Biker blocks car using Smart Lane on toll highway

With the 2024 Lunar New Year balik kampung exodus in full swing, the Smart Lane system is in effect on certain stretches of Malaysia’s toll highways. Done to alleviate traffic congestion on the highway especially during the pre- and post holiday travel period, the Smart Lane implementation during specific times and dates seems to have escaped one motorcyclist.

In a video shared by user anthraxxx781 on social media, a biker is seen stopping his motorcycle on the emergency lane, blocking the path of a car. This is not a one-time occurrence as it has happened in the past.

The rider then gets off his bike and confronts the driver, presumably to tell the driver off for using the emergency lane which is not allowed during normal days.

However, in several public announcements, vehicles on the toll highways are allowed to use the emergency lane during specific times and dates. This was reported in a paultan.org article, here.

Just to recap, the SMART Lane goes in effect beginning February 8, and lasts till February 18, with other dates applicable for certain stretches of highway. The full list is as follows:

• from Bukit Tambun to Juru Toll Plaza – KM150.9 to KM150.5 (northbound)
  • Bandar Cassia to Sg Bakap layby – KM155.3 to KM156.0 (southbound)
  • Gua Tempurung to Gopeng KM306.7 to KM297.0 (northbound)
  • Slim River to Sungkai KM367.3 to KM354.0 (northbound)
  • Sungkai – KM354.0 to KM356.0 (southbound)
  • Rawang R&R to Sg Buaya – KM439.5 to KM435.5 (northbound)
  • Exit of Petron NKVE to Subang – KM11.2 to KM13.3 (northbound)
  • Nilai to Seremban R&R – KM280.0 to KM286.0 (southbound)
  • USJ overhead bridge to Seafield – KM6.1 to KM8.1 (northbound)
  • Port Dickson to Seremban – KM260.0 to KM263.1 (northbound)
  • Air Keroh to Jasin layby KM194.5 to KM 184.0 (southbound)
  • Kulai to Senai – KM27.0 to KM19.0 (southbound)
  • Senai to Kulai – KM19.0 to KM27.0 (northbound)
  • Dato Onn to Pasir Gudang – KM4.5 to KM1.9 (southbound)

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Mad aint it on Feb 11, 2024 at 11:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 162
    • Deutschland on Feb 12, 2024 at 12:23 pm

It exists in Germany, a first world country, on the autobahn. Get out of your kampung kid.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 17
      • seitha on Feb 12, 2024 at 4:20 pm

show us some proof!!
        I have doubts Germans will allow it. They are strictly disciplinearians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
        • Ah Chong on Feb 13, 2024 at 3:41 pm

Well with his post, he already shows us there’s stupid things in this country. Point taken.

• tokmoh on Feb 12, 2024 at 4:48 pm

Deswai those Pn Pas braindeads had to declare Darurat. Coz Pn Pas was a joke in kelantan ..34yrs and on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
      • Mahal Rajah Leela on Feb 12, 2024 at 6:17 pm

Impossible to erase tribal mentality implanted inside dna since many generations……

• Emotional damage on Feb 13, 2024 at 4:01 pm

It’s their inferiority complex. So they harp and bark at small things to show whatever small dignity or ketuanan they have left

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Bossku, corrupt! on Feb 12, 2024 at 6:45 pm

Since when can Malaysia follow the Germans? Malaysia is one of the most corrupt countries in the world. Malaysia is a third world country. Might be like that for the foreseeable future. It’s better to implement sensible rules, as implied by the previous writer than trying to be stupid copying first world country people, but have no moral fibre to follow through.

• German on Feb 12, 2024 at 11:27 pm

You did not tell the real story. In Germany, when the emergency lane is used to relieve the congestion but when the trafiic has comes to a stop, the drivers by law must move to the edges to create an emergency lane in the middle. This will never happen here and won’t work. You are Malaysian, not German.

• Reality on Feb 13, 2024 at 12:23 am

Utter bullshit. No such a thing in Germany. There is a unlimited speed lane on specific highway section but no idiotic “smart lanes”. It’s you who should get out of your smart city idiotic world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • Budak ktard on Feb 13, 2024 at 4:36 pm

It exists in Germany. Just try find it on Youtube. Even the guy above you knows about it.

• YoutreTube sucks on Feb 16, 2024 at 7:56 pm

YouTube sucks. Their Algorithm only serves jewish propaganda. They even get ride off the “Don’t like!” fonction.

Mainstream media are full of shit!

• Susukotak on Feb 13, 2024 at 9:57 am

How implementatiin over there? Continuously or during haliday period which make confusion for user.

• Deutschland_not_always_right on Feb 13, 2024 at 1:59 pm

So what? Germany is not always right.

• Stupidkid on Feb 12, 2024 at 3:23 pm

You sounds like un educated stupid kid with no brain. Get a life! Smart lane is norm and useful.

• smart lane exist before government madani.. kampung kid.

• Cities yappies downfall on Feb 17, 2024 at 11:10 am

Kampung kids, at the opposite of city yappies, still have their balls… AND That makes anthropologically a huge difference ;-)

Boleh Kampung – because without kampung, you will have to eat your video games on your abandoned smart lane…

• hazri on Feb 13, 2024 at 1:54 pm

look at the mirror please. smart lane only exist when the road too jam especially during festival holiday. this shows gov consider how to reduce the jam. not everyday can use smart lane lor. wow smart lane pun wujudla kat germany. suka main sumpah sumpah ni nampak sangat mamat jakun dari ceruk kampung mana entah. pakai motor besar kiri kanan letak tong, acah-acah dah rasa hebat dan terpaling betul. malas membaca melahirkan mamat jakun.

• ducatiscrambler on Feb 14, 2024 at 12:50 pm

betoi tue bang. geng mamat jakun malas membaca sebabtu mudah dikalahkan kak elin

• Blardy recalcitrant colorblind bikers on Feb 13, 2024 at 8:41 pm

Got smart lane or not..the f..ing bikers are the main problem in Bolehland.
      If u think Myvi is King,u r sadly mistaken.
      Bikers r King of the Road.
      200m behind your car..u can hear the bikers blardy horn,if u want to switch lane.If u go ahead to obstruct their overtaking,they bang your car boot.
      If got accident,even if they r salah,without helmets and hurt,u have to pay for their HKL treatment.And u lose your NCD.
      At traffic junctions..they r color blind.They speed past red lights.

• DonkeyKong on Feb 11, 2024 at 11:48 pm

Most bikers are low-lifes. They should have no rights on the roads. Anything happens to them, nobody should be at fault.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 23
    • Celup King on Feb 12, 2024 at 12:30 pm

Yet you criticise the people trying to stop this rempit issue. Stick to Sinkie politics brother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • seitha on Feb 12, 2024 at 4:21 pm

with a name like donkeykong, you too shouldnt be allowed on the road!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Bossku, corrupt! on Feb 12, 2024 at 6:48 pm

Well said!! Even a gorilla like Donkey Kong has the guts to write something that most pendatang thought, but have no guts to write. But, beware of sedition law! Who knows how many of them will file a police report against you for this post! ***Ironically, most bikers belong to 1R***

• Daytona 18K on Multistrada on Feb 13, 2024 at 12:49 am

Donkeykong sounds like a frustrated slow cheapo car driver…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • ahbeng on Feb 13, 2024 at 11:10 am

High class rempit with their big bike have the same otak jamban like those kapcai fella.

Never pay road tax want to act gangster. Ask them take trunk road celaka.

• far east on Feb 11, 2024 at 11:50 pm

rider wanna be somebody of use to society for once in his life maybe, but kesian failed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • Triple vaxxed TikTok drivers with smart mask LOL on Feb 13, 2024 at 12:55 am

He didn’t fail. He simply shows how stupid are so-called “smart things”

• Bossku full pardon! on Feb 12, 2024 at 3:05 am

Our friendly R is sure “knowledgeable”. They are afterall the “owner”!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Sundaland Denisovan extinct species on Feb 12, 2024 at 6:19 pm

Oren race will gladly migrates back to Yunnan

• Bossku, corrupt!! on Feb 12, 2024 at 6:50 pm

No lah…saya supporter of Bossku!!!

• Matchy on Feb 12, 2024 at 5:46 am

I think too many people not informed that smart lane is being used.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Emergency Chinese New Year lol on Feb 13, 2024 at 1:02 am

Of course, it sounds so ridiculous that nobody would even believe it LOL

Imagine when “too many people” will start to use casually emergency lanes because “sometimes” emergency lane is not real emergency lane?

Seriously? Who had that ridiculous idea? The same who want to distribute free full B licence to 35 years old scooters riders?? Lol

• Facts on Feb 12, 2024 at 9:22 am

“However, in several public announcements, vehicles on the toll highways are allowed to use the emergency lane during specific times and dates.”

This is another nonsensical implementation.

With such inconsistent rules, careless drivers will not only continue to use the emergency lane pass those schedules, they are directly encouraged to do so because “sometimes it is allowed”.

Emergency lanes should only be authorized under police monitoring. Without uniforms and guns on the spot, drivers will take it as granted (which many already do)

Also, during those specific times, does it means accidents and ambulances magically disappear from the highway? This is just plain ridiculous.

Why not Malaysian Gov authorize drivers to use emergency lanes during school holidays, Dipavali, Christmas, Merdeka days, Raya, Fathers Day, Mothers Day, Women Day, Animals Days, Champions League season, Black Friday etc?

I totally understand that motorcycle becoming upset. Emergency lanes should never be used by cars except, by definition, during emergency situation.

Traffic jam is NO WAY an emergency situation.

With such new stupid rules, careless drivers are going to care even less than ever, and with every years special saman discount, WHY SHOULD THEY BE AFRAID TO MOCK traffic law?

Support to that bikers and wish that none of you guys have a serious car accident during the following schedule and locations :

*****Just to recap, the SMART Lane goes in effect beginning February 8, and lasts till February 18, with other dates applicable for certain stretches of highway. The full list is as follows:

from Bukit Tambun to Juru Toll Plaza – KM150.9 to KM150.5 (northbound)
    Bandar Cassia to Sg Bakap layby – KM155.3 to KM156.0 (southbound)
    Gua Tempurung to Gopeng KM306.7 to KM297.0 (northbound)
    Slim River to Sungkai KM367.3 to KM354.0 (northbound)
    Sungkai – KM354.0 to KM356.0 (southbound)
    Rawang R&R to Sg Buaya – KM439.5 to KM435.5 (northbound)
    Exit of Petron NKVE to Subang – KM11.2 to KM13.3 (northbound)
    Nilai to Seremban R&R – KM280.0 to KM286.0 (southbound)
    USJ overhead bridge to Seafield – KM6.1 to KM8.1 (northbound)
    Port Dickson to Seremban – KM260.0 to KM263.1 (northbound)
    Air Keroh to Jasin layby KM194.5 to KM 184.0 (southbound)
    Kulai to Senai – KM27.0 to KM19.0 (southbound)
    Senai to Kulai – KM19.0 to KM27.0 (northbound)
    Dato Onn to Pasir Gudang – KM4.5 to KM1.9 (southbound)

(Dumb)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 21
    • Facts on Feb 13, 2024 at 2:41 am

Bikers are not allowed to use emergency lane also.

• Consistent Facts LOL on Feb 13, 2024 at 3:14 pm

Support to that biker. And biker are not allowed to use the emergency lane also. You are so consistent and the emergency lane usage.

• Ambulance legally stuck on highway on Feb 12, 2024 at 9:43 am

Rather not get a stroke during CNY on highway… Ambulance will have to wait behind AhBeng SUV monopolizing emergency lane because AhBeng cannot afford to stay stuck in traffic jam LOL

Dear drivers, don’t be afraid to violate traffic law during “emergency festive season”, it’s exceptionally legal and even pass that Holly period, you will still get 50 to 80% discount on your next samans! Isn’t that wonderful ?

Boleh Malaysia :-/
    Boleh the encouraging birth of new careless drivers!

And don’t forget to make viral very very evil policeman who may give speed track saman discount on the spot to innocent UK tourists lol ah ah ah

People are not born stupid, they are bred to become stupid. As they say —> Needs 2 hands to clap…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • Puak sembap on Feb 12, 2024 at 10:15 am

Another rempit Karen spotted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • Karen enjoy to make her stupidity viral on Feb 12, 2024 at 6:23 pm

Well, Karens never ride big bikes, but Karens husband use emergency lanes every time Karen become hysterical :-/

True danger is not Karens, it is their faggot husbands who obey their stupid Karens (females who threaten their Da and Bi if they don’t be a good dog)

Support to this biker and f#ck Karen’s husband filming the scene and looking for attention online (pussy!)

• Abesla moto JWD 2728

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • So how? Considered road bully right? Haul up the rider to Balai?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Kea Was on Feb 12, 2024 at 7:14 pm

Both yes and no since there was previous article by Traffic Police that goes something like this:

“Abang, yes, I know, we see this and it is against the law, but how strict should we be? If we do 100% enforcement the public will say police are heartless and without compassion, if we let it go then people will say we are not doing our jobs.”

• Bayar sini 100 je on Feb 13, 2024 at 8:06 pm

Clarification. They only have soft spots for certain segments of the society not all motorcyclists get the same treatment

• formerbiker on Feb 12, 2024 at 11:00 am

Emergency lanes are also not for bikers use. Even if Smart Lane not activated, bikers are not suppose to use the emergency lane! He thinks he own the roads.
    His attitude and behaviour is a big disgrace for fellows bikers. Towards the end of the video, a ‘kapchai’ coolly breezes past him in the middle lane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
    • Gelakan on Feb 12, 2024 at 6:24 pm

Motorcyclist uses emergency lane due to your country law loopholes therefore your authority gives leeway to them to use ok

• Former whatever on Feb 13, 2024 at 12:41 am

Interestingly, during my B test I purposely asked about it to be sure, the instructor told me that motorcycles can use any lane, cars cannot. It’s logic because of motorbike size. Just common sense. If cars start to use emergency lanes it will be chaos.

Some frustrated car drivers cannot stand that motorcycles can filter traffic because 2 wheels are 2x smaller than 4 wheels.

Well? Go buy a motorcycle, enjoy your ride and shut the f#c& :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • Bossku, corrupt! on Feb 14, 2024 at 5:20 pm

Well, most pendatang know to work hard, don’t have 24 kids when they can’t even feed themselves or buy a car. The other 70% only want to be Bossku!

• Brian on Feb 12, 2024 at 11:23 am

By law motorcycles also aren’t allow to use emergency lane on normals days. We kasi chance only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • wambulance on Feb 12, 2024 at 1:21 pm

does this big rempit not realise that essentially he is saying you cannot break the law only i can?

his big rempit machine also cant use that lane la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • Motorbikes are not supposed to be riding on the emergency lane / road shoulder as well. What makes this loser thinks he is right and entitled? He’s so stupid.

• ByeBye Logical thinking on Feb 16, 2024 at 7:49 pm

But cars can? Because Chinese New Year is an emergency state? LOL You smart-stupid too…

• ROTI CANAI on Feb 12, 2024 at 2:32 pm

hello rempit apasal u guna emergency lane

• smartass on Feb 12, 2024 at 4:41 pm

Mark the smart lane in a different color so everyone knows it’s a Smart lane . And fix the permitted time to use it . Example eve of holiday from start to end time . In short get all road users to understood the implementation.

• haha…
    biker can use any lane, emergency lane, mid of any of the lane, mid of any of cars….
    they always right…
    but do they know the laws??
    ZERO.. KOSONG…

• dong gor on Feb 12, 2024 at 10:33 pm

NSHW is over its design capacity..which means they are collecting more tolls than they should. so with so much profit, why not expand those stretches of roads that are called smart to ease congestion? and retain an emergency road at the same time.

• Frankc on Feb 13, 2024 at 7:21 am

“smartclane” is not smart solution. It’s detrimental to road safety. Especially when those using smart lane are running faster than the lane to the right. Please stop it!!!

• Lance Chau on Feb 13, 2024 at 10:53 am

Kasi angkat balai or saman. Suka viral geng motorkar, now is your turn.

• bikerz on Feb 13, 2024 at 11:17 am

Such big CC bikers* are a disgrace, they think they’re above the law, and that emergency lanes are only for the 2 wheelers. These self-entitlted folks almost always ignore the simplest fact that motorcyclists are the most vulnerable on roads and especially highways. Had they met a bigger bully, this Abang plus his JWD7278 would most likely have ended up in pieces.

(*No offence to the bikers/convoys out there who practice safe riding.)

• LaoZi on Feb 13, 2024 at 11:27 am

the SmartLane only need more road signs.

e.g:
    1. Every 40m for expected ave. speed 50km/h

• Phuddi sung lee on Feb 13, 2024 at 4:59 pm

Biker some more heavy biker think and act like heavy bikers in USA, in fact there is no comparison between nasi vs burger, hahaha, here alwsys like like bapa punya jalan

• Confused on Feb 13, 2024 at 7:07 pm

I was got confused by the group of policemen / highway rondas holding the red flags near the USJ overhead bridge to Seafield – KM6.1 to KM8.1 (northbound), believed not only me, as most of the vehicle slow down and traffic started pile up to Subang Height interchange, right after the group of lads standing, traffic starts moving smoothly, no jam at all…then I realised, the group is actually calling the vehicles to use the “smart lane”. Hahaha…