Toyota Corolla Cross Hybrid launched in Malaysia – petrol-electric joins new CKD range; RM123k-RM137k

We’ve been hearing about it for nearly a year now, but after releasing several teasers for months on end, UMW Toyota Motor has finally launched the Toyota Corolla Cross Hybrid in Malaysia. The petrol-electric crossover sits at the top of a mildly-revised lineup that is now CKD locally assembled.

First, the most important part – the Hybrid is priced at RM136,550 on-the-road without insurance. As for its petrol siblings, the CKD 1.8G retails at RM123,000 and the 1.8V costs RM129,000. All figures include the sales and service tax (SST) exemption and a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty; the Hybrid also gets an eight-year, unlimited-mileage battery warranty that can be extended by an additional two years for RM2,950.

Power comes from an Atkinson-cycle version of the 1.8 litre Dual VVT-i four-cylinder engine, producing 98 PS at 5,200 rpm and 142 Nm of torque at 3,600 rpm. It is mated to a 72 PS/163 Nm electric motor and a nickel-metal hydride battery to deliver a total system output of 122 PS, all still sent to the front wheels. Fuel consumption is rated at 23.3 km per litre.

Toyota says it is confident of reliability of Toyota’s hybrid system and cited a case study in Singapore that examined hundreds of Prius cars used to provide Grab services. Since being introduced in 2016, there have been zero failures in the six years the Prius cars have served, some with mileages of over 150,000 km.

The company also noted the hybrid variant of the Corolla Cross is up to six decibels quieter in the cabin during full throttle acceleration compared to petrol-only variant, while at a constant 60 km/h, it’s four and seven decibels quieter front to rear.

Other benefits touted are better acceleration times, with the sprint from 0-50 km/h taking 2.1 seconds less than petrol-only variants; 0-80 km/h takes 1.7 seconds less, while getting from 0-100 km/h takes 0.9 seconds less. No specific times were quoted, however.

As for the petrol models, they soldier on with the same engine as before, pumping out 139 PS at 6,400 rpm and 172 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. It’s mated to the usual CVT with seven virtual ratios.

The Hybrid looks practically identical to the 1.8V, save for the unique badging, blue Toyota logos and blue accents on the now-standard automatic LED headlights (the 1.8G previously had halogen projectors). It also gets the same 18-inch two-tone alloy wheels as the 1.8V, which are an inch larger than the 1.8G’s silver rollers. All models are fitted with LED fog lights and new, functional roof rails that can hold up to 70 kg.

Inside, the Corolla Cross is largely common between all three variants, coming with keyless entry, push-button start (with a blue starter button on the Hybrid), black leather upholstery, an eight-way power-adjustable driver’s seat, a nine-inch touchscreen head unit with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity, six speakers, a 360-degree camera system and a front dash cam.

However, the Hybrid model adds a few extra features, such as dual-zone automatic climate control (the rest get a single-zone system), an auto-dimming rear-view mirror and a seven-inch digital instrument display (the petrol models make do with a 4.2-inch multi-info display instead). It also receives blue edging for the floor mats. A rear dash cam and a Qi wireless smartphone charger are optional.

Safety-wise, the 1.8V and Hybrid come with the Toyota Safety Sense suite of driver assistance systems, including autonomous emergency braking, lane centring assist, lane keeping assist and automatic high beam. New for the CKD models is a stop and go function for the adaptive cruise control.

This is despite the Corolla Cross continuing to utilise a foot-operated parking brake; the system will request for the driver to apply the brakes once the car comes to a complete stop. Seven airbags, stability control, a blind spot monitor, rear cross traffic alert and rear ISOFIX child seat anchors are fitted as standard.

Five colours are offered on the Corolla Cross, including Red Mica Metallic, Nebula Blue Metallic, Platinum White Pearl, Silver Metallic and an exclusive Celestite Grey Metallic – the latter is shared with the Corolla sedan.

GALLERY: Toyota Corolla Cross Hybrid

GALLERY: Toyota Corolla Cross Hybrid official photos

Learn more: ,

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Dear Paultan, what is the all electric only range for the Corolla Cross Hybrid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Ajerul on Jan 15, 2022 at 4:59 pm

For same money RM123k, better buy proton X70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 48
      • But for reliability and easy to get spare parts, get Corolla Cross

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
        • Joe Jie on Jan 17, 2022 at 5:22 pm

I can’t understand why you guys really care about the spare parts. My cars have been using over 3 years, the part I changed was only a seat belt buckle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
          • What if let’s say any brands takes too long to get spare parts, do you think owners will be happy for waiting spare parts for ages? I’m very sure it is not.

• iThink on Jan 17, 2022 at 5:19 pm

People like Corolla Cross hybrid bcuz of its superior SUV Comfort and Handling + 2x better fuel efficiency & 2 seconds faster than 1.8NA.

• Not Mechanically Inclined on Jan 16, 2022 at 11:56 am

Barely over a kilometer if you’re lucky. Self charging hybrids aren’t meant for pure ev driving, but rather allowing the engine to shut off during inefficient scenarios such as coasting, braking and slow moving start-stop traffic.

• This is hybrid, do you think that is PHEV?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 14, 2022 at 11:20 pm

better buy than the overpriced honda seaweed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 13
    • Celup King on Jan 15, 2022 at 2:08 pm

Still footbrake? Colanfirm unker car with low sales same with fellow old folks home residents Corolla & Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 44
      • Reliabilityman on Jan 15, 2022 at 7:24 pm

Footbrake better than electronic brake

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Fried Tofu on Jan 15, 2022 at 8:12 pm

If electronic parking breaks are the only criteria for you when buying cars, oh boy do I have bad news to tell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
        • Even City now comes with E Brake feature. Keep up with the times. If traditional brakes are your criteria for buying cars, oh boy do I have bad news to tell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
      • Avenger on Jan 15, 2022 at 9:38 pm

You expect handlebar brakes?

• So if you use electronic parking brakes, breakdowns are more complicated, doesn’t last long and not cheap than manual or foot brakes. If the car battery also ran out, needed to know on how to unlock or lock the system without battery.

• Aura89 on Jan 20, 2022 at 10:10 am

Foot parking brake is the weirdest thing to find. Questions of what happens if mistakenly pressing that pedal while on the move what will happen, sudden full brake application? Most awkward to use and perhaps why only Alza other than certain Toyotas had such a function.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Touring lover on Jan 14, 2022 at 11:58 pm

Will Toyota bring in d corrola touring / sport wagon here?

• Dong Gor on Jan 15, 2022 at 9:59 am

Bullet proof reliability, but boring design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 47
    • Not even bad design but better platform

• Babu Osman Jili on Jan 16, 2022 at 9:57 am

I go for reliability & practicality rather than all the bells and whistles.

• Nowadays still got people think that Toyota has the best reliability? Do you get your data 20 years ago. Come one, Toyota cars quality is not as good as you thought. Last time, CBU which mean mainly form Japan. Japanese really paid attention to their works, their is a part of culture, that’s the reason they can develop so fast. Now, we start to have CKD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • AhCong on Jan 17, 2022 at 7:28 am

Yes ..boring design and ugly too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
  • M Fawzi on Jan 15, 2022 at 1:38 pm

1. What is the range the hybrid corolla can travel using electric mode only?
    2. Time it take to fully charged the battery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Fried Tofu on Jan 15, 2022 at 8:10 pm

1. 2KM
      2. No need to charge, it’s a passive hybrid. Self regenerates power.

• it is not a plug in hybrid so there is no fully charging the battery as the battery is charge through regenerative braking.

• Uncle Jinjang on Jan 16, 2022 at 7:45 pm

Corolla Cross is not plugin hybrid, it charge while the car is breaking or going down hill.

It will not run via fully electric, >50km/h will be using engine. Fuel efficiency wise It’s good for city driving. But not on highway

• This is a hybrid with smaller battery than PHEV or BEV. Based on experience of 3rd gen toyota hybrid, full electric driving should be around 1km plus at speed less than 60km/h or less.

Time to full recharge? No specific time.This is totally different from plugin hybrid or BEV where we can ‘connect’ the car with a cable to charge the car. Press the pedal and it will charge the battery while moving your car, and the regenerative braking will also charge the car battery while coasting. Never had a full charge of the battery, i think it is part of the safety mechanism set by toyota engineers to prevent overcharging, and the most i ever had is one bar below full charge. Only experienced full charge when going downhill from genting sempah to gombak toll

• Karole on Jan 15, 2022 at 2:56 pm

Nice!!

• Piano on Jan 15, 2022 at 3:26 pm

Fantastic spec

• Reliabilityman on Jan 15, 2022 at 7:25 pm

Footbrake better than electronic brake

• Hybrid or hydrogen than electric

• Quarter Value on Jan 15, 2022 at 10:26 pm

Hybrid car is ideal to drive in city where stop and go function or auto brake hold is very useful, but what’s the point if driver still require to apply the brake? Give electronic foot brake lahh….

• When comes to durability, electronic parking brakes can have problems and expensive than manual and foot brakes

• Absolute on Jan 15, 2022 at 11:37 pm

Getting my this hybrid soon next week

• I saw red corolla cross. Look fierce and cool

• Carfan on Jan 16, 2022 at 11:21 am

How to pay RM100k more for the Harrier? Toyota must upgrade
    The Harrier interior.

• This design is good enough with better platform. Why do you need more as Harrier interior? It is gonna cost more if you want Harrier interior.

• Ionlaw on Jan 16, 2022 at 2:16 pm

Hope UMW Toyota will bring down the Altis sedan CKD down to sub 110k.

• Red Man on Jan 16, 2022 at 11:46 pm

Anytime Corolla Cross

• turborider on Jan 17, 2022 at 3:22 am

People moving from hand parking brake to electric parking brake, but you move to foot parking brake, what’s went wrong dude?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • If you use electronic parking brakes, breakdowns are more complicated where doesn’t last long as both of manual and foot brakes. Electronic parking brakes is also expensive than manual and foot brakes. So is the durability more important?

• Quarter Value on Jan 17, 2022 at 8:04 pm

Agree it is more expensive. But we need to keep up with bigger trend. Is the same as last time when keyless entry come people say is more complicated and expensive, now most car use keyless. Same goes to Turbo engine, now we see lesser NA engine. Hybrid car itself is more complicated than non-hybrid and toyota ask people adopt hybrid but give a more ‘outdate’ footbrake to Bolehland market. I think is more for cost cutting rather than durability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • palgo47 on Jan 17, 2022 at 7:21 am

fuel tank only 36L?? same as a Myvi! I wonder what the is the official total range figures on a full tank, but judging from my estimate, it doesn’t look good for this hybrid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
  • Alfred on Jan 17, 2022 at 10:23 am

Hopefully Toyota will bring in the Yaris Cross to MY. That one is a looker.

As for this car, the interior seems to be quite “plain”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8