PLUS needs to solve congestion problems following RFID toll collection system roll-out: Fadillah Yusof

Highway operator PLUS Malaysia, and Touch ‘n Go have been called upon by the works ministry to find a solution to the issue of congestion reported at toll plazas following the implementation of the radio frequency identification (RFID) toll collection system, works minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof said in a statement.

According to the works minister, the RFID system implemented by PLUS Malaysia was supplied by Touch ‘n Go, and the minister has contacted PLUS Malaysia as well as Touch ‘n Go after he had received complaints and has asked them to come up with a solution to the problem arising from the implementation of the RFID system, he said.

The works ministry will continue to monitor the situation, and will ensure that PLUS Malaysia as well as Touch ‘n Go will resolve any issues related to the use of the RFID lanes, and the ministry takes all manner of complaints from the public seriously, not just those relating to RFID but also those for SmartTag and other matter as well, the statement continued.

Given the previously raised concerns for faulty tags, PLUS Malaysia has said that it would give out replacement RFID tags, free of charge at toll plazas, as well as a coupon for a full detection diagnostic test if the tag is unreadable, also in light of complaints by members of the public aired on social media.

Previously on December 16, 2021, the works ministry announced that the main stretch of the North-South Expressway (NSE) from Juru, Penang to Skudai, Johor will support RFID toll payments from January 15 this year.

Following the implementation of the RFID toll payment system on the main stretch of the NSE for Class 1 vehicles on Saturday at 10pm, PLUS has stated that it has recorded a 10% migration rate to RFID transactions from other payment methods.

The highway operator said in its statement that it hopes the increased use of the system, which it said is in line with the current popularity of contactless payment methods, will provide a “smoother and more enjoyable travel experience.”

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Pitoto on Jan 19, 2022 at 7:52 pm

Smooth? Everyday on DUKE Highway i saw more people reversing in RFID lanes compared to Smart Tag.

• Rfid-is-smart-but-executor-is-a-no-brainer on Jan 19, 2022 at 9:24 pm

Do not convert the one and only smart tag to Rfid lane. That was just nonsense.

• Guest on Jan 19, 2022 at 9:51 pm

Sigh….really malu, malaysia can never seem to get anything right

• Are smart tag lanes removed at some tolls?

• bieight8 on Jan 19, 2022 at 10:40 pm

They should be fine at least 10m…

• Brian on Jan 20, 2022 at 1:05 am

Ironically, when RFID was activated few days ago, it is Smart Tag lanes which I see with long lines of waiting people instead of the RFID lanes. How weird is that.

• PLUS only? All toll operators the same la not only Plus, minus also..

• Cash already fully cancelled. Those want to buy touch n go card already fully bought, those want to buy smart tag also already saturated, so think of RFID to continue have more income.

First, time passing the toll is about the same using RFID and smart tag, signal of RFID is even worse! Paste the RFID outside will be torn by others easily!

3 lanes of smart tag, 2 is converted is RFID, make the traffic is so congested. But the user of RFID is so little! Why not convert the touch n go lanes to RFID? Because smart tag users are more willing to spend money?

Explain!!!!!!!!

• I can 100% sure… consistent facing RFID intermittent scanning problem at certain RFID lane… need to pass thru with tortoise speed… which I believe related to detector installation issue or sensitivity problem!!! NOT install & check properly!!

• pengayuhbasikal on Jan 20, 2022 at 12:17 pm

sembang saja….A ask B to solve….initially…everything from A .. later on, finally…C to suffer

• stranger on Jan 20, 2022 at 3:01 pm

Collect RM35 only for a piece of sticker from millions people, don’t even bother to setup a place to test at installation center. What is this? Free money? Free profit from Rakyat. Best monopoly ever!!! Quality not even close to good enough. Not even reliable. But here we are forced to use something that bad

• Radiation Toll on Jan 20, 2022 at 3:06 pm

Possible solution is Microwave frequency reader needs to increase more power to radiate full frontal of incoming vehicle pasted with that tiny RFID sticker.

• newme on Jan 20, 2022 at 3:53 pm

Better “PLUS needs to stop collecting toll. The concession has long over”.

• Ray Chin on Jan 20, 2022 at 5:06 pm

Can Plus explain why the S’pore ERP system which has been proven so efficient for years is not adopted? The RFID system is a more backward approach n not a solution to road users. Given current economic situation, it costs car user additional money, not to mention the hassle. Why not increase the use of smart tag which has been proven especially in European countries or implement the ERP system instead?

• ISurvivedMCObutNotRFID on Jan 20, 2022 at 6:06 pm

Dear Please La U Stupid (PLUS),

It is a real joke and also payback for “forcing” the rakyat to switch to RFID when Smart Tags and Touch N Go were fine.

Then again, someone UP there needs to make money and throw into the coffers for the ones holding the powers since 1 Malaysia Dalam Banjir have no more to give out as BONUS.

Why don’t you guys do a feasibility study and drive as normal citizens to utilise the great RFID. Oh wait, you probably did and likely were stucked in the insanely loooong traffic too but you can’t do anything since the instruction was to squeeze the rakyat to pay RM35 for something that was half baked.

So now the PM has mentioned the Cabinet has decided about giving the rakyat the option to choose on how they wish to pay ( TnG , Smart Tag or RFID). What’s your next steps? Reinstall Smart Tags lanes? It is a very unlikely outcome for u to U turn on your money making tactic. So the best bet is that you just angguk kepala and the news of “giving rakyat options” will just be that….news. nothing will come out of it.

RFID is supposed to be a new revenue stream but it is a Really Freaking Idiotic Device and it is no wonder it got negative feedback from Rakyat, so tak dapat money laaaa

PLUS can’t do its part to contribute to its Corporate Sovial responsibility program = hantar duit to oramg orang atas sana tu…

Ministers tak dapat bonus dari CSR PLUS so they have to choice but to come out and “side” the rakyat . YE LA…3 way plan tak terlaksana…

So now what’s the plan PLUS? Before the forced RFID implementation on NSE, your head of Comms was so gung ho and shared all the positivities ( can’t blame him. He is employed to play the game ) now RFID is giving you guys Red Faces Itu Dia.

You guys implementing back Smart Tag Lanes on NSE?
    CNY is coming. Then other festivities.

Be responsible and think from the Rakyat’s view for once and not from your “CSR” Conveniently Sucking Rakyat scheme.

Listen to us.

• ISurvivedMCObutNotRFID on Jan 20, 2022 at 6:19 pm

Dear Please La U Stupid (PLUS),

It is a real joke and also payback for “forcing” the rakyat to switch to RFID when Smart Tags and Touch N Go were fine.

Then again, someone UP there needs to make money and throw into the coffers for the ones holding the powers since 1 Malaysia Dalam Banjir have no more to give out as BONUS.

Why don’t you guys do a feasibility study and drive as normal citizens to utilise the great RFID. Oh wait, you probably did and likely were stucked in the insanely loooong traffic too but you can’t do anything since the instruction was to squeeze the rakyat to pay RM35 for something that was half baked.

So now the PM has mentioned the Cabinet has decided about giving the rakyat the option to choose on how they wish to pay ( TnG , Smart Tag or RFID). What’s your next steps? Reinstall Smart Tags lanes? It is a very unlikely outcome for u to U turn on your money making tactic. So the best bet is that you just angguk kepala and the news of “giving rakyat options” will just be that….news. nothing will come out of it.

RFID is supposed to be a new revenue stream but it is a Really Freaking Idiotic Device and it is no wonder it got negative feedback from Rakyat, so tak dapat money laaaa

PLUS can’t do its part to contribute to its Corporate Sovial responsibility program = hantar duit to oramg orang atas sana tu…

Ministers tak dapat bonus dari CSR PLUS so they have to choice but to come out and “side” the rakyat . YE LA…3 way plan tak terlaksana…

So now what’s the plan PLUS? Before the forced RFID implementation on NSE, your head of Comms was so gung ho and shared all the positivities ( can’t blame him. He is employed to play the game ) now RFID is giving you guys Red Faces Itu Dia.

You guys implementing back Smart Tag Lanes on NSE?
    CNY is coming. Then other festivities.

Be responsible and think from the Rakyat’s plight for once and not from your “CSR” Conveniently Sucking Rakyat scheme to give to the high handed ones.

• Masalah sebenar adalah charge RM25 atau RM35 untuk dapatkan RFID. Sepatutnya PLUS atau Tough n Go bagi RFID PERCUMA untuk semua pengguna lebuhraya ……selesai isu ini