely thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • safety 1st on Sep 07, 2017 at 4:46 pm

fahmy sabudin….the standard motorbike speed in the morning is 90kmh maybe right..but the car speed is between 0-5km/h crawling….then these bikers will be weaving in and out between cars and causing unnecessary stress to other road user to look up for them coming from all over direction.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • Ok safety 1st…based on your nick name,what do you think one of the good suggestions u can give?

• Free man on Sep 08, 2017 at 1:18 am

No need to look up for motorcyclists, just use your signals and your sidemirrors when switching lanes.And for riders, come on, be considerate to other road users.

• Rambling Mind on Sep 08, 2017 at 9:52 am

You give signal to turn. The motorcycle will be 300m away and honking furiously at you. So what courtesy is there?

• nemesis on Sep 08, 2017 at 12:15 pm

free man, just like i said.. one second there is no bike visible from side mirror.. the next second there he is coming from another lane squeezing between your car honking furiously for switching lane coz the bike so vvip cannot slow down or stop to give way.. the best part is… if the bike hit your car…. his cabuk bike cost him 3k but ur car paint cost you more and a lot more if side mirror or anything else broken.. and then when you want to claim insurance also it will be at your own insurance claim cost cannot claim from motorbike..

• Then wait for for the lane to be clear lah. Then u change lanes during the jammed. I never tried honking cars that wants to change lanes during the jammed 300m away. Might wanna try lah like this.
            You door got hit by the cyclist,the cyclist got injured. Your door got injured too. So might as well cyclist honk you 500m away before the cyclist got injured n u dont change lanes until the line is clear.

• Fazil on Sep 07, 2017 at 1:05 pm

Even red lights are non existent for our rempits…emergency lane. Whath??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 28
    • Fazilah on Sep 07, 2017 at 2:20 pm

not all bikers are rempits bro

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 3
      • safety 1st on Sep 07, 2017 at 4:47 pm

fazilah..that is correct…but all rempits are bikers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • rm -rf * on Sep 07, 2017 at 5:38 pm

but all racer are driver. (Such logic..)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • Whether rempits, bikers, racers or drivers, all must follow JPJ and its director

• Sembang kacang. Talk so much. Everyday on federal highway got outriders and siren cause massive jams by using emergency lane to go through rush hour traffic.

The worst part is, it is the banduan going to mahkamah. Got special police escort of two polis cars and going through traffic.

Now, even banduan got this special privilege.

Open abuse. Nothing is done JPJ.

• Never let the criminals and on the road for long time. You cannot imagine what will they do if they run away.

• TreeHugger on Sep 07, 2017 at 1:26 pm

bikes using the emergency lane in highways are win-win situation for both bikers and car or truck drivers and should be kept that way. otherwise, it will only create more congestion for everyone. on the other hand, car drivers using the emergency lane, be it VIP or not, rich or poor, are simply act of pure selfishness and really the worst attitude you can see on the road.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 1
  • The law is the law .. and since motorcyclist cant use the e-lane .. we demand use of the first lane lor, since no special lane is provided for our safety ..

Or maybe, no tax on motorcycles so that we can buy harley with ease ..

I often experienced motorist overtaking motorcyclist with less than one meter between them .. what i understand is that 1 meter is the law ..

Can Paultan make an articke about this??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
  • musangKing-originalz on Sep 07, 2017 at 1:46 pm

motorcycles should be banned from using highway in the very place. highway is designed for cars.

If motorcycle caught using the highway, then”Offenders should be fined up to RM2,000 or up to six months jail, or both”

case closed. now come here, thumb me up. thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 129
    • Malaysian on Sep 07, 2017 at 2:07 pm

Some bikes costs more than your car bro..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 10
    • RoadUser on Sep 07, 2017 at 4:03 pm

Not the best solution.

Ideal solution would be to ban motorcycles under 150cc or so, unless the highway has dedicated motorcycles lanes.

This makes sure the bike can cruise comfortably at around 100 km/h, making them about the same speed as a car on the left lane.

Better yet, make it a traffic offense for driving/riding too slow for a long period of time. Doesn’t matter if it’s a motorbike or a car, it is very frustrating when you end up behind a vehicle doing 60 km/h on the highway with overtaking lanes full of cars going 120 km/h++.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • Not everyone can afford motorcycle with big cc like you

• RoadUser on Sep 07, 2017 at 6:36 pm

Which is why those that have a smaller CC bike should only use non-highway road. Would you like having to share a motorcycle lane with those electric scooters that can only go 30 km/h?

Nobody is forcing you to use a highway.

• Actually, if you study Transportation Engineering, all highways are designed for trucks, not cars.

I only recently acquired a B2 license after almost 30 years of driving a car and in my opinion, just allow the motorcyclists use the emergency lane for their safety reasons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Brian on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:56 pm

I think u have problems so for those poor ppl don’t have car.festival how they go back home town think and talk

• Win win on Sep 08, 2017 at 12:22 am

Why don’t just ban all motorcycle from being sold and reduce car price to a value that everyone can buy even the poor. So in this case no more motorcycle and everyone will jam together. Then reserve the emergency lane to those that need such as ambulance or car breakdown…

• Peace Seeker on Apr 16, 2024 at 8:04 pm

Idk wats logic is this . Then why don’t we all used public transport (to whom had viable option) & car pool (of course if viable also) with friends/co-workers which on the same way.. I’m sick of ppl that don’t have absolute experience both driving & riding, complaining at each other & please be considerable with each other .

• Kita minum dulu!! Jom... on Sep 07, 2017 at 1:51 pm

Means thousands of them are now in jail???.sure or not…or tis just talking koke law onli….can i have record breaking thumb down or not..tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • AhKeong on Sep 07, 2017 at 1:58 pm

I prefer motorcycles using the emergency lane rather than lane splitting between right lane and middle lane. Safer for them safer for us car drivers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
  • makan kacang with nasi on Sep 07, 2017 at 2:12 pm

how about the bicycle with superman style kids.

• Build proper n safe motorbike lane first if the law to be enforced on motorbikes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • Allowing motorcycles to use emergency lane is the best for all parties. If not, they will interrupt the already jammed car lanes. It is harder for cars to change lane when there are motorcycles ciloking in-between lanes…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • Stephen Lean on Sep 07, 2017 at 2:35 pm

I’m a bike user myself on the highway. Please note that not all bikes have the capacity to go fast or maintain a 110 km/h speed. Just imagine that you are driving along the highway and you have to cut out every now and then to avoid knocking on this slow bikers. I think it’soit’sore accident prompt. Moreover I have never come across any bikers obstructing the highway by using the emergency lane. Penang bridge is a good example where bikers are advice to use the far left lane which is like the emergency lane. When the bikers are only allowed to use the main lane the the car users will complain that this bike are hindering or slowing the traffic down. Think about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • As I know, In Indonesia (Jakarta) 2 wheels (bicycle/motorcycle) are not allowed to use highways. Except police’s motorcycle.

• Better for motorcycle use emergency lane for safety reason

• what??? i thought they are using ALL lanes all the time????

• The police dont implement anything here. thats the issue. make all the rules and cars only get into trouble. bikers get away with :-
    1. Beating lights
    2. Joining traffic on the opposite lane at crossroads
    3. Riding in the WRONG / OPPOSITE DIRECTION. even cops on bikes do it.
    how to solve so many issues ?

• Disagree with this stupidity law since we know how Malaysian driver drive their car not knowing how to give signal before changing lanes or exiting highway junction at a very last minute .im a car driver and also ride my bike daily to work.Elite Highway is my normal routine route that I had to go thru daily. PJ-KLIA-PJ. U guys have no idea what this rider had to go thru on the highway every day. I agree there’s equal amount of stupidity driver and rider out there(rempits, red light beater, cucuk belakang punye species even your on the slowest lane) . Don’t judge one side if you haven’t even try it yourself to be in their shoes…..Do u seriously can be considerate if there’s bikes between lanes on both side of your car while driving on the highway? I bet tons of u would curse for having to see bikes do that on the highway. Especially when bikers are moving faster than you cars.Federal highway motorcycle lane is a joke…….totally unsafe for riders especially when it’s wet. I bet u guys don’t know how it’s like ride in those lane huh……. And I’m not surprised if some of you don’t even care coz it’s not even your problem, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
    • safety 1st on Sep 07, 2017 at 4:50 pm

wan, the problem is when motorbike dont stick to one lane. instead you guys weaving in and out between lanes in a relatively fast speed. one second in there is no motorbike in the side mirror, right when we steer to the right..the horrn blaring from a bikers coming from nowhere….so if you bikes know your lanes, and keep a safe distant from the vehicle in front of you, even when the car hit the emergency brake you can still avoid from crashing…not only when he forget to turn his signal light.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • And so does the cars also should know your lane and don’t switch lanes when there are bikes weaving in and out. Just follow your lane. Once clear,then can switch lanes if you want to n please turn on your signal. I am driver n i am also a motorcyclist. Thank you.

• nemesis on Sep 08, 2017 at 12:22 pm

dude we only care about our precious car being dented.. not your life.. so if you so keng with your motorbike then by all mean keep on doing lane changing n weaving between lane at high speed.. car worse case dented n need repainted.. bikers normally bike gone and bone broken … good part is u get 2-3 weeks mc

• Well dude. U still cant use the emergency lanes. Well u dont care about cyclist got injured,cyclist will not care about u n your car dude.

• Ariff on Sep 07, 2017 at 8:22 pm

All you need is give us 5 second earlier of signaling and we slow down giving you the time to change lanes. Malaysian drivers and especially riders have a bad habit not giving signals to show their intended direction, that includes police traffic.

• Ariff on Sep 07, 2017 at 8:27 pm

All we need from drivers and especially riders signaling 5 seconds ahead to change lanes or directions. Most of time none giving signals and sometimes not more than 3 seconds. How do you expect us not to get near-accident situation.

• Tricycle on Sep 07, 2017 at 8:28 pm

Strongly agree with you bro. The worst is malaysians always know how to blame others and didn’t ever want to think that what is the real law in the first place. They simply don’t know that what they do are totally wrong and really exposed them to danger. Im sick of typical malaysians.

• Fauzi on Jun 16, 2018 at 10:11 pm

You think rider change lane for leisure? We change lane bcuz some A*hole block the way.. Its obvious you cant change lane bcuz its jam yet you still stick your car and block the road.. What a busuk hati.. Want people to stuck..

• Thines on Sep 07, 2017 at 3:45 pm

Do all the bikes are can be in the lanes following car speeds? How if Honda EX5 on the 2nd lane and car speed on 110kmj? Do u think its logic for bikes to be same as car speed on the highway lane? And its not safe at all for bikers.. They are safe till they are on emergency lanes. Don’t compare with bike with 150cc and above, not everyone is can own bikes with 150cc and above.

• Let’s hear from the highway authority, Lembaga Lebuhraya Malaysia (LLM) and the highway concessionaires.
    The Police and JPJ has confirmed that no vehicles including motorbikes are allowed to use the emergency lanes.
    During the initial proposal and design concept stage prior to the approvals and construction of the highways, did the respective parties ever considered a motorbike lane to be included in the design of the highways?
    Or was it that they had planned that the emergency lane to be served as a motorbike lane too?
    It would be very disastrous to ever think that motorbikes are to share the same lanes with the bigger and heavier vehicles. Safety should be an upmost priority in any design of logistic and transportation routes.
    Lets hear the response from LLM and Highway Concessionaires.

• Its not mandatory to have bike lanes, especially when geography/cost dun permits. In EU, bike lanes is rare, bikes travel on main roads as other vehicles. All it needs is education and basic human respect & courtesy to one another, however MY pipu r regressing to primates when on roads.

• Bernard on Sep 07, 2017 at 3:58 pm

The motorcyclists who damage the side mirrors of cars etc should charged with criminal damage and imprisoned.

Those who use the emergency lane should be fined.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Mr. Octopus on Sep 07, 2017 at 4:05 pm

Enough with this bikers vs drivers debate thing la get a life everyone…

• Mohd Ridzuan A. Rahman on Sep 07, 2017 at 4:11 pm

I am a driver and at the same time a bikers too. To be fair to motocyclist we would like to urge the authorities who owned or managed the road consessies to provide a special bike lane all the way all the way wherever the road are. Can they do this and implemented it nationwide. Maybe this sound unreasonable, but this is the case. JPJ stick to the act mention that no vehicles allowed using the EL for no reason. So, lets’have a fresh new lane for motorcyclist.

• Ariff on Sep 07, 2017 at 8:43 pm

3 motorcycle lanes and instead go around to go under the ramp exit, build over bridge. I guarantee rider such as myself love to stay on that kind of lanes

• No! It is still un clear. Both parties did not specify exactly which and where the law is stated. Please explicitly show us the clause to clear this once and for all. Until then its all talk only.

• Kelvin on Sep 07, 2017 at 4:28 pm

I am a motorcyclist and I also Drive. If a motorcycle is not allocated a proper path for them to travel on, then we have no choice but to use the emergency lanes. Lets be frank, have u seen the speed the buses and lorries travel on the highways. and u expect a motorbike to travel on the same lane as them. I have almost been hit by such dangerous drivers one too many times. if JPJ and PDRM wants the restriction to be taken into place, then provide a proper road for motorcyclists. Not everyone can afford a superbike of a easy rider. Kapchai are what the majority use and we find the emergency lane as the safest passage way for us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Hundred percent agree with u brother. I am a driver and also a motorcyclist as well

• Ng Fook Meng on Sep 07, 2017 at 4:31 pm

We should allow motorcyclist use the emergency lane in an acute jam as:
    1. The are exposed to the weather unlike the comforts in an aircon car.
    2. Their queueing along with cars in start and stop traffic will pose high risk of them being rammed from rear.
    3. Will aggravate the jam itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Kevin Chong on Sep 07, 2017 at 4:31 pm

Give me a break,have you see the big bikers hating like Kings If the road,asking ppl rudely to get out of Their lane.What idiots and these guys don’t even pay toll,when jam use the emergency lane like Kings of the road again,these guys should be fined and Bikes confiscated on the spot but as usual zero enforcement .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • Give me a break too. Dont be so hateful mr hater. If u are driving slow at the right lane infront of me while i am driving,i will also honk you to get out of your lane. Dont act as if you are the king yourself brother. Dont simply say things.

• Right lane is a fast lane bro. It applies on cars to right?let the fastest go as they like, kena saman they tanggung sendiri. Why being so selfish. How do u want the riders to send u a clear msg to give way?at least rider don’t cucuk belakang like other car driver. Let’s give respect for all road user. Leave your ego aside

• Kevin Chong on Sep 07, 2017 at 4:32 pm

Give me a break,have you see the big bikers acting like Kings If the road,asking ppl rudely to get out of Their lane. These guys don’t even pay toll,when jam use the emergency lane like Kings of the road again,these guys should be fined and Bikes confiscated on the spot but as usual zero enforcement .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Tan HB on Sep 07, 2017 at 4:46 pm

Most of our roads have no bike lanes. It’s also dangerous for bikers to squeeze between cars. Most accidents invoked bikers so emergency lanes should be open to bikers for safety reasons.

• Ariff on Sep 07, 2017 at 8:39 pm

Well is better to have Two lanes of emergency foe Motorcycle and emergency use foe ambulance and bomba

• Evangelista on Sep 07, 2017 at 4:50 pm

Really hate to see drivers using emergency lane. Selfish. Since police not there all the time or tidur, why not let riders kick their car wing mirror to teach those selfish msian

• Agree with you. I myself dislike the selfish drivers use the emergency lane when i was driving and stuck in the jammed. Sometimes these selfish drivers that makes the jamm even worst when they starts to squeeze into the left lane.

• Normally if you see 100 bikes in highway, just 10 or 15 only above 500 cc which can go same speed with cars, others all mostly 150cc below, if i used 125cc motor in same line with lorry’s and cars its make easier to having accident, you guys plan for reduce accidents or increase, I wonder!!!

• Ariff on Sep 07, 2017 at 8:37 pm

Those who never had any experience with motorcycles, will state a very bad solution and selfish.

• RamRam on Sep 07, 2017 at 5:22 pm

If that is the case, then the police should not stop any vehicle they suspect to emergency lane and instead take them to nearest petrol station or RnR for checks.Agree???
    I’m a motorcyclist, and i feel safer to ride in emergency lane instead of fearing for my life when a driver suddenly decided to make a turn as his lane is moving slow.

• Ben Yap on Sep 07, 2017 at 5:48 pm

no one is allowed to use emergency lane.

• In my opinion, all kapcai should not be allowed on emergency lane at all, heck, even on highway.

Another thing, lane splitting should also not be allowed at all. Sometimes, it’s very dangerous for motorist to change lane especially during peak hour. Most rider tend to zig-zag and suddenly appeear from god knows where (blindspot).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Wahid on Sep 08, 2017 at 2:26 am

Your statements are contradictory and I’m positive it results from your lack of understanding about motorcycles and riding.

Where there is no bike lane, taking to the emergency lane is the only safe margin for motorcycles. But you don’t like that. So now there’s no choice, we we have to filter through traffic, and you don’t like it either.

FYI, riding beside another vehicle or staying put in between two heavy vehicles is a 50-50 death warrant. Firstly, most bikes unless they are the highly sophisticated ones (read: expensive) cannot brake like a car. And even then it depends on the rider’s skill. Secondly, I’m sure you’re not at the receiving end may be the one who’s giving it – the car behind tailgates the bike or tries to squeeze past.

The solution, which is taught by even the California Highway Patrol is to filter, albeit carefully.

So unless you have a better solution…

• Abdullah Eusoff on Sep 08, 2017 at 8:51 am

JJ…during raya holiday if there are 40 kapcai motocyclist ride 90km at 110km zone and ocupy most of the lane…and blocking your way…dont argue with them for not letting you thru as if like you say they cannot go ride their bike thru emergency lane…for big bike no problem for car driver as we know big bike can go faster like most car can so remember that…to me i dont mind them using emergency lane as dont let them delay me from my destination

• Best solution is to ban kapcai and any slow moving vehicle (less than 60-70kmh) from using the highway. It’s simply not safe for kapcai to ride on emergency lane. I have seen so many accident involving these cyclist with broken vehicles on emergency lane. This year alone, 5 cases on PLUS, Federal Highway and LEKAS.

As for lane splitting, there is still a lot of controversy on this practice even in California. And for most states in the US, this practice is not even allowed at all. Why? Because this practice is simply too dangerous. BTW, riding in between vehicles (heavy or not) is also considered lane splitting

• FAIZAL MUHAMMAD on Sep 07, 2017 at 5:58 pm

Hi everyone.. let us start using signal and put aside our gadget especially hp while driving or riding… I beleive this caused more excident than using emergency lane… just my 2cents… Cheers..

• Daniel on Sep 07, 2017 at 6:07 pm

Just over the Merdeka long weekend holidays, I saw a convoy of police vehicles (including police trucks) going up the NS highway on the emergency lane. They were definitely not emergency service, but transporting police personnel to somewhere north. Are there special priviledges for Police vehicles? Will this be a case of monkey see monkey do? Vehicles were actually following behind the convoy.

• Some motorcyclist think they are king of the road. Anyone blocking their path will incur their wrath. They treat whole road as theirs, lines and signs as non existence. Our road and traffic enforcements are like non existence nowadays. Drivers and riders attitude getting worse and worse.

• Ariff on Sep 07, 2017 at 8:34 pm

Even on motorcycle lanes some are like that as well. Especially dispatch riders.

• Are motorists allowed on Federal Highway since there is special lanes for them?

• Joe Ling on Sep 07, 2017 at 6:53 pm

In most European countries:
    No road user is allowed to cross a continuous white line, in order to overtake. Emergency lane is for emergencies and emergency vehicles only. It’s not a driving, stopping or parking lane.

Although motorbikes are allowed to filter through traffic, they are not allowed to overtake, if they have to cross a continuous white line. Emergency lane and driving lanes are separated by a continuous white line.

Now looking at that picture above, What point is it for a motorbike to use the emergency lane in the first place? He’s not going anywhere. Does Malaysia have such shitty cars on the road? Or why is it, that there are at least 10 cars in the emergency lane within a single mile? All broken down?

• Sharir aidek on Sep 07, 2017 at 7:06 pm

Well the majority of motorbikes using the emergency lanes are the small capacity bikes. If they are not using the emergency lane then expect slower travel as even the lorries will be having difficulty overtaking them from the other lanes as one lane will be occupied by them only.

• Dale Ismail on Sep 07, 2017 at 7:13 pm

I think first we need to segregate the various types of road eg. highways, federal/trunk roads, city and small town roads etc. etc. in order to argue whether lane splitting, weaving in and out of lanes/traffic, slow and fast lanes, truck and bus lanes, overtaking lanes is relevant and applicable in the context of the arguments for discussions. Not rojak everything :)
    For safety, I repeat, for safety reasons, if your vehicle (size, speed and condition) doesn’t suit the type of road, it is better then to avoid using it. I have seen cars which should have been scrapped with bumpers and doors falling off still on the roads/highways. Heavy vehicular machineries/tractors are also on road where in most developed countries they are usually moved on transporter -maybe it will be a revenue by getting them registered and road-taxed, I don’t know.
    So for motorbikers, if you want to know whether your bike is suitable on the highway, ask yourself, why you are exempted from paying toll charges -ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK; whether it is suitable on the Federal Highway, there is a reason why there is a special motorbike lane. If I am not mistaken the idea the Federal Highway was built was for vehicles transporting goods to Port Klang. My StreetCub C70 is only suitable for a leisure ride within the housing estate, my car for long distant travel, fast train for inter-city (for some inter-city destinations even flight will not be convenient when you will end up spending more on travel time), LRT/Monorail to city centre especially to KLCC and Bkt Bintang area)
    And lastly, stop thinking that “some bikes cost more than your car” I think that is a very dangerous mentality.

• azizan on Sep 07, 2017 at 7:29 pm

Malaysian is unique..u cant predict what they r thinking. By law u yes r right all vehicle are not allowed to use the emergency lane but in the situation where the traffic is bad…its jammed for kilometers esp during festive season if all bikers are refrain using emergency lane its worsening the the traffic. Unlike car motorbike is small and it easy to move when there is need the lane to be cleared. So what’s the issue allowing them to use it? In fact it help reducing the jammed.

• Gary chin on Sep 07, 2017 at 8:07 pm

No one understand safety until they are at the wheels of cars, lorries, bus or bikes. There are rules of laws on the road but in Malaysia most drivers and riders float the laws thus posting dangers to road users. As a rider and driver I don’t feel safe following the rules in the highway. Driving in the inner lane you get flash by lorries exceeding their speed limit,driving on outer lane, you get flash by hooligans. Cut the story short, bikers have to consider doing the right thing for their safety even if they have to use the emergency lane. Especially the smaller cc bikes. We need strict enforcement not just talk.

• Rushaidi on Sep 07, 2017 at 9:05 pm

I’ll stop using the emergency lane when every single non-motorcycle vehicles on the road gives signal before they switch lane.
    Those who simply bash the motorcyclists simply never ride before.
    I’m both a rider and a driver, i prefer all motorcyclist to use emergency lane and not all lanes. Easier for cars to switch lane during heavy traffic.

• Mat Jey on Sep 07, 2017 at 9:26 pm

I drive and I ride. Still sticking to my common sense. When I ride my kapchai, the e-lane is my choice of path as I dont want driver to follow my behind as I can only do 80km/h on my kapchai. While driving, I’ll make sure to use e-lane when there is an emergency only.

• kopial on Sep 07, 2017 at 10:02 pm

I used to drive to work, then i take train, now I ride motorcycle. Honestly, motorcycle is the most convenient of all those options until I can afford a helicopter. With our traffic congestion which will only get worse with population growth & unnecessary development within KL (honestly housing, offices, business can move out of KL centre)…the motorcycle helps a lot to ease KL traffic. Imagine all the thousands of motorcyclists suddenly decided to drive to work one day…I tell you KL traffic will go standstill. Instead of discouraging motorcycle riding, the authority should encourage more drivers to leave the cars at home & ride to work. I haven’t gone into parking space yet, 1 car park can fit 4 motorcycles.

• Penang bridge authority give instruction to motorcyclist to use emergency lane – with signboard- motorsikal guna bahu jalan.. What de hell of law they r implimenting in Msia??

• funnyman on Sep 07, 2017 at 10:38 pm

pls. every morning I jam to work, I have to open lane for ambulance, polis car, VIPs, and stunt polis rider swing left swing right open road, escort criminals in penjara truck. why the f*** they nv use emergency lane? even police dont use. so who use? motorcyclists la. if havent see their shadows, I use lor. if I see them coming from behind, I siam back in lor. I never block anybody ma.

• Aryatama Aziz on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:05 pm

Ban all sales of cars and motorbikes. Problem solved. Use bicycle on highway and there will be no more jam even bicycle can go faster. Want to go far use LRT/MRT whatever. Bicycles are much safer. Crash at high speed will only result in not much injury. Even Polis will benefit, suddenly the polis here will be much fitter and so will our nation. Win-win solution

• Give them a ticket please! Those day when we drove motobike at federal highway, you will prepare to get a ticket if not using motobike lane. All these due to lack of enforcement of JPJ and police. They just took their “Gaji buta” instead of safety of road.

• Then they should implement rules correctly. Like min speed on highway especially on fast lane.

• B & D License on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:48 pm

My opinion: No, because the law says so, but Yes, if a traffic policeman diverting heavy traffic says so. But I can’t help but notice so many people generalising and bashing motorcyclists. As much as there are lousy motorcyclists, there are as many lousy car drivers. Difference is, motorcyclist knock car, motorcyclist injured; car knock motorcyclist, also motorcyclist injured. Same logic with car and pedestrians. Unless you are both a motorcyclist and a car driver, you really don’t have the absolute right to bash one or the other. Even before I got my B-Full licence, I always gave way to motorcyclists for the simple reason that my Hilux can badly damage a motorcyclist in the event of a collision, and I don’t want to do that, rempit or otherwise

As for tolls, that’s government policy, too bad if you as a car driver has to pay. But if you think that just because motorcyclists don’t deserve to take up an entire lane because they don’t pay toll, then please don’t buy your child a bicycle. It’s too bad we have so much of close-mindedness in our society today.

• fraidycat on Sep 08, 2017 at 12:04 am

I don’t know whether Malaysia or our roads will be a better place if he decide to abolish JPJ as a government department and fire all their staff prompto but looking at their stupid statement. It is a risk i am willing to take. You want to talk law, who gives you this right to sell plate number so rampantly like it is now today? why is this double law for normal citizen but another for VIP cars? A red light for us is a green for VIP. We are not equal under their so called law. Abolish JPJ now!

• Concerned Malaysian on Sep 08, 2017 at 1:20 am

I’m more interested in having a law pertaining to “lane sharing” or “lane splitting”.
    Whether legal to or illegal to, doesn’t matter.
    As long as there is a law to refer to in the event of an accident.

• Acapella on Sep 08, 2017 at 1:55 am

Be considerate. Learn and try to give and take. Tolak ansur lagi senang. Yang jenis pandu slow tapi rasa laju pun kena sedar diri jugak.

• Moped hater on Sep 08, 2017 at 3:08 am

Malaysia should ban those pesky Mopeds. They are the devils of the roads. Blocking pedestrian crossings at traffic stops and pedestrian walkway. Honking at no body business even though signaling changing of lanes whilst the Mopeds are far away and so called they have rights to squeeze between both cars knocking your side mirrors. Zooming on pedestrian walkway, going against traffic flow. Those Mopeds riders need to be educated same to goes to ex-Moped rider riding motorcycle or driving car as they have this Moped devil king of the road mindset. Those pesky Moped insects zooming down the road left right liken a drunk car driver.

• Marty on Sep 08, 2017 at 6:21 am

I still don’t understand why small motorcycles under 250cc are allowed on a main highway? They should not use the emergency lane same as any other vehicle and if over 250cc would be able to keep up safely with the other cars in the normal lanes. As per U.K., Europe etc. Also, when there are jams on highways, HGV drivers keep the emergency lanes clear by straddling them so cars cannot use them, when an emergency vehicle comes down they pull back into the inner lane to allow the vehicle clear passage, works really well

• Craig on Sep 08, 2017 at 7:13 am

If car drivers gave bikers the respect they deserve there would be more harmony. There is too much tailgating by idiot car drivers who think bikes shouldn’t be on their expressway.

• haha.. i agree…im a rider, i dont ride in the emergency lane bcoz i always go fast..i’ll use 1st@2nd lane..except u will see ppl with baby, wife,kids, senior citizen for them better to use the emergency lane..its for their safety right? we driver also doesnt want to hit them bcoz we go fast..esp not car driver.. but lorry driver more dangerous…imagine, they ride slowly in emergency lane, lorries behind then, to take over lorries will use 2nd lane..try to gv a thinking here, type of situation that will happen if all rider ride in 3rd lane..bear in mind, not all rider go fast..even JpJ said no one can use emergency lane..what about our own safety and their own safety?..during traffic jam, we will see lots of rider use emergency lane..####WHY? bcoz driver doesnt gv signal when change lane not all but most. .that is the BIG problem even before this issue raise..when u driver stuck in traffic jam, u pll will lose control, angry, frustrated, u start to do things like this, no signal to change lane, sudden change of lane when u saw big gap btwen car for sure u will rush to get in the space w/out looking side mirror, so how rider did not decided to use ermergency lane for better safety??####if still cannot, fine, rider should just use 3rd lane, so lorries want to take over they will use middle lane?car can use ermergency lane during jammed, then u will see more accident bcoz of(read back above text from ) ####until####..

• imagine, they ride slowly in emergency lane..correction..not emergency lane.. but 3rd lane..

• Kamen rider on Sep 08, 2017 at 9:46 am

Totally agree with you. I drive and ride. There are too many idiot d0nt look out for rider, especially on highway.

• Nazam on Sep 08, 2017 at 8:02 am

All road users, authorities – everyone is at fault. Road users don’t respect laws – they say some are stupid (they might have a point though). Authorities make laws but don’t enforce them. No wonder the world is in chaos! Come on humans, buck up and do what you’re supposed to do.

• Rajendrakumar Varsani on Sep 08, 2017 at 8:10 am

It’s not rocket science now is it?

“Emergency Lane”

See the clues there?

• KK Aw on Sep 08, 2017 at 8:20 am

If motorcyclists use the emergency lane, what should be the speed limit?

• Y ppl always saying that bikes nd not pay for tolls ? How much road tax do u pay for a 1500cc car ? Rm90 right ? Do u know how much does an 800cc bike pay for road tax ? Rm350 . So if cars want free tolls then pls pay like what bikes pay for.

• William on Sep 08, 2017 at 9:36 am

Motorbikers who using the lane by thousands everyday, unless there is a seperated lane like some places, the highway authority, jpj n police must hold accountability n responsibility for setting trap on motorcyclist,by not provided the seperated lane through out the highway n express way!where there were bad design in the first place n the authority are pushing away the responsibility…Then you most likely to see the amblance mangling among the busy right n middle lane most of the time if not everytime, its understand in the city centre but why on highway?Shell we needed to make ways next time on highway if there is emergency lane not being use by…

• Kamen rider on Sep 08, 2017 at 9:44 am

Please do not comment and post if you are not a rider. You have no idea how safe it is for a rider on emergency compare to a highway lane. Epscially dickhead BMW and Mercedes driver speeding down the highway at 200kmh

• Especially for those who think the most left lane is another fast lane for them overtake.

• Dzulkefli Zainol on Sep 08, 2017 at 10:20 am

In the USA, ni vehivles including motorcycles are not allowed to use the emergency lane. But the smallest size of motorcycle allowed to beli on the high way is 450cc bikes. And the overtaking of vehicles shall occupy the next lane, regardless of the type of the vehicle including motorcycles. So drivers have to overtake motorcycles in the adjacent lane, not within same lane as it is normally done here. Should an accident happens, the larger vehicles will normally be penalized regardless of who is at fault. So the question is whether we can afford to do the same if we force motor cyclists not to use the emergency lane.

• K C NYEW on Sep 08, 2017 at 11:27 am

When you ask the authorities about do and don’t at the motorway, they will quote you with the Acts etc. But in actual fact, the enforcement just serve their needs and not for educating the motorists.
    Don’t you guys facing traffic jam before at the highway due to operasi road block?
    Speed trap only serve the passenger car drivers but not the big trucks and buses?

• Joanna on Sep 08, 2017 at 11:37 am

JUST the emergency lane? What about the highways themselves? There has been zero enforcement of the misuse of the highways by motorcyclists. Some of them ride in the middle of the lanes at high speeds, while weaving between lanes. And when accidents happen… who pays? The four-wheeled or more vehicles.

• Snow White on Sep 08, 2017 at 11:42 am

For decades motorcyclist have been the cucumbers on the highways. With most cars travelling at lightning speed even the emergency lanes pose unforseen treats such as too many sharp aliens even debris along the side. The only thing all how to be awared of are acknowledge the existence of these 2 wheeler road users..

• Pekerja Suasta on Sep 08, 2017 at 11:58 am

In law yes they canot use E.Lane. But why JPJ and Police always let go of them?.

with the driving style and attitute malaysian have. if you were riding a motor bike. which lane do you use that will ensure your safety?

common sense.

dont fight about law… just drive and ride safely.. respect each other… keep a safe distance… never tailgating people… flash your headlamp politely for request a way… and never think you are so cool driving like orang giler…

Love your car, respect other road user and drive safe

• All motorist regardless of vehicle should be made compulsory to follow the following in order to drive or ride on all highways. This is to ensure fairness for all.

1. All highways users have to pay toll charges including MOTORCYCLES big or small just like everyone else.

2. All speed cameras and police speed traps should included motorcyclists big or small for exceeding the speed limit.

3. Motorcyclists should be responsible in case of accident caused by them and bare the full cost of repairs and all.

4. Motorcyclists that stop under the bridge to avoid rain and in case of an accident. The driver can’t be held responsible for any mishap caused because it is ILLEGAL to stop and use the emergency lane as a shade.

Has anybody gave this a thought?
    Don’t you think it is fair for all?
    ***Enjoy it while it last

Ps: I hope JPJ is reading this… Boleh menjana pendapatan lebih untuk Negara.

• willetts on Sep 08, 2017 at 3:59 pm

The emergency lane was the there for a good reason. Which was to allow ambulance, fire engine or police vehicles to use this lane for the case of emergency. Nevertheless for breakdown vehicle to STOP in case of car breakdown or emergency.

Having said this, there are no good reason for any vehicle to use including motorcycles to use this lane.
    However for safety reason, Malaysia has a very large range of motorcycles that used the NS highway. It ranges from 100cc to 1600cc motorbikes.

For lower cc motocycle to ride on the highway is extremely dangerous. Therefore when traffic is smooth, in my personal opinion it make sense for these category of road user to use the emergency lane as safety measures. Should they be penalize for using the emergency lane? I think not.

Well in the context of traffic congestion, everyone are tempted to use whichever lane that move including emergency lane. Well ask yourself this, when comes to life threatening situations if this lane are used by vehicles, can they give way immediately? If yes, why not everyone benefit from it. If not, then lets be the bigger person and let those who can to use it.

• Just follow the director of JPJ lah, what’s so hard?

• CheAzlan on Sep 08, 2017 at 5:53 pm

Sila ambil tindakan terhadap kereta yg lalu emergence line. Kalau motorcycle boleh lalu sebab motorcycle tu kecik dan senang ke tepi klu ada emergency. Motorcycle yg cc rendah tu klu lalu di jln besar merbahaya beresiko tinggi sebab ada lori bas yg kendaraan besar lalu

• JUDGE DREDD on Sep 08, 2017 at 6:12 pm

YALL CAN ARGUES TILL THE COWS COME BACK. ACTUALLY SAME ONLY. 2 X 5 AND 5 X 2. THERE ARE GOOD MOTORCYCLIST AND THERE ARE BAD MOTORCYCLIST AND ITS THE SAME AS CAR DRIVERS. SO DONT BLAME EACH OTHER. IF YOUR DONT BELIEVE ME, AS A MOTORCYCLIST, LOOK OUT FOR BAD MOTORCYCLIST AND AS DRIVERS, LOOK OUT FOR BAD DRIVERS. YOULL SEE ALL SAMA SAJA. LEARN TO SHARE THE ROADS. DONT BE SELFISH, BE CONSIDERATE AND BE COURTEOUS TO ONE ANOTHER. THESE ARE ALSO THE SAME PEOPLE WHO WILL HELP YOU ONE DAY WHEN YOU FACE AN EMERGENCY. DONT LOOK DOWN ON SMALLER OR SLOWER VEHICLE AS THERE IS ALWAYS A MORE BIGGER AND FASTER VEHICLES THAN YOURS. JOM MAKAN ROTI CANAI. :o)

• motorcycle lane = dangerous, bad routing, bad maintenance, night time no street light,

car lane = dangerous, cars drive fast,

emergency lane = ??? only for emergency…

so where should we to ride our motorbike..??

if have good one lane for us…. we won’t want to risk our lives to ride on high speed road… or use emergency lane…

• Chock on Sep 10, 2017 at 3:38 pm

Then tell me a old slow motorcycle on highway, supposed to ride on which lane?

• Not on the highway at all. Take bus safer for both the rider and driver. Old slow motorbike for around town or neighbourhood

• I don’t think JPJ or Police will fine a motorcyclist due to riding on emergency lane, 1st most of them ride motorcycle too. 2nd they properly will saman lot of rider who run through red traffic light if they strictly follow law. As long as motorcyclist ride safe and give way to authorities , it will be alright.

• yes agree. unless we could provide special lane for motorcyclist