2023 Toyota GR Corolla leaked – 300 hp 1.6L turbo three-pot, manual only, widebody, novel triple exhausts

We’ve been bracing for this moment for the better part of four years, what with rumours and nonstop teasers building up the hype. Unfortunately for Toyota, someone over at the GR Corolla Forum has managed to find the company’s American holding page for the new GR Corolla, spoiling the surprise a day before the reveal.

This, then, is Toyota’s soon-to-be-launched über hatch, hours before you’re supposed to see it. And it looks good, doesn’t it? The Corolla Hatchback is already a fetching five-door, but slathered in Heavy Metal grey paint and hunkered down with its rally-style fender flares, it now really looks the business.

At the front, you’ll find a GR Yaris-inspired front fascia with a massive rectangular lower grille and vertical corner air inlets, along with fog lights where the brake ducts used to sit on its smaller sibling. There’s also a sizeable power bulge on the bonnet, atop which lie a pair of louvred vents, while twin holes have also been cut into the slim black grille bar up top.

Along the side, you’ll find the front fender vents shown in yesterday’s teaser, plus deep side skirts with an embossed GR-Four logo, a forged carbon fibre roof and extensions for the fat rear flares on the rear doors. But it’s at the back where the GR Corolla looks its most aggressive, with a large tailgate spoiler and a rear diffuser with a unique triple tailpipe setup – normal round tips at the corners and a big oval exhaust exit in the centre. Honda Civic Type R, eat your heart out!

Although we don’t get a clear look at the interior, a single photo shows the GR Yaris’ bucket seats, including the adjustable head rests. The reason the GR Corolla shares so many bits with the Yaris isn’t just because the two are part of the Gazoo Racing family – you’ll find an entire GR Yaris hiding underneath the bigger body.

That’s right – as previously reported, the GR Corolla will get the Yaris’ full running gear, including the G16E-GTS 1.6 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine. Outputs have been boosted significantly to a round 300 hp and 370 Nm of torque, representing increases of more than 40 PS and 10 Nm over the Malaysian-market GR Yaris. All that gets sent through a good ol’ six-speed manual gearbox – no auto option as rumoured.

The GR-Four all-wheel-drive system has also been retained, utilising a multi-plate clutch to shuffle torque front and rear depending on the drive mode – 40:60 front-to-rear in Normal, 30:70 in Sport and 50:50 in track. Interestingly, the Corolla doesn’t get the GR Yaris Circuit Pack’s 18-inch BBS forged alloy wheels, sticking to the standard matte black multi-spoke rollers. However, buyers will be specify the kit’s Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tyres and Torsen front and rear limited-slip differentials.

So there you are, the Toyota GR Corolla. What do you think of the looks, performance and specs – especially next to the new Volkswagen Golf R and the upcoming Civic Type R? Sound off in the comments after the jump. And don’t forget to check back here for full details once the car is finally, officially revealed tomorrow morning.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Seribu on Mar 31, 2022 at 7:59 pm

Bring it on! Looking forward with GR86 soon

• Alvin on Mar 31, 2022 at 8:16 pm

New Pocket Friendly Racing Legend
    Toyota G16E-GTS, robust engine built to win FIA WRC Rally with GR Yaris,
    Ppl have tuned it beyond 400hp.

Pair with TNGA, double Wishbone
    Low CG, stiff chasis
    50:50 – 30:70 GR-Four AWD
    Torsen front and rear limited-slip differentials.

Collectible within Budget.

• Assalam on Mar 31, 2022 at 9:37 pm

GR Corolla is powered by a 1.6 liter 3 Cylinder Yamaha engine, it can be easily surpass by Honda’s next generation Formula 1 and CBR-RRR Fireblade inspired 1.6 liter 4 Cylinder power plant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • Ghana on Apr 01, 2022 at 8:53 am

Also Good but need sponsorship fund money to keep it running properly,
      good for F1 short distance <500km race, not endurance nor daily ride.
      Not even matching to over 5000km each FIA World Endurance Championship 24hr Le Mans Race, a whole new level of challenge.

Different category to individual car ownership too,
      TNGA GR Yaris 1.6 has the engine built for FIA WRC racing, yet good for daily ride + ACC equipped

• Inb4 ppl comment…with this price rather buy BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • tricycle on Mar 31, 2022 at 11:04 pm

Design looks great.

Only let down, why only 300hp, it is very close to Yaris GR. And why 1.6L? Corolla GR should be using 2.0L 4cylinder with power close to 400hp.

Let the Japanese beat the Germans, once in a while in terms of horses.

• Brian on Apr 01, 2022 at 12:41 am

Much too ah beng when compared with sleeper looks of Golf R, that is a daily driver car your mother would approve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • benard on Apr 01, 2022 at 4:47 am

can we have this powertrain in the myvi please?

• benard on Apr 01, 2022 at 5:00 am

it seems that almost all of paultan’s writer pool does not have the basic good manners to even acknowledge the readers of this blog for correcting their mistakes.

Is it so hard to reply thanks to this person? What kind of journalistic etiquette that you guys follow?

There are even writers that just delete readers comments about mistakes in their writings while sneakily correcting the mistakes of their work.

Is this what the founder of this blog previously did to the readers? why are the writers having so much bad mannerisms in their journalistic work?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • ROTI CANAI on Apr 01, 2022 at 8:52 am

manual only. thats the best part

• deeznuts on Apr 03, 2022 at 7:51 pm

can you shift faster than DCT? or even robo single clutch tranny?
      this “manual best” mindset is childish and old.
      manual is fun, but there are other tranny that are as fun, without sacrificing on daily drivability.

• ROTI CANAI on Apr 04, 2022 at 10:34 am

childish and old? what are you trying to say? cant make up your mind ah. its like your grandmother being ugly and pretty.

• KenZen on Apr 01, 2022 at 12:54 pm

Looks good but I feel that the 2 door GR Yaris is more special. My next car has to be 2 door so I think I’ll stick with my plan of BRZ and bolt on the HKS Supercharger kit at a later date. Still works out to be cheaper than the GR Yaris, but not as limited and as special… oh well.

• ZEREF on Apr 01, 2022 at 5:57 pm

GR Yaris 300k, this?