Malaysian cyclists, don’t ride faster than you can brake

A video making the rounds of Malaysian social media shows a cyclist descending a steep hill at a fair pace. Unfortunately for the cyclist, there is a T-junction at the bottom of the hill and it so happened a big MPV turned into the intersection right in front of him.

To compound matters, the cyclist was recording his descent, with a camera located at a low angle at the intersection, capturing the collision in full HD. An additional camera angle is supplied by his buddy behind him, recording proceedings on a helmet cam.

As can be expected, lycra and carbon-fibre, no matter how expensive it is, does not afford much protection against impact and road rash. Let’s not talk about broken and fractured bones plus scraping gravel and other road debris out of your wounds for the next few weeks.

No doubt, there is a thrill to descending on a bicycle, your reward for getting up the hill in the first place, as it were. But, it must be remembered bicycles tend to have a lack of brakes and tyre contact patch, making emergency manoeuvres and more pointedly, emergency stops, something requiring equal amounts of luck, skill and faith.

The cyclist had right of way, certainly, and aside from the excessive speed descending the hill, didn’t do anything that could be construed as breaking the law. However, he did encounter that one thing all motorcyclists know all too well, SMIDSY, or “sorry, mate, I didn’t see you you.”

Across some forty years, four decades, of riding two-wheels, both engine and human powered, the author has found many drivers severely underestimate the speed of an approaching vehicle, especially if they are at a standstill. If I had one Ringgit for every such encounter I’ve had during my riding career, I’d have enough to buy a… well, maybe a Lightweight Meilenstein wheelset.

So, for all you cyclists out there, even though it is not your fault, do ride defensively and keep a lot of braking in reserve, especially on the road (You nutcases doing technical downhills excepted. Are you reading this Nan Bully?).

Bicycles, disc brake equipped or not, don’t exactly have the stopping power of Brembo and coupled with the 700 by 23c tyre size roadies use, doesn’t afford a lot of performance when things get sketchy. Ride safely and more importantly, don’t ride beyond the performance of the bicycle or your own ability.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Not only cyclists, motorbikers too. These bikes swerving in and out, changing lanes is a major hazard. Very often as drivers we may miss them in our view.
    The one lesson I learnt as a boy is that it is not about who has the right of way.. but who will suffer the biggest loss in the event of a collision. No point arguing who has the right of way if you’re dead.
    The number of dead bikers is horrific.. the authorities need to put in the resources and focus on bikers to educate them on defensive riding and safety consciousness.
    For cyclists, there should be safe cycling zones with proper cycling tracks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 6
    • Dredd on Mar 08, 2022 at 2:41 am

Car is at fault. No signal, no stopping at intersection when oncoming traffic is seen, the driver prolly misjudge the speed of that cyclist. Saman & no discount. Dredd has spoken.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 40
      • Whoever fault it is, you cannot replace life and health. Full stop. Just be extra careful and more vigilance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
        • Safety First on Mar 08, 2022 at 10:01 am

When you learn to drive you learn right of way, if everyone practices that no need to be extra careful or vigilance. It is that simple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
          • Brian on Mar 08, 2022 at 11:56 am

Righto!

• Rahim Yahya on Mar 09, 2022 at 12:54 pm

agree. the cyclist has right of way. the motorist is at fault, should be held full responsibility.

• Brian on Mar 08, 2022 at 11:54 am

Those who voted against are either lesen terbang, lesen kopi, or think car drivers can go as they wish with impunity and no need to indicate or give way. A$$holes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
      • Charles on Mar 09, 2022 at 8:58 am

Entitled much? When you’ve lost your life, keep blaming at the car. I am a biker as well and when I see cyclists o bikers who rides like they left their brain at home, I really pity their family.

• Neutral on Mar 08, 2022 at 9:21 am

I do not disagree with this as there’s a lot of motorcyclist who are simply riding in and out of traffic. However, as a rider myself, no matter how safe I ride, I had nearly been involved in a few accident due to terrible car drivers such as changing lane out of a sudden, going from the 3rd lane all the way to the first lane to get to an exit, cutting into my lane to overtake another car just because I’m a smaller vehicle.

The authorities do need to take into proper maintenance of the motor lane as I prefer to use motor lane but the roads are so badly maintain which made me understand why motor prefer to take the highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
    • L driver on Mar 24, 2022 at 7:17 pm

Then I must drive a lorry so next time there will be no car driver like you arguing I drive recklessly

• YB Kinte Kunta on Mar 07, 2022 at 8:42 pm

Racing legend Michael Shumacher was thrown off balance in a skiing accident and in coma for long time.
    This video footage is horrifying as the impact may result in instant death,paralysis,brain damage or broken skeleton.
    Are they trying to be ‘Superman” ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
  • Kariayam on Mar 07, 2022 at 9:10 pm

play stupid games, win stupid prizes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
  • yapyw on Mar 07, 2022 at 9:24 pm

Whether it’s my fault or not, it’s surely not as IMPORTANT of me getting broken bones and/or dislocated joints? Note: No need to argue!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • the driver on Mar 07, 2022 at 9:57 pm

It’s clear the writer of the article has never ridden in other countries. This writer has ridden hundreds of miles outside of this country and hardly felt vulnerable as a cyclist. Know why? From strong effective laws that are enforced, to proper driver training, road signs that warn of the presence of cyclists. It’s not impossible but with sufficient lobbying anything is possible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 48
    • ROTI CANAI on Mar 07, 2022 at 10:05 pm

the difference is cyclists in other countries probably ride a bike every single day and they know how to control a bicycle.

the cyclists in malaysia are just arrogant twigs that cant even cycle in a straight line

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 9
      • You’re the first troll I’ve read named after a Malaysian breakfast staple. Excellent imagination… now go away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
        • ROTI CANAI on Mar 10, 2022 at 7:07 pm

just because someone has a different opinion it doesnt make her a troll?

• behave driver on Mar 09, 2022 at 9:27 am

It is the driver’s fault. Full stop. ‘Lesen terbang’ maybe. That car should not turn into the corner when other vehicles/bicycles are approaching from the front.

• the wnkr on Mar 08, 2022 at 3:11 am

just continue to ride in other countries dude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • Spiderman on Mar 08, 2022 at 11:58 am

Even with enforcement, Malaysians are too selfish and entitled to treat others on the road nicely

• Huck Phin on Mar 07, 2022 at 11:23 pm

toyota avanza landed in Philippines

• Nuisance on Mar 08, 2022 at 7:34 am

Cyclists are public nuisance. The sole reason you wanna take up this sport is just to show your bike costs 20k++. Got cycling lane also still use the road. Even then, they don’t ride in a single file. The worst part is, their super tight outfits showing their oversized bellies *vomits*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 25
    • Your neighbourhood spiderman on Mar 08, 2022 at 11:57 am

So all people running are showing off their rm600 running shoe? All people swimming are showing off their Rm300 Speedos? All those hiking are showing off their 1k Salomons? Dude, get real lah. People want to exercise so let people exercise without judging them. Motorists don’t have exclusive right to the roads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 28
      • Nuisance on Mar 08, 2022 at 2:50 pm

You want to exercise? Go ahead. Don’t be a nuance. Not that hard actually.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • jusknittin on Mar 08, 2022 at 5:23 pm

As you already know the answers to those questions you asked, yes, some does it with the intention to show off. Why? Because it’s easy to show off. Especially, when you spend that kind of money for a mere “I want to exercise” excuse.

Dude, there are a lot of cheaper OR even free way to exercise. For example, I run at least once a week for about 10km and I have 3 different shoes for a combined cost of less than rm300. I have a hiking shoe less than rm100.

I also have a bicycle – actually I borrowed from a family member – which was a used set bought around rm700, so far the only maintenance I did to it is pumping the tyre.

I swam a lot during my younger days and never once I bought a speedo just for the sake of it.

• Solomon mak kau on Mar 08, 2022 at 5:49 pm

cyclists are nuisance and a menace on the public road. We as responsible residents should reject cycling on the public road. Road users pay road tax for a reason. The public road is not a place to show off cheap 20k bikes that honestly every tom dick harry can afford nowadays. The public road is also not the place to display your tight ass and shafts. It is definitely not a place for gays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
        • Popman on Mar 08, 2022 at 9:22 pm

Yeap, real cyclist are in the mountains… definitely not for gays

• TiadaGigi on Mar 09, 2022 at 12:21 am

Today I saw a car with a big orange sticker encouraging motorists to “give cyclist 1.5m space”. I find that message very ignorant. It’s not like those cyclist are riding far from the sideroad (white) line you know. Most of these arrogant b*st*rds rode on that line or even inches inside the road already and it’s infuriating when they don’t seem to think they’re doing anything wrong.

If I have to drive my car and generously give 1.5m space, I’ll be “makan jalan” already, it’s not safe and I’ll risk myself of getting summon for driving dangerously.
          What? you think if I said “I have to give those cyclist 1.5m space so thats why I drive like that” and the police will just say “oh, why don’t you say so.. like that you don’t need to pay this summon la” is it?

• Rasyidi on Mar 09, 2022 at 2:49 pm

Your statement is the ignorant statement. The reason for the 1.5m space is because Malaysian roads are crap, lots of debris and potholes on the roadside, the 1.5m is in case the cyclist needs to avoid any of those. Just give the 1.5m space and overtake, only takes 1-3 seconds to overtake a cyclist on a flat road. Roads are to be shared, just because cyclists ride on the shoulder doesn’t mean they don’t belong on the road(only designated highways are bicycles not allowed), so treat them like any other slower vehicle and overtake, not drive beside them closely.

• TiadaGigi on Mar 10, 2022 at 10:11 am

@Rasyidi – Your comment is too one sided.. “in case cyclist this”, “in case cyclist that”. You said it yourself Malaysia roads are crap, so what? don’t you think that motorists also need to avoid potholes and debris. “only take 1-3 seconds”, for one bicycle of course. Your Malaysian cyclists like to ride in group, some-more not in single file, some more on highways. “Roads are to be shared”? You’re saying cyclist CAN ride on the road just like motorists? Did they pay road tax for the bicycle?

• GigiPalsu on Mar 10, 2022 at 12:34 pm

@TiadaGigi – hahaha what do you expect from this super entitled kayangan bunch

• Ben Yap on Mar 09, 2022 at 2:45 pm

Nuisance, don’t be a nuisance here. your nick speaks for yourself already.

I ride my Cervelo with pride and those got the money to splurge on an expensive bicycle, it is their right. only those that cannot afford the financial means to keep up will find it a pain in the ass and thinks it is a show-off.

• Ben's bellies on Mar 10, 2022 at 7:22 am

How big is your bellies?

• Ben Yap on Mar 10, 2022 at 4:25 pm

i’m still slim coz i burn calories every week by cycling.

• Ben's bellies nuisance on Mar 11, 2022 at 8:41 am

Oh it must be you then rode on the road instead of cycling lane!

• svherman on Mar 08, 2022 at 9:17 am

A rider should do all they can to be in as much control of their circumstances because no one else owes them the courtesy on the road.

You do all you can/avoid all you could to make sure you don’t get into trouble. Cause once that happens it’s all for nought.

Of course don’t let your ambition outweigh your ability.

• both wrong on Mar 08, 2022 at 9:43 am

Both are at fault here… cyclist shud be beware of the oncoming traffic when descends at speed. Driver shud pay attention on the road as Malaysian are ignorant when comes to safety of other road users.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Brian on Mar 08, 2022 at 12:00 pm

Oncoming traffic have right of way when one turning, and there is no indication the driver is turning. Driver is fully at fault here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • mak kau hijau on Mar 08, 2022 at 5:51 pm

first of all a bicycle should be in the park not on the public road. secondly, mak kau hijau. nuff said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • Safety First on Mar 09, 2022 at 12:38 am

Whether it is bicycle or car or motor or beca, oncoming has right of way regardless.

• Old Cat on Mar 08, 2022 at 10:46 am

I still remember what my parents have taught me, riding a bike/bicycle is like “flesh protecting steel”, driving a car is like “steel protecting flesh”. So I still reluctant to ride a bike till today, solely for safety reason. For bicycle, I only choose to ride in my own taman or any designated parks, not on the busy roads.

• davidletterboyz on Mar 08, 2022 at 10:48 am

After replaying the video a few times, it can be noticed that:
    1) The cyclist’s descending speed was actually normal, for such a declining slope. He was not even sprinting downhill. Doing that would make him going even faster.

2) The car driver did use the turning signal.

In my opinion, the car driver misjudged the speed of the incoming bicycle. You see, if we replaced the bicycle with a motorbike or even a car, that driver would have waited for the incoming motorist to pass first, because the incoming motorist had the rights for his straight line.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Brian on Mar 08, 2022 at 11:58 am

Where did you see the turn signal as it should be very prominently flashing in the vid?

• Pause the video frequently and you’ll see the right mirror light is yellow at one point and nothing in another time, indicating that it was blinking.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 08, 2022 at 11:07 am

Aiyo ya la go do stunt on a road made for vehicles plus the fella at the bottom recording it also epic fail. Next time want to ride bicycle go to a park. Our roads are notoriously dangerous and certainly not worth risking your life for a few seconds of fun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Even if it was a motorcycle with dual front discs and ABS, it wouldn’t have been enough to stop in time for a negligent driver turning into a junction without signalling. Ugly van driver here is at fault for not having basic driving ethics

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • Izhar on Mar 08, 2022 at 4:07 pm

The cyclist do it on purpose lah. Two cams readied and captured the whole drama. It was staged!

• tiktokers on Mar 09, 2022 at 4:04 pm

Ahh, I get it! Like those mustangs purposely park in middle of road for “filling petrol” excuse one, right? Or this is probably much sinister – staging an “accident” so they can get compensation money or even sue the guilty party? “Hey, we have a video for that!”

• Road User on Mar 08, 2022 at 11:47 am

The writer clearly have no idea of what he is writing about and never ridden a bicycle in the past 10 years.

Instead of educating car drivers of road sharing. The writer chose to compare bicycle brake with Brembo brakes when in this instance braking power have nothing to do with the incident. Ignorant does!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • Sohai on Mar 08, 2022 at 12:58 pm

Sohai~LOL!

• Thibbs on Mar 08, 2022 at 3:21 pm

Doesn’t matter who is right or wrong? Always be careful coz you can’t trust anyone on the road. Bila dah mati tak guna nak cerita lagi…you only make news or viral a day or two after that you’re just a tombstone.

• Don’t ride faster than you can think.

• Bike too. Car too.

• Habibu on Mar 08, 2022 at 4:54 pm

The question is not who right or wrong, but should be how safe can you be on the road ? Remember the previous post about a rider cycle behind a lorry ? Some people just came out defend because cycling is either their hobby or whatsoever. But these riders never think of their own safety. If you ride on the road and you expecting everyone to avoid you, please, you are in the wrong country. No matter how many safety feature you got on your expensive bike, 1 accident can easily cost your life. A driver in a car can be killed in an accident, and you still think Bike and Cycling is safe on the road.

• LDians on Mar 08, 2022 at 6:28 pm

I think the bicycle was pretty fast, so the writer do have a point there.. but I couldn’t see the car’s signal blinking as it turned so he/she could be the fault here..the point is, both sides should have been more careful of each other, as both sides could easily spot each other from a far.

just wanna share 1 story though, when I drove back home from work sometimes last year, a group of cyclists, cycling side to side, quite fast and blocking a lorry (the heavy 1,I’m not sure how many tones capacities it was) which is quite fast also, you know how fast that kind of lorry is, and how it may take times to brake and stop incase, just incase it crashes those cyclist..my problem is, it was 2 lanes highway, when the lorry tried to take the right lane, coz the cyclists rides in groups at the left sides, they were laughing and shouting and whistling and try to chase the lorry, 1st,they try to block him so he slowed down and turned to right, and when after he passed, those cyclists chased after him at the back, cycling so fast and laughing like a group of bullies..don’t know about others experience, but mine is always, always I saw some arrogant cyclist..so yeah, I have never write any comment here, this is my 1st time and it’s too long.. bahhh

• DuLiana on Mar 08, 2022 at 8:12 pm

road cyclists are bullies and mega assholes. can say about 90% of them are like that. just look at how they behave spouting BS all over facebook. they are turning people off from the sport.

• Popman on Mar 08, 2022 at 7:14 pm

Real cyclist go mountain biking…

• Began on Mar 08, 2022 at 10:21 pm

I think it’s time for Mohan write about defensive driving and how Malaysian road users can improve. A small matter of stopping and check on coming traffic before turning into a junction can save lives. Thanks in advance Mohan.

• littlefry on Mar 08, 2022 at 11:42 pm

Roads are usually for vehicles and not bicycles. Why ?
    Who got buy roadtax ? Those who tell you is vehicle fault are plain dumb. It’s like saying foreigners can enjoy the same benefits as malaysians without even paying any tax. Think twice.

• Some are stoop on Mar 09, 2022 at 10:50 pm

So next time see a pedestrian crossing the road, can just hit them with your car? They don’t pay road tax. And people who pay less road tax have to give way to people who pay more road tax?

• The stoop one is u on Mar 10, 2022 at 10:09 pm

Pedestrians crossing the road is a lot different than cyclist riding along the road like motorists. Do pedestrian usually walk with the traffic flow and occassionally drift inside to motorists lane? I don’t think so. But cyclist do.

• Dosatnek on Mar 09, 2022 at 4:57 am

Top kek housings area treat the road like playing downhill bike. If got some pedestrian crossing also same result.. What a good lesson.

• behave driver on Mar 09, 2022 at 9:26 am

It is the driver’s fault. Full stop. ‘Lesen terbang’ maybe. That car should not turn into the corner when other vehicles/bicycles are approaching from the front.

• Bossku on Mar 09, 2022 at 10:23 am

Can argue all you want. Only one guy needs to go to the hospital.

• centosatu on Mar 11, 2022 at 10:29 am

Err.. its not fully the fault of the car. It is by law that motorcyles must have Daytime Running Light. In other words, the headlights must be on whenever they are on the road. There is a good defence of contributory negligence that the driver can take:

a. 20k roadbikes do not have any form of DRL;
    b. in a residential area, the speed limit is usually 35km/h. A roadbike going downhill easily reaches 50km/h,
    c. the cyclist is an uninsured user of the road (gray area), and
    d. since it was caught on video by his friends, there is an argument that it was dangerous behaviour to begin with. Filming on a public road without proper permits.

Looking at it, it is a decent defence for contributory negligence against the cyclist. In fact, the lighting and the speeding issue may result in the driver being let off.

This is an objective observation. No need to get triggered.

• NoArgumentHere on Mar 11, 2022 at 12:34 pm

“But.. but.. BUT!! Noooo!!! Cyclist entitled to bla.. bla.. bla”

• At last, after reading all the comments here, I am finally reading something which is more neutral than most other comments which are siding either one side. Granted, it is everyone’s right to have their opinion of their own, so no offence intended or taken.

As I am both a road cyclist and a car driver myself, I will be as neutral as possible and thus, my views are just my two cents worth.
      1. I would say, both the cyclist and the driver are at fault, and neither are to be blamed squarely for the cause of the accident. This is because;
      a. Both must be aware of their surroundings regardless one is a cyclist or a driver. The driver. In the case of the cyclist, it is even more important because it is not a closed road like most cycling events we watch on TV or YouTube, thus must be prepared for any eventuality such as this. This also goes without saying, even if it’s a closed road, accidents like this can still happen. The key thing here is, to keep our eyes open, be aware and be alert.
      2. Mohan pointed that and I quote in verbatim, “Bicycles, disc brake equipped or not, don’t exactly have the stopping power of Brembo and coupled with the 700 by 23c tyre size roadies use, doesn’t afford a lot of performance when things get sketchy”. Even with bicycles equipped with disc brakes (which now a lot are) there is no guarantee that the bicycle would have stopped in time let alone that pitiful soul staying on the bicycle. Even if the brake modulation of the disc brake is better, the likelihood of stopping the bike is hardly possible given that the speed that bicycle was travelling down that descent.
      Moving onto the tyre which the bicycle rolls on be it a 23C/25C/28C/29-er or whatever, the contact patch wouldn’t be enough to generate the kind of traction regardless of the brake system, rimmed or disc. Pulling the brake levers as hard as you can will only bring about 2 instances at that speed, tyres locking up and losing control of the bicycle and that pitiful soul flying off the bike from which would also result in injuries either case.
      3. I read few comments saying that cyclist who rides 20k+ bikes are an arrogant bunch, and I must agree, yes, those are the bad apples of cycling community. But I beg to differ that not all cyclists are like that. Regardless of the value of the bicycle to cyclist cycles, an arrogant person will be arrogant.