KTM initiates Express Bicycle Coach charter service

To serve the needs of Malaysian cyclists wanting to venture further afield, Keretapi Tanah Melayu (KTMB) now provides its Express Bicycle Coach (XBC) charter service. Intended for cyclists bringing their bicycles on tour, the charter coach brings cyclists to their desired destination to begin touring.

With a capacity of 60 bicycles, the coach is adapted from a passenger services coach with three such coaches currently available. The bicycle coach with special racks for bicycle storage is complemented by an Air-Conditioned Day/Night Second (ADNS) coach, or a sitting coach with a seating capacity of 60 passengers depending on charter requirements.

KTMB CEO Mohd Rani Hisham Samsudin said charter fees would depend on the type of coach required and travel distance, with affordable pricing. Additional special services coaches such as leisure, conference, special salon, sleeper and buffet coaches are available for rental on request.

During the launch of the XBC service, 150 cyclists were invited to ride to Tanjung Malim from Kuala Lumpur. The cyclists then took a four hour ride around the Behrang area before returning.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• the driver on Feb 07, 2022 at 2:35 pm

Absolutely groundbreaking news. For once, a national institution using its creative ideas to generate more income. Are there other countries doing the same? I know California’s BART allows it

• Angry Voters on Feb 07, 2022 at 2:52 pm

Better Nation gahmen on the right track to boost the automotive industry.

• Bro, naik kereta api, kayuh basikal, apa kaitan dgn industri otomotif? Aparaa…

• Sick & Tired on Feb 08, 2022 at 6:38 pm

Yeah, may you find railroad & bicycle technology in your future car.

• Mr. Sotong on Feb 07, 2022 at 3:00 pm

What a silly idea. You have to plan a trip for 60 cyclists in order to utilize the coach. How often do they expect those coaches to be chartered?

I bet they’re going to sit there collecting dust and rust.

Good luck KTM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Loris capirossi on Feb 08, 2022 at 6:24 pm

Dude, KTM wana try this new initiative to encourage more cycling activities while boost up the tourism in Malaysia, just let them do lah, not hurting anybody what…Be more positive, If you are a cyclist too, probably you will appreciate this initiative…